Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V11, rooting and software ques --> FRONT PAGE

Hikari0307
post Jun 26 2012, 10:49 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 26 2012, 10:44 PM)
o.O, I want ultra oleophobic >.<
so sad it stop produce already
no leh previously i get the SP which FOC when buy the s3
didn't cover, just cover screen only
You can get the Ultra Nano Clear.
It was developed by SGP in order to not affect the S3's touch screen's responsiveness that the ultra oleophobic apparently affected.
It's basically the Ultra oleophobic but it's thinner.
http://www.spigen.com/new-product/samsung-...nano-clear.html
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SPIGEN-SGP-Scre...=item19d2598a73
Hikari0307
post Jun 28 2012, 05:15 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Let's hope Samsung doesn't work slowly with this one haha
Android 4.1 Jelly Bean

Added on June 28, 2012, 5:20 am
QUOTE(ping325 @ Jun 28 2012, 01:24 AM)
not necessary lah....just use it until empty and charge it back to full ?  rclxms.gif
Constantly using the battery until it's flat isn't good for the long term. Once in a while to recalibrate them is fine but doing it often is not so good ^^

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jun 28 2012, 05:20 AM
Hikari0307
post Jun 28 2012, 08:47 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Long88 @ Jun 28 2012, 08:36 AM)
I doubt it, Jelly Bean is not a big upgrade over ICS. If a device can handle ICS with touchwiz, would definitely be able to handle 4.1 with touchwiz. The 2gb of RAM is definitely either a marketing thing(since don't have the "quad core" buzz word) or a response to LG.

Even the old Nexus S will get Jelly Bean next month so the S3 can handle it fine. Of course what comes afterwards, we don't know.

Oh well, at least in the future we won't see stuff like this since Google will provide PDKs to a number of companies a few months before the next version of android comes out.
Hikari0307
post Jun 28 2012, 09:10 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Anyway I just got this 。(^_^)。
SGP Ultra Crystal screen protector and Otterbox Commuter Case.

Hikari0307
post Jun 28 2012, 09:51 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ranc79 @ Jun 28 2012, 09:39 AM)
wow.. nice one.. where you got your otterbox.. i've preorder from a forummer and end up it's delay again due to fire in Colorado..
Bought it online through ebay.
Hikari0307
post Jun 28 2012, 05:39 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

hum the otterbox commuter case will definitely protect your phone well but the buttons are really stiff. Need to apply a bit of pressure to press the power button and volume rocker.
Hikari0307
post Jun 28 2012, 06:40 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(tommyfai @ Jun 28 2012, 06:37 PM)
hi all, i just bought samsung s3.. joining the club !!!! btw any good video converter for s3 ?
why would you need a video converter?
Hikari0307
post Jun 28 2012, 09:00 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Behevrath @ Jun 28 2012, 08:31 PM)
hey guys... wanna ask something... Jelly Bean is already out or not..?? and S3 can upgrade to Jelly Bean...?? rclxub.gif
Jelly Bean's source code got released today. Some non-stable stuff has started popping up here and there.
Nexus S, Galaxy Nexus and Motorola Xoom are officially getting it mid of next month.

As for the S3, or any other non-nexus/google experience phones anyway, OEMs have said nothing at all.
As far as Jelly Bean goes, the S3 will definitely be able to handle it, Jelly Bean + Touchwiz, we don't know. We have to wait for Samsung to officially say something. Theoretically, Jelly Bean is not such a huge upgrade like from Gingerbread to ICS so any device that can handle ICS should be able to handle it.

Anyway I don't expect to see it officially anytime soon. Just wait for Samsung to say something.
Hikari0307
post Jun 29 2012, 09:43 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Something new from SGP.

Samsung Galaxy S3 Screen and Body Protector Set Incredible Shield Series

http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...eld-series.html

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jun 29 2012, 09:44 AM
Hikari0307
post Jun 29 2012, 09:51 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Oh two new screen protectors from SGP as well
http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...nano-clear.html

Ultra Nano Clear and Ultra Nano Optics.
Hikari0307
post Jun 29 2012, 03:43 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

No flash for Jelly Bean

The current version of Flash Player may exhibit unpredictable behavior, as it is not certified for use with Android 4.1. Future updates to Flash Player will not work. We recommend uninstalling Flash Player on devices which have been upgraded to Android 4.1.
http://ausdroid.net/2012/06/29/adobe-will-...h-on-jellybean/

