Denai Alam, A Place To Belong

Riz Quattro
post Aug 28 2012, 09:53 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:33 AM)
Okay, anyone here got contact for good runner to get MBSA application can pls share here yea rclxms.gif
Since we are on the topic of renovation, you all should check out the Bina Warehouse 40th anniversary sale near Jalan Templer PJ. It ends this Sunday.

They got some good bargains on Italian brands for bathrooms and kitchens stuff. Apparently, I found out that some italian and german brands have already relocated to China so the quality is not exactly the same anymore. They stock brands like Duravit, Hansgrohe and Foster.

They still have stock of the non-China made ones though. Got my Foster Sink, and Hansgrohe Faucets and Showers.

I also finally realised that Grohe which common is actually the ciplak version of Hansgrohe. Patutlaa the price difference and the funny looks I got when I asked.

Also CIMA lighting on the same road is having a warehouse sale. I got my security lights there. Its Philips but really cheap.

Habis la duit aku....double whammy - Raya and Renovation doh.gif rclxub.gif
Riz Quattro
post Aug 28 2012, 01:51 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Bert Rizal @ Aug 28 2012, 12:16 PM)
rm400k is for corner or intermediate?

Added on August 28, 2012, 12:17 pm

when r u guys planning to move in?
The contractor quoted me about RM48K for the following:

1. Break down the wall between the wet n dry kitchen.

2. Brick up the dry kitchen/planter box area with roofing and re-tile.

3. Tile the drying area courtyard and add 2ft of bricks on the back brick fence.

4. Add a polycarbonate pergola to the end of the brick fence at the back.

5. Add grill between the 7ft brick fence and pergola at the drying area.

6. Add a table top for the wet kitchen stove and sink.

7. Remove the metal thingie on the fence and brick up all round front, side and back of the house.

8. Add a polycarbonate pergola from the 1st floor to cover the courtyard garden facing the water feature

8. Remove the grass at the middle courtyard and replace with stone slabs intertwined with grass.

9. White grill with basic 8mm flat horizontal steel plates all around.

10. Break the wall (door size) to join the master bedroom with the adjoining room.

Since its an end lot, more has to be spent on fencing and grills on windows.

This would be more on the kitchen reno and once the infra is up-then we have to decide on the cabinets etc.

This would be Phase 1. Next phase will be subject to additional funds in the kitty blush.gif

We are not in a hurry to move in so the house will be done in stages. Target date of actual movement would be earliest July 2013 before raya kot..

This is because of schooling issues for the kid and also I'm just so used to the amenities close by in TTDI. Latest would when the shops are ready in DA.

Riz Quattro
post Aug 28 2012, 02:22 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 28 2012, 02:05 PM)
Refer to my queries on the quote above.
1. Brick up the dry kitchen/planter box area with roofing and re-tile. - Tile type? Similar white tiles like the dining room. But I need to make sure that he doesn't use the 2nd grade ones.

3. Tile the drying area courtyard and add 2ft of bricks on the back brick fence. - Tile type? El Cheapo terracotta tiles

4. Add a polycarbonate pergola to the end of the brick fence at the back. - Polycarbonate Type? Shallow or Thick? Thickness? Not the hollow type but i cant remember the thickness.

5. Add grill between the 7ft brick fence and pergola at the drying area. - Grille Type? I'm actually thinking of recycling the thick metal bars from the planter box grill and the side fences. Its such a waste to throw it. More ever, its at the back anyway.

6. Add a table top for the wet kitchen stove and sink. - Granite? Haven't decided yet but if I opt for it, I need to firm up the price.
Riz Quattro
post Aug 28 2012, 02:33 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 28 2012, 02:26 PM)
Based on your quote - I feel you still have loads of area that you can save up on cost. Especially on the tiles.

Do confirm on what type/brand/spec of the tiles is the contractor offering you. You may opt to buy it on your own actually - you can get it for cheaper or even go for better quality ones.
Really? OK then. I will need to do more homework before finalising the pricing with him.

Thanks man! thumbup.gif
Riz Quattro
post Aug 29 2012, 11:21 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Aug 28 2012, 02:37 PM)
How much were you quoted for the tiling work specifically?

The area measured for the re-tiling work?
He wrote an loooong quotation in Doctors handwriting so I couldn't really figure it out. Once I get the keys I will see him again to go into detail of every work with a final price and my own tape measure.

Then I will update here. If the price is steep then I will tell him drop it or else no go.
Riz Quattro
post Aug 30 2012, 09:24 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(jeghui @ Aug 29 2012, 08:48 PM)
just checking, is there a contractor called TS working in the area?
My dude is called Desmond.
Riz Quattro
post Sep 7 2012, 03:34 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Sep 6 2012, 10:33 PM)
You just plagiarized my plan....AGAIN!!!!! tongue.gif
I got an el cheapo plan for the railess balcony.

