Wait iphone 5 or get Galaxy S3 now

GameFr3ak
post Jul 30 2012, 11:03 AM

3,849 posts

People who firmly say "ip5 > s3" are idiots. By saying that out of baseless facts, for something that's not even announced yet.

For now, iphone 4s is great. It's very good for the mass general. If you want something good out of the box, get iphone.

If you like to tweak your phone to the max, tamper with the kernel, modem and ROM, get Android.

I'll recommend Galaxy Nexus instead of s3. For it's cheap price and strong support from Google (look at Nexus S, a year 2010 phone, and it has JellyBean already).

Aside from the OS differences. Look at the hardware. Yes iPhone looks nice but how many naked users out there? I dare say 80% of users out there have casing covering the beautiful yet impractical glass design.

Android phones may not look as pretty but they're very practical. In most cases, the plastics will take the impact. They're cheap to replace.

One of the biggest downside of the iPhone, its screen size. Come on, 3.5" ? Retine display or not, it's too small. Would you enjoy a HD movie on a 3.5' or a 4.3'-5'3 screen? And gaming experience is greatly enhanced on bigger screen, regardless of the resolution.

In the end, I'll still recommend iphone4. Given its cheap price. It's not like it don't crash or lag, it's hidden from the user so mass majority of the people thinks that it never crashes.

Android is only as good as the user. If one would only get angry or annoyed for crashing on the stock software, rather than troubleshooting the issue finding the root cause, then avoid Android.
GameFr3ak
post Jul 30 2012, 01:57 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 30 2012, 01:40 PM)
no. i sell my S3 because of its size.
its disturbing me when i am driving.

Added on July 30, 2012, 1:40 pm

Wait, you mean it's hard to use the phone on one hand when you're driving? doh.gif Aren't you supposed to focus on your driving instead? And if it's on dock mode, a bigger screen is easier to navigate for its bigger drive-mode buttons.

And it's kinda absurd that you didn't consider its size before making the purchase? doh.gif

But it's up to the user though. Different user has different opinions/needs. But if iPhone 5 is released with screen size of 4.3' or 4.6', would you go and get it ?

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Jul 30 2012, 01:57 PM
GameFr3ak
post Jul 30 2012, 02:18 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 30 2012, 08:15 AM)
no
i am talking bout speed wise
iOS is simple and straight forward
while android have too many buttons for settings
time is matter for us. some of users around the world may not need it, but for us, 1 second is costing money
How many steps does it take for your to get to a root folder in your SD card? Say "SDcard>Documents>Coorperate Stuff> Important Files" - How many steps on an iPhone? On Android it's 1.

How many steps does it take to deactivate/activate Wifi on iPhone? It's 1 again.

Regardless of any OS. The phone is only as smart as the user. Too many buttons? The basic homescreen of the iPhone is rows and rows of icons(buttons). But to be fair, people like you should stay with iPhones.
GameFr3ak
post Jul 30 2012, 02:48 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 30 2012, 02:46 PM)
iphone no sd card leh. no file manager either. what u talking?
Thank you for pointing this out. laugh.gif This is intended.
GameFr3ak
post Jul 30 2012, 02:57 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 30 2012, 02:53 PM)
my mission is to call a spade a spade. not to say which is better. both have good market share. so both have its own merits. if i have a way, i will buy out both of them and merge the 2 technologies together, and of course get rid of itunes.
We give about the same type of feed back. I'll only give opinions to those who pointed out which is better..
GameFr3ak
post Jul 30 2012, 07:55 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 30 2012, 07:19 PM)
For a smartphone, 3.5" is quite perfect. Too big screen requires 2 handed operation.
For web surfing, retina screen and Apple's safari makes web surfing such a joy with razor sharp text and pinch to zoom.

Who wld watch HD movies on even a 5.3"? U must be very silly and have squinty eyes!!!
To enjoy movie, shld watch on proper HDTV at least.

And the best thg is, apple is going to change things again in iPhone 5.
I wont watch HD movies on my phone. I usually watch them on my TV. But I do stream HD youtube videos. I also watch series on my phone. Probably some shows with foreign language where I need to rely to subtitles. On a 3.5' screen, you can hardly read any subtitles. It's just too small. Any phone with the latest OS, Jelly bean, will have equal smoothness in browsing experience.

