4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

(True 4G) LTE 100-150Mbps 2013-2014 Malaysia V1, LTE is going to replace 3G in future

KaiHD
post Apr 15 2013, 05:59 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 15 2013, 12:16 AM)
Quick Quiz, Where in KL have the strongest DG signal ??

tips, use a Loupan to look for the Yellow Man like in the advert 2 years back  laugh.gif
I seriously don't know. Somewhere in Sri Hartamas? tongue.gif (Must have a reason they built the DG Store there.)

PS. I didn't know what's a loupan but I googled.
KaiHD
post Apr 17 2013, 11:20 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 16 2013, 07:07 AM)
Right, thanks for that hahaha. Interesting. Also, I heard you don't want your Legacy already? brows.gif
KaiHD
post May 31 2013, 07:43 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

Just visited the maxis centre in klcc. This is the speed on the demo iPhone.

KaiHD
post Jun 5 2013, 07:31 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

even the coverage map is updated!
KaiHD
post Jun 5 2013, 08:51 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

I wonder if DiGi will be like slow 3G but superfast LTE.
KaiHD
post Jun 6 2013, 02:38 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jun 5 2013, 09:08 PM)
Actually many ppl have some wrong conception on DG.

They equipment was of the "older" 1800 and they have to change the whole setup to cater for LTE unlike Maxis/Celcom [ UMTS > LTE ) When DG dismantle the old equipment, they were operating on very limited equipment , hence the fooking congestion. Now their upgrades to new equipment is 95% done, just waiting for the required red tape to "ON" the bandwidth  which the Gomen is just trying to delay ( believed Kautim by you know who la ) When Celcom and Maxis have covered half of Boleland (LTE), DG LTE will be unleash like the Urban Tsunami that hit the recent GE. Then you will knoe who is the best. All this happens because DG is owned by some Mat Sallehs  doh.gif
Then good news for me! I hope they multiply our LTE quota 10x though, no way 1GB enough haha. Also, I thought gomen already allow all telco to on LTE since 1/1/2013?
KaiHD
post Jun 19 2013, 08:59 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Jun 19 2013, 01:48 AM)
thats what i called real LTE speed,..  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
whoa... even US don't have this lte speeds
KaiHD
post Jul 3 2013, 11:08 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 2 2013, 09:34 PM)
Maxis uses 10Mhz on 1800Mhz

If you mean another bandwidth, current Maxis equipment support a top speed of 75Mbit
LTE-A needs 20MHz right? Or have to use carrier aggregation without 20MHz? AFAIK, only South Korea has it. (top speed 150Mbps)
KaiHD
post Jul 22 2013, 07:31 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(muhammadnajmi96 @ Jul 22 2013, 12:56 AM)
Try to have a look at this you guys , https://www.altel.my/ . A new telecommunication from Puncak Semangat yawn.gif
I will switch IMMEDIATELY if they offer:

1. True unlimited LTE (Meaning no data quotas, no speed caps)
2. Hotspot or Internet tethering with the above (I don't mind paying a small additional fee)
3. Contract-free plans compatible with iPhones (1-year contracts at the most)

In hindsight, I can see it doesn't take much to make me happy. Telcos should take note. icon_idea.gif
KaiHD
post Jul 22 2013, 08:21 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(alf233 @ Jul 22 2013, 09:59 AM)
It is reported that Puncak & Celcom will use shared infra.. Hope its true so their coverage would be as good as Celcom's

Agree with you.. It doesnt make sense for the telcos to use existing (3G) data quota when LTE was introduced. A speedtest would already take ~100MB.
US is already moving towards flexibility in contract period . Hope Malaysia will follow soon.

T-Mobile CEO spoke on phone contracts.

AT&T is jumping on the bandwagon too..

Hopefully- Celcom has LTE coverage at my university. tongue.gif

True, I'm already blowing through over 10GB on 3G. LTE would need at least 3x that, IMO.

