im looking high performance ram~which ram are good value for money??
any recommend? Crucial, OCZ, Team, GSKILL, GEIL, Patriot, Kingston, Corsair???
RAM Handbook, updating ... zlol 23/12/07
Aug 20 2007, 03:26 PM
98 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
im looking high performance ram~which ram are good value for money??
any recommend? Crucial, OCZ, Team, GSKILL, GEIL, Patriot, Kingston, Corsair??? |
Aug 20 2007, 05:13 PM
1,262 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Butterworth, Penang |
It depends on your need. Crucial quite good but more heat than other. As for OCZ, you have to pick the right module by do some research in various review website. This is because not all OCZ are able to run in default clock and timing with all setup.
Try to look for SLi ready RAM. |
Aug 20 2007, 09:40 PM
98 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
QUOTE(karom @ Aug 20 2007, 05:13 PM) It depends on your need. Crucial quite good but more heat than other. As for OCZ, you have to pick the right module by do some research in various review website. This is because not all OCZ are able to run in default clock and timing with all setup. Oic....thanks guy Try to look for SLi ready RAM. |
Aug 20 2007, 10:26 PM
751 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
I plan to buy a 1GB DDR1 ram , but I'd like to know how to look at chipset ? what is the difference between KRV and Hynix ?
Can someone kindly update the image for those chipset at first page ? all image does not exist. Thank you |
Aug 21 2007, 02:35 AM
Aug 21 2007, 07:08 PM
1,167 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Hi guys!I have question here.If your laptop FSB is 533MHZ, can it support the RAM with 667MHZ DDR II?
Aug 21 2007, 07:18 PM
14,909 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Aug 21 2007, 08:35 PM
Aug 22 2007, 02:58 PM
14,909 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(jonuslee @ Aug 21 2007, 08:35 PM) This is your notebook right?http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...3035&CatId=1897 If this is the one, yes your notebook can support DDR2 667MHz. |
Aug 22 2007, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 22 2007, 02:58 PM) This is your notebook right? nop!my one is acer aspire 5504WXMi!!!Ths is the spec:http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/Sea...3035&CatId=1897 If this is the one, yes your notebook can support DDR2 667MHz. Intel Pentium M processor 760 (2.0 GHz, 533Mhz FSB 2MB L2 Cache 14.1" WXGA CrystalBrite TFT LCD ATI Mobility Radeon X700 PCI Express/64 MB VRAM 80GB HDD Slot loading DVD dual ( support DVD+R double layer / dvd +- rw) 1GB DDR2 ( support dual channel) 802.11b/g wireless LAN This post has been edited by jonuslee: Aug 22 2007, 03:51 PM |
Aug 23 2007, 11:35 PM
2 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Hi guys.. Need help from u guys.. I hv read sumwhere telling that if your mobo only support DDR2 533mhz, u can still use DDR2 667mhz coz the mobo will automaticly downclock your ram to 533mhz.. izzit true?
coz currently i'm using 512mhz ram on my laptop and i wanted to upgrade my laptop ram to 2gb dual-channel (1gb x 2).. but the thing is 1gb ddr2 667 is much more cheaper and easier to find than the 533mhz.. and my laptop only support ddr2 533mhz (read it at intel website <-- dunno true or not).. so back to question.. can i use the ddr2 667mhz instead of the 533mhz? if 667mhz can be use instead of 533mhz do they have any impact (performance/future defect/problems)? and do 1gb ddr2 667mhz X 2 (2gb dual-channel) with give a same effect as 1gb ddr2 533mhz X 2 (2gb dual channel) on the mobo that support only ddr2 533mhz? here's my laptop model: Acer Travelmate 4021NWLMi Intel Pentium M proc 725 (1.6ghz, 400Mhz FSB, 2MB L2 cache) Intel 915GM Express chipset btw izzit relevent if upgrade my laptop to 2gb ram based on my laptop spec hope u guys can help explain it to me.. anyway thanx in advance.. |
Aug 24 2007, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(purda_kurda @ Aug 23 2007, 11:35 PM) Hi guys.. Need help from u guys.. I hv read sumwhere telling that if your mobo only support DDR2 533mhz, u can still use DDR2 667mhz coz the mobo will automaticly downclock your ram to 533mhz.. izzit true? In my opinion, there is no problem to use the DDR2 667Mhz even though the laptop support up to 533Mhz. Indeed, it will automatically downclock the frequency in the first place.coz currently i'm using 512mhz ram on my laptop and i wanted to upgrade my laptop ram to 2gb dual-channel (1gb x 2).. but the thing is 1gb ddr2 667 is much more cheaper and easier to find than the 533mhz.. and my laptop only support ddr2 533mhz (read it at intel website <-- dunno true or not).. so back to question.. can i use the ddr2 667mhz instead of the 533mhz? if 667mhz can be use instead of 533mhz do they have any impact (performance/future defect/problems)? and do 1gb ddr2 667mhz X 2 (2gb dual-channel) with give a same effect as 1gb ddr2 533mhz X 2 (2gb dual channel) on the mobo that support only ddr2 533mhz? here's my laptop model: Acer Travelmate 4021NWLMi Intel Pentium M proc 725 (1.6ghz, 400Mhz FSB, 2MB L2 cache) Intel 915GM Express chipset btw izzit relevent if upgrade my laptop to 2gb ram based on my laptop spec hope u guys can help explain it to me.. anyway thanx in advance.. Hope this will you. Good luck. |
Aug 24 2007, 12:41 AM
2,730 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the shadows behind you |
QUOTE(karom @ Aug 24 2007, 12:31 AM) In my opinion, there is no problem to use the DDR2 667Mhz even though the laptop support up to 533Mhz. Indeed, it will automatically downclock the frequency in the first place. the freq rating on RAM refers to the MAX freq that the RAM is specified to run stably by the manufacturer. Much like the maximum top speed of a car. If your car has a top speed of 200km/h, you can still drive at 120km/h right ? It's the same for RAMs.Hope this will you. Good luck. the statement "automatic downclock" is incorrect. What actually happen is that the RAM basically follows the freq as set by the mobo. |
Aug 24 2007, 04:36 PM
Yeah. Sorry for incorrect term.
Aug 25 2007, 07:20 PM
904 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Tanjong Golden Ville |
hi,
i just want to know which brand should i choose for SODIMM DDR2 RAM, i need high performance ram... a) Mushkin b) Corsair c) TeamData d) Kingston Please help~! |
Aug 26 2007, 02:17 AM
Try to look for tight timing spec for Sodimm RAM.
Aug 26 2007, 08:34 AM
904 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Tanjong Golden Ville |
Aug 27 2007, 12:04 PM
lower timing. such as 4-4-4-12.
Cas Latency 4 |
Aug 29 2007, 06:21 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Sydney, NSW |
hie..i'm looking for 1GB DDR2 667Mhz SODIMM RAM for my laptop. currently has 2 options : Kingston & Corsair. which one will u guys recommend? both price more or less the same. offers lifetime warranty too. how about performance? just wanna boost up my Vista. hardly gaming. more to internet surfing & some Adobe Photoshops.
This post has been edited by teikwing: Aug 29 2007, 06:25 PM |
Aug 29 2007, 07:43 PM
Either one will do.
But i would suggest corsair lah. |
| Change to: | 0.0179sec