Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V11, rooting and software ques --> FRONT PAGE

farscope
post Jul 2 2012, 11:20 AM

3,427 posts

u guys really like to pick a bone within an egg..

if it doesn't affect yr normal usage, then just ignore it la. small issue only.
farscope
post Jul 2 2012, 12:02 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(wK_ @ Jul 2 2012, 12:00 PM)
dear all,

Any change that i can fully back up sgs2 to sgs3 ??

Thanks!!!!!!!!
most of the user data like game data can be transferred using titanium backup.. requires root.
farscope
post Jul 2 2012, 01:49 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jul 2 2012, 01:43 PM)
Pebble Blue is on digi now...
get yours while stock last !  drool.gif

http://www.digi.com.my/PhonesDevices/Samsung_GALAXYS3.do
nth beats the price of u mobile U28 for RM1599..

very good deal..
farscope
post Jul 2 2012, 05:18 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Jul 2 2012, 05:15 PM)
just flashed to CheckROM Evo2. so far so good. just would like to ask whether the ICS Domination theme could work on that ROM since it is based on XXALF6 fw?
yes.. u know how to flash the ROM, then you should know there's a Kitchen Pro app that comes with it.

Go to the theme tab, find ICS domination, mark for installation, tap on menu and hit download and install.
farscope
post Jul 2 2012, 11:00 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jul 2 2012, 10:57 PM)
latest nimpo better than latest siyah ?
latest siyah got voodoo ported from old s1/nexus s.. the new voodoo for S3 not ready yet.. most of them say it works well

nimpo is for the smoothness currently..
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 09:17 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(awsc777 @ Jul 3 2012, 09:04 AM)
ah ok, i missed the last few posts. too much new posts to catch up. So the nandroid backup is via the recovery mode of the phone and TB is under CWM?

Also, do you know how to remove samsung bloatware? just remove the apk files?  icon_question.gif
no..

nandroid is via CWM aka the modded recovery mode of the phone. original recovery doesn't include backup and restore option.

TB is a backup software that requires root permission. it can be use as normal app in the phone, not in the recovery.

difference between both backup option is, nandroid is a full backup of everything that includes ROM, apps etc., while TB backups apps and data.

means, if anything goes wrong after flashing, u can use nandroid to revert back to the state prior to flashing. while TB backup is for you to restore the apps and user data after successfully flashed new ROM.

remove bloatware can be done by either freezing the app, or by uninstalling it via TB Pro.
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 10:15 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(awsc777 @ Jul 3 2012, 10:06 AM)
Thank you so much for the explanations!!!!! Really appreciate it. So I can do a nandroid backup when I run CWM (I've rooted my phone) and click on 'Create Backup'?
yes.. and save the backup files to a location where the phone wont wipe it.
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 10:17 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Jul 3 2012, 10:16 AM)
Island wide Singtel out of stock yesterday HuHu.
sg still dominated by ipong.. and saw many using Note as well.. S3 catching up i guess..
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 11:45 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Jul 3 2012, 11:40 AM)
welcome back to the dark side
now it seems
supercurio n gm is arguin over the use of old voodoo sound sources
gm is always tryin new things
supercurio is still delayin voodoo sound
n always sayin its good n gonna release pre release version
bt still always delayed n he is kind of doin other things instead
bingo
not advised to use task killer
yup.. i read supercurio's tweets about it too.. sweat.gif saying that's a broken implementation using old code inadequately.

according to him, VoodooSound for S3 is not ready yet as it cannot work properly.

i will hold back on siyah then..
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 11:53 AM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jul 3 2012, 11:49 AM)
haha
i got follow lot of post feel like lcd problem really serious
make me worry on purchase s3
or just pebble blue problem
y worry so much if there's a warranty to cover it? it's only one case out of millions sold. just buy, test it on the spot and enjoy the phone.

even when i bought mine i also don't bother much, just test the screen no dead pixels then i pay and leave ady. don't worry cz u r not buying AP. Yes, i understand SC can be slow on repairing, but at least you have a place to service. and if anything happened within 7 days, just bring back for exchange.
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 12:04 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jul 3 2012, 11:55 AM)
found a setting which may be useful for some here. newbies would probably don't know about it because even myself i only discovered it today

phone > option key > call settings > increase volume in pocket
its off by default. you can turn it on, but i not sure is there any cons to it or whether it will work properly.
then at the bottom you will see Additional settings. tap on it, here you will find noise reduction, its on by default. scroll down again and you will see in-call sound eq
ady enabled it since got the phone last time.. it uses the proximity sensor to detect i guess.. damn loud until i need to pull out my phone fast fast to avoid unwanted attention. sweat.gif
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 01:27 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jul 3 2012, 12:17 PM)
haha
if have problem
my mom will nag also xien
some more will say
buy so expensive hp
but so many problem
i hate ppl say this kind of thing xD
lol.. fair point then.. if buy for other ppl memang scare such complains..