Razor sharp text. Right. It may be sharp but it's not really that distinguishable. People have done countless experiments on random people walking on the streets. They show people 2 ipads, one of them is the ipad3 (new ipad) the other, ipad2. People still pick the wrong one. (At around 70:30 ratio of correct picks. It could of been worst if they show up with 3 ipads)

It is quite perfect for one handed operation. But if Apple releases two models of iphone5 4.3' screen and 3.5' screen at the same price. Which one would you get?

In my honest opinion, retina display is a gimmick.

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Jul 30 2012, 07:57 PM
GameFr3ak
post Jul 30 2012, 10:47 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 30 2012, 10:18 PM)
Obviously u r a troll. Go back to ur android cave.
Typical rolleyes.gif
GameFr3ak
post Aug 6 2012, 05:28 PM

3,849 posts

People, it's all about choices.

You don't like widgets? Turn it off. On, if you like it.
You don't like livewallpapers? Turn it off. On, if you like it.

IOS, you won't have these no matter you like it or not.

Battery on the 4s is not that much of a difference. Gaming on the IOS is great, but for me, the screen is too small to be enjoyable.

It's all about flexibility and choices. Once you're on IOS, it's pretty much it out of the box.

Both are great platforms and hardware wise, s3 surpass iphone 4s a lot. Last I checked, the fluidity is there. If it crashes, it'll tell you something's wrong, shows you the force close message. If you don't like to know/feel that your phone crashed, get IOS, cause you won't know. (Brought back to homescreen instead of force close message)

No offence, but it's pretty stupid to say 'iPhone 5 will be better of course'. It's not only baseless, it's just out right ignorant to say that for something that isn't announced yet.

For now, s3 is better hardware wise, screen size is bigger. Fluidity is onpar now even without Jelly bean.

The iphone is definitely more stable out of the box, but with a price of freedom (customization, bluetooth with other devices and so on). Slightly more games on the platform but note the small screen size.

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Aug 6 2012, 05:29 PM
GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 09:05 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Aug 7 2012, 06:30 AM)
Good question. Right now I'm playing subway surfers. It's an awesome game but can't find it on Android. There is another app plentunium kinda good can't find it on Android. Apple is about the apps. Especially the niche apps.
Swype and equivalent keyboard replacements, tasker, any.do, tons of extremely useful Google apps, NFC based apps, and go on and on.....

I'm not saying that Apps on Android are better. For me, I don't install thousands of apps on my phone. I only install some apps that I always use. For games, I'll just play some casual games that I can find on the market. I don't see myself finishing every bloody games.

And.......I play PS1 games. Which can last me very very long. Imagine FF7, FF8 and FF9, then Metal Gear Solid series, etc.......

The size of the phone also enhances this experience as it allow more room for controls. Heck, I can even get a PS3 bluetooth controller and have more fun on it.

There are pros and cons on both phones, but it's pretty silly to say that iPhone > Android. It might be the case years ago, but not now. You can see more and more lawsuits coming from Apple, there's a reason for that.

Added on August 7, 2012, 9:11 am
QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 7 2012, 08:59 AM)
bigger screen bigger screen bigger screen..
since when the worldwide user declare Bigger Screen means Better Hardware?
this is most stupid statement i ever heard.
if its like that, dont use S3.
use galaxy tab 7.7 or 10.1 as your phone.
in terms of data speed and quad core processor, i admit S3 is a top hardware spec (eventhough some user is blindly not seing HTC One X which have equivalent spec).
Bigger does not mean biggest. Bigger as in 4.3' to 5.3'. I'm not sure who says bigger screen = better hardware as that's not true.

But both 1x and S3 are better than iphone 4s's hardware as of now. That's undeniable. Try looking up a couple of comparison videos on iphone 4s vs s3 or oneX. I've watched 2 and both stated clearly that iphone 4s's retina display is no longer the top dog.

Ya, it has better sharpness. But it lacks or fall short on other elements, such as contrast. And bigger is better.(Most of the case). Try placing both phones together, both playing the same movie, which one would your eyes look at. Most of the case, you'll look at the bigger one, it's just how things work.

I can only see 3.5' screen being good at one situation, typing with one hand.

