Betweeen Samsung S3 or HTC One X ....., Which model is much more better...

TSzarma83
post Jun 5 2012, 03:43 PM, updated 14y ago

14 posts

Please help me...Need to choice between S3 and One X... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif ..Which model is much more better??
All the salesman that i meet suggest to me the Samsung S3 but the processor is 1.4Ghz compare to One X is 1.5Ghz...
ElaineChewMeow
post Jun 5 2012, 03:47 PM

You forget what you have when you complaining what you don't
760 posts

Depend on your needs. Somehow 1.4 and 1.5Ghz not much difference rite?
Is that the only issue u worry about?
villa07
post Jun 5 2012, 03:49 PM

225 posts

exynos do the talking
wohoo
post Jun 5 2012, 03:58 PM

250 posts

ei..Samsung S3 build quality not good..if u drop from ear height..high chances pecah screen..while HTC One X tahan
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 03:58 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(wohoo @ Jun 5 2012, 03:58 PM)
ei..Samsung S3 build quality not good..if u drop from ear height..high chances pecah screen..while HTC One X tahan
agreed. gs 3 more fragile than iphone 4.
while htc one x can be used as a hammer.
TSzarma83
post Jun 5 2012, 03:59 PM

14 posts

I'm working as an engineer....so i'm really want to buy a good smartphone for my work...act i'm really like S3 (like the graphic but not sure about their program and capabilities) but i'm already using HTC Sensation XL (Not so user friendly but good looking HP)...
ZeneticX
post Jun 5 2012, 04:00 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(wohoo @ Jun 5 2012, 03:58 PM)
and how often do you drop the phone?

to TS...if price is not an issue. get S3

but if you wanna save, get HOX. bcoz the price is cheap now

i used to own a HOX before jumping over to S3.

pros of HOX
- better design (actually i feel the S3 looks fine as well in real. but since this is what the majority prefers (HOX > S3) i have to include it here.)
- better screen, SLCD2 with RGB matrix
- more better graphic games due to tegra zone
- Sense have better widgets than TouchWiz

cons of HOX
- battery life is.....unsatisfying. and the battery is not replaceable
- it goes hot under extensive usage. S3 will get hot as well but not as severe as HOX
- no memory card slot. if 32gb is enough for you this is not an issue
- performance and real time usage still lacking. you still can spot some lags and delays here and there once in a while

pro of S3
- expandable storage. i'm using 16gb + 64gb microsd now. imagine 32 + 64 or 64 + 64
- battery life is superb and the battery is replaceable. i can provide screen shots if there's doubt on this
- better feel on hand. this is because of the curvy design
- fast and very smooth. i'm not meaning on benchmarks, but in real usage. this is the only phone (other than my old iphone 3gs) so far that doesn't show any lags or delay. i've loaded some apps on to it but it still remain smooth and fast. i can make a wild guess it will be smoother than a ip4s
- the S.AMOLED HD still retains the pros of a typical S.AMOLED screen

cons of S3
- design.....might need some getting used to. i'm totally fine with it now
- screen is still SLIGHTLY not that good compared to HOX. (but honestly you're not gonna spot the difference unless u use a HOX side by side)
- TouchWiz still need better widgets compared to Sense
- build quality might feel a bit cheap to some

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 5 2012, 04:24 PM
TSzarma83
post Jun 5 2012, 04:19 PM

14 posts

It's seem S3 look like better...hehehehe will buy the phone by tomorrow...
zororo
post Jun 5 2012, 04:23 PM

366 posts

test both b4 u buy....dont even bother to look at the polls...as mostly are done by fanboys....lol
DarkSilver
post Jun 5 2012, 04:24 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2012, 04:00 PM)

pros of HOX
- better design
- better screen
- Sense have better widgets than TW

cons of HOX
- it goes hot under extensive usage. S3 will get hot as well but not as severe as HOX
- performance and real time usage still lacking. you still can spot some lags and delays here and there once in a while
I DO NOT AGREE WITH:
TW had been improved, now it's evenly match with the Sense.

Screen? It's really vary on user. Super AMOLED or IPS. tongue.gif
Take note that HOX's screen is yellowish. Try find the VS reviews for these devices.

I AGREE WITH:
Durability, HOX wins! thumbup.gif Imagine, it can used as hammer. laugh.gif
SGS III have terrible durability, even the SGS I is stronger than it. doh.gif

More games for HOX and less games for SGS III. True.

No memory card slot is not really important as 16GB or above(HOX is 32GB) is usually more than enough.

Performance/Realtime usages, it's reported HOX have some hiccups. Not sure if it's firmware issues or hardware.

Battery life for HOX is very poor. SGS III wins!

Temperature? Is that even important to tell? Roughly the same actually, but, SGS III is slightly colder.

This post has been edited by DarkSilver: Jun 5 2012, 04:26 PM
MPIK
post Jun 5 2012, 04:30 PM

1,838 posts

Definately HOX

Sony just announce HOX is a PS certified phone.

HOX no lag and screen display is the best on the market now.

Camera in HOX can take 99 photos at one go vs S3 of only 20.

Aperture wise, HOX f/2.0 vs S3 of f/2.6
ZeneticX
post Jun 5 2012, 04:31 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jun 5 2012, 04:24 PM)
I DO NOT AGREE WITH:
TW had been improved, now it's evenly match with the Sense.

