1,468 posts

how to 0/C high performance memory ram?
need wat software ?
ktek
post Nov 17 2006, 05:30 PM

小喇叭
13,202 posts

QUOTE(mytescocom @ Nov 16 2006, 05:09 PM)
If you have a 1 x 512MB 533Mhz DDR2  RAM -your effective FSB is 533Mhz.

If you use 2 x 256MB 533 DDR2 RAM with dual channel, your effective FSB is 1066Mhz.

The total memory is the same for both cases, but just  the difference with the FSB.

With dual channel, this allows you to achieve 1:1 ratio with your processor (assuming it's your CPU is Core2 Duo -1066Mhz)
are you sure about this ?
i thought dual channel is something for memory controller to use 64 bit or 128 bit mode unsure.gif
QUOTE(drummerboy @ Nov 16 2006, 08:21 PM)
if i get 256mb 533mhz x 3??? then it will be 1609mhz???
here comes a problem of that explanation doh.gif
drummerboy
post Nov 17 2006, 10:21 PM

539 posts

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by drummerboy: Nov 17 2006, 10:23 PM
mytescocom
post Nov 19 2006, 12:24 PM

72 posts

Yes, dual channel uses 128bit. A single channel uses 64bit.
64x2 =128bit =dual channel.

If you run 3 x 256MB 533Mhz, you cannot run dual channel. It needs to be in a pair. ie 2 x 256MB 533Mhz or 4 x 256MB 533Mhz. Remember, dual channel gives an effective 128-bit wide data bus. So whether is 2x or 4x 256MB 533Mhz, you maximum FSB will still only be 1066MHZ.
drummerboy
post Nov 19 2006, 01:47 PM

539 posts

oh okok...thnx a lot!!!! smile.gif
drummerboy
post Nov 19 2006, 04:26 PM

539 posts

What if currently my dual channel is 256mbramx2 = 533mhz...i fi wan to make it to 1066 i can eitheir add 256mbx2 again or just one piece of 512 533 makes no difference rite???
TheForce
post Nov 21 2006, 03:56 PM

66 posts

Is there much difference in performance between a ddr2-667 ram and ddr2-800?

And anyone of you are using Samsung ddr2-800 rams? I've never heard of them until now. How is their performance like? I took a quick glance of the chips at the shop and i couldn't locate the 'SAMGSUNG' word...just the model number...i wonder what chips they are using.

Those Samsung rams costs rm220 for a 512mb stick. They were recommended to me by the shopkeeper when i was about to select a pair of KVR ddr2-667 rams. I'll be using them on a C2D e6300.
drummerboy
post Nov 21 2006, 08:14 PM

539 posts

never heard of them tongue.gif
junkfish
post Nov 23 2006, 05:42 PM

39 posts

If you have a 1 x 512MB 533Mhz DDR2  RAM -your effective FSB is 533Mhz.

If you use 2 x 256MB 533 DDR2 RAM with dual channel, your effective FSB is 1066Mhz.

The total memory is the same for both cases, but just  the difference with the FSB.

With dual channel, this allows you to achieve 1:1 ratio with your processor (assuming it's your CPU is Core2 Duo -1066Mhz)
Sorry got noob question,
Is it that important to achieve 1:1 ratio with processor ? What if I dual channel 667 /800 Mhz ram.

That would make effective FSB 1334/1600 . Is that no good or it has no beneficial effect ?
yu_wang
post Nov 23 2006, 07:04 PM

144 posts

If you have a 1 x 512MB 533Mhz DDR2 RAM -your effective FSB is 533Mhz.

The total memory is the same for both cases, but just the difference with the FSB.

I think you're using the wrong terminology. RAM frequency ≠ FSB. FSB is for processor. And dual/single channel doesn't change RAM frequency either. blink.gif
To sum things up (all can be found on the 1st page):

Effective FSB = base FSB x 4 for Intel system OR base FSB x 2 for AMD system

Effective RAM frequency = base RAM frequency x 2 for DDR & DDR2 RAM

1:1 ratio is acheived by matching base FSB with base RAM frequency (no "effective" stuff, no multiplication). This is highly recommended for optimum performance, and is especially important for AMD systems because the AMD FSB is not very efficient when it is slower than the RAM.

