No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire

TSIBank BeanBag
post Dec 9 2013, 08:59 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(xin123 @ Dec 2 2013, 11:18 PM)
Hi, i was just wondering.
(I'm not in this field)
Can you guys Define "exceptionally good" in the IB industry?
Thx
Apa pun Boleh = exceptionally good.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Apr 30 2014, 10:47 PM

619 posts

Yes. and we just up the ante and pay even up to 105k per year all in for fresh grads.

Now even have CF positions.

105k / 365 day / 14 hours. About RM20 per hour.
TSIBank BeanBag
post May 1 2014, 01:37 AM

619 posts

junior very low pay, but bosses easily get 20x of that yet very little hours.

2 mil / 52 weeks / 55 hours = RM700 per hour
TSIBank BeanBag
post May 1 2014, 02:39 AM

619 posts

Offer from SG IB for fresh grad today is still around there. And tier one SG IB only offer 20-40 seats a year and how many of them are Malaysian?

We are more than happy to take the 41.
TSIBank BeanBag
post May 1 2014, 01:46 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 1 2014, 11:20 AM)
20-40 per year  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif Got that number from? I was one of them that was offered. There are many Malaysian in Singapore IB too. Just want to say 70k rm is not attractive enough to get the competent person to join yours.
Not sure if you are being offered to a bulge bracket or not. The seats available, can count, we work with the Bulge Brackets a lot. Many of us at one point or the other would have been flew in to Singapore for superday and / or being offered a position at one of the tier-1 or tier-2 banks.

It is pretty clear that the IBD / CF / ECM /DCM of the bulge brackets did not hire average of two Malaysian per bank per year. Many of our talents are from very decent background. The Singapore year one analyst batch are not that large.

Ultimately, it is a personal choice. Those who are out of the 40 seats can wait at the sideline or move down the list to tier-2 and tier-3 banks.

I have interviewed a BNM Scholar from LSE with 7 SUKMA Gold Medals in a year. We have had interns from ivy league unis / imperial college / LSE etc.

More importantly, which way would allow you to rise to directorship. VP in bulge brackets pay you 350k SGD all in. and if you could not demonstrate your potential of bringing US$4 mil revenue to the bank per year, you are likely to be a VP for quite a while.

MD is a role when you bring in US$10 mil a year. Every Bulge Brackets has few MDs and there are only so many mega deals every year in SEA. That explains why so many MDs in Stanchart come and go.

A MD-equivalent banker in KL may have made 300k SGD (base case) and answering US$3 mil budget. If you are capable of doing US$10 mil, you will be quite a super star and can make around 500k SGD.

The baseline here is many of us keep harping on the difference of 130k - 160k SGD vs 20k-25k SGD paid to IB staff in Malaysia. We . We forgot that the top 3 out of the cohort of 50 to 80 fresh grads get paid 40k SGD - 55k SGD in their first year and up to 70k SGD as early as the second year.

Many of us forgot about the exponential increments that we are getting in Malaysia and only few know that our best year-three associates are mostly paid about 80k SGD to 125k SGD. Now you compare it with the year three associates that make up to 250k SGD in Bulge Brackets, the difference has narrowed down.

If you have friends that are year-seven / eight investment bankers and making around 40k SGD -50k SGD, a good question is to ask how many 120-hour work weeks they had over the last 5 years. Have they been bringing deals to the table to feed their juniors? Whether they think they are of bulge brackets materials? When is the last time they attended an IBD / CF interview at tier-1 / tier-2 banks in Singapore?

I often hear people saying that we are working very hard: 9am - 8pm with 2-hour lunch in between and even have to work on Saturday. Including lunch hours, that is only 66 hours and I can be pretty sure that my friends at Bulge Brackets are not as relax as this.

Notwithstanding of the above, I do agree that $$$ is not everything and a lot of our peers don't wish to put in so much hours for that extra $ that comes in the form of performance-based bonus.

Now that the parameters are clear, I welcome feedback and criticism on my view of Malaysia IB landscape.

That said, CF opening is available, ECM opening may be created for top-of-the-curve, outright impressive candidates.

You can PM me your CV wen you are ready and can understand the IB industry.

