Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V11, rooting and software ques --> FRONT PAGE

Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 04:16 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(syaryel @ Jul 1 2012, 04:06 PM)
IDK..the phone was on screen lock mode ~ as usual..then when i try to unlock it that thing already happen..

correct me if i'm wrong, but if i'm not mistaken as long as the LCD not break warranty will cover it..screen brake only covered if noticed during purchase..

i wish can get a replacement unit..if repair only kinda feel uneasy..(may breakdown again)

~ love SGSIII though
If you didn't drop the phone or do any physical damage, liquid damage etc. to the screen and didn't tamper with the OS, then it should be a manufacturing defect and be covered under warranty.
Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 05:55 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 1 2012, 05:36 PM)
Been googling for awhile but I still can't find my answer.  Any one knows how to play avi file with wmv3 codec on android? On pc I also cannot play sad.gif, codec pack offered by Microsoft only never support windows 7,
Try Dice Player or MX video player. If those two can not, then I have no idea.

VLC for android seems to have entered Beta according to their website. Try going to XDA to find the apk and see if that can as well.
Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 06:29 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Joviechan @ Jul 1 2012, 06:14 PM)
Do you guys think i should just buy the S3 instead of waiting for iphone 5?
You come into the S3 thread and ask this question, what answer do you expect to get? haha
Yes!!! definitely but seriously speaking, you definitely need to see what you want in a phone. Even if the next iphone has better hardware than the S3, I'll never consider iOS with Android being available.
Hikari0307
post Jul 1 2012, 09:48 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(geforce1982 @ Jul 1 2012, 09:44 PM)
Hi all,

I intend to send my details for the warranty registration but where to look for the serial number? I managed to find the IMEI but not the serial num. Besides that, after register how to check my phone warranty period? Thanks !
Well if you know the IMEI, that's already specific to your device.
You can find both the IMEI and serial number in Settings>About device>Status and scroll down.
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 06:55 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 2 2012, 02:41 AM)
Yep, I am using it, default 64GB card is formatted as exFAT. Not all kernel is support exFAT at the moment.

Kernel that support exFAT:
- SiyahKernel
- Ninphetamin3

Kernel that not support exFAT:
- franco.kernel - even the owner said support, in-fact it won't allow you to mount SD-card.
- N.E.A.K S3 - will bootloop your phone until you remove the SD-card.

Benefit of exFAT:
- Support single file larger than 4GB.
- Faster performance due to faster seeks in smaller file size.
You should mention that all S3 stock ROMs support exFAT out of the box.
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 11:43 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 2 2012, 11:09 AM)
i go home & try.. if getting micro sdhc at HK is it lot cheaper??
Be wary of fake memory products from HK and China. There's a lot of places online where you can find products that is cheaper than most local stores.
Always test the product with stuff like h2testw. I'd only buy stuff from there through ebay and pay through paypal so I can have buyer's protection when purchasing items and I can get my money back if I were to get something fake unless it's some very reputable company.
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 03:31 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(adunsia_85 @ Jul 2 2012, 02:53 PM)
really..cause s3 16gb have the same internal usb storage as S2 about 11gb...i hope 32gb version will allocate more space... wink.gif
The S3's 32gb version gives you this much space haha

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jul 2 2012, 03:32 PM
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 04:00 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Joker87 @ Jul 2 2012, 03:38 PM)
where u get the 32 gb version?
I'm in Australia.
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 05:35 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

VLC beta is now out in the play store for those that wants to give it a try
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...mV0YXY3bmVvbiJd

it still needs lots of work (beta after all) but looks promising. Will stick with mx and dice for now
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 08:17 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(renishi @ Jul 2 2012, 08:06 PM)
Guys s3 pebble blue is mic is it? i got a fren fren's just sold his PB as they were mic. He previously own a white, which was made in korea. I have been waiting for blue for almost a week now and this happen darn lol~ should have gone with the white in the first place if it is true
That would be a first,
I've never seen one that says they were made in china. The only ones I've seen are made in korea or made in vietnam.
Did you check? You sure your friend didn't do a mistake by looking at the battery instead of the phone?

Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 08:23 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(renishi @ Jul 2 2012, 08:19 PM)
After u remove the battery u can see it

and made in korea is only international s3 version... so now i hope i can get made in korea de...
what other versions are there? It's not like you'll find any other version in Malaysia.
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 08:50 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(syaryel @ Jul 2 2012, 08:48 PM)
think samsung got policy to replace LCD if got dead pixel on it (if not mistaken 5-6 suffice to claim new lcd)
At least 3 dead pixels if I'm not mistaken.
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 09:05 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(renishi @ Jul 2 2012, 08:58 PM)
http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s3...made-korea.html

hahaha nvm~ i found out and confirmed that those non international version of s3 is MIC!! only international version is made in korea ~ now how to identify international and non? *googling*
The international version of the S3 is the i9300. That's the only version of the S3 that's being sold officially in Malaysia and it's split between being made in Vietnam and in Korea.

The US and Canada Versions of the S3 has a different model number and is not the i9300. The model number is shown on the back of the box.

This post has been edited by Hikari0307: Jul 2 2012, 09:07 PM
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 09:13 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(renishi @ Jul 2 2012, 09:06 PM)
ohh those with T and etc is not international then? thanks a bunch <3
i will stick with blue then
i9300T is basically specific to certain carriers in in certain countries like Australia, Thailand etc. that primarily uses the 850mhz networks. That version basically is the same as the international with slight modification to the modem. ROMs for the i9300 works on the i9300T.

Unless shops that has grey import stuff, all S3 in Malaysia are the i9300.

The US, Canada Japan versions etc. has totally different model numbers like SGH-T999, SGH-I747, SC-06D, SCH-R530, SGH-I535, SPH-L710 etc. with some noticeable difference in spec.
Hikari0307
post Jul 2 2012, 10:06 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(Long88 @ Jul 2 2012, 09:39 PM)
sorry if repost.
but a near to good news here biggrin.gif
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Jelly-Bean-...onfirms_id31805
Google already said during the Jelly Bean launch that the Galaxy Nexus, Nexus S and Motorola Xoom will get Jelly Bean in the middle of July during Google I/O. So that's already pretty much a confirmation, no need for Samsung to confirm haha. That's just a statement they are making to tell people "we don't know yet whether out non-nexus devices can handle Jelly Bean + Touchwiz or not".
Hikari0307
post Jul 3 2012, 03:00 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

This just arrived today.

Took my SGP Ultra Crystal off and replaced it with this XD
With the Oleophobic coating, my screen looks a lot cleaner now haha. Before putting it on you can definitely feel that it's thinner than the Ultra Crystal, hardness is lesser as well, I accidentally made a crease while applying the first time, threw that away and tried again and was successful (there was three in the pack). The edges adhere to the screen better as well unlike my old ultra crystal where there was lines around the edges where it looks like it's slightly lifted. You definitely don't really notice it's existence

http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...nano-clear.html
Hikari0307
post Jul 3 2012, 03:28 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Jul 3 2012, 03:02 PM)
oleophobic? i tot SGP say not coming out with that. hmm.gif

three in the pack with the price of? how long can the oleophobic effect last or how well does it perform? wet or dry application?

time for v12 liao.. whistling.gif
SGP is not releasing the Ultra Oleophobic. This is different.
The Ultra Oleophobic has the same thickness as the Ultra Crystal and having an oleophobic layer with that thickness seems to affect screen responsiveness.

This is a new type that they created to combat that, it has an oleophobic coating, but it's thinner so it doesn't affect screen responsiveness.

It's a dry application screen protector so naturally it doesn't cover the entire screen.
I've just gotten it today so can't comment how long it last and it's a new product so don't have any previous version to compare it to.
It's $14 on the SGP website
http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...nano-clear.html
I bought the clear version, there's another matte version there as well.

If you go on Ebay, you find places with free delivery
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SPIGEN-SGP-Scre...=item3f191ceb6c
Hikari0307
post Jul 3 2012, 07:58 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 3 2012, 07:51 PM)
http://pocketnow.com/2012/06/08/gs3-spotte...ion-to-2gb-ram/

i know i'm abit slow.. but so sad.. now got 2gb ram for quad core d... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Well it's only for SK Telecom in South Korea anyway~~ it's thicker since they need to put the separate LTE modem and a tv tuner. A separate LTE modem instead of an integrated one like in the snapdragon S4 eats up battery like no tomorrow (even an integrated ones eats battery fast)
Hikari0307
post Jul 3 2012, 08:38 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

Guys please continue in V12
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2413189

0.0447sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:46 AM