Maxis Maxis Fibre: Public IP & Private IP?, What's the difference?

TSIntensiveBytes
post Jun 13 2012, 08:24 PM, updated 14y ago

519 posts

So I heard that Maxis Fibre users will get a Private IP, and from what I've heard, a Private IP won't be able to let you port forward, etc.

I think I want Public IP? (Public IPs are the normal ones that most people use right?)

How do I ask for one? Must I ask the technicians that come for a Public IP?

Just in case you guys want to know, I will be making Minecraft servers, and I do use Teamviewer sometimes,
So I do I need a Public IP in order to do those? I don't think I want a Private IP because I'm afraid it
has some limitations, etc and won't be able to let me do certain stuff (eg. hosting websites, game servers, etc)

So do I need a Public IP in order to do those and how do I ask for one?

Thanks in advance ;D
TSIntensiveBytes
post Jun 13 2012, 08:54 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(izzat80 @ Jun 13 2012, 08:43 PM)
see bro is like this:

private ip and public ip used by maxis mean this...

when u use PRIVATE IP

UR HOME NETWORK (ur router) >---------> THE WORLD biggrin.gif
means... the world see IP to ur network directly
when u use PUBLIC IP.....

UR HOME NETWORK >------------------> MAXIS PROXY >------------> the WORLD  rclxms.gif
means... everything u request.. go to MAXIS first... then MAXIS ask for it
the world never see IP that directly connect to U... they see MAXIS IP

Maxis say this for better security coz hackers cannot directly attack... but disadvantage is u share IP with many ppls (coz its MAXIS IP)... so if u downloda from free download site, they tell u ur IP ALREADY DOWNLOADING  laugh.gif
OR u wan host game or website at ur home... cannot also.. coz no IP directly to ur network

icon_rolleyes.gif
thx for the reply bro.
so best is to use the IP that maxis give u ? (private ip)
public ip cant host game/website?
so u suggest i use private ip?
public ip=better for security
so u think i should just stick with the IP normal private IP?
other than game and website hosting, i also will download torrent and warez..

This post has been edited by IntensiveBytes: Jun 13 2012, 08:55 PM
TSIntensiveBytes
post Jun 14 2012, 07:57 PM

519 posts

But based on my 2 posts above, which IP is suited for me?
TSIntensiveBytes
post Jun 14 2012, 10:13 PM

519 posts

Haha, so should I actually get a private or public IP? :S
So many explanations yet I'm still blur towards what I should get. Sorry. doh.gif

This post has been edited by IntensiveBytes: Jun 14 2012, 10:14 PM
TSIntensiveBytes
post Jun 15 2012, 12:02 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jun 14 2012, 11:43 PM)
Lol I hope u aren't confused by static dynamic public and private.

Static is fixed, that means u cut power unlimited times and reconnect unlimited time, u get the same ip, dynamic just all random. So if you own 123.123.123.123, u always get that number, u need to pay for static ip and they are expensive and will be more and more expensive. Normal Internet user get dynamic ip, each time they connect, they get different number. What is the different? If u have fix, u can host things, ppl know you are 123.123.123.123, ppl can directly find you. If dynamic, u tell your ip to somebody, the next time your router reboot or reconnect u get different, your old ip goes to somebody else. Check www.whatismyip.com

Private is internal ip, public is external, u cannot choose to have no public ip as others unable to send to your router, and u cannot choose to have no internal as your router unable to talk to you. So u don't have a choice, your data will use internal ip(LAN) until your gateway which also means your router, and your data will be using public ip to get out from the router, when responded by whatever server, they will use your public ip back to your router, and your router will use private ip(LAN) back to you.

Added on June 14, 2012, 11:48 pmTo know your private or LAN ip type ipconfig in command prompt. To know your public ip just access www.whatismyip.com. And your 1st post is wrong. When u are have Internet connection means u got public ip d. And when the u got a router, that means u got a LAN. Missing any, u can't access Internet.
Oh, thanks, I totally understand now.
So, I am wrong right? There's no such thing of "what should I get". There's always 2 IPs right?
Usually when I make a Minecraft server, I'll always have to port forward again and give them a new IP to connect to but I've found a way, I can use no-ip.org, which is like, you can connect to a Minecraft sever by just typing a link.
(eg. hithere.no-ip.org)

It auto updates your IP and links it to the address everytime your IP changes, since it's dynamic.

So actually I've been mistaken the whole time? XD
Thank you for the really in-depth explanation as well as others too, thanks smile.gif
So first things first when I get the new Maxis Fibre I'll try it out, etc etc
TSIntensiveBytes
post Jun 15 2012, 07:39 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jun 15 2012, 01:16 PM)
im not sure what is minecraft server, but most servers out there, they use static or fixed ip, that is the most convenience or the easiest way, ppl know your ip and will never wrongly connect to somebody else.

and yes about no-ip, basically u got random ip, and u post your ramdom ip to a server with a fixed ip, and bind your new ip to something, ie UserID 2265 is always you, when u get a new ip, u tell no-ip.com which is using a fixed ip, and u tell them im user 2265, i have a new public ip now, which is .... and no-ip will record that, whoever wants to connect to you, will go no-ip and ask, where is User 2265 now, no-ip will tell them your new public ip. then others will know your latest public ip, they dont have to know your private ip, your router need to know, thats why its private. so connection will be made directly to your router, to certain port, and u should already configured when connection comes to whatever port, goto whatever internal ip(or lan ip or private, whatever term u like).

log in your router by using its ip, u will notice it has both internal and external, we call something like this a gateway, others cannot directly go to your pc without going through this. and u can log in your router with more than just 1 ip, if you allows admin login from WAN(or public), normally default only allow LAN.

the reason why ppl call WAN ip as public, is this number is unique in the internet, u cant have 2 same public ip. and private ip is private business, u can have your ip, i can have mine, they can be the same, as long as each pc ip in my network is unique, all works fine.
Wow, thanks for the information man! biggrin.gif You really did clear things up for me.
You sure do know a lot about these stuff.
So I guess I don't need to request any thing from Maxis when I have it, just need to make sure people get the right IP when connecting.
TSIntensiveBytes
post Jun 19 2012, 01:21 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Swordylove @ Jun 18 2012, 10:42 PM)
+1 for narf03 thumbup.gif

Other people mostly only say "get public IP lah... easier to torrent lah... ape lah" but never really know what they're talking about  mad.gif
Yea la, that's why I posted this thread since many people say get this get that I also want to know what I should get.
Ended up all IPs have PUBLIC AND PRIVATE IPs..
TSIntensiveBytes
post Jul 20 2012, 12:32 PM

519 posts

Does Private IP cause lag in online games?
I mean, somehow using Streamyx also have better ping when I play Sudden Attack SEA.. MY server still lag once a while..

I can't even port forward using Private IP to host servers, etc

Maybe I wanna change to public IP but I'm just afraid it might bring problems speed wise, etc.

I also dunno la, maybe just stick to private IP.. not sure!

0.0210sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:52 AM