What to say to someone who lost a loved one?, death of a beloved person
SUSStationMonkey
Jun 12 2012, 05:01 AM, updated 14y ago
What do you normally say to a friend who recently faced the death of their loved ones?
Some people would say takziah my condolences I'm sorry etc but that hardly makes them feel any better right?
Did you say the takziah words just for the sake of saying?
SUSjayqc
Jun 12 2012, 05:03 AM
God's will brother. accept it.
chiiupe
Jun 12 2012, 05:17 AM

if u close enough to the person, probably let them know u are willing to listen to their griefs?
idk man, everything else feels too phony
Lucidus
Jun 12 2012, 05:21 AM
Depends on ur closeness with that person.
If he's normal friend/acquaintance, say takziah/my condolences/I'm sorry etc.
If close friend, tell him you'll always be there for him/her.
Truth is, words could only bring very little comfort. He/she is bound to endure it. It's just whether it will be alone or not.
transhumanist92
Jun 12 2012, 05:28 AM

tell your friend her loved one is spending an eternity playing angelic music on heavenly harps
tutuyao
Jun 12 2012, 05:37 AM
节哀顺变 owai...
This post has been edited by tutuyao: Jun 12 2012, 05:38 AM
megeligeli
Jun 12 2012, 05:40 AM

anything but padan muka
kensh!!n
Jun 12 2012, 05:42 AM

Cool story bro
TSOM
Jun 12 2012, 05:45 AM
Fhaarkas
Jun 12 2012, 05:49 AM

QUOTE(StationMonkey @ Jun 12 2012, 05:01 AM) What do you normally say to a friend who recently faced the death of their loved ones? Some people would say takziah my condolences I'm sorry etc but that hardly makes them feel any better right? Did you say the takziah words just for the sake of saying? you dont say anything. speak when you're spoken to and just be there.
SUSStationMonkey
Jun 12 2012, 06:17 AM
QUOTE(Fhaarkas @ Jun 12 2012, 05:49 AM) you dont say anything. speak when you're spoken to and just be there. Haha that's what I usually do. I feel like I don't have the right to say anything to them since I never really give much attention to their life before. So I just shut myself up.
PleaseEnterYourName
Jun 12 2012, 06:26 AM
QUOTE(StationMonkey @ Jun 12 2012, 06:17 AM) Haha that's what I usually do. I feel like I don't have the right to say anything to them since I never really give much attention to their life before. So I just shut myself up. ppl usually ask how did it happen and when was the burial.
sifuwong
Jun 12 2012, 06:40 AM
Deal with it.
mj31382
Jun 12 2012, 06:42 AM
QUOTE(megeligeli @ Jun 12 2012, 05:40 AM) that's helpful
SUSachik1990
Jun 12 2012, 06:54 AM
...................................................................................................
"thats bout it'
wu ming
Jun 12 2012, 07:10 AM
Allah sayangkan dia.
SUSYameteOniichan
Jun 12 2012, 07:24 AM

i just speak normally like it never happened.
Personal things is personal. So please dont bring it to the workplace. there is a time to cry, but work is work.
sgwc
Jun 12 2012, 07:25 AM
When I lost my gf, many ppl wished takziah to me and i felt nothing.
arsengal
Jun 12 2012, 07:31 AM

Usually I don't know what exactly to say in these situations. I just give a small 'takziah' 'innalillah' or condolences. Being beside the person is the best thing I could do, w/o saying anything.
Narako
Jun 12 2012, 07:32 AM
say you are finally free!!
Sebastiank21
Jun 12 2012, 07:32 AM

QUOTE(tutuyao @ Jun 12 2012, 05:37 AM)  his avatar very funnieh This post has been edited by Sebastiank21: Jun 12 2012, 07:33 AM
SUSruffaz
Jun 12 2012, 07:33 AM
harini dia mampus, esok awak pula mampus. good luck
mikicun
Jun 12 2012, 07:35 AM
QUOTE(StationMonkey @ Jun 12 2012, 05:01 AM) What do you normally say to a friend who recently faced the death of their loved ones? Some people would say takziah my condolences I'm sorry etc but that hardly makes them feel any better right? Did you say the takziah words just for the sake of saying? tahniah bro... anda terselamat dari menjadi duda/janda atau ibu/bapa tunggal.... lepas seminggu nih leh la lepak2 balik sama kitaowang....
happy4ever
Jun 12 2012, 07:38 AM
has they dropped any loot?
Zephyr_Mage
Jun 12 2012, 08:39 AM
Good night sweet prince.
Randomization
Jun 12 2012, 08:55 AM
Can I offer you a hot beverage?
billylks
Jun 12 2012, 09:07 AM

If that person is close to me, I will say nothing, usually people later come to me to express their grief lah.
[+]
Jun 12 2012, 09:12 AM
Boldnut
Jun 12 2012, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(billylks @ Jun 12 2012, 09:07 AM) If that person is close to me, I will say nothing, usually people later come to me to express their grief lah. and start on smrtphone play games.
SUSKeith321
Jun 12 2012, 09:24 AM

You want a physicist to speak at your funeral. You want the physicist to talk to your grieving family about the conservation of energy, so they will understand that your energy has not died. You want the physicist to remind your sobbing mother about the first law of thermodynamics; that no energy gets created in the universe, and none is destroyed. You want your mother to know that all your energy, every vibration, every Btu of heat, every wave of every particle that was her beloved child remains with her in this world. You want the physicist to tell your weeping father that amid energies of the cosmos, you gave as good as you got.
gestapo
Jun 12 2012, 09:25 AM
arwah baik orangnya
ray123
Jun 12 2012, 09:36 AM
"I may or may not be able to help, but I'm your friend. If you ever need someone to talk to, call me."
zeist
Jun 12 2012, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(StationMonkey @ Jun 12 2012, 05:01 AM) What do you normally say to a friend who recently faced the death of their loved ones? Some people would say takziah my condolences I'm sorry etc but that hardly makes them feel any better right? Did you say the takziah words just for the sake of saying? Console them and do whatever that is necessary as a friend.
tutuyao
Jun 12 2012, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(Sebastiank21 @ Jun 12 2012, 07:32 AM)  his avatar very funnieh dont fall in love with it
keypad
Jun 12 2012, 01:28 PM
Ob-la-di, ob-la-da, life goes on, brah!... Lala how the life goes on.
pandah
Jun 12 2012, 01:31 PM
i just go visit and seldom say anything, just tell them i know you are sad, if you have something need help can let me know i will try to do it. dun really know wat to say...
Shadow Kun
Jun 12 2012, 01:48 PM
did he drop any loot?