Fitness The Runners Thread V5, RUNINSPIRED !!!

ChipZ
post Jul 23 2012, 11:05 PM

1,330 posts

Damn, I think I heel-strike too from all your descriptions. I guess it must be hard to correct after so many years of running
ChipZ
post Jul 24 2012, 11:45 AM

1,330 posts

I have been running for quite a number of races and only know I've noticed I heel-strike and also overstride, but I guess I'm already used to this running pattern. Should I just let it be?
ChipZ
post Jul 24 2012, 11:49 AM

1,330 posts

By forefoot u mean, landing on the front part of the sole and then rolling down the whole foot or just the forefoot is touching the ground all the time?
ChipZ
post Jul 24 2012, 12:02 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 24 2012, 11:58 AM)
hello...

running only wei... why want to makes its sound so hard and technical.

heel landing la, mid-foot landing.. forefoot landing la...

stop cocking, go out start running NOW! clock some mileage, feel the legs, no need care about landing style as you only run for 1-2KM or 30 mins perhaps... nothing will harm ur legs, ur knees, ur muscles.

Just Run.
I'm asking because my next marathon is a 42k. Afterall, that's the point of having this forum. Otherwise, we might as well just close this forum and ask everyone to go out and run. Cheers, dude
ChipZ
post Jul 24 2012, 12:35 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jul 24 2012, 12:16 PM)
mind im asking, how many 10km run? 21km run? Preparing for 42km, you should have some mileages clocked on ur legs, you should know ur legs well, ur ability to go fast or slow, far or not far. dont tell me you is a newbie and wanted to attempt 42KM marathon.

spirit wise, respect. but body wise, you are kamikaze your body. why go into 42km when you're so green in running. i'm just hope running would be a sustainable activities, and not to get urself injured and stop running for rest of life.

no points having so much info when you not yet start into running. we here discuss how to improve running, sharing tips for race preparation.

u can tell ur problems face in running, we can share our experience.

just hope no more silly questions asked.
SO you like judging someone based on their question. I wonder how on the earth can you know that I am 'new' to running when I personally do not really know you. You must have a heck of the brilliant mind-reading power any human would ever possessed.

Dude, I'm just asking for opinion, there is seriously no need for you to use the word silly here. I guess we need to propose to the moderator to impose some STRICT guidelines that disallow people from posting SILLY question here, with the definition of SILLY provided by you, that is.
ChipZ
post Jul 24 2012, 01:06 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Jul 24 2012, 12:46 PM)
Calm down everybody...

Forefoot/midfoot strike means U will land on that area first, there's always possibility that Ur heel will make minimal contact with the ground. Forefoot strike doesn't mean that U run on the toes/balls of Ur feet only & the heel never touch the ground. Only sprinters do that. Try doing that in a race more than 10K. It'll do more harm than good.

Heel strikers means U will land heel first, then Ur feet will make a transition to toe-off using the forefoot. Is it possible to toe-off/take off using heels ? I dun think so. Is there anything wrong with heel striking ? Of course not. There's one female runner who got podium for Boston Marathon last year I think, she was a heel striker.

Studies have shown that the most natural way & perhaps the recommended stride for distance runners is the forefoot/midfoot stride. But most shoes are designed for heel strikers, this can be seen from the amount of cushioning on the heel area. Manufacturers also tend to place the most durable outsole material (BRS1000, AHAR, etc) on the heel area to increase a shoe's durability. The only shoes that I know with dedicated/specialized forefoot cushioning is Newton. Some manufacturer will put extra cushioning on the forefoot area.

As I've said many times before, there's no wrong or right in this matter. Just run the way U feel most natural to U. I was a heel striker when I began but now that I've switched to midfoot strike, I felt that it was a better stride. I've tried switching back to heel striking, doesn't feel right.  tongue.gif
Thanks for the clarification. Really appreciated it. smile.gif
ChipZ
post Aug 3 2012, 11:56 PM

1,330 posts

Any recommended android apps for runner that will accurately keep track of the distance and perform mapping? Are they going to use up a lot of data usage?
ChipZ
post Aug 11 2012, 12:13 PM

1,330 posts

Those who are using GPS watches with HRM strap. How do you wash the strap and how often do you do so?
ChipZ
post Aug 13 2012, 11:17 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Aug 13 2012, 11:08 AM)
Rinse after every use, then once a week put together in washing machine, use washing net...
Thanks, just got a Forerunner 610 and still learning how to use it.
ChipZ
post Aug 30 2012, 10:52 AM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Aug 30 2012, 08:50 AM)
hei anyone runners frm ipoh ?? wanted to ask if it is safe to run in Polo ground early morning .. like around 5.30 am biggrin.gif
I'm from Ipoh. I run in the morning sometimes but not so early around 5.30. I start around 7am but there are already damn lot of ppl there
ChipZ
post Sep 5 2012, 11:27 PM

1,330 posts

For Nike Run, I have 2 questions:

1) Is this run open for runners below 18 years old; and
2) For 1+1 Buddy registration, must they be of the same gender?

