Hardware lag fix

TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 03:15 PM, updated 14y ago

77 posts

Found this and thought of sharing this out for my fellow D3-ers smile.gif

Please note this will NOT fix your screamyx (aka latency) lag.
If your latency/ping drops to red (>600 ms) that's a problem with the ISP and the server's connectivity.
EDIT: Ignore if you're already using D3 installed on SSD tongue.gif It will not improve any further as the issue is caused by HDD read/write bottleneck.

This will fix issues like:
1) You're playing fine but then a group of monsters appear from the edge of screen. Your whole screen then FREEZES or all mobs moving in slow motion including your char.

2) Your display is fine but all of sudden (eg: fires around bridge leading to Siegebreaker) the display lags badly.

3) Your normally well behaving/good performance gameplay lags all of a sudden (without any additional tasks/programs being run)

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5642269402
SOLUTION (Windows 7 or Vista):

1) You will need (minimum) 16GB USB flash drive (or 16GB SD card). An 8GB flash drive will not work because it will translate to 7.45GB under windows, which is smaller than needed (7.7GB).

2) Copy the entire "MPQs" folder (7.7GB) from:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs"
to your USB/SD drive. For me, it was "D:\" drive, so the final result was "D:\MPQs". It might be a different drive name for you, so just use what you get.

3) Rename the original "MPQs" ( located on your HDD) to anything you want.

now the tricky part ...ready ?

4) Go to windows start > and type the following in the search box:
cmd
and hit (CTRL+SHIFT+ENTER), which will prompt you to run command line in administrator mode.

5) Once in command prompt, type the following (make sure you have the right letter drive):
cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC"
mklink /j "C:\Program Files (x86)\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs" "D:\MPQs"

***Note: you cannot "CTRL+V" in command prompt, but you can right click "paste" instead.
***if you don't like this command-line stuff (step 4 and 5) you can jump to windows XP solution, but you have to install an extra program.

If you get a message that says something like: "a symbolic link has been created .." then you did it right. Your done!

=========================================================
SOLUTION (Windows XP) also works for windows 7/Vista (no command-line involved):

=========================================================

Basically, we faked the location of the MPQs directory and relocated it to a flash drive with faster read response than your HDD.

Now, you should have read response times (RRT) around 5ms !

ENJOY "stutter-free" Diablo 3 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by LemoNT: Jun 25 2012, 03:46 PM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 25 2012, 03:18 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

dafuq? read usb data is faster than read hdd data? O_O
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 25 2012, 03:19 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

oooo link shell extension software ...

i already using this to put my steam games into other partitions ...
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 03:20 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jun 25 2012, 03:18 PM)
dafuq? read usb data is faster than read hdd data? O_O
Yeap, amazing isn't it smile.gif
BTW, this has been tested by me and a friend personally.
It works and it isn't a hack or exploit.

So safe to use (unless you go deleting stuff by accident, I won't guarantee that tongue.gif)
TenSou
post Jun 25 2012, 03:32 PM

48 posts

Is this regarding the problem where diablo 3's fps slows to to a crawl all of a sudden? Ever since the 1.0.3 update, sometimes when I play d3 the fps suddenly slows down to like maybe 10fps and it will remain so even after I restart D3. The only way to fix it is to reboot windows. I installed D3 in my SSD btw.
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 25 2012, 03:34 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

QUOTE(LemoNT @ Jun 25 2012, 03:20 PM)
Yeap, amazing isn't it smile.gif
BTW, this has been tested by me and a friend personally.
It works and it isn't a hack or exploit.

So safe to use (unless you go deleting stuff by accident, I won't guarantee that tongue.gif)
haha yeah this is amazing.
i will just rename the hdd mpq folder then. copy mpq folder to usb drive.

then pick link source then drop as junction since i already using the "link shell extension" software.
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 03:36 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Jun 25 2012, 03:32 PM)
Is this regarding the problem where diablo 3's fps slows to to a crawl all of a sudden? Ever since the 1.0.3 update, sometimes when I play d3 the fps suddenly slows down to like maybe 10fps and it will remain so even after I restart D3. The only way to fix it is to reboot windows. I installed D3 in my SSD btw.
If you're using SSD, this fix shouldn't be able to help you further but there's no harm trying it if you got a spare 16GB USB lying around smile.gif
Prior to using this, I did have my FPS drops to single digits.
I thought it was due to my GPU and I lowered everything to low/off but it still happened.
Ever since doing this gameplay is smooth with High settings smile.gif
eehtsitna
post Jun 25 2012, 03:49 PM

356 posts

Which format to use for the pendrive? FAT32 or NTFS?
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 03:53 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Jun 25 2012, 03:49 PM)
Either one works bro.
If you are using the thumbdrive for storing the MPQ files only that is.