I'm gonna just put 2 stainless steel pillars approximately 2.5ft at then corners and connect it with 3 tensioned steel cables like they do on the yachts. Its barely visible and safe enough for me to do some gardening without wearing a safetly harness biggrin.gif

Riz Quattro
post Sep 8 2012, 12:35 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Sep 7 2012, 05:30 PM)
Good IDea  rclxms.gif  haha..... gonna put this up on discussion at home later, coz after extension the ground floor, planned to do waist height bricks barrier around the concrete slab for future use. Now this idea seems really cost effective =D
Something like this but with lesser cables.

Added on September 8, 2012, 9:52 am
QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Sep 7 2012, 10:20 AM)
Previously I also had this in mind, but don't u think it is ridiculous you hold back your extension and live in a smaller space because of the thief? If I were the thief i would LOL.... why not improve the other part of the picture, security measures, girlls, motion sensors beam on the concrete floor of the extended part.  blink.gif
Unfortunately, at this time and age, grills though ugly, is a necessity especially at the rear and sides windows.

I think a min of 8mm bars or solid core bars with reinforced hinges to the concrete frame would deter the thief enough even if he climbs up the back roof.

With noise that he is going to create to cut it, it would wake up the whole neighbourhood. Add motion sensor lights at the back as well.

Then again, this is where neighbourhood vigilance is important. If your neighbours just buat bodoh even with the raquet going on, then susah la.

Lets make FL a good neighbourhood to live in. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Riz Quattro: Sep 8 2012, 09:52 AM
Riz Quattro
post Sep 14 2012, 08:51 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 11 2012, 04:01 PM)
Just found out the list of supplier/sub-contractor of FK..  some very familiar names ie. Inovar (laminated flooring), monier (roof tiles) ...  not bad at all!
Folks,

I took my key yesterday evening and had a looooong chat with the main-con who is stationed there.

This is what I found out:

1. The rainwater havesting system is actually crappy and totally a waste of time.

It supplies rainwater to the maidroom WC, Ground floor Guest room WC, Garbage box tap and outdoor garden tap. However, the eco efficiency is very minimal. Its only about RM10/15 ringgit savings but this excludes the power to run the pump so actually, its no big difference in cost savings.

HOWEVER, the good news is that he has recommended that you:

1. Ditch the whole system and use the expensive and powerful 1HP Australian Brand Pump (it cost 4K!) supplied for your upstairs main tank instead.

Voila! No need to buy Grunfos or Ebara pump!

2. Relocate the water filter to the front water main and voila! No need to buy an extra water filter for the whole house!

With slight modification on your pipes, all the the WC which is dependent on the RWHS can be re- routed.

So I have just saved you at least 5.5k thumbup.gif

Riz Quattro
post Sep 14 2012, 02:51 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Sep 14 2012, 01:23 PM)
momi..the pump is with the main-con fella... they keep our pumps until we request to install it...  now....Quattro's feedback is  thumbup.gif
Yup, the pump is with them until we request them to install it due to security reasons. It's a thief's target since it it outside upstairs at the RWHS.
Riz Quattro
post Sep 18 2012, 09:21 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(ihsan @ Sep 16 2012, 12:29 PM)
you tell me which part of shah alam going into kl or pj that is not congested every single workday morning and i'll give you 50 cents everytime i hear the word jam.
Correct. We have to be realistic and manage our expectations la.

I'm staying in TTDI and when I used to work in KLCC area, it even took me 1.5 freakin hours on the road to get to work. So no more working KL/PJ area.

Its either you move nearer to your office or find an office nearer to you. It takes out the stress of staying stuck in jams everyday.

Or just work from home.

Riz Quattro
post Sep 25 2012, 04:49 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Bert Rizal @ Sep 25 2012, 03:14 PM)
try and have a look at verdania 26x80 and opulenia 22x90..
they are bigger.. i think u should be able to negotiate and get them at RM750k..
My FL neighbour with the intermediate unit on my row did mention that he is looking for offers on the house.

The intermediate is 22 x 100 plus 5 feet at the back. But he's looking at around 900k++.

Built up I'm not sure but my end lot is about 3450sft (26x100 + 5 ft on the side and back) so I guess the intermediate built up should be around 2800 sft.

This post has been edited by Riz Quattro: Sep 25 2012, 04:55 PM
Riz Quattro
post Oct 2 2012, 06:04 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Oct 2 2012, 08:59 AM)
Guys, has anyone took up the main-con's offer to do the job mentioned above? Quattro?
Not yet, bro.

I'm still trying find time to meet up but I've been in East Malaysia most of the time.

Once, I do I will inform you.
Riz Quattro
post Oct 3 2012, 01:58 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(rfm @ Oct 2 2012, 07:37 PM)
Not everyone has that option/luxury;). I have a flexi check in time, in fact my job requires me to clock in only anytime of the day, but I prefer to have kids to continue schooling here.
It's gonna take some time for DA to be fully developed but I guess you need to make some adjustments and sacrifices along the way.

I'm based in KLIA while the missus is based in SG. However, 80% of my worktime time is spent at other airports domestically while the missus about 40% in SG.

So when we move to DA, we need to arrange our time to send our kid to Tmn Tun for school every morning but I guess we have to live it until a good school springs up in DA.

It just takes proper planning. I don't miss working in KLCC and sitting in jams and now Tmn Tun is getting really bad so there is actually no more idea work-home situation anymore.

