Fitness The Runners Thread V5, RUNINSPIRED !!!

heliora10
post Sep 28 2012, 04:09 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Sep 24 2012, 09:25 AM)
So, anyone who went to the last Sunday's BarBag Charity run...

Have any complains?? And got anybody going for the Gorgeous Fitness Run this coming Sunday??

I know it's the same time as the PJ run as well~~just asking...and a very Good Morning to you all.
badly organised, started 20mins late, start line was a mess, and most importantly traffic wasn't managed well and was dangerous as cars crossed path with runners.

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Sep 27 2012, 12:45 PM)
haha malakoff route is a killer  thumbup.gif
still remember all those hills. TTDI park seems nice. any chance to find any park with rubber tracks around?
Tmn Metropolitan Kepong, KLCC Park, partially at Lake Gardens, Tmn Tasik Permaisuri, partially at Tmn Tasik Titiwangsa.
if i remember correctly.

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Sep 27 2012, 01:06 PM)
Rubbers track i guess Taman Metropolitan got and don't know that Kelana Jaya that lake got or not ..
Tmn Bandaran Kelana Jaya tak ada.

QUOTE(CallMeBin @ Sep 28 2012, 12:50 AM)
Newbie seeking for advice ..

This Saturday going to have a 10km-marathon,

Breathe in and  out using nose or mouth ?

Is it alright if I wear normal school shoes to jog ?

Is it alright if I continue to jog even I'm already lacking of breath ? (Forcing myself)Will I faint or something ?

Any advice ? biggrin.gif
10km isn't a marathon tongue.gif

some say breathing in through the nose is better, but i breathe in with my mouth most of the time as i'm always out of breath heh, aside from drying mouth, no major issue for me.

prolly better if you run in proper running shoes, might injure yourself otherwise.

if you're out of breath, you'll slow down; if you push on, which i haven't tried before to the extreme, ya i guess you'll faint lol.
heliora10
post Sep 30 2012, 06:52 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(wh0cares @ Sep 30 2012, 11:40 AM)
Pj Half Marathon 2012
distance 21km
time 1:34:20

Didn't drink at any water station so no comment
And there were distance km , but not consistent .

chasing the leading Indian lady all the way
indian lady was sheela, her time was 1hr27mins, always see her getting first in all the races lol.

QUOTE(johny2k @ Sep 30 2012, 01:04 PM)
Ya, my friend attend the Solomon run. He say it is totally horrible, all the way wet like hell.

Next year I won't attend the PJ Half Marathon again. It is too much lousy thing there!

1. How come let us run in moto road not main road?? It is super duper narrow & some of that damn dark!

2. Where is the damn toilet??

3. No have any staff to check is the runner run for category 21km or other category? That mean next year we can just register fun run 3km, then go run 21km.

4. The sign board is lousy, show the wrong distance KM left.

5. I agree with Panasonic88, there is no have any cheering crowd. I really love that NTV7  feel good run drummer team!!

6. After finish line, I need ask where got free drink & food? And need walk back to front door, lol
i complained on their fb page about most of the points you raised.
but can't really expect much cheering crowd la

QUOTE(deadmau5 @ Sep 30 2012, 02:07 PM)
Water stations should have used the stacking system, the running T wasn't even sweat repellent, felt more like a cotton shirt instead.
isn't the running t-shirt the same as other dri-fit shirts, felt the same to me
heliora10
post Oct 4 2012, 12:04 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 3 2012, 04:05 PM)
How to run faster ?

If U run at 6:00/km everyday, everytime, every training session, it's little wonder why U can't run at 5:30/km or even 5:45/km right ? If U want to run at 5:30/km, U have to train at 5:30/km la, or faster even...

One keyword here :COMFORT ZONE

Sports or even fitness is pretty much the same. To progress or improve, U need to get out of Ur comfort zone. At the gym, if U've been lifting 10kg curls for the past 6 months, pls do not think further why U have shown little or no progress in terms of muscle mass or strength, for example. U need to lift heavier. The same goes with running, cycling, swimming. U need to go faster la. No pain, no gain.
thumbup.gif

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Oct 3 2012, 04:15 PM)
+1000  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

This doesn't only apply to Sports or Fitness, but to Life as well. In our work, studies, relationships, etc~~

Never try, never know...Just Do It (Nike) & Nothing is Impossible (Adidas)...very good advice there Tenno  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i always like to correct people when they misquote Adidas's tagline heh, it's "Impossible is Nothing", not nothing is impossible, there's a crucial difference heh

