The best GPS App for Malaysian: PAPAGO vs Sygic, Need your opinion on these two good apps

TSbestofel
post Jun 15 2012, 09:19 AM, updated 12y ago

528 posts

Need your opinion on these two good apps: PAPAGO and Sygic, which one is the best for Malaysian?

Please reply and tell your reason why you choose it.
digitalz
post Jun 15 2012, 09:23 AM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 15 2012, 09:19 AM)
Need your opinion on these two good apps: PAPAGO and Sygic, which one is the best for Malaysian?

You mean using it in Malaysia only?
TSbestofel
post Jun 15 2012, 09:30 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Jun 15 2012, 09:23 AM)
You mean using it in Malaysia only?
Yes,

Sygic for Malaysia: $ 29.99 (RM95++) http://www.sygic.com/en/android:buy-now
PAPAGO! M9 for Malaysia: RM129 http://www.lelong.com.my/papago-m9-android...3-03-Sale-P.htm
digitalz
post Jun 15 2012, 09:33 AM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 15 2012, 09:30 AM)
Yes,

Sygic for Malaysia: $ 29.99 (RM95++) http://www.sygic.com/en/android:buy-now
PAPAGO! M9 for Malaysia: RM129 http://www.lelong.com.my/papago-m9-android...3-03-Sale-P.htm
Ahh. I thought is using it everywhere. Lol. From experience, Sygic is better than Papago in some ways so I'll be going for Sygic. smile.gif

Well, the experiences are that Papago disappointed me few times with the lack/slow updates on the maps. sweat.gif
n3sta_n_roses
post Jun 15 2012, 09:35 AM

190 posts

Sygic. Its because of integration of Google Maps.
garytey
post Jun 15 2012, 09:35 AM

948 posts

don't waste time for papago, the support from m3gps only tell you they will report your frustration to their supplier
digitalz
post Jun 15 2012, 09:37 AM

2,030 posts

Lol. Papago's votes are currently way higher than Sygic. Need more people to come in and give more details!
TSbestofel
post Jun 15 2012, 09:41 AM

528 posts

About easy for use:
1. PAPAGO: Easy to use, the function not so many, button to tap also big, easy to tap when driving.

2. Sygic: So many function, first time use, got lost how to do this and this. The best is when it said "Follow this way for 50 kilometers", I can off the app and GPS. When I arrived at 45 km, then I switch on GPS and the app, it continue the navigation, no need to set destination again.
apisfires
post Jun 15 2012, 09:58 AM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

Galaxy S3 can use papago M9?
ayiesz
post Jun 15 2012, 10:08 AM

Selamat Hari Raya
2,778 posts

if you have data plan, i'd vote for waze. it has community involvement so there's live traffic condition.
ramz
post Jun 15 2012, 10:15 AM

16,739 posts

waze only good in downtown. aside from klang valley, it doesn't do navigation even at the town fringe. so its really for downtown.

i wonder will the upcoming new turn by turn navigation by google makes the paid sygic and papago obsolete?
garytey
post Jun 15 2012, 10:16 AM

948 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jun 15 2012, 10:08 AM)
if you have data plan, i'd vote for waze. it has community involvement so there's live traffic condition.
i like the concept of waze, just started trying it, but any data plan required gps will cost me a bomb when driving to singapore
apisfires
post Jun 15 2012, 10:17 AM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jun 15 2012, 10:08 AM)
yes, but can they mapper can be more organized like malfreemaps? because many road is wrong and rule road naming, how to define road type is confusing, they should make thread/moderator for country have big contributor, so country moderator can approved it for update through regional moderator who got any POI and tracking through user who upload it?
TSbestofel
post Jun 15 2012, 10:24 AM

528 posts

Features to think:
- which one consume more battery?
- which one will make your phone more heat?
- which one have frequently update map?
apisfires
post Jun 15 2012, 10:28 AM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 15 2012, 10:24 AM)
Features to think:
that bold part, papago will be winner through malfreemaps support and more accurate, just wanna ask who use m9, you dont have problem use it? hmm.gif any s3 user can give more information here?
TSbestofel
post Jun 15 2012, 10:30 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Jun 15 2012, 10:28 AM)
that bold part, papago will be winner through malfreemaps support and more accurate, just wanna ask who use m9, you dont have problem use it?  hmm.gif any s3 user can give more information here?
Yes, I agree with this point. Can PAPAGO reseller give us try for one week before buy like Sygic?
v1n0d
post Jun 15 2012, 10:33 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

Sygic works well, but I find the loading time to be quite unreasonable - it takes forever to start up!
annoymous1234
post Jun 15 2012, 10:40 AM

Cheapest condo in PJ
7,343 posts

ok im a user of both papago M9 and sygic and let me give my opinion.
i personally prefer sygic as the interface is nicer, the rotation of map is also better in sygic, and most importantly, the pinch to zoom fuction. In papago, user need to press the + or - sign to zoom. and for rotation u can't control which direction u want to turn, u need to press the rotate sign and wait for it to rotate and when it reach ur desire rotation u press on screen to stop it.

papago POI and the whole route all seems to be too tiny in my 4" screen, and the way they arrange the UI doesn't help either (the upper left corner is irritating), sure, junction view is nice but its too distracting in my opinion, while sygic also has junction view but they remain it simple which is good enough for me.

now the good thing about papago is for course - the map and POI. most of the POI and jalan are updated and accurate, thanks to MFM. sygic on the other hands has quite outdated map and even worst, they even got some of the name road wrong! and I also like that papago has very specific jalan name.

so i put both navigation to the test, i set both sygic and papago to the shortest distance in settings, and then set to the same destination. both lead me to a different route and I found out that sygic was the one which lead to a better route (sygic suggested LDP while papago suggested federal)..

