You should state goldsmith shop and some other gold scheme company.
Gold investment corner V5, Will gold price achieve USD2000 by 2012?
Jun 8 2012, 08:29 AM
1,128 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
You should state goldsmith shop and some other gold scheme company.
Jun 12 2012, 11:40 PM
Everyone talk about gold but holding a piece of paper instead of physical.
A thread which is bias to the physical gold. |
Jun 14 2012, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(potenza10 @ Jun 14 2012, 01:44 PM) Yup..definitely it is different between retail price and paper gold price. You can buy physical gold/jewelleries at much more competitive price at public gold, GCP, one asia gold, sri ayu etc..the price for 916 roughly in range rm160+ only per gram How about the workmapship, lowest amount, trade in deduction? |
Jun 19 2012, 10:22 AM
There is a Gold Dragon bar set in the market consist of 100 types of gold dragon bars. It include a book with 100 dragon stamps. The biggest goldsmith shop Poh Kong have 3 sets only. Let me know if you interested to buy.
Jun 19 2012, 07:47 PM
Jun 22 2012, 12:16 AM
Jun 22 2012, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(Silver Investor @ Jun 22 2012, 09:38 PM) I bought physical gold and silver from this company: www.goldsilvercart.com. Anybody heard about this company and any comment? U will lose a lot of money if you sell to goldsmith shop and bank won't buy it. |
Jul 17 2012, 02:17 PM
I believe gold price went down due to the US December election. It apply on 2008 US election.
Jul 20 2012, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(invest2229 @ Jul 19 2012, 08:25 AM) I went to Tomei. The rate is the same. Per what I understand, Malaysia have Federation of Goldsmiths And Jewellers Associations Of Malaysia. They set the standard gold price . Goldsmith shop no longer follow the price of "Federation of Goldsmiths And Jewellers Associations Of Malaysia" due to the new Competition Act 2010 which came into effect on 1 January 2012. All the gold price has controlled by the company instead of the association. Refer following for the gold price as yesterday : Gold Price : 999 Gold:RM195.00/gm 916 Gold:RM185.00/gm Added on July 19, 2012, 8:41 am Yes. This is the problem. When we want to sell, it will follow rate set by "Federation of Goldsmiths And Jewellers Associations Of Malaysia" and it will hit us 15% !! Example : If bought at RM195/g, the break even gold price will be at RM215.25/g. A lot of salesperson still do not know about this since the HQ did not guide them regarding this issue. |
Aug 2 2012, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(keethariq @ Aug 2 2012, 09:44 PM) Physical Gold vs Paper Gold Part 1 Saw ur signature... Clicked ur facebook... There are basically two ways to invest or save in gold; Physical or Paper. WHAT IS PHYSICAL GOLD? Physical Gold is simply put actual gold that you can hold in your hands. Examples are: 1. Gold Bars 2. Gold Coins 3. Gold Jewelry Gold Bars are gold moulded in rectangular shape. Gold bars include ingots and wafers. Gold bars are usually made of pure gold or 9999 gold. The surface of the bar is usually stamped with the Manufacturer's Seal, the Gold Purity and the Weight. Most common sizes are 10gram, 20gram, 100gram, 500gram and 1kilo. Pure gold bars have no premium i.e. they are closest to spot gold prices as there are no workmanship charges or intrinsic value. Common gold bar producers are PAMP Suisse, Heraeus etc. Gold Coins are gold moulded in round coin shape. Gold coins include gold rounds, medallions, and doubloons, however they differ in price range. Gold coins are usually minted by a Government or Government backed agency and is sometimes considered as legal tender. These gold coins have a premium over actual gold prices. Gold rounds can be considered as round shaped gold bars, they are not legal tender but is made from gold nonetheless and have no premium. Medallions and doubloons usually have intrinsic value as they are made for commemorative purposes so there will be a premium . Gold coins are usually made of 917 Gold or 9999 Gold. The Dinar is made from 917 Gold and usually weighs 4.25 grams or 1/8 of an ounce. Other Gold Coins like the Canadian Maple Leaf and Malaysian Kijang are made from 9999 Gold and usually weighs 1 ounce. Gold Jewelry are gold made into jewelry, like chains, necklaces, bracelets, earrings, watches etc. Usually combined with other metals and precious stones. As jewelry is primarily used as decorative items, there will be a bigger premium on the base gold metal compared to Gold Bars and Gold Coins. However there are jewelry that are suitable for investment or savings i.e. gold jewelry that are very basic in design and have very low or virtually no workmanship charges. For example a basic gold chain with no stones or pendants can be very close to actual gold prices. WHAT IS PAPER GOLD? Paper gold is another term for savings or investments in gold that does not involve the physical possession of the gold. All you have is piece of paper saying that you have savings or investments in gold, hence paper gold. In my opinion there are only three types of paper gold i.e.: 1. Gold Savings/Investment Accounts 2. Mining Stocks 3. Gold Funds Gold Savings or Investment Accounts are usually products offered by banking institutions. This is also known as Passbook Gold. Banks issue passbooks to their customers who save or invest in gold held by banks. Since the gold is measured by the grams, customers can hold to any number of fractions of gold. Examples of banks that have these products are Maybank, CIMB, Public Bank, KFH etc. Mining Stocks are shares of a public listed gold mining company that is traded on a stock exchange. The mining company owns or has a lease of a gold mine, and when you hold the shares of the company, in effect you have a share in the gold mine. Gold Funds are mutual funds or exchange traded funds (ETFs) that invest solely in gold. These funds may hold physical gold as well as mining shares and other gold derivatives. When buying in to these funds you own part of the assets these funds have access to. So the issue comes to what is better? Physical Gold or Paper Gold? I will discuss the issue further in my next post. I have few points since myself working in this industry and I wish the public can protect themself from any issues they might face in the future. 