Stock Cooler Overclocking (AMD & Intel)

newbieockids
post Jan 18 2006, 02:07 AM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jan 17 2006, 10:37 PM)
Hi, my AMD 939 3200 proc => CDBHE 0540. How to know this is under good week or poor week?
burn it 1st, and u'll know either it is good week or not.. smile.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 18 2006, 10:13 PM

1,405 posts

anybody know some details about AMD64 heatsink fan?..
max/min rpm, max/min airflow etc?.. unsure.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 19 2006, 02:35 AM

1,405 posts

adding mine..
AMD64 3000+ Venice * DFI NF4 Infinity * Gskill TCCD * 1.52V * 2615.6MHZ
newbieockids
post Jan 19 2006, 03:29 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 19 2006, 12:16 PM)
good job newbieockids...... 2.6ghz on stock cooling not bad
thanx bro.. but im curious bout my temp.. dunno whether it accurate or not..
i dun think stock fan really good for dat temp displayed by smartguardian.. unsure.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 19 2006, 06:51 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 19 2006, 04:46 PM)
not sure about that....

but which Gskill series do u have?
ok np thanx.. it is F1-3200DSU2-1GBLF..

newbieockids
post Jan 19 2006, 11:08 PM

1,405 posts

agreed.. nod.gif temp doesnt matter as long as ur system is stable with maximum OC and the most important thing with stock cooling.. wub.gif

im going to mod my heatsink fan voltage to 17V..
after dat am i still qualified to post he result CoffeeDude?.. happy.gif

This post has been edited by newbieockids: Jan 19 2006, 11:08 PM
newbieockids
post Jan 20 2006, 12:07 AM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jan 19 2006, 11:59 PM)
me thinks your temps are under-reported  tongue.gif
still a nice proc there, not getting a Ninja?
im not afford to buy it.. sad.gif but im still happy with the stock heatsink..
for the smartguard, well they read everything else perfectly.. unsure.gif suddenly thinking to touch the heatsink, just a little warm.. guess it correct edi.. rolleyes.gif
not like the nb fan.. shakehead.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 20 2006, 12:45 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Jan 20 2006, 07:31 AM)
i just checked my fan model of the stock hsf, and here are the details that i get from delta's site:

Model: AFB0712HHB
Operating Voltage: 4.0 - 13.8 V
Current: 0.26 A
Power: 3.12 W
Max Speed: 4300 RPM
Max Airflow: 37.54 CFM
Noise: 38.5 dB-A

looks like if u wan to mod ur fan to 17V can potentially harm it.. sweat.gif
thanx for the info mate.. i really appreciate it.. well i guess i need to check out the fan model 1st same like u do.. happy.gif the thought just pass my mind("terlintas di fikiran" i hope it translated correctly laugh.gif ) after reading this article --> here

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 20 2006, 10:37 AM)
Hi, I have changed the format to include temps. But I would say it is not a requirement.

And I would also like to clarify that I don't own this thread. I would prefer to go with general consensus.

newbieockids, I think a modded fan would still qualify. I'm not sure  unsure.gif

My purpose of starting this thread is to find out how capable is the stock cooling. And I can see now that stock cooling is enough if I my aim is to run a Venice 3000+ at 2.5Ghz. If I want more than that I'd better go for aftermarket coolers.
well dude, its all depend to the processor itself, and maybe ur luck too.. if u're lucky, u'll got a highly overclockable one, so the stock heatsink will b enough for them.. if u're not, u'll get the crap one, even if u buy some hardware for a better cooling solution, i believe the result will gain a little bit but it still not good if compared to ur investment for that cooling solution.. n yeah, googling some info about the procs stepping before u buying it, at least will give u any hope/chances to get one highly overclockable one in ur hand.. smile.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 20 2006, 09:29 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(Garfie @ Jan 20 2006, 08:16 PM)
i just want to ask, is prime 95 instead of sp2004 ok with u all? if can i'll be posting my results up here...
its just the same.. np with me dunno bout others.. smile.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 21 2006, 06:10 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(Garfie @ Jan 21 2006, 05:25 PM)
wookie...still tweaking my new proc + mobo...

have a 3000+ venice E6 and a dfi lanparty ut nf3 ultra-d s939 mobo...so far hit 2.4ghz on 1.475vcore and 2.7vdimm running divider (166mhz).

will post screenies when i finished tweaking with it...
yay welcome to the club dude.. wave.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 21 2006, 08:52 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jan 21 2006, 06:27 PM)
awww, stepping a, is it the only way to see on top of the proc?
a big probably i can say is yes.. smile.gif

me too so lazy wanna take it out yet sweat.gif

This post has been edited by newbieockids: Jan 21 2006, 11:11 PM
newbieockids
post Jan 23 2006, 01:24 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 23 2006, 08:29 AM)
Finally did mine