verdit: sygic is still my choice. i will only use papago when i need to search a road name
xerox8908
post Jun 15 2012, 10:43 AM

Look at all my stars
2,724 posts

Use afew still like wise pilot best. Search function better and road view clearer and more detail. More accurate also
annoymous1234
post Jun 15 2012, 10:44 AM

Cheapest condo in PJ
7,343 posts

Features to think:
the 1st two i can tell u its papago, i already did a test, papago drains battery faster and when using my phone get heats up fast. 3rd question i think u know the answer.. papago has map updated almost every month if not mistaken
digitalz
post Jun 15 2012, 10:47 AM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 15 2012, 10:44 AM)
the 1st two i can tell u its papago, i already did a test, papago drains battery faster and when using my phone get heats up fast. 3rd question i think u know the answer.. papago has map updated almost every month if not mistaken
Well, in the updates are there in Malaysia but not other countries. Sometimes Papago lacks of updates in other places and the routes would have changed by then. Weird though as they have updates quite frequently on the roads here but not on some of the smaller places.
apisfires
post Jun 15 2012, 10:57 AM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Jun 15 2012, 10:43 AM)
Use afew still like wise pilot best.  Search function better and road view clearer and more detail.  More accurate also
how about malaysia map and map update? good enough? hmm.gif

Added on June 15, 2012, 11:00 am
QUOTE(digitalz @ Jun 15 2012, 10:47 AM)
Well, in the updates are there in Malaysia but not other countries. Sometimes Papago lacks of updates in other places and the routes would have changed by then. Weird though as they have updates quite frequently on the roads here but not on some of the smaller places.
smaller place dont have any update because lack of tracking contributor, like in Melaka, ii give many tracking at MFM every jalan kampung I give data smile.gif

This post has been edited by apisfires: Jun 15 2012, 11:00 AM
ramz
post Jun 15 2012, 12:30 PM

16,739 posts

is google doing a voice turn by turn navigation? i read somewhere in the news that google is releasing offline maps soon, but no details about it atm. i wonder if it has voice turn by turn navigation.

uzary
post Jun 15 2012, 12:36 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

i like papago because it is very simple to use.. sygic, tried it b4, got to many setting.. it just a matter of learning it n everything will be ok.. but most importantly ofcoz maps update.
Assclown
post Jun 15 2012, 12:37 PM

647 posts

Papago for me. Easier to use and hasn't fail me so far, yet.
Dannyl
post Jun 15 2012, 12:51 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Papago X5 FCs on Samsung phones. So annoying when it happens when I'm driving. Tried M9, looks like a patched up X5, only difference is the landscape mode and coordinates input. If not for the maps, Papago is garbage.
gajahwhite
post Jun 15 2012, 01:03 PM

Android Monster
1,852 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 15 2012, 12:30 PM)
is google doing a voice turn by turn navigation? i read somewhere in the news that google is releasing offline maps soon, but no details about it atm. i wonder if it has voice turn by turn navigation.
there's a way to make google maps work offline.. google for it :-)
emy_xvidia
post Jun 15 2012, 04:02 PM

2,665 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 15 2012, 12:51 PM)
Papago X5 FCs on Samsung phones.  So annoying when it happens when I'm driving.  Tried M9, looks like a patched up X5, only difference is the landscape mode and coordinates input.  If not for the maps, Papago is garbage.
lol agreed. Papago is such a garbage, the only good thing about it is it's MFM maps-supported.

If Sygic were to have the MFM maps, there wouldnt be any Papago left here. whistling.gif
ramz
post Jun 15 2012, 04:08 PM

16,739 posts

so in conclusion is wise to invest in a paid navigation app? contemplating if i should spend.

right now i am using waze and google maps. google maps kinda sucks coz it don't talk, and always switch off after 30 secs. waze, well, is good on some destinations especially downtown but sucks in countryside. and there are some flaws in giving good directional advice.
apisfires
post Jun 15 2012, 06:52 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 15 2012, 04:08 PM)
so in conclusion is wise to invest in a paid navigation app? contemplating if i should spend.

right now i am using waze and google maps. google maps kinda sucks coz it don't talk, and always switch off after 30 secs. waze, well, is good on some destinations especially downtown but sucks in countryside. and there are some flaws in giving good directional advice.
paid is better, better wait papago M9 got upgrade, hope can support my galaxy s3, if not, better buy sygic
jokeserv
post Jun 16 2012, 03:42 PM

334 posts

i tried installing m9 on my galaxy s3, installed but FC. cant even launch. only reason i wanted to use papago is because of MFM maps. i've used mfm maps for garmin mobile xt and the map is awesome. very detailed.

since i cant use papago now im using waze and true enough it is good for city centre area, but small small taman not so accurate. my suggestion is to send report when got map error, then you or someone can just edit lor. i do it by comparing to google maps.

using sygic at the moment so far it is ok, just that takes a bit of getting used to.

someone said sygic can sync with google maps? can tell me how to use

Lastly, ive not used wise pilot. is the map of malaysia any good?
post Jun 16 2012, 04:15 PM

372 posts

Features to think:

PAPAGO always consume a lot of CPU power and thus, making the phone both hot and battery-unfriendly.

TSbestofel
post Jun 16 2012, 11:44 PM

528 posts

Thanks to you all for voting and replying here.

Current result 26/26 @ 50-50! So difficult to choose. Lastly just use both. sweat.gif
annoymous1234
post Jun 17 2012, 12:36 AM

Cheapest condo in PJ
7,343 posts

QUOTE(11768 @ Jun 16 2012, 04:15 PM)
PAPAGO always consume a lot of CPU power and thus, making the phone both hot and battery-unfriendly.
nod.gif

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 16 2012, 11:44 PM)
Thanks to you all for voting and replying here.

