LENOVO Y480/580 feel the need for SPEED, lowest price at higher specs cpu

jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 01:28 PM

395 posts

from jb ,bought new batch of Y580 from PIKOM i73630 version for 2899 with extra 4GB ram thrown in...everything is find but found out that my FHD screen (LG) is made on 2009...haizz
jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 05:15 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Sep 10 2012, 04:35 PM)
how to check the screen made on when?
i use LUDASHI quite nice =)

tongue.gif rclxms.gif

jammerlee711
post Sep 10 2012, 09:04 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Sep 10 2012, 05:59 PM)
me too using LuDaShi, my screen is 2011...
FACEPALM doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Added on September 10, 2012, 9:04 pmyours is LG too? FHD?

This post has been edited by jammerlee711: Sep 10 2012, 09:04 PM
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 08:42 PM

395 posts

Hi all.i was wondering, why CPU-Z can't read my GTX660
instead of this rclxms.gif

it shows this cry.gif cry.gif
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 08:52 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Sep 12 2012, 08:49 PM)
the first pic is GPU-Z, a different software  tongue.gif
OMG..i was so Big Headed tongue.gif tongue.gif
What was your Clock freq/Core Freq/Memory Freq ?
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 08:59 PM

395 posts

Why all my frquency screwed up??
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 09:09 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 12 2012, 09:08 PM)
Just update ur NVIDIA driver please.... sweat.gif
from where? i searched official website it said no driver available for GTX660
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 09:25 PM

395 posts

ARIGATOOO!!!
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 09:59 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 12 2012, 09:53 PM)
LOL, cannot make it at HDD partition? sweat.gif
Can ar, just choose the option

Mine was 3 DVDs, Factory Default Backup brows.gif

Added on September 12, 2012, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(fierdrop @ Sep 12 2012, 09:49 PM)
finally bought a y580. is it does not come with any dvd?
NOPE, u gotta DIY =)

This post has been edited by jammerlee711: Sep 12 2012, 10:00 PM
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 10:32 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(sss2sssss @ Sep 12 2012, 09:11 PM)
THANKYOU ! S2S
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

ps:I'M SO FEELING THE LOVE AND kampung affection here tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jammerlee711: Sep 12 2012, 10:33 PM
jammerlee711
post Sep 12 2012, 11:36 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Sep 12 2012, 11:28 PM)
ssd at hdd spot... if got caddy, put hdd inside it and take out br/dvd and put hdd+caddy at odd place...
i saw gt ppl use msata SSD...there r two type of SSD?
jammerlee711
post Sep 14 2012, 07:11 AM

395 posts

Guys new official NVIDIA driver is up :claps: :claps: :claps: :claps:
jammerlee711
post Sep 14 2012, 12:32 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(panda123456 @ Sep 14 2012, 11:18 AM)
hello bro, im planning to buy Y480. Is there any big difference between i7-3610 & i7-3630 ?
And can i put ssd and replace the dvd rom with hdisk caddy? will it void the warranty? thanks in advance for any reply. Im in tight budget.
for normal use , i5 is enough. any i7 proc is overkill. so it is up to u to choose 3630 or 3610
jammerlee711
post Sep 15 2012, 09:11 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Sep 15 2012, 07:32 AM)
Yes, this temporarily fixed the issue.

Seems like the Brightness Control has a much wider dynamic range than the actual LCD back light can handle.

When I turn to Max, then Min again, the backlight is so dim that it can't stays on consistently, and started to flicker.

When I turn to Min, then Max again, the backlight is too brigh

Can only adjust no less than 4 bars to the minimum and maximum.

Hope lenovo can fix this problem.
if reinstall software can't solve the problem then it's better to send back for warranty
jammerlee711
post Sep 15 2012, 12:00 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Sep 15 2012, 11:07 AM)
Lenovo Y580
I have tried this, reformat and did a clean install, a total disaster I must say...

The official Lenovo drivers in their website are totally hopeless, the fundamental drivers all have problems:-
1) Wifi Proset Drivers
2) Intel onboard drivers
3) USB 3.0 drivers
4) Realtek drivers
5) Nvidia drivers
6) Bluetooth drivers

So, my advice is please go to the official manufacturer website to obtain your drivers if you want to have a clean install.

Despite this, my usb 3.0 and wifi still have problem. CB, Lenovo!!!

Anyone have the same problem with me?

Anyone bought this laptop came with a CD for drivers?
for wifi ,you download the (Liteon) driver from lenovo site...then install
if encounter "errors" then u restart the laptop and manually click into the extracted driver folder
there will be 2 folders of different manufacturer. just install the driver according to the manufacturer.

It works when i accidentally deleted my WIFI driver (windows can't detect the hardware in device manager)
jammerlee711
post Sep 17 2012, 10:51 AM

395 posts

i found a bug on the "Intelligent touchpad" ....you can't scroll down with two fingers when you put your another finger on the left click area...stupid design --
jammerlee711
post Sep 17 2012, 06:53 PM

395 posts

Hey guys, i think my Y580 is having GPU problem(alot slower). could you please show me some benchmarking software?
jammerlee711
post Sep 17 2012, 07:30 PM

395 posts

i can only find free 3dmark 11, can anybody put a screenshot of your score with relevant info like driver version and mod done to hardware/software so tht i can hav a benchmark to judge ? thank you
jammerlee711
post Sep 17 2012, 08:24 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Sep 17 2012, 08:19 PM)
you can try furmark?? i think i posted my result before using stock driver.... or is it beta driver?? can't remember  biggrin.gif
tongue.gif hehe, can you please do it again using the latest driver. the performance of this driver is kinda controversial ...thank you
jammerlee711
post Sep 19 2012, 08:47 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(developer @ Sep 19 2012, 07:31 PM)
i suspect it is the antivirus issue that causes the wireless problem.
McAfee make the wireless damn slow,especially when startup .
Uninstall it, something magical will happen brows.gif brows.gif

0.0282sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:25 PM