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jun 29 2012, 03:43 PM
Hikari0307
post Jun 29 2012, 04:58 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 29 2012, 04:08 PM)
micro xc is to for 32gb and above if not mistaken
16gb and lower call micro hc
It's Micro SDXC and Micro SDHC rather than micro xc and micro hc.
There's also the old micro SDSC which is quite rare nowadays.
Secure Digital Standard-Capacity (SDSC)
Secure Digital High-Capacity (SDHC)
Secure Digital eXtended-Capacity (SDXC)

Most memory card you find nowadays are of the SDHC family.
Micro SDHC only goes up to 32gb and majority of micro sd cards (32gb and lower) are micro SDHC cards, while the biggest Micro SDXC you'll find nowadays are 64gb (theoretically, the SDXC standard supports up to 2 TB). Micro SDXC cards come pre-formatted with Microsoft's propriety exFAT file system while SDHC cards comes pre formatted as FAT32. exFAT formatted cards don't have the 4gb single file size limit that FAT32 formatted drives have. The S3 supports exFAT unlike most devices so both are fine (in other devices one would need to reformat the SDXC card to FAT32 or NTFS).

All uses the same hardware.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jun 29 2012, 05:00 PM
Hikari0307
post Jun 30 2012, 04:21 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Well using the otterbox commuter after a while annoys me with it being hard to push the power button and volume rocker, guess I'll be using the Case-mate tough case now. Seems more ideal while still providing some good drop protection though lesser than the otterbox. Though the hard rubber shell of the case mate doesn't cover the gel on the top and bottom so it might flap a bit when taking the phone out of a tight pocket etc.

I'm probably gonna keep the otterbox commuter case around to use when I bring the phone out where I might face conditions where it's more likely that something might happen to damage it.
Hikari0307
post Jun 30 2012, 06:28 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Perwaja @ Jun 30 2012, 06:20 PM)
guys how to change bottom dock apps ?
drag and drop

Added on June 30, 2012, 6:30 pm
QUOTE(thana146 @ Jun 30 2012, 06:26 PM)
Does s3 have the capability for video output to connect to tv/projector?
yes, you'll have to buy the S3's specific MHL cable though, old MHL cables don't work.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jun 30 2012, 06:30 PM
Hikari0307
post Jun 30 2012, 06:40 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Perwaja @ Jun 30 2012, 06:32 PM)
drag and drop? you sure man?

i try wanna do like this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XByYrvHVop8

but i cant see 5 bottom icon like that video
That method in the youtube video is for the S2 and Note.
For the S3, to change the stuff on the home screen dock, don't press menu and edit.
Straight away hold and drag and drop from the app drawer to the home screen.
Hikari0307
post Jun 30 2012, 09:55 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(terencehilary @ Jun 30 2012, 09:43 PM)
Hi all,

sad news for my S3... the front corning gorilla glass chip... omg... how much will the damage to replace the corning gorilla glass?
You can't just replace the gorilla glass, the glass and the screen are fused together so you'll have to replace the entire front and that'll cost you around RM600.
Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 09:22 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Kevin_Low @ Jul 1 2012, 09:18 AM)
guys you all using what brand screen protector? and which 1 do you think it's the best?
SGP screen protectors are the best in my opinion.
Which among them is the best depends on your requirements.

Dry install, doesn't cover the whole screen.
http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...nano-clear.html

wet install, covers entire screen
http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...lex-series.html

Incredible Shield Series
http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...eld-series.html
Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 09:39 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(momiji_chan @ Jul 1 2012, 09:32 AM)
Sorry guys noob question why my s3 only have 11gb internal memory.i tot s3 got 16gb internal memory.
Thx.
Like most storage devices, you'll never get the full amount advertised.
You have lesser storage because of two reasons.
1. Storage manufacturers count storage in terms of 1 kB as 1000 bytes while the system counts storage in terms of 1 kB as 1024 bytes so in a 16gb drive, the computer won't show that you have 16gb.

2. Some space has been taken by the system.
Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 11:47 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jul 1 2012, 11:40 AM)
When I launched the app, it shows that I have only 2gb (under my name - registered earlier). How do I get the other 48gb? Any advice/input is appreciated.
Go to dropbox and you'll see there's a few steps to be done for the extra storage.
Complete 5/7 of the tasks.
Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 01:16 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(VeilSidex @ Jul 1 2012, 12:58 PM)
Guys the demo phone we used to play at the shop with the demo screen will introduce all the functions, how do we activate it? how come i cannot find in my phone
That's a retail store app. I think you can download it from samsung apps but it's not advised since it's for retailers to show off the phone and there's a pin as well.

0.0553sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:46 AM