Screen? It's really vary on user. Super AMOLED or IPS.  tongue.gif
Take note that HOX's screen is yellowish. Try find the VS reviews for these devices.

I AGREE WITH:
Durability, HOX wins!  thumbup.gif Imagine, it can used as hammer.  laugh.gif
SGS III have terrible durability, even the SGS I is stronger than it.  doh.gif

More games for HOX and less games for SGS III. True.

No memory card slot is not really important as 16GB or above(HOX is 32GB) is usually more than enough.

Performance/Realtime usages, it's reported HOX have some hiccups. Not sure if it's firmware issues or hardware.

Battery life for HOX is very poor. SGS III wins!

Temperature? Is that even important to tell? Roughly the same actually, but, SGS III is slightly colder.

that's why i mention widgets in TW. because i find most of the other stuff to be evenly matched or better than Sense. but the widgets are still lacking

16gb is not gonna be enough on S3.when you get the phone the available storage is only 11.35gb. that's why i got a 64gb microsd

i feel the temperature part is another extra point to be told. because last time using my HOX, under extensive usage like gaming, it gets really hot, but depends on users how acceptable the level is to them

what i'm saying above are based on my observation and opinion because i used to own both devices. fanboys from either HOX or S3 can come and defend the phones with wtv points they can think off, but facts will remain facts

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 5 2012, 04:34 PM
zororo
post Jun 5 2012, 04:33 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2012, 04:31 PM)
that's why i mention widgets in TW. because i find most of the other stuff to be evenly matched or better than Sense. but the widgets are still lacking

16gb is not gonna be enough on S3.when you get the phone the available storage is only 11.35gb. that's why i got a 64gb microsd

i feel the temperature part is another extra point to be told. because last time using my HOX, under extensive usage like gaming, it gets really hot, but depends on users how acceptable the level is to them
hmm.gif regarding the temperature....mine seldom gets hot, maybe the later OTA fixed it...?
ZeneticX
post Jun 5 2012, 04:36 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(zororo @ Jun 5 2012, 04:33 PM)
hmm.gif regarding the temperature....mine seldom gets hot, maybe the later OTA fixed it...?
my last rom on HOX is venusaur. the heat is acceptable for me but i'm not sure for other users, as i can feel its really quite hot

maybe you can try gaming for more than half an hour or so

and another point, heat is gonna affect the battery life as well. li-ion / li-po batteries don't go well with heat. applies to laptop batteries as well

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 5 2012, 04:39 PM
TSzarma83
post Jun 5 2012, 04:44 PM

14 posts

Wah....got many fan for both phone....Thanks for your advise....really appreciated it...looks like my heart 50% to HOX and 50% for S3

game4life
post Jun 5 2012, 04:46 PM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(zarma83 @ Jun 5 2012, 04:44 PM)
Wah....got many fan for both phone....Thanks for your advise....really appreciated it...looks like my heart 50% to HOX and 50% for S3
you should try both. go for hox if you prefer sense ui
benny888
post Jun 5 2012, 04:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

You will get better opinion from those who have used both. I am one of such users. My choice SGS3 in overall performance n satisfaction

zororo
post Jun 5 2012, 04:53 PM

366 posts

better go and try both la....
TSzarma83
post Jun 5 2012, 04:59 PM

14 posts

Hmmm both...nice idea but i'm prefer to using 1 phone only...
rooney723
post Jun 5 2012, 05:01 PM

596 posts

s3 exynos will perform much much better than onex's tegra 3.......

tegra 3 is a useless crappy shitty chipset.......lousy processor n graphics performance
khelben
post Jun 5 2012, 05:12 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

I'm a HOX user, I think the only 2 things that HOX is better are its screen and its GPU.

Other than that, S3 should be better.

QUOTE(zarma83 @ Jun 5 2012, 04:59 PM)
Hmmm both...nice idea but i'm prefer to using 1 phone only...
Haha they're asking you to try both before making a decision, not asking you to buy both laugh.gif
akira87
post Jun 5 2012, 05:12 PM

Weeeee~
779 posts

Test both only you can know which one is better, every person have different preference.

My vote goes to HOX, the pros and cons is the same as mention by Zenetix. But i can live with 16hrs - 30hrs of battery life (depending on usage) and 32gb is more than enough for me.

But if you need a phone with a battery that can last longer and expandable memory, than go for S3

This post has been edited by akira87: Jun 5 2012, 05:13 PM
solsekuin44
post Jun 5 2012, 05:17 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

I vote for SGS3 coz it looks and performs better than HOX.
Never get interested with HTC..
khelben
post Jun 5 2012, 05:19 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jun 5 2012, 05:17 PM)
I vote for SGS3 coz it looks and performs better than HOX.
Never get interested with HTC..
Selling your XPS for S3? laugh.gif
bluebeary
post Jun 5 2012, 05:19 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jun 5 2012, 05:01 PM)
s3 exynos will perform much much better than onex's tegra 3.......

tegra 3 is a useless crappy shitty chipset.......lousy processor n graphics performance
And u design processor chips for a living?

