Hardware lag fix

Quazacolt
post Jun 26 2012, 12:13 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(eehtsitna @ Jun 25 2012, 03:49 PM)
Which format to use for the pendrive? FAT32 or NTFS?
NTFS, because you cant store some MPQ files on FAT32 smile.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:14 am
btw got any high speed thumb drive recommendations? i wanna get this, link the shit for my D3, then delete the original files because i dont have enough space for max payne 3 (yes got the collector's edition LOL!)

Added on June 26, 2012, 12:41 am
looks like Kingston DT Ultimate 3.0 is the best value for money, any other suggestions?

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jun 26 2012, 12:41 AM
Quazacolt
post Jun 26 2012, 04:42 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(I<3LYN @ Jun 26 2012, 04:39 PM)
how much does a Kingston DT ultimate 3.0 cost? I dont think you will feel any significant differences with it. I believe it is the random access time that matter most.
One of my thumb drive is kinda aged and only have about 4MB/s transfer speed at maximum speed, however the loading screen just took about 1~2 seconds.
if that's the case, i'll just buy the cheapest usb 3.0 drive then biggrin.gif

(planning to do this for sc2 and maybe max payne 3 too haha)
Quazacolt
post Jun 27 2012, 12:40 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

hmm transcend have shit drivers for usb3.0, or maybe my aged intel chipset drivers arent compatible? my usb 3.0 is basically performing at crippled speeds...
and DESPITE that, it still runs at ~40MB/sec with 0.3ms or so seek times...

thats still WAY faster than my mechanical HDD XD

just got the usb3.0 pci-e extension/controller hooked up my pc this morning and ran some tests/formatting/health checking on the new thumb drive, haven't loaded/symbolic link up my D3 yet, will update/report tonight smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2012, 11:54 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

oh ya update/bump:

PERFORMANCE IS AWESOME LOL
(using this for sc2 as well)
Quazacolt
post Aug 1 2012, 06:42 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(HenryLow @ Aug 1 2012, 05:59 PM)
going to find a cheapo 16GB USB liao... LOL
recommend to go with USB 3.0 at least if you can spare the budget, and usb 3.0 controller if your mobo/notebook etc doesnt support it.
the performance is very much noticeable, more so on other games especially with dedicated loading times/screens wink.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 2 2012, 10:52 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ralyon @ Aug 2 2012, 10:13 AM)
I installed D3 to SSD, but still getting 1-3 seconds freeze sometime.

Any can recommend USB3 thumbdrive ? Post the performance if possible. I know some brands just add USB3 interface to the thumbdrive, but the performance still the same as USB2 (the flash memory inside still the same).
then a thumb drive file junction would not solve your issue. suggest you start doing benchmark/logging and see where is the bottleneck
if possible, try to do a benchmark test using hdtune (google for download) and/or do an error scan on your ssd too. just to make sure it is fine.

0.0188sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:10 PM