Current result 26/26 @ 50-50! So difficult to choose. Lastly just use both.  sweat.gif
LOL i also have both in my phone right now.. now im waiting for google map offline to be launched.
UserU
post Jun 17 2012, 01:03 AM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,013 posts

I've tried both Papago X5 and Sygic. Papago is has inset images of the location or street. Meanwhile for Sygic, its pretty much the same, sans the insets.

Waze is another popular alternative but the main beef is about the data connection needed to function properly. It consumes the most battery among those two.

jokeserv
post Jun 17 2012, 01:45 AM

334 posts

i tried wisepilot and it seems pretty good too but it costs 59 usd. sygic is cheaper. at the moment i use sygic and waze. just waiting for google maps offline. papago cant work on s3
puterabemi
post Jun 17 2012, 07:18 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(apisfires @ Jun 15 2012, 09:58 AM)
Galaxy S3 can use papago M9?
QUOTE(jokeserv @ Jun 17 2012, 01:45 AM)
i tried wisepilot and it seems pretty good too but it costs 59 usd. sygic is cheaper. at the moment i use sygic and waze. just waiting for google maps offline. papago cant work on s3
i heard SGSIII not compatible with Papago M9 becoz of resolution incompatibility.

found this on other forum.

for landscape
1. open folder NaviSEA/Organic
2. Rename folder 1280x752 to 1280x720.
3. open folder NaviSEA/Organic/EN
4. Rename folder 1280x752 to 1280x720.
for potrait
1. open folder NaviSEA/Organic
2. Rename folder 800x1280 to 720x1280.
3. open folder NaviSEA/Organic/EN
4. Rename folder 800x1280 to 720x1280.

does this solve the problem? sory im not SGSIII user, just found this on other forum while looking for papago. whistling.gif
freddy manson
post Jun 17 2012, 08:20 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,817 posts

Im with Sygic for this one!

i like the voice turn-by-turn which is quite accurate
on my Galaxy SII, it doesnt take much time to start up..
And GPS locking is quite fast..

Sygic it is for me!
mynewuser
post Jun 17 2012, 10:04 AM

2,530 posts

I can install papago my to my tablet. 1280x720.

only problem of my is cannot zoom out to full malaysia map.
jokeserv
post Jun 17 2012, 12:25 PM

334 posts

i can't even install papago on my sgs3. installed but it force closes
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jun 18 2012, 01:11 PM

Am G Man yo
5,478 posts

Sygic la. Easy to use.
Got voice assistance.
From Penang u can set go to KL.
State city.

Papago X5
Lame, too few function.
Good to use to navigate to nearby area.
Got junction view at highway.

I use sygic 90%.
Papago only when Sygic cannot find the POI.

This post has been edited by Gurvin Abruzzi: Jun 18 2012, 01:24 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 18 2012, 03:45 PM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

Why i installed Sygic but it cant detect signal??? Im on Galaxy Note
digitalz
post Jun 18 2012, 03:49 PM

2,030 posts

Wow. Sygic overtook Papago after a few days without logging in. Obviously Sygic is working well for a lot of users as well. biggrin.gif
ramz
post Jun 19 2012, 11:02 AM

16,739 posts

i been using sygic on my s3 for 4 days now (3 more days trial then must purchase already). well, for s3, there is currently no competition. papago m9 doesn't work on s3. so i on have sygic. so, i can't comapre, but i get make comments on what it has to offer.

pros:
1. nice colours and good graphics. very clear on the roads ahead.
2. very precise on the gps. if sygic says u are 10meters from a junction, then in reality u are! the refresh rate is also very good
3. doesn' use lot of battery unlike waze.
4. the voice is clear and sexy. it give u exact instructions. for example it will say at the 3rd exit turn left. then u count 1st, 2nd, turn....perfect all the time.
5. it knows to take minor roads to your destination, if it is shorter.

cons:
1. some roads are not updated. for example it advice me to double back on a double line highway!. coz last time u can do that. but now the road has been upgraded already but not reflected on the map. but its not a big issue, and there are only a few occurance like that.
2. some of the point of interest not in my search function. for example i want to go to semenggoh. but when i type that in my search, cannot find. but good thing it allows me to quick go to an area nearby and select the semeggoh from the map. so at the end i still manage to choose my destination, but sometimes is not straighforward.
3. doesn't know the traffic situation, so can't give me good advice on the fastest route by considering the traffic. not in my town at least.

so is it good. well good, but not perfect. definitely better then waze. but waze is free.
digitalz
post Jun 19 2012, 11:09 AM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
i been using sygic on my s3 for 4 days now (3 more days trial then must purchase already). well, for s3, there is currently no competition. papago m9 doesn't work on s3. so i on have sygic. so, i can't comapre, but i get make comments on what it has to offer.

pros:
1. nice colours and good graphics. very clear on the roads ahead.
2. very precise on the gps. if sygic says u are 10meters from a junction, then in reality u are!  the refresh rate is also very good
3. doesn' use lot of battery unlike waze.
4. the voice is clear and sexy. it give u exact instructions. for example it will say at the 3rd exit turn left. then u count 1st, 2nd, turn....perfect all the time.
5. it knows to take minor roads to your destination, if it is shorter.
cons:
1. some roads are not updated. for example it advice me to double back on a double line highway!. coz last time u can do that. but now the road has been upgraded already but not reflected on the map. but its not a big issue, and there are only a few occurance like that.
2. some of the point of interest not in my search function. for example i want to go to semenggoh. but when i type that in my search, cannot find.  but good thing it allows me to quick go to an area nearby and select the semeggoh from the map. so at the end i still manage to choose my destination, but sometimes is not straighforward.
3. doesn't know the traffic situation, so can't give me good advice on the fastest route by considering the traffic. not in my town at least.

