RAM Handbook, updating ... zlol 23/12/07

calvin_gsc
post Dec 3 2006, 06:18 PM

10,261 posts

Hey guys, i would like to find out whether my laptop is running at dual channel.

I got

1 x 1GB Kingston PC5300 667Mhz DDR2
1 x 1GB Samsung PC5300 667MHz DDR2

Here are the screenshots. Can please help me verify? Thank you.

Does the channels# under the Memory tab in CPU-Z signify I am on dual channel? It says dual.

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Dec 3 2006, 06:51 PM
drummerboy
post Dec 3 2006, 07:39 PM

539 posts

Yeah you are running at dual channel
calvin_gsc
post Dec 3 2006, 08:18 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Dec 3 2006, 07:39 PM)
Yeah you are running at dual channel
'
Bro, you refer to what? Just wondering, what to look out for. notworthy.gif
drummerboy
post Dec 3 2006, 11:07 PM

539 posts

channel box...written there dual
drummerboy
post Dec 4 2006, 10:38 PM

539 posts

What is ram latency??
calvin_gsc
post Dec 4 2006, 10:55 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Dec 3 2006, 11:07 PM)
channel box...written there dual
Thanks!

QUOTE(drummerboy @ Dec 4 2006, 10:38 PM)
What is ram latency??
Though you'd be a ram expert.

A delay in transmitting data between a computer's RAM and its processor. Since RAM is not necessarily fast compared to the computer's processor, RAM latency can occur, causing a delay between the time a computer's hardware recognizes the need for a RAM access (initiates a request for data) and the time the data or instruction is available to the processor. If the CPU requests data that is not stored in the cache, then it will have to wait for the RAM to retrieve the data, opening the door to latency problems.

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/R/RAM_latency.html

Here's a good guide on ram latency.

http://ezinearticles.com/?RAM-and-Latency-...-Know&id=104979

Normally, generally lower latency is better.
SUSradical85
post Dec 5 2006, 12:49 PM

lalala~~
625 posts

which aspect shall i be aware of if i were to buy a new ram to pair up wif my existing 1? i have a PC2100 512mb ram, so i shud just get a PC2100 ram as well or i have to find a ram wif similar timing?
drummerboy
post Dec 5 2006, 02:51 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Dec 4 2006, 10:55 PM)
Thanks!
Though you'd be a ram expert.

haha..not expert... Only know some through experiments and forums..I m noob in computers...

ahpei
post Dec 12 2006, 12:12 AM

28 posts

Thanks a lot for contributing this precious information....
good job....
ben3003
post Dec 21 2006, 07:45 PM

10,859 posts

is 3-3-3-9 a good ram for overclocking? i am going to overclock my soon-to-be e6300 rig. THe ram is from mushkin 533mhz ddr2. Thanks alot.
mugenz
post Dec 26 2006, 06:06 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

erhh. i m a noob in computer.. so i dun understand the very technical explaination.. most noobs will only concern about "which is good?"

okie i m about 2 get a comp, the shop recommend me

1gb kingston DDR2 PC667 for my AMD x2 3800
but they dun sell high performance ram as i saw in most lowyat have..

so i wondering wat is this high performance ram? wat's the benefit over the one the shop had recommended to me. And is there PC800? confused~

i m planning to spend about max RM500 on ram and only goin for 1gb.
dat means i can get Kingston PC5400 DDR2 675 HyperX too.. which one u recommend? Kingston PC5400 DDR2 675 HyperX or Kingston PC6400 DDR 800 DDR2? or PC667 only?

chickenducksoup
post Jan 7 2007, 03:32 AM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

high performance ram is normally use for OC...
if u dun1 oc just get the KVR....

guy which 1 is more important?
Tight Timings vs High Clock Frequencies

i thought for intel is go for high Clock Frequencies
and for AMD go for Tight Timings.

correct me if i wrong

refer :http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/03/31/tight_timings_vs_high_clock_frequencies/page10.html#final_conclusion
jchou87
post Jan 13 2007, 05:59 PM

213 posts

im a noob here, want to ask a question, i have 2x apacer 512mb ddrram..and one of which using an apacer chip and another one using a samsung chip, i checked on cpuz the apacer ram that used apacer chip written apacer as the manufacturer while the other one using the samsung chip has none... ...can some one enlighten me with my questions please.

btw here is the cpuz screenshot...the one on the left is using the apacer chip while the one on the right is using samsung chip..