Pls do not give baseless comments.
solsekuin44
post Jun 5 2012, 05:20 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jun 5 2012, 05:19 PM)
Selling your XPS for S3? laugh.gif
Nope, keeping it even if I get the S3 later brows.gif
yayiyu99
post Jun 5 2012, 05:21 PM

958 posts

Wow got notification to update my HOX to 1.29. Will see any improvement for already very good phone.
khelben
post Jun 5 2012, 05:27 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jun 5 2012, 05:20 PM)
Nope, keeping it even if I get the S3 later brows.gif
So rich! sad.gif

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ Jun 5 2012, 05:21 PM)
Wow got notification to update my HOX to 1.29. Will see any improvement for already very good phone.
I've got no other smart phone experience since HOX is my first, but, the phone's 2 months old and there are 2 OTA updates already, does that consider as good support?
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 05:28 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jun 5 2012, 05:27 PM)
So rich! sad.gif
I've got no other smart phone experience since HOX is my first, but, the phone's 2 months old and there are 2 OTA updates already, does that consider as good support?
yes. it means that they are fixing bugs. smile.gif
xylencia
post Jun 5 2012, 05:38 PM

38 posts

in terms of specs S3 is better... but HTC generally has better build quality and feel. That's my take...
danielcmugen
post Jun 5 2012, 05:39 PM

5,538 posts

HOX is more worth it considering the price, if u dun care about price then I think S3 slightly better.
LuffyPSP
post Jun 5 2012, 05:44 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

Exynos is great! i mean it. best performance ever! but long term support for software updates, i choose HTC. Even if its late, its a good and reliable update. I used SGS2 and the initial release of ICS updates are so teribble(need many leaked firmware and updates to make it right). Samsung always "almost" abandon their previous flagship when they have new flagship device. SGS1 didnt even get ICS OTA even if its almost the same spec as Nexus S.

Well this is speaking for official updates, those who use custom rom you paham me already. no need to worry so much lah. only wait for source code release and we are good to go. biggrin.gif
lisahasan
post Jun 5 2012, 05:50 PM

"calm heart, easy mind, cool life" :)
3,911 posts

Eventhough im not in s3 because its shape, i still vote for s3 because samsung. I loved samsung gadgets. Trying to use other product such as apple but at the end i come back to samsung back. For htc, im not interested. Peace yoo!
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 05:51 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Jun 5 2012, 05:50 PM)
Eventhough im not in s3 because its shape, i still vote for s3 because samsung. I loved samsung gadgets. Trying to use other product such as apple but at the end i come back to samsung back. For htc, im not interested. Peace yoo!
htc's build quality, design and software is better than s3. icon_idea.gif
lisahasan
post Jun 5 2012, 05:53 PM

"calm heart, easy mind, cool life" :)
3,911 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 05:51 PM)
htc's build quality, design and software is better than s3.  icon_idea.gif
Dunno la. Dats my opinion. icon_rolleyes.gif
enaleni
post Jun 5 2012, 06:11 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Jun 5 2012, 05:44 PM)
Exynos is great! i mean it. best performance ever! but long term support for software updates, i choose HTC. Even if its late, its a good and reliable update. I used SGS2 and the initial release of ICS updates are so teribble(need many leaked firmware and updates to make it right). Samsung always "almost" abandon their previous flagship when they have new flagship device. SGS1 didnt even get ICS OTA even if its almost the same spec as Nexus S.

Well this is speaking for official updates, those who use custom rom you paham me already. no need to worry so much lah. only wait for source code release and we are good to go. biggrin.gif
+1 bro i m support ur statements..... rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

1st hp was htc legend i luv the build quality from htc.... and samsung will feel plastic whatever model u choose....

but in term of rooting i luv samsung so much coz its really2 easy to root.... after learn to root u will learn how to flash and after that u will be never ever waiting update from official samsung software update.... smile.gif

for software update i think htc is much better from samsung.... wink.gif
wyefueng
post Jun 5 2012, 06:16 PM

156 posts

Purely personal choice,
I go for one x for its design, screen and of cause price. smile.gif

And I dun think sgs3 is inferior to one x.
sherdil
post Jun 5 2012, 06:20 PM

Knowledge the key to Heaven
1,571 posts

Personally speaking, i like the voice quality of the HOX HTC,but like
i said its my personal choice.
i havent tested the s3, perhaps i will, just to see if there is a vast difference.
Cheers

legenderycity
post Jun 5 2012, 07:13 PM

1,017 posts

I have to agree with the bad build quality of S3, even worse than 4S.
But S3 has its goods too:
-better performance than One X
-more features
-removable battery and microsd slot

One X is not bad too:
-better graphics with Tegra 3
-more durable
-nice polycarbonate design

It's up to TS to choose still...
kopiPeng
post Jun 5 2012, 07:42 PM

★ Xiaomi VIP ★
2,548 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 05:51 PM)
htc's build quality, design and software is better than s3.  icon_idea.gif
If you said Htc's build quality then you are wrong, as you can see in HOX V2-V4 forum many people complain there are many defects in the HOX, dead pixel, flickering screen, yellow tint, wifi problem, sim card problems, battery problem, etc....

However, S3 i dont see many problem until now...In term on quality control I think Samsung is better this time.

