Nissan Fairlady 350z roadtax
stormlcc
Jul 2 2012, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:42 PM) About the road tax, I've seen with my own eyes a Lambo with 6499cc written on the road tax, says only RM50. And a Porsche with rm6xx toad tax. You should try asking them how they did it, buy the Lambo seriously takes the cake. Saw it during the last snf, the Lambo was in McKee Racing's pit i even saw an Aston Martin with 6000cc V12 WITHOUT road tax, but that's due to the car is owned by royal family........ some of my friends who r driving a Merc SLK with 3.5 litre engine running on 2.8 litre road tax, they just bored out the engine's number and replace it with it's old (2.8) engine number but if TS is really not a troll (there are too many in FnF) and really has the money to buy a Fairlady, he should just buy the Nissan GTT, it's a much better car, with a lot more potential to be modded and a much cheaper road tax This post has been edited by stormlcc: Jul 2 2012, 06:51 PM
stormlcc
Jul 3 2012, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:51 AM) GTT is RWD version of GTR right? my concern is on the car's age. I just afraid it might be prone to breakdown yes it's RWD, with the RB25. u r also buying fairlady 2nd hand, same thing mah, although it's newer than GTT, it's still 2nd hand. don't forget the RB engines are bullet proof, there are many stock ones for sale, if u want one that is untouched and in good condition, get those with auto gearbox, make sure no smoke coming out from the exhaust then u r ok with it, most modded ones are with manual gb. or if u really want the fairlady but don't want to pay hefty road tax, spend a bit of money to transplant RB or JZ engines, more power than the V6, smaller CC engine, great modding potential.
stormlcc
Jul 3 2012, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2012, 12:43 PM) Everyone wan a fast car.. but wan to have maintenance/price like a Vios... If that is possible.. everyone will be driving a sportscar in KL already..  that's why i usually says "if u have to ask, u can't afford it". but it's too rude, so i didn't.
stormlcc
Jul 3 2012, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(fenrir0402 @ Jul 3 2012, 01:10 PM) the thing is i'm kinda uncomfortable and uneasy with driving auto tranny cars. so i'm taking it out of the equation. bullet proof? are you making metaphor or something? i know that is 1 awesome engine, yes it is.
i did looking into the possibilities of transplanting rb26 engine into fairlady 350z, it is possible but need to modify the engine cubicle and mounting point, and so on. the money spend on it alone could bleed your wallet as well.
buying sport car is 1 thing, but maintaining is another story... it is easy to accept but hard to sustain, haha. i've seen many bmw, merc owner who afford it thru sales, ended up kena tarik, or sell off their cars, especially pro mlm. Added on July 3, 2012, 1:13 pmi might consider RX-8 and MR-S, bro. but RX-8 very very bad FC, high maintenance, while MR-S seriously underpowered, summore i dont really like convertible, not to mention someone whose hand is itchy, might leave your softtop some scars or extra openings. Added on July 3, 2012, 1:16 pmchill bro, for me it is kinda losing your head when thinking of buying sport car, but must try to cool down to think of a bigger pictures, hence in this case, the purpose why i create this topic. for me, majority can afford a second hand sport car, as the price tag for fairlady 350z and rx8 are almost same as Kia Forte, Mitsubishi Lancer, You-name-it car, etc but when comes to maintenance, would you able to sustain it? u can always change the gb back to manual, it's just that getting an auto will lesser the risk of heavy engine mods by previous owners, the manual gb plus labor will only cost u around 3k. On the other hand, if u have 3k to spend, just buy a proper condition car with stock engine, then overhaul it if it's got problems. anyway, buying a 2nd hand car will always depend on your experience. Bullet proof means it's a super durable and reliable engine even with heavy mods, they don't make them like they used to. fyi u don't need to do anything with the 350z engine bay to fit the RB or JZ, and the mounting for it is easy peasy because of RWD platform. if u sell off the 350z V6 engine u could cover 30-40% of the transplant cost already, only need to spend few thousand on the halfcut. there's another car u can consider, the MR-2. cheap, reliable, MR platform with 3S-gte engine. and it's still a looker