This post has been edited by jchou87: Jan 14 2007, 01:43 PM
Lefty
post Jan 14 2007, 11:18 AM

Designer Piece
750 posts

since so many ram expert here, off topic a bit .

Do you guys know where can i send my faulty Geil ram to claim warranty. where is the service centre. thx alot

i had finding it for a long time. cause alot of shop not servicing this brand. weird . arent Geil 1 of the good brand for RAM ?

This post has been edited by Lefty: Jan 14 2007, 11:19 AM
nicholaskau
post Jan 14 2007, 01:06 PM

Wow... Never knew there there are so many types of RAM in the market.
mcchin
post Jan 16 2007, 11:44 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=157433

is this ram any good?

Samsung PC2-4300 (266MHz)
M3 78T2953CZ3-CD5
week 53, year 06

freq: 200, 3 : 3 : 3 : 8 : 11
freq: 266, 4 : 4 : 4 : 11 : 15
freq: 266, 5 : 4 : 4 : 11 : 15
TSjinaun
post Jan 16 2007, 11:50 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(jchou87 @ Jan 13 2007, 05:59 PM)
im a noob here, want to ask a question, i have 2x apacer 512mb ddrram..and one of which using an apacer chip and another one using a samsung chip, i checked on cpuz the apacer ram that used apacer chip written apacer as the manufacturer while the other one using the samsung chip has none... ...can some one enlighten me with my questions please.

btw here is the cpuz screenshot...the one on the left is using the apacer chip while the one on the right is using samsung chip..

from the screenshot.. both of the RAM will operate using the slowest settings of the 2 modules..at DDR400, try checking the memory tab.. it should show whats the current RAM setting is in effect.

This post has been edited by jinaun: Jan 16 2007, 11:51 PM
TSjinaun
post Jan 16 2007, 11:52 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(mcchin @ Jan 16 2007, 11:44 PM)
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=157433

is this ram any good?

Samsung PC2-4300 (266MHz)
M3 78T2953CZ3-CD5
week 53, year 06

freq: 200, 3 : 3 : 3 : 8 : 11
freq: 266, 4 : 4 : 4 : 11 : 15
freq: 266, 5 : 4 : 4 : 11 : 15
good in what sense???

if it working, it is good... what else do u want?? unless u want to OC, then you should be heading to the OC section of the forum.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 17 2007, 05:31 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Need an answer fast.

I've this mobo (KM400 - Athlon XP platform) with only 2 RAM slot.

I've installed a new DDR PC3200 512 MB - double sided into the mobo and the existing PC3200 256MB - single sided, is not detected at all. The 512MB is already using the first slot and the 256MB in 2nd slot.

Is it becoz single sided/ double sided conflict? Limitation of mobo? Pls don't ask me to refer mobo manual coz the manual is useless with half a page telling me to that the RAM slot is to install DIMM RAM and nothing else.

TSjinaun
post Jan 17 2007, 08:41 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jan 17 2007, 05:31 PM)
Need an answer fast.

I've this mobo (KM400 - Athlon XP platform) with only 2 RAM slot.

I've installed a new DDR PC3200 512 MB - double sided into the mobo and the existing PC3200 256MB - single sided, is not detected at all. The 512MB is already using the first slot and the 256MB in 2nd slot.

Is it becoz single sided/ double sided conflict? Limitation of mobo? Pls don't ask me to refer mobo manual coz the manual is useless with half a page telling me to that the RAM slot is to install DIMM RAM and nothing else.

you can always read manuals from other board manufacturer that uses the same chipset

according to this site

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/mai...ail.php?UID=610

KM400 supports up to 4 memory banks .. in theoretically.. u can use 2 double sided RAM...

if that board ur using follow the design guideline by VIA.. it should be able to work.. unless its board/chipset limitation.. as u have put it.. or something else..

sorry...u gotta try with other RAM to find out more...

65 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:57 PM