Well, I have tried both HOX & S3, and I will vote for S3, S3 is very very smooth like silk, well HOX i still will feel very minor lag when multitasking/gaming. And One more thing, HOX is very very hot! It can go up to 52 degree celsius when gaming, which is very bad for the hardware component

xzulx
post Jun 5 2012, 07:47 PM

287 posts

aiya TS go find 3310 enough.. imba phone forever
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 07:48 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(kopiPeng @ Jun 5 2012, 07:42 PM)
If you said Htc's build quality then you are wrong, as you can see in HOX V2-V4 forum many people complain there are many defects in the HOX, dead pixel, flickering screen, yellow tint, wifi problem, sim card problems, battery problem, etc....

However, S3 i dont see many problem until now...In term on quality control I think Samsung is better this time.

Well, I have tried both HOX & S3, and I will vote for S3, S3 is very very smooth like silk, well HOX i still will feel very minor lag when multitasking/gaming. And One more thing, HOX is very very hot! It can go up to 52 degree celsius when gaming, which is very bad for the hardware component
because samsung s3 was just launched recently. we'll wait and see.
s3 also got a few problem already. screen cracking,pink tint, light bleed etc etc.

This post has been edited by alvin ong: Jun 5 2012, 07:50 PM
ZeneticX
post Jun 5 2012, 07:54 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 07:48 PM)
because samsung s3 was just launched recently. we'll wait and see.
s3 also got a few problem already. screen cracking,pink tint, light bleed etc etc.
the thing is how frequent u see users reporting these problems ?

pink tint so far i only see one user reporting in the thread. where's screen cracking and light bleeding?

as for HOX....the first few V basicly 60% of the thread is about users reporting hardware defects

u do a quick google search about S3 hardware issues the result also very minimal. how about HOX ?

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 5 2012, 07:58 PM
bluebeary
post Jun 5 2012, 08:37 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2012, 07:54 PM)
the thing is how frequent u see users reporting these problems ?

pink tint so far i only see one user reporting in the thread. where's screen cracking and light bleeding?
as for HOX....the first few V basicly 60% of the thread is about users reporting hardware defects

u do a quick google search about S3 hardware issues the result also very minimal. how about HOX ?
There's 1 or 2 user reporting screen crack in S3 forum just 1 or 2 days ago.

Yeah....HOX QC is bad but there's 1 to 1 exchange for hardware. But I remember there's 1 user got his S3 screen scratched & changed for RM600 b4 discount.....and the discount was for being the 1st malaysian to has his S3 screen scratched..oouch, how ironic

This post has been edited by bluebeary: Jun 5 2012, 08:41 PM
WiLyi
post Jun 5 2012, 09:15 PM

@Ndr()iD fL@$hiNg M@n|ac
4,554 posts

Guys, no point of arguing which phone is better than which. A similar question will return with many answers. Is better to cool down before the argument is getting more intense

Both HOX and S3 has their own pros and cons. I suggest TS to have a hands on on both device and define which criteria is significant to your requirements then choose accordingly. Everyone in this forum will have a different requirement in choosing smartphone
game4life
post Jun 5 2012, 09:24 PM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Jun 5 2012, 09:15 PM)
Guys, no point of arguing which phone is better than which. A similar question will return with many answers. Is better to cool down before the argument is getting more intense

Both HOX and S3 has their own pros and cons. I suggest TS to have a hands on on both device and define which criteria is significant to your requirements then choose accordingly. Everyone in this forum will have a different requirement in choosing smartphone
well said.

just use the one you prefer and be happy with it
andrekua2
post Jun 5 2012, 09:31 PM

13,484 posts

Which phone is better turning into which phone is less problematic.

Both phone are good. They have pros and cons. What you need to know is which suites you best. There are minor difference between them which may or may not suite you.
Chocobos
post Jun 5 2012, 09:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jun 5 2012, 04:30 PM)
Definately HOX

Sony just announce HOX is a PS certified phone.

HOX no lag and screen display is the best on the market now.

Camera in HOX can take 99 photos at one go vs S3 of only 20.

Aperture wise, HOX f/2.0 vs S3 of f/2.6
I believe HOX won't be the only PS certified phone.
Sony will eventually add other phones from other manufacturers too.

About the burst shot, 99 shots take up lots of space. 20 is just fine for me. Scrolling through 99 pictures just to find the best pic is too burdensome for me.

This post has been edited by Chocobos: Jun 5 2012, 09:33 PM
MPIK
post Jun 5 2012, 09:56 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(Chocobos @ Jun 5 2012, 09:33 PM)
I believe HOX won't be the only PS certified phone.
Sony will eventually add other phones from other manufacturers too.

About the burst shot, 99 shots take up lots of space. 20 is just fine for me. Scrolling through 99 pictures just to find the best pic is too burdensome for me.
Burst mode is particularly important in sport photography or children photography whereby you need to capture the best moment due to active movement.

And S3 still need to choose burst mode in the settings to enable burst mode which could cause you to lose the greatest moment you wanna capture, One X no need, just open camera app, shoot 99 pics all the way.

Lazy to choose the best photo? Come on, it has the best photo feature and HTC will automatically select the best shot for you.
nuttyking91
post Jun 5 2012, 10:26 PM

961 posts

my personal feel about SIII v One X.