so is it good. well good, but not perfect. definitely better then waze. but waze is free.
Well for now, the only thing that I can say that the users of Sygic in your place (should be Kuching) isn't that much yet to get enough traffic situation. For now that is. But Sygic should really update itself from time to time, try emailing them? thumbup.gif
raclette
post Jun 19 2012, 11:48 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jun 17 2012, 10:04 AM)
I can install papago my to my tablet. 1280x720.

only problem of my is cannot zoom out to full malaysia map.
Have u tried to change view to 2d? On x5, need to do that to further zoom out.
KB1
post Jun 20 2012, 10:18 AM

514 posts

good day to every one... can some one teach me how to update maps on my papago x5 for sg2
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 20 2012, 11:43 AM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

QUOTE(KB1 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:18 AM)
good day to every one...  can some one teach me how to update maps on my papago x5 for sg2
Just download from MFM and put it into the SD card.. got specific folder i believe, but it aint hard to find.
alucard89
post Jun 20 2012, 08:21 PM

4,301 posts

QUOTE(KB1 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:18 AM)
good day to every one...  can some one teach me how to update maps on my papago x5 for sg2
Download maps from MFM and place in the NaviSea/Maps directory
Looks like the latest map update for X5 was from October last year.

Although I would advise for you to just upgrade to the Papago M9 since it does comes with latest map,
plus you can upgrade for free (if you did purchase X5).
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 21 2012, 11:06 AM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

Hey guys does Sygic uses A-GPS or GPS???

Coz previously i tried to logon with just GPS turned on but cant find signal..But if i turn on "enable wifi and mobile" option then 1 second already detected...

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jun 21 2012, 11:07 AM
mynewuser
post Jun 23 2012, 07:31 AM

2,530 posts

QUOTE(raclette @ Jun 19 2012, 11:48 AM)
Have u tried to change view to 2d? On x5, need  to do that to further zoom out.
the m9 zoom out cannot reach whole malaysia map. but x5 can zoom out to whole malaysia map. just imaging if your current location at johor but you need to goto kedah detail map. how long to drag till reach kedah.
TSbestofel
post Jun 23 2012, 08:30 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 19 2012, 11:02 AM)
My Sygic trial expired already. Dreaming papago x5 map used by Sygic for next time. Then, it will be the best.

I remember, GPS in my SGS3 still working and Sygic still following my way when I on SMART Tunnel.
ramz
post Jun 23 2012, 09:02 AM

16,739 posts

i accidently bought sygic.

by buying it give u bonus the upcoming version 12.1 beta. only available for paid customers.

quite good lah sygic. anyway, i got no other choice at the moment. compare to google maps and waze is like comparing merc with kancil.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 23 2012, 09:03 AM
TSbestofel
post Jun 24 2012, 03:57 PM

528 posts

12.1 beta? When will released? What bonus they said?
ramz
post Jun 24 2012, 07:01 PM

16,739 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 24 2012, 03:57 PM)
12.1 beta? When will released? What bonus they said?
That's the bonus. Version 12.1 beta is the bonus. It has been out 3 months ago and has gone through 1 revision. When it be out they didn't say. But should be soon

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 24 2012, 07:02 PM
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 24 2012, 09:17 PM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Jun 20 2012, 08:21 PM)
Download maps from MFM and place in the NaviSea/Maps directory
Looks like the latest map update for X5 was from October last year.

Although I would advise for you to just upgrade to the Papago M9 since it does comes with latest map,
plus you can upgrade for free (if you did purchase X5).
I bought M7 when i was using iphone and i have emailed their MY agent whether allow me to get free for Android or not...waiting for reply..
www.m3asia.com

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 23 2012, 09:02 AM)
i accidently bought sygic.

by buying it give u bonus the upcoming version 12.1 beta. only available for paid customers.

quite good lah sygic. anyway, i got no other choice at the moment. compare to google maps and waze is like comparing merc with kancil.
Seriously i think Sygic sux.... Not the functions or anything, but the proposed route sux.
gaarared
post Jun 24 2012, 10:35 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Jun 18 2012, 01:11 PM)
Sygic la. Easy to use.
Got voice assistance.
From Penang u can set go to KL.
State city.

Papago X5
Lame, too few function.
Good to use to navigate to nearby area.
Got junction view at highway.
I use sygic 90%.
Papago only when Sygic cannot find the POI.
Your usage same with me..but now sometime I use route 66 aps.

Added on June 24, 2012, 10:36 pm
QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 23 2012, 08:30 AM)
My Sygic trial expired already.  Dreaming papago x5 map used by Sygic for next time. Then, it will be the best.

I remember, GPS in my SGS3 still working and Sygic still following my way when I on SMART Tunnel.
+1

This post has been edited by gaarared: Jun 24 2012, 10:36 PM
ramz
post Jul 5 2012, 09:51 PM

16,739 posts

Sygic 12.1 beta release 2nd revision was out 3 days ago

Get it here
https://support.sygic.com/sygic/topics/sygi...12_1_beta-s215e

chewlf
post Jul 5 2012, 10:58 PM

1,217 posts

How much sygic cost in RM?
Dannyl
post Jul 5 2012, 11:57 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Papago M9 can't show full screen in HD screen, so disappointing. X5 works better after renaming some folders. Sygic can play on any screen reso.
alwinnng
post Jul 6 2012, 12:10 AM

4,296 posts

sygic...

because easier to use...
ramz
post Jul 6 2012, 05:13 AM

16,739 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Jul 5 2012, 10:58 PM)
How much sygic cost in RM?
Malaysia Singapore map, 29.99usd about 90+rm
chewlf
post Jul 6 2012, 12:01 PM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 6 2012, 05:13 AM)
Malaysia Singapore map, 29.99usd about 90+rm
Ok. Thanks.
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jul 6 2012, 04:29 PM

Am G Man yo
5,478 posts

Sygic.