Thank you.
ChipZ
post Sep 11 2012, 12:11 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Sep 11 2012, 10:04 AM)
hi joggers from ipoh... just wanted to ask if anyone knows the distance for the one loop in polo ground... dun have a gps watch and will like to keep track on my speed biggrin.gif thx
One (big) loop is around 1.33 km from my gps watch.
ChipZ
post Sep 13 2012, 04:57 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(Maxram @ Sep 13 2012, 04:49 PM)
me too, but content at the moment because want to gain endurance / race distant first. next year will try out those tempo / piramid run.

btw, going to collect my Taiping IM Bib tomorrow, if you staying around Penang mainland, I can help you to collect.

Going to the race on Sunday.... slow runner - paiseh to say I'm LYN FB runner  whistling.gif
Possible to collect without IC photocopies? I will have my friends from Penang to collect for me as well
ChipZ
post Sep 14 2012, 04:59 PM

1,330 posts

I have some charging issues with my Garmin 610. For twice, when it reaches 92% of charging, it says "temperature is outside range for charging the battery". Is this normal?
ChipZ
post Sep 14 2012, 08:23 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(ccube @ Sep 14 2012, 05:49 PM)
looks like the battery is giving u some prob. send it back to distributor and chk if still under warranty. shud not happen this way.
Thanks. I found a solution to that already. It's actually due to the software rather than the hardware. On a side note, the collection for Taiping Marathon's kits was very awful today.
ChipZ
post Sep 16 2012, 06:03 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(keeseng12 @ Sep 16 2012, 05:25 PM)
This year taiping marathon is so damn screwed. Let me share my experience here. I heard that they screwed it last year too and this year no improvement. Wtf

- when we collected the race bib, a colleague of mine line up for 2 hours. Fine. And the bib was a big mess. Some with chip, some none. Some the race bib is white color standardized, some with clothes sponsored by Milo. And some with name, some none (mine only number, no name)

- the full marathon push out 30 minutes. From 430 to 5. Half marathon (I'm in this) pushed out 1 hour! From 5 to 6. No indicator showing that unless you're personally there and they announced it.

- water station. Okay I give credit for the frequency of the water station. 5Km once and every 2.5km. But! They provide spritzer pop. Yeah the carbonated mineral water. Only last station they provide small cup of 100 plus if not mistaken.

- the thing that pissed me the most. Medals. Guess what. Limited finisher medals. Even though completed the half marathon at 2h18m. They say they only printed a limited amount for that. They did redistribute again. But that was they took those from other category half marathon and replace to category d (men's open).

So. U tell me if this is screwed?
Agree, and to add on.

-Every staff there seemed so inexperience and clueless about what the event is all about. When I asked them some question, most of them answered "I dont know la, you need to ask the organiser". Isnt that what I'm doing now?

-No traffic control, 100% free run with the car. I feel pitiful for the FM runners who have to guess which route to take as there were no indicators or signboards.

-No distance indicator marker (not even once), and I didnt see any medical booths along the way. And what pissed me off the most was:

-My mum and sis + some other participants are given a card since they managed to finish in top 30 in their categories. So we waited for about 3 hours for them to have a prize giving ceremony but ended up only top 10 could get (Then why gave us that card while not giving explanation?) Not to mention that the results compilation takes forever.

I'm not sure if this event would even publish the official timing results for FM and HM. As bad as ENR 2011.
ChipZ
post Sep 20 2012, 03:52 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Sep 20 2012, 03:47 PM)
Actually, the article is correct.. but that depends on who reads it. A distance runner would be offended, no doubt. Somebody like me, stuck in between gaining muscles & the love of distance running, would try to find a balance between those two (sprinting vs. endurance). I've seen (& experienced) my muscles earned through hard weight sessions disappear becoz of distance training. & I believe that my slow progress in the muscles dept is due to the fact that I run too much. But tht's just how the body works... so U've gotta be clear about Ur goals... tht's it.
Same case here. I used to jog a lot, then started bodybuilding but I still love long distance running. At one point I was damn skinny and at the other extreme point I was damn 'thick'. My training now alternates between running and weight training (Squats, deadlifts, bench press etc). I know running and bodybuilding does not work well together but those are what I love doing.
ChipZ
post Oct 8 2012, 04:01 PM

1,330 posts

I always have the tendency to pee minutes before the race starts, now matter how many times I go to the toilet prior to that. And me too, hate morning races. Ended up not sleeping a few times before running HM.
ChipZ
post Oct 10 2012, 01:21 PM

1,330 posts

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 10 2012, 09:40 AM)
Hard to wash ? Just throw 'em into the washing machine la... U handwash 'em is it ?

I'm into my 3rd or 4th Injinji edi.. I've got wide feet & quite big toes that is giving me problems on long runs, so Injinji solved the probs & I never got any blister no more.. right now I've got a couple.. for short runs I'll use normal running socks from Nike & Brooks.. when I started running I used RM5/pair running socks from FOS.
Tenno, how about http://ccube-sports-hub.blogspot.com/2010/...-keep-feet.html

How do these socks fare against Injinji. Which one is suitable for heavily-sweating-feet on a long distance run?
ChipZ
post Oct 12 2012, 11:57 PM

1,330 posts

Anyone knows if Running Lab Tropicana City Mall is selling injinji socks?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0415sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:24 PM