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Aug 7 2012, 09:11 AM
GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 11:24 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Aug 7 2012, 10:25 AM)
depends on people usage and convenience as well...for guys sometimes s3 those are a bit too big to fit into our jeans pocket...and we dun carry around a handbag everywhere...thus seriously aint that convenient.

so it really depends on individual if about sizes.
Yes of cos bigger screen is better when watch movies/games..
if gonna watch movie those i prefer to get a tab or ipad for that reason.
Not sure about your pants/skirt. I'm a guy, not skinny. I wear slim fit jeans, I can pocket my Note. But it's up to individual, definitely S3 is not too big to be pockectable.
GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 03:18 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 7 2012, 02:39 PM)
1. apps. even though u dont play games much, dont deny that appstore is still the best. eventhough u deny it, worldwide user still acknowledge that android apps is too far too compete with appstore. take a look in top apps. appstore change almost every week in terms of finance, business, games, fitness and health but android? the top apps is just still the same exactly like previous time when i was using S2. now is almost a year, and top apps is still Angry bird, adobe reader and Go launcher? come on, dont deny the truth when u know it. i already mentioned this in few post back and i dont intend to repeat it.

2. NFC is just a copied version of BUMP in iphone apps. since iphone 3GS era, BUMP apps is already listed in the top apps. why only now need to highlight bout NFC? but still, its a good improvement. i see iPhone 5 also will be equipped with NFC.

3. Screen with retina display is still the best screen for LCD replacement. i search everywhere and i found nothing expert review saying that super armorled is better compared to retina. this is totally rubbish if u said that other screen is better than retina. especially when u take a picture, your result display is not actual. its good in phone but when transfer to pc, and printed, the result is not same as you got it at first time. in terms of contrast, HTC one x is just same as 4S, but S3 is a fake and adjusted color. thats why it become problem as i mentioned just now.

4. Phone is a device that should be for one hand use. i am so not agree if i need to use two hand for a phone. u want to watch movie? get a tablet. u want a larger display? get a pc. Phone is mobile. i still love my previous S2 but not S3. for me, S2 screen size is comfortable enough. this proof that i am not apple fanboy or android fan.

5. the only S3 winning side as i mentioned in previous post, as agreed with ramz, and other user, is S3 got the superfast data speed which can go almost three times compared to iphone. the function of H+ is super awesome that u can stream youtube without stop. if put side by side, Galaxy S3 can simply said "eat dust!" to iphone 4S..

6. customization and freedom, is also a winning side for S3. for iphone, user can also be freedom by jailbreaking. however, after jailbreak, the user is still "tied" or "cursed" to use iTunes. there is no way for the user to simply drag and drop files in their phone. compared to S3, the downside of MTP is it cannot preview your gallery image in your PC. u need to transfer everything, yes, i mean everything, to your PC so that u can view it one by one. on the other hand, drag and drop is not available for S3 in windows XP. but for S2 is still can. again, thats why i like S2 better than S3.

7. lastly, read my signature. if u are still android fan, then i got nothing much to say. haters just gonna hate. no matter how truth it is.
Dude, I did not say Android is better. As I mentioned "I'm not saying that Apps on Android are better." I don't install hundreds of apps on my phone. Only around 10-15. Huh? For an app being on the top meaning it's inferior? Featured apps are always different on my phone/browser. I'm not sure what your issue on your end. Prolly go update your market? wub.gif

You asked if there's any apps on Android which are not available on the IOS, so I named a few. I did not highlight NFC, I'm just naming a few, and NFC based apps are one of them. Bump is a different feature la doh.gif it uses different technology in recognizing specific algorithm between 2 phones to initiate connection via data or wifi connection. Where as NFC is different. doh.gif

Screen is highly debatable. Some people prefer LCD, LED or plasma TV or even CRT TVs. A simple google and I found this thread on 'MacRumours' by the look of it, it's an Apple/Mac forum. I read the first page and majority of them didn't vote iphone 4s retina display as the best. laugh.gif Go search video on youtube cause that's where I found the comparison video where they mentioned about the screen.