Performance benchmark wise SIII>One X
Beauty/sleek wise SIII>One X
Features SIII>One X
Robustness n built quality ONE X>>SIII
Price SIII>One X
BTW...
SENSE pwn Touch Wiz (HTC has one of the best UI in Android phones)
while SIII looks sexy, sleek n nice to hold (pebble shape is hand friendly IMO)
HTC ONE X feels dead SOLID n the sense of toughness is there...
performance wise not much of diff between these two...
Downside to ONE X is just lack of sd card slot n sealed battery. If they build One X unibody polycarbonate like the sensation concept, it will be just perfect =)

SIII built quality is not really good for the premium price you pay... u guys should search youtube for drop test to find out why...
wohoo
post Jun 5 2012, 10:29 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2012, 04:00 PM)

pros of HOX
- better design (actually i feel the S3 looks fine as well in real. but since this is what the majority prefers (HOX > S3) i have to include it here.)
- better screen, SLCD2 with RGB matrix
- Sense have better widgets than TouchWiz

cons of HOX
pro of S3
- expandable storage. i'm using 16gb + 64gb microsd now. imagine 32 + 64 or 64 + 64
- battery life is superb and the battery is replaceable. i can provide screen shots if there's doubt on this
- better feel on hand. this is because of the curvy design
- fast and very smooth. i'm not meaning on benchmarks, but in real usage. this is the only phone (other than my old iphone 3gs) so far that doesn't show any lags or delay. i've loaded some apps on to it but it still remain smooth and fast. i can make a wild guess it will be smoother than a ip4s
- the S.AMOLED HD still retains the pros of a typical S.AMOLED screen

cons of S3
- design.....might need some getting used to. i'm totally fine with it now
- screen is still SLIGHTLY not that good compared to HOX. (but honestly you're not gonna spot the difference unless u use a HOX side by side)
- TouchWiz still need better widgets compared to Sense
- build quality might feel a bit cheap to some
Derail abit from the topic..what is HOX? google return nonsense answer

ne0cz
post Jun 5 2012, 10:31 PM

Zoom Zoom
5,372 posts

HTC One X
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 10:40 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(wohoo @ Jun 5 2012, 10:29 PM)
Derail abit from the topic..what is HOX? google return nonsense answer
HOX= Htc One X
SonnyCooL
post Jun 5 2012, 11:35 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 03:58 PM)
agreed. gs 3 more fragile than iphone 4.
while htc one x can be used as a hammer.
some one in taiwan actually try to use HOX as hammer, guess what the out come ....

three knock and screen broke....

dont simply trust everything online
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 11:37 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Jun 5 2012, 11:35 PM)
some one in taiwan actually try to use HOX as hammer, guess what the out come ....

three knock and screen broke....
dont simply trust everything online

watch finish then think again.
woundxp
post Jun 5 2012, 11:48 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 11:37 PM)

Something more practical:

game4life
post Jun 5 2012, 11:50 PM

1,943 posts

so you really believe that video?
explain this

QUOTE(numoh @ Apr 10 2012, 05:18 PM)
feel so sad for my friend... he just bought it for not more than 48 hours and the phone became like this...
QUOTE(numoh @ Apr 10 2012, 05:29 PM)
it happened due to careless mistake.. he put the phone on his legs in the car and when get down, he forgot the phone was still on top of his legs.. and then the phone dropped on the tar road.. ouchhh... he learnt the mistake already..
who knows how much to replace the screen?
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 11:53 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Jun 5 2012, 11:50 PM)
so you really believe that video?
explain this

and

also. brows.gif
even iphone also wins s3 despite being so fragile.

This post has been edited by alvin ong: Jun 5 2012, 11:54 PM
june99990
post Jun 5 2012, 11:56 PM

44 posts

The vote become 50%-50%..
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 11:57 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(woundxp @ Jun 5 2012, 11:48 PM)
Something more practical:

one x screen cracked at 3rd drop.
gs3 screen cracked at 2nd drop. brows.gif
ZeneticX
post Jun 5 2012, 11:57 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 11:53 PM)
explain this

and

also.  brows.gif
even iphone also wins s3 despite being so fragile.
that is because when the S3 hit the ground, the battery becomes lose and it cause the phone to switch off. that lady din even readjust the battery and concludes the screen is no longer working. really "good stuff" for htc fanboys or samsung haters like you
alvin ong
post Jun 5 2012, 11:59 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 5 2012, 11:57 PM)
that is because when the S3 hit the ground, the battery becomes lose and it cause the phone to switch off. that lady din even readjust the battery and concludes the screen is no longer working. really "good stuff" for htc fanboys or samsung haters like you
she did put the battery back and tried to turn it on but it wouldn't. sweat.gif
mtxx
post Jun 6 2012, 12:03 AM

5,011 posts

GSM arena's review says it well.

if you want a phone that looks like a flagship, go for one x
if you want a phone that performs like a flagship, go for S3

so up to you. looks? or performance.

alvin ong
post Jun 6 2012, 12:05 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 6 2012, 12:03 AM)
GSM arena's review says it well.

if you want a phone that looks like a flagship, go for one x
if you want a phone that performs like a flagship, go for S3

so up to you. looks? or performance.
engadget says
"No matter how hard the Galaxy SIII tries, it just isn't greater than the sum of the HTC One X's parts." - Sharif Sakr, Engadget
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by alvin ong: Jun 6 2012, 12:06 AM
nuttyking91
post Jun 6 2012, 12:08 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 11:57 PM)
one x screen cracked at 3rd drop.
gs3 screen cracked at 2nd drop.  brows.gif
in fact in the videos i seen b4, most/all screen do crack face down drop test but only SIII failed the basic functionality test, buttons, capacitive functions all unresponsive n kaput... the rest only glass screen kaput, but not LCD... this might be due to the fact that SIII gorilla glass is completely fused with the AMOLED screen, thus glass kaput=whole phone AMOLED kaput, replacement $$$$
mtxx
post Jun 6 2012, 12:10 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 6 2012, 12:05 AM)
engadget says
"No matter how hard the Galaxy SIII tries, it just isn't greater than the sum of the HTC One X's parts." - Sharif Sakr, Engadget
  rclxms.gif
haha, i'm not goin deeper into this argument.
i dont really care, because....