1. I saw you wrote this on facebook "Syarikat kami menawarkan perkhidmatan COD. Tengok barang dulu, puas hati baru bayar. Boleh uji kat bank atau kedai emas." Actually there is peoples did that in XXX goldsmith shop with 10 pieces of 100 grams thick bracelets. Just to let you guys know the purity of gold cannot be check if the goldsmith shop did not cut it. There is too many case that internal is silver but external is gold. Especially when you buy gold that thick enough for investment. 2. Investment is good only provided when the company can succeed in the long term. Good liquidation provided with good cash flow. People who go for investment without the knowledge of liquidation but merely low price are stupid. You might end up lose more when trade in with other company (goldsmith shop). Who care about low spread if the company disappear in the short future. |
Sep 5 2012, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 4 2012, 07:27 PM) Today i just called uob. They actually have stock for maple 1 oz at the main branch. Might drop by one of this day. Also checked at poh kong 1 oz coin is close to rm5900.might as well get from uob Poh Kong did not sell 1 oz coin for investment.Either 1,5,10,20,50,100 grams. You need to check 1. Dispersion (since selling and buy back price is higher than bank) 2. Rules and terms 3. Liquidation |
Nov 3 2012, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 3 2012, 09:57 PM) Agree! Jewellers That one apply for normal jewellery not investment type gold bar. QUOTE sell gold with premium spot gold price and they'll take your gold below spot price.. They are jewellers.. after all. If one want to trade GOLD.. just go to the stock market. It is very liquid and you can trade very close to spot prices. No need to handle crazy physical gold. All electronic trading or over-the-counter. The another good thing to do is also to invest (or trade) in publicly traded Gold mining companies. Their profits also correlate to gold prices..and also got dividends (real dividends from performance, not silly "heebahs" scam like from you-know-which-one). There are lots of well run gold mining company around. Normal Jewellery deduction 25%, gold bar deduction around 8-15% depends on the company and type of gold bars. The only thing I buy from Jewellery shop is because they always change their gold price late. If the gold price increase 5% this afternoon but they will only change on second day or third day. If the deduction for Goldsmith shop gold around 12%. If price went up 5% this afternoon, you buy it on the same day because you know the gold price will increase soon for goldsmith shop. 12%-5% = 7% dispersion. After 1 year, you decided to sell but looking for the highest rate as you could. So you gonna spend 1 mth to survey. Suddenly gold price fall 5% and you expect the gold price will reduce 5%. So you sell it. The remaining 7%-5% =2% dispersion. At the end, the dispersion was actually 2% instead of 12%. You avoid the 10% dispersion because you able to predict and avoid gold price fluctuate risk (this method cannot be done on bank gold price rate because the update every minutes). So you guys should know why goldsmith shop bear a lot of cost (risk). This post has been edited by doraemonkiller: Nov 3 2012, 11:10 PM |
Nov 6 2012, 11:46 PM
Jan 22 2013, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(AMINT @ Jan 12 2013, 07:32 PM) Guys, one question. where do u sell back your physical gold? Selling back to goldsmith like Habib Jewel and Poh Kong have susut nilai. really WTF! how come? not wearing the gold bar. then they also check how long we hold on to the gold. the more year you hold, the more susut nilai. and they check if u buy when gold price was cheap, the susut nilai is higher as compared to the gold when u buy at an expensive price. it didnt really sound like an investment to me but a liability! i am investing more on property so quite a newbie on gold. please advice. the gold bar is PAMP suisse with receipt Even you buy from bank also got 'susut nilai' The first thing you need to know is whether they do sell Pamp anot. If goldsmith shop do sell Pamp then they will buy it from you with better offer especially the items is directly from them.Try Tomei because they selling it. Poh Kong did not sell Pamp I believe. |
Mar 3 2013, 02:11 AM
If you want to buy from bank better get paper gold instead of physical for better liquidation unless you want to pass it to someone. I dunno why people trade their maple leaf to goldsmith shop while it is not acceptable for cash.
If you guys want to get 1kg gold bar with bank rate at goldsmith shop do let me know. I can organise for it. |
| Change to: | 0.0753sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:29 AM |