QUOTE(266K @ Oct 4 2012, 07:46 AM)
Run in gym takes less effort than on the road, u shud run more on the road if u take part in races. then on the race day u will hv a target time to beat.
i've never really run on treadmill before, but i think one advantage of treadmill is you can set it at a constant pace, so you can set the level of effort you wanna exert and it's a good way to control and pace yourself, plus you can add inclination.

having said that, i don't run on treadmills since i don't have one and do not go to the gym heh.
heliora10
post Oct 5 2012, 02:58 PM

183 posts

lol "standard" guy.

for me i generally do not eat much prior to a race, but i do feel hungry in the morning hence will take in a mug of milo mixed with cereals and a bun perhaps, which was what i had prior to PJ half, just to get rid of the hungry feeling.
for 10k i imagine even if you don't take anything before it'd be fine.

but i've never run a full marathon before, fairly sure you'd need to stock up some food in you for that.
heliora10
post Oct 9 2012, 04:49 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(Maxram @ Oct 9 2012, 04:46 PM)
Isn't it the person need to run on a treadmill, they will analyse our gait? Any shop provide this?
running lab at tropicana city mall.
but i doubt their accuracy, it's hard to see what kind of pronation you have when you're running without like some slow-motion high speed camera.
heliora10
post Oct 9 2012, 05:31 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 9 2012, 05:02 PM)

Added on October 9, 2012, 5:05 pm
U can actually.. of course slow mo caption is a lot more accurate, but U can tell Ur gait from the pattern of Ur shoe's outsole wear.. & also, if U've been having the same gait for years, I mean, U run & walk with the same style, it won't be too hard to tell...
but the way the uncle checked my gait didn't really give me much confidence, he just looked at my feet from sideway while i walked, didn't check the wear & tear of my shoes nor did he look from behind.
heliora10
post Oct 10 2012, 01:09 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 9 2012, 09:01 PM)
Look at Ur feet sideways ? I dun think thts the way to do it... how can U check the alignment of Ur feet (whether straight or not relative to Ur heels) from the side ?
precisely, tell me about it.

QUOTE(auhckw @ Oct 10 2012, 09:21 AM)
Went test run with new shoes. Comfort wise, feels big different compared to my expired shoe  thumbup.gif

Old shoes 10km - 1:05:20
New shoes 10km - 0:59.41

Speed improved but barely managed to finish it. I think I ran faster cause of comfort but body not ready  sweat.gif

Overall satisfied. And looking fwd to try out Nike Run (my first non DPC route and event run  blush.gif ).
i've never run that bigger route at DPC before, maybe can try, however this doesn't run up the hill right? wonder if we can just run up the hill.
heliora10
post Oct 11 2012, 11:01 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(ravensteele @ Oct 10 2012, 11:26 PM)
Mm hmmm, but the problem is I haven't had much (or any infact) training prior to this lol...

Only started doing regular 30mins jogs/runs for a couple of weeks in August, none in September  tongue.gif Now just doing daily runs of around 40-45mins runs of around 6-ish to 7-ish km.

Should I be running like that everyday? Is there like a more proper training regime which I can follow? By the way, I'm working on a rig offshore, so I have basically just a round helipad of around 65m around to run on lol.

AND I'm guessing smoking doesn't help huh lol sweat.gif
if you can run everyday like that you're well on track to hit your targets. and i'd say if you feel alright and your legs feel fine just keep doing it and slowly up your mileage.

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Oct 11 2012, 12:26 AM)
If I leave Publika around 4.40, do you think I can make it to Jalan Ampang in time this Saturday? T_T
nope, you have to factor in not just the traffic, road closures, but also parking and walking, plus there'll be lotsa people too.
unless you don't mind starting from behind lol, then not a problem.

QUOTE(auhckw @ Oct 11 2012, 09:34 AM)
Today I ran again, and re-measure.

From the free open car park marked lowest towards top, elevation is going upwards.

It then goes downwards till about the luxury condo area.

From the condo, it goes upwards till waterfront.

After waterfront, it goes all the way downwards till the starting point.

Not really hilly, but got up and down  nod.gif
nah i think the elevation isn't accurate, it tends to exaggerate the height, DPC's big route is pretty much flat, just have to compare both sides to the water level of the lake then you'll see.
heliora10
post Oct 11 2012, 04:20 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Oct 11 2012, 11:09 AM)
I am sure my phone gps calculation may not be accurate, but the outer is definitely not flat. I was driving around it, and can notice the slant up and down. Then again, not so obvious while running la  unsure.gif
feels pretty flat to me heh

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 11 2012, 11:12 AM)
I'm not sure what app U use to measure elevation... but if U use Garmin, in the map U can see tht wht appears to be flat is actually not flat at all. & Garmin provides total elevation, elevation gained, highest point plus lowest point.. so maybe the app he was using calculates total elevation gained during the whole running distance. My place in Saujana Putra is like totally flat, but at the end of the run I gained 24m total elevation... but maybe 300+ m is too much to be accurate lh...
i use runkeeper too, and it basically shows the elevation of the route, doesn't give stats like elevation gained etc.