whether S3 or 1X win, its already a win for ANDROID.

even tech noobs around me are starting to choose between S3&1X, seems less people interested in tiny 3.5inch anymore.
game4life
post Jun 6 2012, 12:13 AM

1,943 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 5 2012, 11:53 PM)
explain this

and

also.  brows.gif
the glass is fused to the display. so if the screen get shattered badly, the display wont work. i've explained mine. i doubt you will answer my question because you are htcfag. oh wai whistling.gif
ZeneticX
post Jun 6 2012, 12:18 AM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 6 2012, 12:10 AM)

even tech noobs around me are starting to choose between S3&1X, seems less people interested in tiny 3.5inch anymore.
QUOTE(game4life @ Jun 6 2012, 12:13 AM)
the glass is fused to the display. so if the screen get shattered badly, the display wont work. i've explained mine. i doubt you will answer my question because you are htcfag. oh wai whistling.gif
no use telling all this to him. in his mind htc > all
solsekuin44
post Jun 6 2012, 12:19 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 6 2012, 12:10 AM)

Well said friend brows.gif
alvin ong
post Jun 6 2012, 12:25 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Jun 6 2012, 12:13 AM)
but as you can see from the one x drop test, the touch screen still works eventhough it's cracked.
wayfeel
post Jun 6 2012, 01:43 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

s2 was my 3rd samsung phone.

not fanboyism, it was hardware reliability issue, samsung phone very tough. never gave me problems.

and becuz, htc battery n specs always lose to s2. previously, htc batt well known for being weak, im a very heavy user.

now htc n s3, batt still s3 wins. i'd go for s3 screen cuz i abit fed up with the candy eye saturated s2 super amoled+ screen d so i dont mind getting sthg abit softer (i.e. s3) but hey, it's a 4.8" HD. and about pentile n RGB thing, i think ppl just get abit too serious, like pixel peeping. maybe i should be more serious then i'll be concerned n bothered but i know some ppl who r bothered.

i always hv extra batt in my car, so i never concern about gasak my s2 battery knwing ive an emergency fully charged batt for making calls n other important operation.

in conclusion, if you r a heavy user, just get an s3. no point always looking for a charger for a non removable battery superphone n using so reservedly.

otherwise, IMO, both is a good choice simply a matter of personal need but in my 20/20 sight, i'd still get a galaxy always as long as HTC flagship has not superceded d galaxy line. IMO, who the hell needs 99 shots /second lol get a real sport camera. even in need, how often do we shoot 99 shots. i just feel it's a very petty matter to be highlight over s3's 40 shots per burst. but rmb, galaxy line has been always on the top . there is a reason for that wink.gif

ps/ i do agree s3 looks ALOT prettier in real, bordering elegant, hox is prettier but s3 is more elegant. I bet pebble blue will be awesome, dark blue with shades of black, how cool is that right, like dark knight. myb s3 should come out one black dark knight version lol. I heard unconfirm rumor said that there will be other colors available too, is it true??

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jun 6 2012, 02:06 AM
danielcmugen
post Jun 6 2012, 02:46 AM

5,538 posts

I tested the real S3 lately, white 1. The real 1 looks okay actually, one X is nicer though. But not to say that nice either, both also look kinda meh. Sony is the 1 that looks really nice, or any with sharp edges. tongue.gif
ogiveyakuza
post Jun 6 2012, 02:53 AM

huh..????
2,946 posts

lumia 900, juz kidding, ts shuld go for long term usage, which is for me, it is s3, with removable battery, extra sd card..
zaidi
post Jun 6 2012, 03:16 AM

1,738 posts

to me sense experience is deal breaker. in sense it's much easier to link up friends FB accounts and phone number with pics.

S3 however has unlock bootloader and now already rooted. this is not a luxury on One X.

so if you want to use custom roms go for S3. stock rom i think sense wins hands down
DarkSilver
post Jun 6 2012, 03:47 AM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(zaidi @ Jun 6 2012, 03:16 AM)
to me sense experience is deal breaker. in sense it's much easier to link up friends FB accounts and phone number with pics.

S3 however has unlock bootloader and now already rooted. this is not a luxury on One X.

so if you want to use custom roms go for S3. stock rom i think sense wins hands down
Stock firmware SGS III vs Stock firmware HOX, SGS III wins... HOX have hiccups aka micro-lag. SGS III have basically no hiccups, run smooth all the way.

Durability? SGS III sure lose... It because the newer technology had merged the Gorilla Glass with the Super AMOLED.
Thus, when the glass have got shattered, the display can't be used at all. sad.gif

Display? IPS vs Super AMOLED.
It's vary on users. Some people love Super AMOLED and some love IPS.