Sure you can disagree that it's wrong to use both hands on a phone. But keep it to yourself. It's not wrong to use a phone with both my hands, I've been doing that when I play snake on 3310. I don't it being wrong. I can type as fast as on pc keyboard (thanks to swiftkey, android only biggrin.gif ). As far as I know, all the smartphones on the market is pocketable. I'm a Note user, I knows best about sizes. I came from a tiny 3' screen phone to a 5.3' phone. I wear slim fit jeans, I can pocket my note. I don't have huge palms, I can use the phone efficiently (thanks to samsung 1 hand operation function). Of course I'd watch movies on my 40' TV + 5.1 sound system, but I can't bring everything with me isnt it ? Yes, I agree tablet is a better device for movies, what if I don't wanna spend that money? So I'll do that my phone for the best of both worlds, a phone/tablet hybrid. (Note: I'm not calling anyone a fanboy lol I never did...)

About jailbreaking on iphone, face it, it's not stable, it's laggy. I would definitely agree that IOS is the most stable OS out of the box, but once you jailbroken the device, it's terrible.

Fanboy or not, I'm just disagreeing that IOS > Android smile.gif
GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 04:41 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 7 2012, 04:00 PM)
dude, your statement itself is already contradict with your proof  doh.gif
in the link u provide, its clearly stated that S3 is ranking no. 5 which is lower rank than 4S, but yet u still say that S3 is better hardware??  doh.gif
i dont even know android fan are too blind to see that.
i am fine with HTC One X since i already aware on that, and i agree with your statement.
despite that, just because one single topic, u assume that the statement is worldwide accepted?  doh.gif
i strongly disagree since your comments lots of bias where u keep denying everything that mentioned expert review by Cnet, Techradar and etc.
when everybody said that iphone is a weak hardware but strong OS, and S3 is a weak software but comes with strong hardware, and its already acknowledge by most user and expert, yet u still deny it.
as i said, hater gonna hate. no matter how good it is.
Dude doh.gif hardware as in processor, GPU, ETC la... that topic was meant to say that iphone 4s's retina display is no longer the top dog la doh.gif not to prove that s3 is the best rclxub.gif So you're saying that s3's hardware isnt better than ip4s? (Cause that's my point)

No one is biased free. I would still recommend iPhone to people who approaches me for opinions on which phone to get I'm just telling what I know. I'm just saying that I prefer : -

- bigger screen.
- openness of Android
- customizations
- modability

I did say "I would definitely agree that IOS is the most stable OS out of the box". I'm also not a fan of Samsung's bloatware, hence the modability part. I'm not here to say which is better than which. Look properly on my post lol Nothing that I said above indicates "Android > IOS". Please point out if you think I did.
GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 04:52 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Aug 7 2012, 04:34 PM)
FYI, it's not as terrible as you said once we jailbroken the iPhone. All these terrible/laggy start only when you installed too many or I say whole bunch of tweaks on the iPhone, just accept it as it's just the same as Android when you customizing it a lot you will also get unstable and laggy Mobile OS. I don't agree any mobile phone in the world can over take iPhone's Retina Display as if you want to compete the display in mobile phone we are not comparing with the resolution of the phone because it's not fair if you compare the resolution since the bigger the phone display it got higher resolution and resolution is not the most important when come to display. It's pixel density you have to compare and iPhone Retina Display got 330 ppi pixel density where the HTC One X only got 312 ppi pixel density  smile.gif
It's not as terrible as I said, ok. But the overall experience deteriorates when one jailbreaks their iphone. It's the best OS stability out of the box, I agree, just now after jailbroken.

For Android, I flash roms. Different type of roms, some very lite with near 0 bloatwares. If something is wrong on it, I troubleshoot it. Then communicate with the developer as feedback, within days (or maybe on the same day) the developer releases a new version and fixes the problem. Look up XDA forums bro, we have a wide range of ROMs to play with. If something is eating up too much battery, we try different kernels, some Overclocked, some undervolted. Bad data connection? We flash different modems/radios.

Okay, pixel density is definitely very impressive when they introduced it. Put it to real world usage. Go google up videos of experiments people carried out on the streets. 2 tablets, 1 newer generation, 1 older. People get to guess which is the newer ipad. Out of 50% chance of getting it correct, majority of people couldn't distinguish the difference.