[waiting for someone to correct me sweat.gif ]

This post has been edited by yu_wang: Nov 23 2006, 09:35 PM
drummerboy
post Nov 23 2006, 09:11 PM

539 posts

yu_wang..I am sorry but i don't understand...tongue.gif
yu_wang
post Nov 23 2006, 09:23 PM

144 posts

it's ok...im not sure if i do either. biggrin.gif
i guess everyone reads the detailed explanations on the 1st page and feels like posting, "too long didnt read"
Remember...Google and Wikipedia are your friends!
drummerboy
post Nov 24 2006, 12:46 AM

539 posts

l0l tongue.gif... i am a person who is lazy to read
superlfc
post Nov 26 2006, 10:54 AM

100 posts

mine is dual channel 256MB ddr2 667MHz, so what is my effective FSB?

If i put in one 1GB with 256MB, compare to 2x 512MB, which combination works better for my lappy?

assuming all is using ddr2 667MHz. mine is thinkpad R60.
drummerboy
post Nov 26 2006, 11:45 AM

539 posts

If I am not mistaken your max FSB u can go for is only 1066 no matter how much u add???

Correct me if I am wrong smile.gif
Ah Shawn
post Nov 26 2006, 09:32 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Nov 26 2006, 11:45 AM)
If I am not mistaken your max FSB u can go for is only 1066 no matter how much u add???

Correct me if I am wrong smile.gif
dude!dun u get it.dual channeling does not affect ur FSB speed.ram frequency is NOT FSB speed.2 533mhz rams will not increase ram speed 2 1066 or FSB speed 2 1066.2 rams equals 2 more memory.not more speed

btw,im not 2 good at this.wat i wanna ask is wat does da timings mean?
DDR400 2-3-3-7.
CL2.0 wats dat mean?
wats CAS?
wats all dat in layman's terms pls?i din really get charge n go's explanation at page 2 cos he din cover everytin.pls explain.thx a lot

This post has been edited by Ah Shawn: Nov 26 2006, 09:52 PM
drummerboy
post Nov 27 2006, 12:30 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(Ah Shawn @ Nov 26 2006, 09:32 PM)
dude!dun u get it.dual channeling does not affect ur FSB speed.ram frequency is NOT FSB speed.2 533mhz rams will not increase ram speed 2 1066 or FSB speed 2 1066.2 rams equals 2 more memory.not more speed

btw,im not 2 good at this.wat i wanna ask is wat does da timings mean?
DDR400 2-3-3-7.
CL2.0 wats dat mean?
wats CAS?
wats all dat in layman's terms pls?i din really get charge n go's explanation at page 2 cos he din cover everytin.pls explain.thx a lot
yeah u r right..i was wrong... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Btw i also wanna know wat r timings icon_rolleyes.gif

superlfc
post Nov 27 2006, 02:37 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(superlfc @ Nov 26 2006, 10:54 AM)
mine is dual channel 256MB ddr2 667MHz, so what is my effective FSB?

If i put in one 1GB with 256MB, compare to 2x 512MB, which combination works better for my lappy?

assuming all is using ddr2 667MHz. mine is thinkpad R60.
please help me with the above question! thank you!
elmofudd
post Nov 27 2006, 04:38 PM

69 posts

my friend advise me to get a 2x 512mb ddr2 667Mhz rather than 1x 1gb ddr2 667Mhz for a new pc setup i am planning to buy (Core2Duo E6300).

appreciate it if someone can explain in layman terms just how much of a performance issue dual channel memory (or lack of) it really is? does it really matter that much? in which cases? 3D games? if there is a detailed test/review site to point me to that's be great!

my plan is just to get a 1GB stick and upgrade to 2GB when memory prices come down in the future.

thanks, guys!
drummerboy
post Nov 27 2006, 08:15 PM

539 posts

2x512 better...dual channel

65 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:00 AM