Custom Firmware? SGS III wins! Tons of developers for sure. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DarkSilver: Jun 6 2012, 03:48 AM
SonnyCooL
post Jun 6 2012, 09:07 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

better read what i write, don't blindly defend . . .. .
MPIK
post Jun 6 2012, 09:32 AM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jun 6 2012, 03:47 AM)
Stock firmware SGS III vs Stock firmware HOX, SGS III wins... HOX have hiccups aka micro-lag. SGS III have basically no hiccups, run smooth all the way.

Durability? SGS III sure lose... It because the newer technology had merged the Gorilla Glass with the Super AMOLED.
Thus, when the glass have got shattered, the display can't be used at all.  sad.gif

Display? IPS vs Super AMOLED.
It's vary on users. Some people love Super AMOLED and some love IPS.

Custom Firmware? SGS III wins! Tons of developers for sure.  tongue.gif
Are you sure HOX have micro-lag? Micro-lag in what sense, which area?
My HOX is lag-free, non-rooted using stock Sense ROM.
Did you install any task-killer? Please delete this app ASAP as this is a rubbish app which I dunno why so many ppl believe it can perform wonders.
Or did you install any pirated apps or other apps recently that causes the lag? Please delete it as well and try again.
zarchrykl
post Jun 6 2012, 09:47 AM

270 posts

Lov my HOX.. ex Note User...

SUSkevin23
post Jun 6 2012, 11:37 AM

1,803 posts

I dont understand how some ppl can say the sgs3 screen is good? I put my hox side by side with my friends sgs3 and the hox display is so much better. So much sharper!
ken2291
post Jun 6 2012, 11:43 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(zarma83 @ Jun 5 2012, 03:43 PM)
Please help me...Need to choice between S3 and One X... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif ..Which model is much more better??
All the salesman that i meet suggest to me the Samsung S3 but the processor is 1.4Ghz compare to One X is 1.5Ghz...
SIII's 1.4Ghz Exynos trumps One X's 1.5Ghz. Look at those users who have used both phones, most of them recommend SIII

View the comparisons made in the spoiler:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=51744089

This post has been edited by ken2291: Jun 6 2012, 11:50 AM
LuffyPSP
post Jun 6 2012, 12:26 PM

Droid, droid droid droid!
3,771 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jun 6 2012, 03:47 AM)

Custom Firmware? SGS III wins! Tons of developers for sure.  tongue.gif
Well in the early days. If Samsung still going with their patterns from the previous flagships, you wont have that many devs for a long time.

Every HTC devices have still have TRUE devs working on them, not just some cooking devs. For example see HTC Sensation VS SGS2(in original development section). Most devs are there for a long time until it is truly cannot be supported(like Desire, LeeDroid hasnt updating it anymore). and see who got CM9 working flawlessly very early? its Sensation. SGS2 need to wait until offical ICS OTA, and then the source code la, then can get a pretty much working CM9 without dirty hacks.

HTC dropped source codes early, while Samsung, do dropped them a bit later plus with some outdated coding style. Some dev told me, HTC updated their code to the Google code, while Samsung, downgraded Google code, to Samsung older code, hence harder development. Early development, yes on SGS2 but now most of them are chefs or KANGs available only. I would really hope Samsung change their long term support perspective.

Well that is in term of development, not attacking which one is better or worst actually.

like some other said, for Looks like flagship, wanna proudly show your stock UI(Sense) to people, go for One X. For performance(i really like Exynos, thats the truth), speed bragging rights, go for S3. I still feel my SGS2 faster than my HOX, but i choose something cooler. biggrin.gif HOX is perfect for me.

and also, i tend to choose what these devs have, ARHD and LeeDroid, confirm long term support for custom rom biggrin.gif

finally, I am not saying SGS3 is not good, its the first thing that i will brag to my friends for benchmarks, performance and anything. I choose HOX cuz its HTC, and it feels like home to me. I checked every defects possibility before buying, meaning that i accept whatever cons that HOX have. biggrin.gif

anyway, long time ago people would ask is this "android" phone or iphone? now no more iphone ler... we battle among ourselves. Android wins. biggrin.gif and to people who got overexcited being a Samsung or HTC fanboy, its just a PHONE!! get over it, go make friends(or maybe make love hahaha) and do sports. or play some games. tongue.gif
khelben
post Jun 6 2012, 12:54 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 6 2012, 11:37 AM)
I dont understand how some ppl can say the sgs3 screen is good? I put my hox side by side with my friends sgs3 and the hox display is so much better. So much sharper!
S3's screen is good. Just not as good as HOX's.
nuttyking91
post Jun 7 2012, 12:02 AM

961 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Jun 6 2012, 12:26 PM)
Well in the early days. If Samsung still going with their patterns from the previous flagships, you wont have that many devs for a long time.

Every HTC devices have still have TRUE devs working on them, not just some cooking devs. For example see HTC Sensation VS SGS2(in original development section). Most devs are there for a long time until it is truly cannot be supported(like Desire, LeeDroid hasnt updating it anymore). and see who got CM9 working flawlessly very early? its Sensation. SGS2 need to wait until offical ICS OTA, and then the source code la, then can get a pretty much working CM9 without dirty hacks.

HTC dropped source codes early, while Samsung, do dropped them a bit later plus with some outdated coding style. Some dev told me, HTC updated their code to the Google code, while Samsung, downgraded Google code, to Samsung older code, hence harder development. Early development, yes on SGS2 but now most of them are chefs or KANGs available only. I would really hope Samsung change their long term support perspective.