But no more smooth on ICS.
11.2.6 released for Skype but still lag.

If Jelly Bean sure more lag.

This post has been edited by Gurvin Abruzzi: Jul 6 2012, 04:39 PM
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jul 6 2012, 04:36 PM

Am G Man yo
5,478 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jun 23 2012, 07:31 AM)
the m9 zoom out cannot reach whole malaysia map. but x5 can zoom out to whole malaysia map. just imaging if your current location at johor but you need to goto kedah detail map. how long to drag till reach kedah.
That's why I don't use X5 but still have it.
Sygic is better.
soulseeker6187
post Jul 6 2012, 05:27 PM

2,765 posts

sygic for better interface and ease of use.

eone
post Jul 6 2012, 08:59 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

tried them all, but the one I'm using now are Waze and Sygic
TSbestofel
post Jul 18 2012, 04:56 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(Gurvin Abruzzi @ Jul 6 2012, 04:29 PM)
Sygic.

But no more smooth on ICS.
11.2.6 released for Skype but still lag.

If Jelly Bean sure more lag.
BUMP!

I think it will be better on Jelly Bean. I run it on my SGS3 with ICS, don't see any lag.
Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jul 18 2012, 07:58 PM

Am G Man yo
5,478 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jul 18 2012, 04:56 PM)
BUMP!

I think it will be better on Jelly Bean. I run it on my SGS3 with ICS, don't see any lag.
Maybe because mine is crack.
Not lag, but part of sygic display stuck.
Batusai
post Aug 11 2012, 01:33 PM

Weeeeeee
2,039 posts

been using sygic, POIs are kinda outdated. and the route suggested arent the best. Mostly due to outdated maps,

Papago has better updated maps and POIs, make it easy for navigation.

But accuracy wise and user friendly, sygic wins over papago.

But for a GPS, maps are important right. Papago wins in this area.

Sygic: If maps are updated then it'll be great. Its fairly new eh. Need some time to get it updated I guess smile.gif
ychlee
post Sep 6 2012, 05:24 PM

601 posts

base on my experience using sygic and none of the above statements match.
im using sygic on my S3, i got lost in cheras and i couldn't even reach UCSI college where it is just opposite on the highway.
how's that possible?
fyi, i downloaded the latest version of sygic and maps as well.
=========================================
for papago, it has better and updated maps.
it brings me to most of the destinations i want.
so i would definitely go for papago.
this is my experience, so don flame me as im sharing. smile.gif
nghj
post Sep 6 2012, 05:35 PM

1,788 posts

Papago maps are updated monthly, september update out today

http://malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=48&...c9cf87352bb5d0d

AskarPerang
post Sep 6 2012, 07:16 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,136 posts

Using waze now.
Best GPS applications showing real time traffic and other stuff.
The more users using it, the more accurate the information.
Highly recommended. thumbup.gif
TSbestofel
post Sep 7 2012, 08:04 AM

528 posts

I flashed my Samsung Galaxy S to Jelly Bean and run PAPAGO! X5. Yeah, no more force close when I switch on the voice assistant.
stormlcc
post Sep 7 2012, 08:12 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,953 posts

QUOTE(ychlee @ Sep 6 2012, 05:24 PM)
base on my experience using sygic and none of the above statements match.
im using sygic on my S3, i got lost in cheras and i couldn't even reach UCSI college where it is just opposite on the highway.
how's that possible?
fyi, i downloaded the latest version of sygic and maps as well.
=========================================
for papago, it has better and updated maps.
it brings me to most of the destinations i want.
so i would definitely go for papago.
this is my experience, so don flame me as im sharing. smile.gif
errrr....maybe u don't know how to use???

seriously, sygic is one of the best satnav i've used, and it got me out from a lot of tight spots before, even in small kampung roads with maze like road designs.
ajay67
post Sep 7 2012, 09:53 AM

2,946 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Sep 7 2012, 08:04 AM)
I flashed my Samsung Galaxy S to Jelly Bean and run PAPAGO! X5. Yeah, no more force close when I switch on the voice assistant.

why not M9? 2 advantage is auto rotate & can search coordinates

TSbestofel
post Sep 7 2012, 10:42 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Sep 7 2012, 09:53 AM)
why not M9? 2 advantage is auto rotate & can search coordinates
Wait until my Samsung Galaxy S III got Jelly Bean update.
SamonFoo
post Sep 29 2012, 01:17 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(puterabemi @ Jun 17 2012, 07:18 AM)
i heard SGSIII not compatible with Papago M9 becoz of resolution incompatibility.

found this on other forum.
does this solve the problem? sory im not SGSIII user, just found this on other forum while looking for papago.  whistling.gif
Yes, the solution above helps! ... For S3 user who encounter none full resolution while using M9, can try the settings above ...

thx buddy =)
nak71
post Oct 1 2012, 01:04 PM

27 posts

any one found better resolution for S3, i'm using Papago M9 but the screen size is smaller that it shoud be.
sephirothvr
post Oct 1 2012, 01:14 PM