35.7% OC * CoffeeDude * Venice E6 3000+ * DFI NF4 Infinity * KVR DDR400 1GBx2 * 1.472V * 2443.2Mhz * Load - 47C

Additional info:
Sandra memory benckmark - 6302 MB/s
RAM timings - 2.5-3-3-7
dude u totally max out at 270fsb?.. ur temp still look good.. pump up the vcore summore n see how it goes..
newbieockids
post Jan 23 2006, 03:07 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jan 23 2006, 03:02 PM)
whats the max temp for the processor?..50c?
55 n below is still in the safe range..
correct me if im wrong..

This post has been edited by newbieockids: Jan 23 2006, 03:10 PM
newbieockids
post Jan 23 2006, 08:15 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 23 2006, 05:13 PM)
there's 6:5?? iinm, in the bios settins, there's only 0.8 or ddr333 above 1:1 which is 5:4
nairud bro.. try flash to the latest bios.. got the 6:5 option there.. smile.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 24 2006, 08:23 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(lonewolf @ Jan 24 2006, 09:22 AM)
here is mine.... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
woot welcome to stock heatsink club bro.. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nairud @ Jan 24 2006, 10:47 AM)
haven't get to update / check version i'm using. Damn antivirus giving me prob...cannot support Auto repair out of nowhere. now disabled my network already...too dangerous. can't go online at home to dl new bios
cepat2 fix that prob n join us bro.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 24 2006, 10:53 AM)
Can someone recommend a good bios for my board (DFI NF4 Infinity)?

tks
my current version/date 4.XX/12/01/2004 so far no prob at all..
but i believe nf4 infinity board dun have much issue with their bios.. only the latest got some minor improvent such as cpu current clock speed will be shown at boot page and some option in dram config(divider)..
newbieockids
post Jan 25 2006, 06:43 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jan 25 2006, 06:32 PM)
did you guys enable CnQ in bios?
just read one post from xtremesystem, some forummer said that its not recommend to enable CnQ if overclocking.
below is the link, post #29
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...?t=79509&page=2
ya you should disable them.. smile.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 25 2006, 06:53 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jan 25 2006, 06:47 PM)
ohh, will disable later.
newbieockids do you know what is the negative effetcs if enable CnQ and OC?
if u enable the CnQ.. the fan will spin in lower rpm(quite mode).. thats why it is not recommended whenever u oc the procs.. assuming that u've raised the vcore, so the procs temp going high but ur fan still running at lower speed with CnQ enable..
newbieockids
post Jan 25 2006, 11:52 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(PCcrazy @ Jan 25 2006, 07:55 PM)
Not really, if you enabled the CnQ, only the multiplier will change. It has got nothing to do with the fan. The fan can be set manually by you. At idle load, multi x5 is activated and at full load it will return to the multi that you have previously set in BIOS.

Mind you it's only recommended if your system is not stable. In my case running CnQ even at 270 HTT is completely stable. So I can overclock my system at the same time saving the electricity.  biggrin.gif
ic.. dunno either it is coincidence or not, coz last time when i enable the CnQ to see what happen while in 280HTT, the fan wouldnt surpass 3000rpm at full load.. beside, from the name itself, i assume the processor running "Cool"-->lower temp == lower volt(power consumption) 'n' "Quite"-->lower rpm fan == noiseless.. tongue.gif thanx for correcting me bro.. smile.gif

neway, im wonderring how does it saving the electricity as u said?.. by stabilize the multi so the HT will running in stable?.. unsure.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 26 2006, 11:56 AM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(PCcrazy @ Jan 26 2006, 02:59 AM)
Nope, I see that you are getting confused over here my friend. When idling, not only the multi will dropped, vcore will dropped as well. Say that at full load setup gives a reading of 2.6 GHz @ 1.6v, at idle because of dropping the multi and vcore your new reading would be 1.2 GHz @ 1.2v.
yeah i misunderstood u bro.. i tot the 5x multi u said b4 was HT frequency.. sweat.gif
got it rite now.. biggrin.gif
newbieockids
post Jan 26 2006, 01:42 PM

1,405 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 26 2006, 12:57 PM)
Does CnQ drop the Vcore together with the Vdimm?
a big probably not i may say coz its designed for the procs..
neway its too risk for the procs with CnQ enable when the Vcore drop, but the Vdimm stand still.. so its always better to disable the CnQ.. correct me if im wrong guyz..

0.0231sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:32 AM