If you use the USB drive for other reasons, format it to suit ur usage then smile.gif
eehtsitna
post Jun 25 2012, 03:53 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(LemoNT @ Jun 25 2012, 04:53 PM)
Either one works bro.
If you are using the thumbdrive for storing the MPQ files only that is.

If you use the USB drive for other reasons, format it to suit ur usage then smile.gif
Thanks! Will try it out later. biggrin.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 25 2012, 03:56 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

might do this on my 64gb usb3 drive
Sophiera
post Jun 25 2012, 04:00 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Does this work with a WD Passport?
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 04:01 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 25 2012, 03:56 PM)
might do this on my 64gb usb3 drive
Hehe if you do that pls don't play any p0rn videos/MP3s that are stored on the USB biggrin.gif
It will impact the performance (somewhat) smile.gif

P/s: update here if this works for you guys too (or not)
noobandroid
post Jun 25 2012, 04:01 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 25 2012, 04:00 PM)
doubt that a WD passport will r/w faster than a hdd under USB 2
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 04:03 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 25 2012, 04:00 PM)
WD Passport is not a Flash/USB drive I don't think?
But if you're merely putting the MPQs on it and isn't using the HDD for anything else at all it may work.
HOWEVER! Based on forum replies by people that have tried using external disk (not Flash/USB) the improvement isn't that noticable.
In some cases, it was even worse!

Sophiera
post Jun 25 2012, 04:06 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Awww looks like I'll have to get a cheap 16 gig USB. Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sophiera: Jun 25 2012, 04:08 PM
tgrrr
post Jun 25 2012, 04:08 PM

939 posts

Oh been using this method a while already.
It's even better if you can push everything to DDR wink.gif
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 04:09 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Jun 25 2012, 04:06 PM)
Awww looks like I'll have to get a cheap 16 gig USB. Thanks smile.gif
No need to rush out and get a USB.
You can always give it a try with your Passport first smile.gif
If it is worse, then only go for USB not too late (unless you are super kan cheong biggrin.gif)

p/s: granted USB 16GB is pretty cheap nowadays
joeong
post Jun 25 2012, 04:10 PM

224 posts

wow thanks!
will try this out later!
read in forums that some people said playing windowed screen worked for them has anyone tried it yet?
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 04:13 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(joeong @ Jun 25 2012, 04:10 PM)
wow thanks!
will try this out later!
read in forums that some people said playing windowed screen worked for them has anyone tried it yet?
I read that too but haven't tried it out personally yet.
I prefer to play full screen (windowed) [preferred] or full screen if possible smile.gif
retsmot
post Jun 25 2012, 04:21 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

i only have the stutter/lag when the game 1st loads a map and comes into contact with the enemy. otherwise i'm good throughout. don't need this right?
LifeX
post Jun 25 2012, 04:21 PM

22 posts

Good job on the new LemonT. Tried and works.

Thumbs up.
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 04:25 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Jun 25 2012, 04:21 PM)
i only have the stutter/lag when the game 1st loads a map and comes into contact with the enemy. otherwise i'm good throughout. don't need this right?
Nope, if it only lags a bit during the initial map load then it's not really necessary.
The fix is for those that notice very bad game load/jerking (especially during fights) that may kill you

Hardcore players will know this pain even more biggrin.gif

Added on June 25, 2012, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(LifeX @ Jun 25 2012, 04:21 PM)
Good job on the new LemonT. Tried and works.

Thumbs up.
Cool, glad to be able to help out a fellow D3er smile.gif

This post has been edited by LemoNT: Jun 25 2012, 04:26 PM
I<3LYN
post Jun 25 2012, 05:09 PM

614 posts

i dont have a 16GB thumb drive.. but i do have multiple 4GB thumb drive....
i wonder if i spread all the mpq files onto different thumb drives.. and create symbolic links for each mpq file... will it further improve the performance?
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 05:54 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(I<3LYN @ Jun 25 2012, 05:09 PM)
i dont have a 16GB thumb drive.. but i do have multiple 4GB thumb drive....
i wonder if i spread all the mpq files onto different thumb drives.. and create symbolic links for each mpq file... will it further improve the performance?
Doubt that'll work with Windows 7 itself (it could be possible with other application but I don't know biggrin.gif)
This was the error when you attempt to link the same source to 2 different destination folder (in your case USB)

TLDR: 1 folder -> 1 USB (destination) only
noobandroid
post Jun 25 2012, 06:12 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

adding this into the main d3 thread
joeong
post Jun 25 2012, 06:32 PM

224 posts

btw i wanna ask.
if i link it to my usb, and i forgot my usb with my laptop.
can i still play d3 without it?
TSLemoNT
post Jun 25 2012, 07:01 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(joeong @ Jun 25 2012, 06:32 PM)
btw i wanna ask.
if i link it to my usb, and i forgot my usb with my laptop.
can i still play d3 without it?
Yes but u got to go to find the link file, delete then rename the ori mpq folder back.