Riz Quattro
post Oct 3 2012, 03:01 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(HisokaKoga @ Oct 3 2012, 12:53 PM)
Hi Vedder, I'm MT owner too. We have same taste, Zen Style deco. LOL... rclxms.gif

Added on October 3, 2012, 12:55 pm

What's wrong with Taman Tun area? Safety problem?
Problem is 80% of the traffic is not from Tmn Tun residents. Outsiders are using it as a bypass. So we get unnecessary jams, idiots driving fast and bad roads. It is now a hazard for Pedestrians not to mention those who double and triple park near the shops not to mention in front of our houses. With high traffic also comes high littering and rubbish.

Bad hats are also taking advantage of the multiple exits and playing cat and mouse with the cops who can't be around our houses at all times.

Tmn Tun has lost its charm as a peaceful and civilised neighbourhood and it will never be the same as yesteryear.

Riz Quattro
post Oct 18 2012, 07:41 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(katmai81 @ Oct 14 2012, 06:27 PM)
Guys wanna ask, got to know from the contractor that those new house in DA, the inner wall paintings are done using water based paint. Do you guys repaint the house after hacking, plastering etc? Quoted by conttractor to use ICI Dulux, is it worthwhile to repaint compared to the original paint?
The interior original paint is the el cheapo Nippon Matex. I suggest you also look at Jotun besides ICI as they have more colour mixtures. I've had good past experience with it. Its better to source it yourself and just pay him for the upah.
Riz Quattro
post Oct 23 2012, 05:27 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(Z1000 @ Oct 22 2012, 03:40 PM)
Almost bought denai alam subsale end 2010 but after viewing shoddy workmanship. Paid rm20 to indon workers to view the construction site towards completion. So understood wat you meant. Make me weary of any project by sime darby. In fact if you are able to check forums as far back 2004 there are a 100  complaints of owners upon completion of their property. You case is nothing new. Sime Darby is used to it. Subcontractors for sime darby have the reputation of being one of the worst in the industry.  Change my mind as bad factors like Tension line in middle of denai alam. Opposite horse riding place 200 chinese cemetary. Next door kayangan heights also another plot of christian, muslim,buddist cemetary I think 2000 capacity at least. Also a cremation site too.

But location is otherwise unbeatable.

C'mon la bro..your'e talking as if the old chinese cemetary is at our backyard. It's far away at the end of perimeter. The old phases are near to it but the new ones are not.  Look at Tmn Tun la. When the kiara cemetary was used in the  80s, there were all kinds of stories and bad valuation of houses. But does anybody bother now? Just look at the Residence condo, LGB towers which is literally a stones throw away. Its not the dead you should be worried about but the living. They can cause more trouble..ahahaha!
Riz Quattro
post Oct 24 2012, 07:47 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(ganee @ Oct 24 2012, 07:25 PM)
Hi, I am another owner of FernLane. I too looking at relocating the pump and filter. Let me know if you managed to relocate and how much did it cost you.

Currently sourcing for renovation quotes. Lots of persistent contractor appear each time I visit my place.

Looking for alarm system and CCTV. Any recommendation?
Unfortunately, I haven't managed to get any traction on anything yet as due to work travel. I bet Desmond from territory construction approached you as well? I would recommend trhat you get the main con to do the piping as they have all the house drawings and plans.
Riz Quattro
post Oct 24 2012, 11:43 PM

72 posts

[quote=ganee,Oct 24 2012, 08:10 PM]
Actually no, but I did see his signage at one of the houses, maybe 71 or 72. I get persistent abuse from stilux, yi seng and kb.

Oh really? Well he must of got more houses then. I gave him a 500 deposit to hang the signboard and the only good thing is that no one bothers me anymore. Maybe I'll start the reno works in Dec after rectifying the defects. Only issue is some warped floor pieces upstairs. Only problem is just that I'm short of time for supervision.

Riz Quattro
post Nov 7 2012, 12:00 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(SMACH LABOCK @ Nov 6 2012, 10:39 PM)
HOUSE FOR SALE

Location : Denai Alam - Lavender Park Phase i-1, Corner Lot, Type C

Type : Double Storey Link House, second biggest unit in phase i-1

Developer : Sime Darby Property Berhad

Size : 39' x 80'

Built-Up area : 5285 sqft (for double storey which includes 7 rooms and 7 bathroom)

Additional Land area : 3143 sqft (40' x 80')

On the left of the house will be the central park of denai alam (in
progress), and allocated land for sekolah agama and mosque for denai
alam.

Minimum price : RM 2,100,000 - worth buying for this kind of size, imagine if e-Boulevard is completed.....
Note : new launched Sime Darby Ficus Peak (semi-D) in denai alam started at RM
2.5million (unit is smaller than my unit)

SERIOUS BUYER PLEASE EMAIL CONTACT NUMBER AT gmt.trading.services@gmail.com

[attachmentid=3142289]
Guys,

You need to stop this forum from being used by salesmen to peddle their business. Or else, it will lose credibility and real owners will get turned off.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0303sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:20 PM