625 posts

i vote for sygic also!!!
SUSaaronsuarez95
post Oct 1 2012, 01:22 PM

huehuehue
721 posts

Sygic UI is easier to use.
harvin6
post Oct 20 2012, 06:50 PM

516 posts

sygic poi is rubbish
alphaz
post Nov 2 2012, 04:28 PM

406 posts

papago more updated map.

software-wise sygic wins hands down.

papago's UI is just meh, and the navigation sometimes laggy.

ramz
post Nov 2 2012, 04:34 PM

16,739 posts

i repeat, i don't know about papago. but sygic sucks! i use to depend on sygic because waze sucked. but now, waze is really f***ing good! the maps are so detailed, and the directions are percise, and there is also lotsa of social fun u can have with it. the only issue is probably battery drain which can easily be solved with a car charger.

i paid 139rm for sygic and my free waze is 10 times better. what the f*** is sygic doing?
SUSUpCar
post Nov 2 2012, 05:01 PM

1,612 posts

i like papago. better maps, more complete and free . indonesia, malaysia and singapore. i like it coz of the junction view. hate the fking stupid long winded voice commands.

used waze once, big dissapointment. but that was a long time ago. never used sygic before. maybe would consider buy next time.

so far its papago for me, and google brut map.
alphaz
post Nov 3 2012, 02:06 PM

406 posts

well this is weird but i hate papago's default english voice. the woman's voice can be very annoying, like she's nagging me. i've used sygic before and never felt like this haha
JonSpark
post Nov 3 2012, 02:28 PM

ai shiteru
4,825 posts

I find Sygic slow to lock in on to satellite
SUSaaronsuarez95
post Nov 3 2012, 02:37 PM

huehuehue
721 posts

waze is quite good but i navigate to one place it lag one second i missed the turn lucky it re-route fast enough
chanhin
post Nov 3 2012, 03:59 PM

1,615 posts

Does Garmin make app for Android? Then will no need to compare then...
alphaz
post Nov 8 2012, 09:41 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Nov 3 2012, 03:59 PM)
Does Garmin make app for Android? Then will no need to compare then...
Sadly, no. Otherwise I agree there'll be no contest.
TSbestofel
post Nov 8 2012, 11:44 AM

528 posts

Garmin Navigator: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...bn.client&hl=en

But users said it not good enough.
nicregi
post Nov 8 2012, 11:52 AM

4,536 posts

Sygic is my choice. I bought papago and seriously, the UI is crap. Real fail. I remember using a day and then just chuck in the cupboard and never ever use it.

Sygic is more avance but for first time user, you need need 'learn' abit cos it is not direct.
N33d
post Nov 8 2012, 11:56 AM

896 posts

for better user experience, sygic is better but lack of latest and more detail map and POI
papago is laggy and buggy but have free and recent updated map with POI

alphaz
post Nov 8 2012, 01:13 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Nov 8 2012, 11:44 AM)

only for telstra (ozzie) bro.

papago UI is so crap... the UI of old garmin xt on my nokia 5800xm is 10 times better, more intuitive

This post has been edited by alphaz: Nov 8 2012, 01:14 PM
ramz
post Nov 8 2012, 01:17 PM

16,739 posts

QUOTE(N33d @ Nov 8 2012, 11:56 AM)
for better user experience, sygic is better but lack of latest and more detail map and POI
papago is laggy and buggy but have free and recent updated map with POI
What's the point if the maps not updated. Countless times I find myself driving on grass. And taking illegal turns. I understand if the road is new. But the roads are already 2 years old
chanhin
post Nov 8 2012, 01:55 PM

1,615 posts

QUOTE(alphaz @ Nov 8 2012, 09:41 AM)
Sadly, no. Otherwise I agree there'll be no contest.
QUOTE(bestofel @ Nov 8 2012, 11:44 AM)

Can load Malaysia / Singapore map into Garmin Andrioid?
alphaz
post Nov 8 2012, 03:19 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Nov 8 2012, 01:55 PM)
Can load Malaysia / Singapore map into Garmin Andrioid?
Yes, if you have Garmin-Asus A50
N33d
post Nov 10 2012, 11:47 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 8 2012, 01:17 PM)
What's the point if the maps not updated. Countless times I find myself driving on grass. And taking illegal turns. I understand if the road is new. But the roads are already 2 years old
i didnt say which one is better.. just point out one is better in one area
xzilem
post Nov 11 2012, 06:11 AM

911 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 8 2012, 01:17 PM)
What version did you use? There's new version of sygic with new map in market.

Sygic better for me with new version.
Dannyl
post Nov 11 2012, 08:29 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Nov 2 2012, 04:34 PM)
i repeat, i don't know about papago. but sygic sucks! i use to depend on sygic because waze sucked. but now, waze is really f***ing good! the maps are so detailed, and the directions are percise, and there is also lotsa of social fun u can have with it. the only issue is probably battery drain which can easily be solved with a car charger.

i paid 139rm for sygic and my free waze is 10 times better. what the f*** is sygic doing?
My preference:
1) Waze
2) Papago even with 1 year old map
3) Sygic
Lineage
post Nov 11 2012, 11:54 AM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

Using waze as priority..if waze cannot use then I switch to Papago..