T-Mobile seems to be the only nice carrier- and that's because they said they didn't want to be like a conventional carrier. Their JUMP upgrading policy is the only one that benefits the consumer- AT&T/Verizon's policy only serves to "catch-up" with T-Mobile. Look closely at their T&C and you'll see AT&T's Next and Verizon's Edge programmes will cost the user more money in the long term.
KaiHD
post Jul 29 2013, 06:48 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

this ^^^^^

a++++ post. +1000.
KaiHD
post Aug 4 2013, 01:26 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(vostro78 @ Aug 4 2013, 10:34 AM)
heard that salam phone was terminated by maxis not only due to financial issue but they also breach some other t&c ? salamphone 100% focus on islamic customer ONLY right?
what T&C was breached? and yeah, correct- they focus on Muslims for their product. But I always assumed they closed down because they couldn't afford to keep running the network (limited subscribers, maybe?)
KaiHD
post Sep 11 2013, 11:43 AM

Stan
1,265 posts

the good thing is the new iPhones will support the 800 MHz, 1800 MHz AND 2600 GHz LTE bands.
KaiHD
post Sep 21 2013, 10:13 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Xu3r @ Sep 21 2013, 08:05 PM)
Why does 3g consume more battery than Lte
Because 3G takes a longer time to download the data from the Internet. LTE will do the same in at least half the amount of time, if not faster. So an LTE device spends less time on downloading and powering the antenna, thus saving battery life. A 3G device needs to supply power to the antenna for a longer time before a download can finish, thus more battery power needs to be used.
KaiHD
post Oct 12 2013, 05:32 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(kimmo88 @ Oct 12 2013, 03:42 PM)
I have one question. I'm currently on 3G Maxis 3Gb data package. I seldom hit more than 500Mb usage/month. Does upgrading to 4G/LTE device helps me to use up the data package more?

Logically, higher speed/bandwidth does not necessary means more data usage. Although, I heard or read that some people claim that they are using more data with 4G/LTE. It maybe with higher speed, people will surf more, watch more youtube on their 4G/LTE device, hence higher data usage?
Correct.
KaiHD
post Nov 12 2013, 04:03 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Nov 12 2013, 04:01 PM)
So let's say if Celcom announce LTE...

what's next?

all 4G capable phones need to go register with them?
Celcom already have LTE, but for postpaid. You need a compatible data plan (at least 1GB) and a new SIM card (if I'm not mistaken).
KaiHD
post Nov 12 2013, 04:30 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Nov 12 2013, 04:11 PM)
errr about this...

i get a ip5 on august for work purpose.

but till today dont have LTE signal or whatsoever although i enable LTE.

so is the issue...

1. my sim card is not LTE?
2. they didn't register me for LTE

kindly advice.
or you don't have LTE signal where you are.
KaiHD
post Nov 12 2013, 04:53 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

do you live/work in klang valley?
KaiHD
post Nov 20 2013, 09:49 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(kokfei33 @ Nov 20 2013, 09:23 PM)
I don't quite agree on what for we have high speed if the quota is restricted as it was the limit last time. Although, I would be on your side that we should be given more quota but this would destroy broadband market as people will then rely heavily on mobile data rather than broadband at home or office. 2ndly, the high speed is crucial for you to download something fast when u need it rather than the pathetic 3G speed. U won't know how crucial is this till u really need to download something urgent mobilely. It's a pain that ucant even finish reading a website or email halfway downloaded last time and you might say forget it then. LTE improves our lives so much!
I disagree on LTE destroying the fibre broadband industry. LTE networks will need extensive backhaul, and huge bandwidth so every user can get fast speeds.

Imagine like this: one highway got many lanes but lower speed limit, and another highway have higher speed limit but only one lane. Fibre optics are those lanes. The one with many lanes will be a better experience, even if the speed limit is lower.

As so, the telcos will need to keep on adding 'lanes', but not a lot and not all the time- since the 'speed limit is higher' and more people can get through faster.

So the fibre/cable internet industry won't be destroyed- instead of the consumers being their primary customer, its the mobile networks that will be the big ones.
KaiHD
post Mar 27 2014, 03:08 PM

Stan
1,265 posts

QUOTE(futra @ Mar 27 2014, 03:04 PM)
Can someone tell me which is a good 4G LTE modem? And price range?

I want to replace my Celcom's Portawifi USB modem since it doesn't support 4G LTE speed. (As claimed by Celcom CS HERE)
NETGEAR Aircard 760s/762s. It's a Mifi priced between RM200 to RM400. I've heard a lot of good things on that one.

This post has been edited by KaiHD: Mar 27 2014, 03:08 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0470sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:37 PM