Remake the link when u have the usb again.

Not sure if u can rename/move the link file itself.
Ips3Ds
post Jun 25 2012, 07:18 PM

100 posts

TS, i got msg "Junction created for F:\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs <<==>> i:\MPQs"

mean fail and success lol?
noobandroid
post Jun 25 2012, 07:20 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(Ips3Ds @ Jun 25 2012, 07:18 PM)
TS, i got msg "Junction created for F:\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs  <<==>> i:\MPQs"

mean fail and success lol?
thumbup.gif
Ips3Ds
post Jun 25 2012, 07:21 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 25 2012, 07:20 PM)
thumbup.gif
correct or not? unsure.gif
noobandroid
post Jun 25 2012, 07:26 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

good to go
Ips3Ds
post Jun 25 2012, 07:28 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Jun 25 2012, 07:26 PM)
good to go
thx! smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 25 2012, 08:27 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

here's the cnet link btw.
64 bit one

http://download.cnet.com/Link-Shell-Extens...4-75213087.html
I<3LYN
post Jun 25 2012, 08:37 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(LemoNT @ Jun 25 2012, 05:54 PM)
Doubt that'll work with Windows 7 itself (it could be possible with other application but I don't know biggrin.gif)
This was the error when you attempt to link the same source to 2 different destination folder (in your case USB)
TLDR: 1 folder -> 1 USB (destination) only
no... you misunderstood what i meant... i meant symbolic link for individual files.

I don't want to waste money to buy yet another thumb drive... so this is what i did...

Instead of linking the folder directory i had created soft link for all the major mpq files onto 2 different thumb drive.

My poor man solution:

On drive N: ( 4GB only brows.gif )
symbolic link created for d:\games\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs\ClientData.mpq <<===>> n:\ClientData.mpq
symbolic link created for d:\games\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs\enUS_Cutscene.mpq <<===>> n:\enUS_Cutscene.mpq

On drive M: ( 4GB only brows.gif )
symbolic link created for d:\games\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs\enUS_Audio.mpq <<===>> m:\enUS_Audio.mpq
symbolic link created for d:\games\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs\Sound.mpq <<===>> m:\Sound.mpq
symbolic link created for d:\games\Diablo III\Data_D3\PC\MPQs\Texture.mpq <<===>> m:\Texture.mpq

I left other files intact since there is not enough space to link the smaller files into both thumb drive.

It worked unexpectedly well though.... rclxms.gif

Perhaps it will work even better if you have 3rd drive to link those smaller files and the sub-folders.

this is my folder layout:

This post has been edited by I<3LYN: Jun 25 2012, 09:02 PM
joeong
post Jun 25 2012, 08:38 PM

224 posts

i tried already.
used my thumbdrive very slow worrr.
or maybe my usb's cacat. oh well no choice for me but to wait for blizz to fix it sad.gif tried the windows mode doesnt work too
Quazacolt
post Jun 26 2012, 12:13 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Jun 25 2012, 03:49 PM)
NTFS, because you cant store some MPQ files on FAT32 smile.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:14 am
btw got any high speed thumb drive recommendations? i wanna get this, link the shit for my D3, then delete the original files because i dont have enough space for max payne 3 (yes got the collector's edition LOL!)

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:41 am
looks like Kingston DT Ultimate 3.0 is the best value for money, any other suggestions?

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 26 2012, 12:41 AM
SUSngkhanmein
post Jun 26 2012, 10:59 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Jun 25 2012, 05:21 PM)
bro u also got this issue ah?? u using wat lappy? how ur sis N5010??
retsmot
post Jun 26 2012, 12:26 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jun 26 2012, 10:59 AM)
bro u also got this issue ah?? u using wat lappy? how ur sis N5010??
my n53sv ler bro. my sis where got n5010 lol.

anyway its always when start a fresh game. after awhile ok ledi.
SUSngkhanmein
post Jun 26 2012, 12:27 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Jun 26 2012, 01:26 PM)
my n53sv ler bro. my sis where got n5010 lol.

anyway its always when start a fresh game. after awhile ok ledi.
i rmb u got N5010 right?
retsmot
post Jun 26 2012, 12:42 PM

the power cosmic!
1,229 posts

nope. only n53sv last year. biggrin.gif
I<3LYN
post Jun 26 2012, 04:39 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 26 2012, 12:13 AM)
NTFS, because you cant store some MPQ files on FAT32 smile.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:14 am
btw got any high speed thumb drive recommendations? i wanna get this, link the shit for my D3, then delete the original files because i dont have enough space for max payne 3 (yes got the collector's edition LOL!)