Sygic use before but just dont like it..maybe not localize enough to find POI..
auhckw
post Nov 11 2012, 12:11 PM

1,008 posts

I just tried Waze. Kind of cool. But how do I search by GPS location?
aspire2oo6
post Nov 11 2012, 12:12 PM

Banned
34,712 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 11 2012, 12:11 PM)
I just tried Waze. Kind of cool. But how do I search by GPS location?
left button then navigation

Right button for reporting.
auhckw
post Nov 11 2012, 12:58 PM

1,008 posts

Thank. Anyway I found the answer

>>Can I navigate to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates?
Yes. In the Navigate search box, enter "longitude, latitude" (without the quotes) where longitude and latitude are in decimal form. For example, for the United States, Disney's Epcot Center in Orland, Florida is located at these coordinates: "-81.54942,28.37529"
Lineage
post Nov 11 2012, 01:19 PM

the Chaotic Throne
4,524 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Nov 11 2012, 12:58 PM)
Thank. Anyway I found the answer

>>Can I navigate to latitude and longitude or GPS coordinates?
Yes. In the Navigate search box, enter "longitude, latitude" (without the quotes) where longitude and latitude are in decimal form. For example, for the United States, Disney's Epcot Center in Orland, Florida is located at these coordinates: "-81.54942,28.37529"
Kinda easy..key in straight away only..haha.. laugh.gif
apisfires
post Nov 11 2012, 07:06 PM

PengUlar
3,129 posts

now google maps good enough for big city
ajimraoul
post Nov 11 2012, 09:53 PM

14 posts

Currently using papago M9 on my samsung s2 CM10. Good thing about papago is because of its latest map from MFM. However, it does a lil bit laggy, always error to navigate (shows my location in Pahang i dunno y), take long time to lock satellite. I dunno whether my CM10 is faulty or this papago m9.
Ryou
post Nov 11 2012, 10:14 PM

866 posts

I prefer the clean interface of Sygic.

However, recently installed Sygic 12, it has less POI than its older brother. Why is it?
upmost systems
post Nov 11 2012, 10:59 PM

tired of flashing
1,226 posts

QUOTE(ajimraoul @ Nov 11 2012, 09:53 PM)
Currently using papago M9 on my samsung s2 CM10. Good thing about papago is because of its latest map from MFM. However, it does a lil bit laggy, always error to navigate (shows my location in Pahang i dunno y), take long time to lock satellite. I dunno whether my CM10 is faulty or this papago m9.
If it show U wrong location...definitely U are using crack version
archinkent
post Nov 12 2012, 11:04 AM

285 posts

Just bought the Papago M9 for my Xperia Sola. No complaints so far. Tested around PJ and KL and it works well.
alphaz
post Nov 12 2012, 10:15 PM

406 posts

papago m9 is not too bad la... my sensation gps lock in 3s, i don't have much issues, apart from sometimes lag. but the most annoying thing is there's no option to lock the screen orientation
SUSaltimi
post Nov 15 2012, 03:54 PM

2,173 posts

My papago m9 refuse to work after JB 4.2 update
SUSUpCar
post Nov 15 2012, 04:01 PM

1,612 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ Nov 15 2012, 03:54 PM)
My papago m9 refuse to work after JB 4.2 update
email m3 and ask them for the latest apk
orenzai
post Nov 15 2012, 04:30 PM

3,114 posts

Sygic is the best in terms of functionality. Smooth pinch to zoom and clear instructions. I hope they'll allow for more POIs from users or update it themselves.
ahK
post Nov 15 2012, 05:06 PM

73 posts

i tot sygic is a free app in Android platform, no?
stormlcc
post Nov 15 2012, 06:25 PM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,953 posts

QUOTE(ahK @ Nov 15 2012, 05:06 PM)
i tot sygic is a free app in Android platform, no?
no, only trial version
booboochak
post Nov 15 2012, 08:15 PM

67 posts

PAPAGO and SYGIC only for dealers. only they can give FOC maps app
soonyeap
post Nov 15 2012, 11:20 PM

227 posts

I will go for Sygic...
lastlovesong
post Nov 15 2012, 11:50 PM

130 posts

sygic disappointed me. the UI and voice is perfect but the proposed route failed.

from bukit tinggi, klang to jalan kebun. the app wan me to go pass kesas toll then into k.kemuning then only jalan kebun.
slayersssss
post Dec 15 2012, 03:19 PM

66 posts

cannot run papago M9 on android 4.2 jellybean? sweat.gif
AC_ryan94
post Dec 15 2012, 06:43 PM

banned!
1,000 posts

Prefer sygic..(tested at my dad's SII not bad w/o open data smile.gif )

Added on December 15, 2012, 6:44 pm
QUOTE(slayersssss @ Dec 15 2012, 03:19 PM)
cannot run papago M9 on android 4.2 jellybean?  sweat.gif
harh? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by AC_ryan94: Dec 15 2012, 06:44 PM
wajahebat
post Dec 15 2012, 06:49 PM

BoomBaDaBoom
1,951 posts

QUOTE(slayersssss @ Dec 15 2012, 03:19 PM)
Thats normal issue...Even earlier papago version also ive experienced the same problem on Gingerbread...
At last i found Sygic that suits me well..With accurate and more faster satellite locking, but still need some mods...
mackioes
post May 3 2013, 03:34 PM

282 posts

Papago now 50% discount. untill 6th may only !
kurosaki0103
post May 4 2013, 04:01 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ May 3 2013, 03:34 PM)
Papago now 50% discount. untill 6th may only !
Cool i just knew that papago is selling through play store now!

Ive been wanting to go legit for quite some time, but im not exactly fond of those shady phone stalls selling apps at ridiculously marked up price - And I cannot even be sure if its legit.

Anyway which version of papago is this? Or are they going to install different version fo different phones? Its still awesome tho, at least nw we only need to pay once for all our (future)devices - assuming they will update this instead of creating a new app altogether, which is shhit

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...by5NMTFTR01ZIl0.
mackioes
post May 4 2013, 11:54 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(kurosaki0103 @ May 4 2013, 05:01 AM)
Cool i just knew that papago is selling through play store now!