TSIBank BeanBag
post May 2 2014, 01:11 AM

619 posts

No need experience but need to convince me u r serious n u know what is IB.

If dunno... near 0 chance
TSIBank BeanBag
post May 2 2014, 12:56 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 2 2014, 11:54 AM)
Ya mine was one of the bulge bracket. I declined my offer that time so thanks for the offer. Just went to the interview for the prestige of getting the offer actually. One of my course mate and another one from different faculty accepted the offer. Both Malaysian. I am only commenting on your statement saying 20-40 seat per year and not many of them are Malaysians. Nationalities has nothing to do here. We can hold foreign degree but are still Malaysian, for sure IBs won't have quota based on nationalities. Personally I think your 40 seats per year for the 8-9 IBs in the SG bulge bracket here is too little. 3-4 opening each year for the financial hub SG market? This island is small, but not that small for IB jobs...
Sorry, was not clear earlier. Not offering you a job but generally inviting the readers to send in CVs which they have been to.

Back to you view that 3-4 opening for year one analyst per year is too little, the bulge bracket CF team is around 20-30 people and that could be bigger than the DCM / ECM (3-5 headcounts) / M & A or IBD. All in the core team per bank is likely to be below 80 heads, and assuming a 20% analysts to overall ranks ratio, that will be around 16 of them and about five each year. around there.

If you know 10 persons that are bulge bracket year one IB analyst, I would think you have really good network. There is no quota for nationalities, but based on bankers that I worked with, Malaysia is not even a quarter of them. that is an observation rather than forecast.
TSIBank BeanBag
post May 12 2014, 12:15 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(jelly jelly @ May 12 2014, 03:33 AM)
Hello ah bean, I heard someone somehow managed 2 find out ur basic pay 2b close 2 RM15k /mth & it is around RM12k in 2012). N ur bonus for the last 2 yrs iz 36 months.

Izzit this figure correct can u tell us bcause it mean RHB paying u RM500k 1 year 4 2012 and RM720k 1 year 4 2013?

How u make urself most expensive senior mgr in rhb? U r not from osk - I heard ex-osk pay better than rhb.

Is ur dad dato' bean or tan Sri beannie?
My dad is not dato' bean or tan Sri beannie.

I am not authorised to comment on my remuneration package.
TSIBank BeanBag
post May 15 2014, 01:18 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(jelly jelly @ May 13 2014, 10:32 PM)
Ah bean salary is way higher than his 10+ years QSP seniors @ the CF side ya?

No wonder Ah Bean forever stay @ RHB even he has already been going to Credit Suisse etc for interview few times.

Crazy huh? No wonder Ah bean no problem paying his junior very well. Cos even he pays fresh grads RM150k / yr, he is still making 5x more than them.

RHB is really best bonus paying bank in town. Heard even CF bonus is double that of last year in number of months. A lot of them buying new cars huh? And bigger house?
Hey Jelly, can you stop discussing sensitive info of me? Now people has been telling me over whatsapp on what they read about me and my rumuneration package on LYN.

U too free ya?

Can you guys focusing of helping me to get CVs for CF / ECM cos the bank urgently need people?

Else my colleague will all create account here. Ibank Meja, Ibank Kerusi, Ibank Wine Cellar, Ibank Tablet, Ibank Laptop.

Die la, like that. rclxub.gif
TSIBank BeanBag
post Sep 13 2017, 05:07 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(pink house @ Apr 2 2017, 03:08 PM)
I heard that IB nowadays dont pay so high bonuses anymore. is it still about 70k for fresh grads?
depends on which house you go.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Oct 12 2020, 01:55 PM

619 posts

Beanie is looking to hire intern instead in this market. back to square 1. offering unparalleled access to opportunity for those willing to develop solutions for businesses.

Judging for the 30-50 messages received a year even when I never log in. I must say now I hire for corp strategy / MD office.

This post has been edited by IBank BeanBag: Oct 12 2020, 02:03 PM
TSIBank BeanBag
post Oct 12 2020, 03:57 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Oct 12 2020, 03:05 PM)
Can non finance-related major graduates be considered for this industry?
Investment banking or the on I currently hire?
TSIBank BeanBag
post Oct 12 2020, 05:44 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(yellowflashdude @ Oct 12 2020, 04:54 PM)
Both of them. From basic google research, Investment banks do hire non-finance degrees but I'm not sure if that is the case with Malaysia in particular.
Yup. both. as long as you can show strengths.