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:41 am
looks like Kingston DT Ultimate 3.0 is the best value for money, any other suggestions?
how much does a Kingston DT ultimate 3.0 cost? I dont think you will feel any significant differences with it. I believe it is the random access time that matter most.
One of my thumb drive is kinda aged and only have about 4MB/s transfer speed at maximum speed, however the loading screen just took about 1~2 seconds.
Quazacolt
post Jun 26 2012, 04:42 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(I<3LYN @ Jun 26 2012, 04:39 PM)
how much does a Kingston DT ultimate 3.0 cost? I dont think you will feel any significant differences with it. I believe it is the random access time that matter most.
One of my thumb drive is kinda aged and only have about 4MB/s transfer speed at maximum speed, however the loading screen just took about 1~2 seconds.
if that's the case, i'll just buy the cheapest usb 3.0 drive then biggrin.gif

(planning to do this for sc2 and maybe max payne 3 too haha)
tytons
post Jun 26 2012, 05:02 PM

2,823 posts

just a note...there are several versions of graphic lag atm

ATI cards... sorry to say..we suffer alot due to the incompatibility of the drivers, though ATI has post a fix in their latest 14.1a? or something but still there prob persist with most users who are not running windows7 and certain older range of cards.

Mac users > though bliz has claim they made a fix in patch 1.0.2, yes its playable now...sort of..try window mode and reduce every graphics settings you can think off and off anti aliasing. for older mac like mine ..MBP 2009 sorry la..you can only AH.

NVIDIA certain older gen cards will have lag issues, no news on why and when fix will come since this is less common compared to ATI cards.

theres been many many post on bliz forums on so called fix. using 3rd party software like msi afterburner to lock the FPS, to me it still lags. u can google it and try it.

patch 1.0.3 brought back whatever they fix in 1.0.2 so its pathetic again..but still playable. just eye sore cos there seem to be delay in the graphics

as for why SD card works better then the ssd...reason is theres a bug with the buffer/caching file, thats why you move it to a SD card for a faster reading, but if not wrong if you card is a cheapo low class slow reading card, same issue? cannot confirm this as i only read it on some forum somewhere.
Quazacolt
post Jun 27 2012, 12:40 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

hmm transcend have shit drivers for usb3.0, or maybe my aged intel chipset drivers arent compatible? my usb 3.0 is basically performing at crippled speeds...
and DESPITE that, it still runs at ~40MB/sec with 0.3ms or so seek times...

thats still WAY faster than my mechanical HDD XD

just got the usb3.0 pci-e extension/controller hooked up my pc this morning and ran some tests/formatting/health checking on the new thumb drive, haven't loaded/symbolic link up my D3 yet, will update/report tonight smile.gif
soulhunter87
post Jun 27 2012, 03:02 PM

455 posts

for laptop user its common to have some lag at start of program..mobile graphic and chip need time to buffer up
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2012, 11:54 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

oh ya update/bump:

PERFORMANCE IS AWESOME LOL
(using this for sc2 as well)
CyberTroop
post Aug 1 2012, 05:52 PM

743 posts

Can I use an external HDD instead?
jedi_dc
post Aug 1 2012, 05:57 PM

2,273 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Aug 1 2012, 05:52 PM)
Can I use an external HDD instead?
no, that will not work, since that is still a harddrive, unless it is an external drive with SSD installed. which i doubt tongue.gif

HenryLow
post Aug 1 2012, 05:59 PM

liddat oso can, you win liao lor.
4,336 posts

going to find a cheapo 16GB USB liao... LOL
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2012, 06:42 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(HenryLow @ Aug 1 2012, 05:59 PM)
going to find a cheapo 16GB USB liao... LOL
recommend to go with USB 3.0 at least if you can spare the budget, and usb 3.0 controller if your mobo/notebook etc doesnt support it.
the performance is very much noticeable, more so on other games especially with dedicated loading times/screens wink.gif
ralyon
post Aug 2 2012, 10:13 AM

234 posts

I installed D3 to SSD, but still getting 1-3 seconds freeze sometime.

Any can recommend USB3 thumbdrive ? Post the performance if possible. I know some brands just add USB3 interface to the thumbdrive, but the performance still the same as USB2 (the flash memory inside still the same).
Quazacolt
post Aug 2 2012, 10:52 AM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(ralyon @ Aug 2 2012, 10:13 AM)
I installed D3 to SSD, but still getting 1-3 seconds freeze sometime.

Any can recommend USB3 thumbdrive ? Post the performance if possible. I know some brands just add USB3 interface to the thumbdrive, but the performance still the same as USB2 (the flash memory inside still the same).
then a thumb drive file junction would not solve your issue. suggest you start doing benchmark/logging and see where is the bottleneck
if possible, try to do a benchmark test using hdtune (google for download) and/or do an error scan on your ssd too. just to make sure it is fine.

0.0279sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:47 AM