Ive been wanting to go legit for quite some time, but im not exactly fond of those shady phone stalls selling apps at ridiculously marked up price - And I cannot even be sure if its legit.

Anyway which version of papago is this? Or are they going to install different version fo different phones? Its still awesome tho, at least nw we only need to pay once for all our (future)devices - assuming they will update this instead of creating a new app altogether, which is shhit

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...by5NMTFTR01ZIl0.
Yes it's really worth it. It's m9 latest version. Plus u always have the latest version. Funy thing is the rating only 3. Why so bad any risk?
nebousuke
post May 20 2013, 11:29 AM

BlahBlah
903 posts

Well here's my review for the Papago App on the Play Store

The app itself is pretty functional with moderately good layout but the integration with Android is appalling, it doesn't present itself to most navigation related item on Android. Google Now doesn't show it as an option to open Places, even Waze does that. Paying USD 29, i expect much more.
tuo850
post May 20 2013, 11:32 AM

756 posts

what bout waze?
noramin
post May 20 2013, 11:35 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(slayersssss @ Dec 15 2012, 04:19 PM)
You can use Papago M11 for new android fon
bsa12
post May 20 2013, 05:50 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ May 20 2013, 11:29 AM)
Well here's my review for the Papago App on the Play Store

The app itself is pretty functional with moderately good layout but the integration with Android is appalling, it doesn't present itself to most navigation related item on Android. Google Now doesn't show it as an option to open Places, even Waze does that. Paying USD 29, i expect much more.
you shud buy it when 50% discount sales in April. anyway i am using sygic. ok, ok only
ChuanHong
post May 21 2013, 02:43 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,299 posts

papago is the best.. i bought Papago m11 in promotion price.. i bought for ipad and android too.. fast locate almost instant.. map quite new.. march 2013.. ipad is instant locate and the best gps device for me.. android phone just a backup for me.. i can find most of POI in rural area too.. its good for me to travel to other states in future..

i expect more option in routing..
hkboey
post May 25 2013, 03:33 AM

749 posts

I thought Papago is for 1 device only? You need to buy the app again if you change device right??? Hope those bought the app can share this info.

What about Sygic? Is the license can be installed on any device?
ChuanHong
post May 25 2013, 04:05 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,299 posts

QUOTE(hkboey @ May 25 2013, 03:33 AM)
I thought Papago is for 1 device only? You need to buy the app again if you change device right??? Hope those bought the app can share this info.

What about Sygic? Is the license can be installed on any device?
For me, I can use on my 2 android devices.. Both xperia too.. Just purchase once only.. Same with ios.. My new ipad and I share to my friend 1 too.. Without any problem.. As long as u using the same email..
ST1M
post Jun 1 2013, 01:35 AM

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 15 2012, 09:19 AM)

what ever u said..... MYSELF PREFER SYGIC
BEST & GOOD = Sygic GPS Navigation VER 13.1.1
With latest map update

for reason = slow+long detect signal = DEVICE ISSUE

Not software application issue
vivian_w
post Jun 10 2013, 10:31 PM

157 posts

I just bought Sygic for android.. I would like to try route simulation, is this feature available? Please teach me how if there is.
Evrae90
post Jun 27 2013, 08:20 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(vivian_w @ Jun 10 2013, 10:31 PM)
I just bought Sygic for android.. I would like to try route simulation, is this feature available? Please teach me how if there is.
Set destination. Go to Menu click Route>Route Options>Demonstrate
ToniV
post Aug 18 2013, 12:55 AM

2,372 posts

sygic can support mfm?
how about offline mode. meaning without internet connection. which is better? both can work offline? just by using gps ni
h11g
post Aug 18 2013, 11:54 AM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(tuo850 @ May 20 2013, 10:32 AM)
what bout waze?
waze's strong point is the traffic data it provides, besides if you live in KL there are plenty of wazers around. and do contribute if you decide to go the waze route.

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ May 21 2013, 01:43 PM)
papago is the best.. i bought Papago m11 in promotion price.. i bought for ipad and android too.. fast locate almost instant.. map quite new.. march 2013.. ipad is instant locate and the best gps device for me.. android phone just a backup for me.. i can find most of POI in rural area too.. its good for me to travel to other states in future..

i expect more option in routing..
fast location lock on doesnt have anything to do with the software, its the phone's hardware that matters.
shapa2011
post Aug 19 2013, 03:49 PM

108 posts

I'm using Papago M11, because it's the only android gps apps that supported by MFM community maps (nothing can't beat community maps details for sure)..if Garmin Malaysia is out for android I'm sure go for it meh.. because MFM support Garmin too..

Btw anybody tried Papago M11 on Xperia ZR ? Is it works on the phone ?

This post has been edited by shapa2011: Aug 19 2013, 03:54 PM
hanifw
post Aug 19 2013, 03:51 PM

389 posts

Nokia Drive~
nghj
post Aug 19 2013, 04:16 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(hanifw @ Aug 19 2013, 03:51 PM)
Nokia Drive~
how to use nokia drive on android?
ajay67
post Aug 19 2013, 04:39 PM

2,946 posts

been using google map navi since its available. hv stopped using my garmin 250W. but still keep it it the car just in case
ChuanHong
post Aug 19 2013, 10:41 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,299 posts

Went to vacation for last weeks in bukit tinggi, Genting highlands and ipoh. Papago does serve me very well in every POI. I can find all the location very accurate. Especially all famous food in Ipoh.

I think it's worth for me to buy the software in ipad HD version and android version in promotion time last time.. My car saga can put ipad firmly but myvi cannot.. So use my phone as gps navi with phone holder..

0.0766sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:20 AM