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jul 3 2012, 12:20 PM)
how loud is it ? beyond the maximum volume ?
i dunno how to quantify the loudness sweat.gif at the loudest setting i guess.

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Jul 3 2012, 12:25 PM)
i bought both
i wont hold back
support open source

supercurio is still temptin by sayin
its nice its good
bt keep pushin back on it
n doin other things

in my thinkin
i think he scared gm fix the problems
n mayb improve upon it
n he cant sell his app anymore
loll.. no idea.. will monitor the progress..
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 02:07 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Jul 3 2012, 02:06 PM)
guys, how do i get to that screen where I can clear the cache for each individual app?
Settings > Application manager
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 02:19 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Jul 3 2012, 02:16 PM)
btw, is it true that the battery will last longer if you just keep the apps running? as in...the battery will last longer if you don't keep killing the apps?
depends..

for example,
if an app has bugs, or keep running heavy load in the background until the phone becomes hot, then u need to kill it manually.

otherwise, normal system apps and apps that need to pull data like whatsapp or facebook, then just leave it.

games can kill.
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 02:46 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Jul 3 2012, 02:42 PM)
Need some NOOB questions answered.

1. Download Nimpho but the extension is md5. I need to rename it to .tar before flashing right?
2. Do I have to perform a complete wipe before installing Nimpho?
3. Errr.. is Nimpho a kernel or ROM? tongue.gif

Sorry. I am a bit confused over how mobile OS works. Thanks in advance. notworthy.gif
if u dunno what is it, y wanna risk flashing it? never jump into a pond before exploring what's inside.

QUOTE(momiji_chan @ Jul 3 2012, 02:43 PM)
Hi guys! I want to ask a question.do s3 need apps like easy battery saver and easy task killer?
no need.
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 02:55 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(momiji_chan @ Jul 3 2012, 02:51 PM)
Wew now i know.thx farscope for the reply
ICS in S3 is good enuf.. no need to use those fancy fancy apps like u used in gingerbread previously. just try using stock a few days and feel it first before installing rubbish apps that will slow your phone down instead of increasing the performance.

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 3 2012, 02:52 PM)
siyah 1.3.2 no longer can download from the website
now latest is 1.3.3, beta mode
using it no
and I totally no idea how to use the voodoo sound, go google play website search for it
said not compatible ~.~
if u dun need voodoo sound, then don't need to tweak it.

it's under ExTweak.

but this so called VoodooSound in Siyah is not the real Voodoo created for S3. The real one still in progress.
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 02:58 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jul 3 2012, 02:56 PM)
you now using checkrom evo hd ?
if yes me today morning flash it, play less than half hour flash back to stock ROM with restoring the nandroid backup before flash to checkrom
because it don't have the weather widget, I need it, the stock accuweather widget
and some application and widget which useful for me @@
any idea how to get back ?
the KitchenPro app in CheckROM has everything u need. can always install it back from there.
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 03:02 PM

3,427 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jul 3 2012, 03:00 PM)
This just arrived today.

Took my SGP Ultra Crystal off and replaced it with this XD
With the Oleophobic coating, my screen looks a lot cleaner now haha. Before putting it on you can definitely feel that it's thinner than the Ultra Crystal, hardness is lesser as well, I accidentally made a crease while applying the first time, threw that away and tried again and was successful (there was three in the pack). The edges adhere to the screen better as well unlike my old ultra crystal where there was lines around the edges where it looks like it's slightly lifted. You definitely don't really notice it's existence

http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...nano-clear.html
oleophobic? i tot SGP say not coming out with that. hmm.gif

three in the pack with the price of? how long can the oleophobic effect last or how well does it perform? wet or dry application?

time for v12 liao.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by farscope: Jul 3 2012, 03:03 PM
farscope
post Jul 3 2012, 05:17 PM

3,427 posts

still no ppl buka tered baru ka? sweat.gif

0.2287sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:11 PM