I did Engineering
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jun 28 2021, 01:03 PM

619 posts

Suddenly have friends hiring. So I do a posting here for investment banking and asset management. Multiple posts, RM4-12k.

LinkedIn seems more effective these days.
TSIBank BeanBag
post Jul 2 2021, 01:08 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 15 2012, 06:35 PM)
hey all, i am here to b****.

At first i thought hiring ppl is easy, always tell CF frens, u all sure not serious, always get lousy candidates.

Now i really feel like vomitting blood.

Front office investment banking job, just need 2 real good fresh  grad, interview until i pusing...
where r good ppl?

willing to pay also canot find  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Note: new package is up to 100k cos bonus now up to 36 months

Update: Now hire for transformation office only
Will the time be back again?

TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 13 2024, 10:17 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Helpmeplis @ Jul 2 2021, 09:13 AM)
I joined one of the top local IB as one of their management trainee & I got the opportunity to rotate around different departments (Asset management, sell side research, ECM & etc). I was the only local grad in the program & the rest were all from foreign uni. My pay was decent & a bit higher than most of my Petronas peers.

However, I fucking hated my job due to the working hours & lack of work life balance. I told this to my mentor  ( head of equities at that time) he said that it will get better as I progress. Honestly, I saw the lack of work life balance even among my senior colleagues with 20+ experience lol. I investigated how much are my senior colleagues getting paid  to find out if this job is even worth it. Most depressing of all is that, I found out a colleague of mine with 5+ years of experience was only getting paid RM6k at that time & another colleague of mine with 8+ experience  was only getting paid RM10k !!

This was the exact moment when I knew, this crusade of mine in search of success in IB  was nothing but a big fucking lie & waste of time!!  I stayed there just for 1.5 year & GTFO. The pay is totally not worth effort & mental distress I had to face ! Only foreign IB (Nomura, JP, & Barclays) can pay good money for their analyst, all the local IB is shit in comparison.

I enrolled for master's program & graduate at the top of my class & I got offered by a reputable Global MNC. Now I getting paid RM10k & planning to move to SG in 2 years to double my income. Meanwhile my friend who just graduated from the management trainee program got offered a place as an analyst in sell side research & getting paid RM6K.

As far as working hours goes, probably he is working 1.5-2x more than me at his current role lol. If anything, IB glory is all gone & the 90's bonus are just not there anymore .... So, is IB even worth it ? You tell me

I'm so glad that I left the industry !! At my current company,  I'm enjoying the work, my friendly colleagues & peaceful atmosphere much much more than my short stint in IB.
Can I ask where are you now?
TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 13 2024, 10:22 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Jul 2 2021, 09:41 AM)
Good observation...I quit IB due to this reasons too. Malaysia IB not worth it. Real money are only in satellite offices like singapore, Hong Kong, London/Paris, and New York.

I did 1 year, tired of bullshit making information memos, pitchdecks, book building, all that shiat for 15 hours a day everyday. Then I peeked over my director's cubicle. His job sucks too imo. Left,  went to commercial transformation office, got the salary hike better than if I stayed, then now back in client facing as a consultant.
Macam some BNP Paribas
TSIBank BeanBag
post Aug 23 2024, 07:22 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(Helpmeplis @ Aug 14 2024, 12:50 AM)
Working as an expat in SG & will be moving to META region in 2 years time (Probably as Regional Head).

What about you ?
Not bad. Must be earning a lot of money to say “expat”. I had a personalised employment pass a while back but I also thought that is the passport to be 马劳 (Ma Lao) or Malaysia Labour.

Wish u luck. Not everyone need to do IB and for long.

I am focusing on helping company IPO and data centre inbound investment. Still long hours that you farking hate.

Like day time work in Shopee, night time become grab driver. Malaysia hard to survive on one job.

Not smart like you go SG earn SGD. Easily can be expat and earn RM100000 a month.

Later when go MENA Region become double and no tax, soon you will be RM100000000 wealth. Well chosen path. IB sure find it hard to be RM10000 salary a month still.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0308sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:33 PM