No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire

SUScunt
post Jun 25 2012, 11:03 AM

85 posts

The problem lies in the intention of TS which he wants to interview only candidates from top 200 unis ( i don't think he only wants that, he wants those from Imperial, London School, or maybe Wharton) with excellent results ( presumably strong 2nd upper and 1st class honours).

If there is such a person exists in Malaysia, i fail to see why he or she wants to join TS's bank. He might as well aim for Mc Consulting, Bain Consulting, CIMB, Maybank , Bank Negara , Khazanah and etc.

So, there goes TS endless whining and complaining.

Or, TS just wanna TROLL.
SUScunt
post Jun 25 2012, 11:11 AM

85 posts

IMHO, TS should try to get those people from local Unis such as UM, UKM with exceptional results or maybe NUS/NTU/SMU.

But i dont think those studying in SG would come to KL and work though.
SUScunt
post Jun 25 2012, 11:22 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Jun 24 2012, 03:28 PM)
welcome... welcome............

WELCOME.............

to the real world..........................................  brows.gif

rise of the the generation Y era

goben say WE hire foreign worker cause they are cheap, well not, I hire foreign worker who`s salary is double of local, even I pay local tripple also they are not willing to work.............
LOL, pls dont tell me your definition of paying local for 30 ringgit per day is triple of the 20/10 ringgit per day that you are paying locals.
SUScunt
post Jun 25 2012, 03:52 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 25 2012, 03:21 PM)
cool, come to my bank and meet me. Will be happy to show you the toilet outside ECM.

Was told the ladies smell though.

Btw, presume I am at forum, not some drafting meeting for the prospectus of any landmark IPO.

Added on June 25, 2012, 3:26 pm

Dropouts from Wharton works for me too. Anyone can demonstrate ability to analyse and good english and track record of being smart is good enough for me. Baseline is that you have some x-factors or you come from top 200 unis. Everyone gets a fair chance, but review could be so direct that it is hard to take, bcos that is how my boss work.
May I know that in your team (RHB), are they all from the same league of Wharton, Cambridge , MIT , Imperial or etc ?

Or they are just like you, from NTU and the less known unis but still better then the local universities ( according to certain perceptions)
SUScunt
post Jun 25 2012, 04:07 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 25 2012, 04:03 PM)
Dear ****,

We all cap palang degree here in ECM but my CF colleagues are LSE etc. we are interviewing the cambridge and the more decent uni, yes, we the cap palang interview them.

Then again, we are looking into couple of candidates from UM, Malaysia, and they are top of their class... top top...not just first class. Ha, that is the X-factor.
Oops, somebody just butt-hurt it think.

Then, how come so long already still cant find "THE ONE"?

Such as offering the jobs to the 1st class/top unis then being rejected after that? or you just too happy to troll us in forum?
SUScunt
post Jun 25 2012, 04:30 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(iastate @ Jun 25 2012, 04:18 PM)
It's not that hard to find people from top 200 universities (I myself is one of them), unless you are talking about the top of the top such as Cambridge, Harvard, MIT, and the like.

If you want the top people graduating first class from top universities, it would be very hard because they either stay overseas or they come back and go to Singapore.
EXACTLY.

Most of the 1st class students ( from top uni of that I know of) either stayed overseas ,or keep changing jobs (within a year) cos in my opinion, the 1st couple of jobs they got were from the "no-so-good companies" and these "no-so-good companies" were just their stepping stones. haha.

Guess that's life, look at TS's companies' way of selecting people already know. as a second-tier or probably at the btm of the investment/financial banking scene in Malaysia also only wanna interview and select 1st class from top of unis .

Later at the end of the year, we will see a thread " why-these-people-just-dont-appreciate-70k-or-more-that-we-are offering kinda thread. LOL
SUScunt
post Jun 25 2012, 06:28 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 25 2012, 06:13 PM)
We have since move on to assessment centre where selected candidates are being offered an assignment and 10 calendar days to prepare.

Recruitment take time. We dun risk to hire ppl and fire them or have them resigned.

For all butt-hurt ppl who think i should lower my standard, even as I lower it, you may not get through assessment centre. More importantly, if you screwed up your local Uni degree with CGPA to the point that it could be below 2.5/4.0, I dun see a point of interviewing you, unless you have strong x-factor.

Everyone is given a chance to pitch their x-factor. There is no preference for elite elite here, we look at non-cambridge as well.

It just the candidate have to be impressive, one way or another. If you represented Msia in Taekwando before, we are keen to explore. If you do something that demostrate determination, we want to hear from you.

If you part time at KFC only and have lousy grades, we cannot afford to process the application.

Year in year out, standard chartered international graduate / HSBC MA Programme rejects thousands of good ppl, yet butt-hurt candidates dun make that much noise. Because I am here standing for you to fire at me, u just want to do it to feel good. By all means come, I am glad it could of help to relieve the pain at your butt.

To reiterate, if local U + results not good, yet no X-factor, you are out.
If english sucks, you are out.
i see you point , but Standard Chartered International Graduate / HSBC MA Programme >>>>>>>>> RHB Bank (ECM whatever)

Its just like MIT, Standford, Imperial, London, Cambridge, Oxford, >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> UM, UPM, NUS, NTU.

No worries man, thank you very much. I do feel good now. rclxms.gif

0.0149sec    0.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:01 AM