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Oct 11 2012, 11:23 AM)
Ahaha, same here.

I went to KLCC park to break in my new pair of shoes. Not sure if is a placebo effect, but seeing my new records in my Nike Running app sure made me felt good.  tongue.gif

Old shoes 5.43km 0.41.03 7.33/km @ Kiara Park Lunarglide
New shoes 5.37km 0.32.40 6.04/km @ KLCC Park Lunarglide4

Main objective for me is 10km under 1.10.00 for Nike Run'12 and hopefully below 1 hour mark by end of the year.
shoes cannot just increase your pace by 1.5min/km in less than a week! that's a hugeeee difference, if ada kasut macam tu please intro lol. you prolly are already that fast la.

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 11 2012, 12:43 PM)
Suggested that you take LRT to KLCC , monorail still got a distance to walk ..
from the map monorail seems to be slightly nearer to zouk leh.
heliora10
post Oct 11 2012, 06:32 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(RedShirt @ Oct 11 2012, 06:04 PM)
Just received a SMS saying that the Melaka Heritage Run has been cancelled.  sad.gif
I love running at different new places and was really looking forward to that.
argh so it is cancelled eh... i have yet to receive the notice =(.
was looking forward to the Melaka trip... those people who booked hotel rooms how ah.
heliora10
post Oct 11 2012, 10:34 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Oct 11 2012, 09:23 PM)
looks gay to me.... doh.gif
i recall someone wearing that tight shorts all the time leh hmm.gif
heliora10
post Oct 12 2012, 02:13 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Oct 12 2012, 11:50 AM)
once you get used to it .. you felt okay to do so wan ..  wink.gif
not everyone as high mileage as you la tongue.gif

QUOTE(auhckw @ Oct 12 2012, 01:13 PM)
How do you pace yourself in routes that you have never run before? I worry that if start too fast, then will poncet fast. But if go too slow, later hard to catch up if the road get tougher later.

Any advises for newbies? I hope I can finish in under 60minutes for the nike 10k. No confident but will give my best...
i just checked out your runkeeper logs, pretty good for someone who just started man, also you run at DPC almost every morning, maybe i'll join you instead of going all the way to KLCC park sometimes haha.

anyway Nike run is about 10.6km i believe, i mapped it out, which pisses me off since if it's stated 10km so why add that 600m which is a huge difference mad.gif. so to achieve sub-1hr you need an average pace of 5min39sec, good luck with that!
heliora10
post Oct 15 2012, 05:15 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 15 2012, 02:12 PM)
I always see regular names on female race; that's either Sheela or Jessica Tang. Awesome! Recorded 39m & 45min respectively for 10km run.
lol yes i see them all the time...the gap between no.1 and 2 is pretty huge, almost 6mins!
heliora10
post Oct 16 2012, 11:39 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(Run jz Fun @ Oct 16 2012, 06:05 AM)
wat is ur nett time/chip time ? i over take u abit in last minute .  tongue.gif
nett time 00:59:58
rank 346 male >25
hahaha still below 1hr. wakkaka rclxm9.gif . Not my PB but ok la.. somemore go toilet running halfway icon_rolleyes.gif
you sure you quoted the right person? he top 100 finisher leh.
maybe he was running his 2nd round liao lol.
heliora10
post Oct 19 2012, 07:07 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Oct 19 2012, 10:01 AM)
Looks like most people here are running the Putrajaya NM tomorrow...so, was wondering anyone heard/joining the Enviro Run on Sun morning??

7km only...but the first 10 finishers get's a Bicycle~~and medals are only to the top 100.

It's at Tasik Titiwangsa area.
i am =)
heliora10
post Oct 22 2012, 12:54 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 22 2012, 09:00 AM)
Depends on where U stop lh... Putrajaya roads can be very confusing & the signboards are very misleading... after 6 years working in Putrajaya, I still get lost sometimes.... & the worst thing is that, once U miss a turn or a junction, there's no way to turn around..without getting lost again...  tongue.gif
tell me about it man, i spent half an hour driving around Putrajaya looking for the LYNR booth -___-.
but mainly because i was fed the wrong location lol, zz.

0.0251sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:39 PM