But true, pixel density is very important. If gives epic sharpness when reading or zooming up big photos. So you guys worships the 3.5' screen right. Let's wait for iphone 5. I can't wait when they change it to 4'. you guys better not get it, as it's no longer perfect as it's not 3.5'. Right? rolleyes.gif

GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 04:56 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 7 2012, 04:51 PM)
dude, your statement comes and followed with example! and your example is talking bout the Retina doh.gif dont cover up your mistake with requote and re"word". that is LOL.

its true that it is only S3 and One X having top hardware now. nobody denies it. and i agree with the statement.
but retina display is a gimmick?  doh.gif come on. is there any more clever statement than this?   shakehead.gif
doh.gif Then I rest my case. Look properly, 'IMO'(In my opinion) retina display is a gimmick (marketing gimmick that is). I have this opinion when I saw the experiments that people carried out on the streets. It's barely distinguishable. yawn.gif

And I said "nothing I said indicated Android > IOS". Hardware from S3 and oneX are not from Google. I guess I have to be more specific doh.gif

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Aug 7 2012, 04:57 PM
GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 05:04 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 7 2012, 04:56 PM)
yep, thats true, based on fact and figure, equipped with data and numbers  thumbup.gif
but he is talking bout other features in screen display such as contrast in display, which is very subjective to describe.
i dunno if there is any other feature in display since he did mentioned that one of the feature is contrast.
Ok lor so I should watch movies/game on my pc 23' monitor lor and not on my TV since it has higher resolution. Tired liow.

IOS > Out of the box, best OS - you guys ok
IOS > once jailbroken, experience deteriorates for some extra 'customizations or freedoms' - you guys no, cannot accept, no such thing

IOS has to be the best of all.

Bigger screen = crap since lesser dots
tiny screen = ok as long as it got lotsa dots

Android > out of the box crap - you guys ok
Android > flash roms, kernels, modems/radios, still crap, still lose IOS - you guys ok

That's my summary lol
GameFr3ak
post Aug 7 2012, 05:16 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 7 2012, 05:07 PM)
dude, me and ramz did mentioned what is the pro n cons by using both of them
its not that we are only defending apple. we go based on facts that widely accepted.
TS is asking for recommendation. Other user asking for recommendation.
dont get people confuse by mentioning a personal opinion. i mean, personal opinion is good, but dont go against the fact. your recommendation is biased towards Android. at least, give a fair n square opinion.
did u ever mentioned specs for data connectivity? battery lifetime? no right?
in previous discussion in few pages back, we did mentioned all of them.
S3 got the winning hand and 4S also got few item for winning hand. its not that all towards apple.
QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 30 2012, 11:03 AM)
People who firmly say "ip5 > s3" are idiots. By saying that out of baseless facts, for something that's not even announced yet.

For now, iphone 4s is great. It's very good for the mass general. If you want something good out of the box, get iphone.

If you like to tweak your phone to the max, tamper with the kernel, modem and ROM, get Android.

I'll recommend Galaxy Nexus instead of s3. For it's cheap price and strong support from Google (look at Nexus S, a year 2010 phone, and it has JellyBean already).

Aside from the OS differences. Look at the hardware. Yes iPhone looks nice but how many naked users out there? I dare say 80% of users out there have casing covering the beautiful yet impractical glass design.

Android phones may not look as pretty but they're very practical. In most cases, the plastics will take the impact. They're cheap to replace.

One of the biggest downside of the iPhone, its screen size. Come on, 3.5" ? Retine display or not, it's too small. Would you enjoy a HD movie on a 3.5' or a 4.3'-5'3 screen? And gaming experience is greatly enhanced on bigger screen, regardless of the resolution.

In the end, I'll still recommend iphone4. Given its cheap price. It's not like it don't crash or lag, it's hidden from the user so mass majority of the people thinks that it never crashes.

Android is only as good as the user. If one would only get angry or annoyed for crashing on the stock software, rather than troubleshooting the issue finding the root cause, then avoid Android.

Added on August 7, 2012, 5:25 pmI'm actually triggered by these posts.

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 30 2012, 08:15 AM)
no
i am talking bout speed wise
iOS is simple and straight forward
while android have too many buttons for settings
time is matter for us. some of users around the world may not need it, but for us, 1 second is costing money
QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 30 2012, 01:40 PM)

Which if you think about it. It's dumb.

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Aug 7 2012, 05:25 PM

0.0305sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:42 AM