Well that is in term of development, not attacking which one is better or worst actually.

like some other said, for Looks like flagship, wanna proudly show your stock UI(Sense) to people, go for One X. For performance(i really like Exynos, thats the truth), speed bragging rights, go for S3. I still feel my SGS2 faster than my HOX, but i choose something cooler. biggrin.gif HOX is perfect for me.

and also, i tend to choose what these devs have, ARHD and LeeDroid, confirm long term support for custom rom biggrin.gif

finally, I am not saying SGS3 is not good, its the first thing that i will brag to my friends for benchmarks, performance and anything. I choose HOX cuz its HTC, and it feels like home to me. I checked every defects possibility before buying, meaning that i accept whatever cons that HOX have. biggrin.gif

anyway, long time ago people would ask is this "android" phone or iphone? now no more iphone ler... we battle among ourselves. Android wins. biggrin.gif and to people who got overexcited being a Samsung or HTC fanboy, its just a PHONE!! get over it, go make friends(or maybe make love hahaha) and do sports. or play some games. tongue.gif
well said! +1!!! thumbup.gif
like a boss bro.
Gouki
post Jun 7 2012, 10:34 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

okay a quick question, as far as i know, Sense in HOX has this feature where it will auto-link and manage every social media contacts into your phone contact according to it's contact name or phone number. what about the new touchwiz in S3? did samsung do any improvement in their phonebook management with this new touchwiz as they claim? thx. =)
alvin ong
post Jun 7 2012, 02:11 PM

1,136 posts

check this out samsung fags.

Breaktru
post Jun 7 2012, 02:16 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

HTC One X purely because of the design , especially white . Handphone is an asthetic gadget , so naturally it need to has good design . Galaxy SIII is too traditional in this department , as I like my stuff to be less curvy .
digitalz
post Jun 7 2012, 02:45 PM

The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.
2,030 posts

Well, left my mark on S3 after testing both.

Some dudes I know had issues with HOX as their customers came back for warranty issues on their sets for I-don't-know what reasons.

But, I do agree that design-wise, HOX is slightly better compared to S3. The game graphics on HOX is better as well.

Like all the other comparisons, the battery life, the card slot and all others. I believe most of us here would do all the comparisons and end up buying the one we "prefer" more. I gave my choice to S3. smile.gif

Add-on: Like what Luffy said, now it's a battle between Android. Not a battle between Android and Apple. smile.gif

This post has been edited by digitalz: Jun 7 2012, 02:46 PM
MPIK
post Jun 7 2012, 03:42 PM

1,838 posts

Samsung and HTC always have a tough fight on Android devices.

This is unavoidable when 2 best phones land on earth.
letze
post Jun 7 2012, 03:55 PM

~Beyond The Hourglass~
933 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jun 7 2012, 03:42 PM)
Samsung and HTC always have a tough fight on Android devices.

This is unavoidable when 2 best phones land on earth.
Last year we also have thread SGS2 vs HTC sensation. This year SGS3 vs HOX, next year ? tongue.gif
My opinion is like others, have to test yourself. If you like both, then buy both. laugh.gif

But sometimes, I feel like "Does TS really want to buy SGS3/HOX or just creating thread, people giving opinion, troll,flame war and then thread closed"
Just like before, plenty of thread like this end up with war between two die hard fans of each side.
Take a look of sgs2 vs iphone 4, g nex vs iphone 4s, sgs2 vs sensation and even android vs ios.
Not to mention intel vs amd and nvidia vs ati(amd) in hardware section.

This post has been edited by letze: Jun 7 2012, 03:56 PM
alwinnng
post Jun 7 2012, 04:29 PM

4,296 posts

s3
ZeneticX
post Jun 7 2012, 04:31 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

so TS made his choice edi ? if yes then just close this thread

i already reported the thread, hope there will be some cleaning up soon
TSzarma83
post Jun 8 2012, 10:00 AM

14 posts

Thanks for all advise....I'm already buy both phone yesterday....Between HOX & S3 there got pro & cons...
alvin ong
post Jun 8 2012, 10:38 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(zarma83 @ Jun 8 2012, 10:00 AM)
Thanks for all advise....I'm already buy both phone yesterday....Between HOX & S3 there got pro & cons...
so in the end you bought both? shocking.gif
Gouki
post Jun 8 2012, 11:00 AM

Live Life Cool
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Gouki @ Jun 7 2012, 10:34 AM)
okay a quick question, as far as i know, Sense in HOX has this feature where it will auto-link and manage every social media contacts into your phone contact according to it's contact name or phone number. what about the new touchwiz in S3? did samsung do any improvement in their phonebook management with this new touchwiz as they claim? thx. =)
QUOTE(zarma83 @ Jun 8 2012, 10:00 AM)
so since u bought both, mind to answer the question i asked earlier? smile.gif
geforce88
post Jun 8 2012, 11:03 AM

2,841 posts

LG Optimus 4X wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

troy13th
post Jun 8 2012, 11:43 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

sgs3 cos exynos chip is faster and expendable memory
pg84
post Jun 8 2012, 12:08 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Jun 6 2012, 12:54 PM)
S3's screen is good. Just not as good as HOX's.
I would say not good , amoled will have screen burn if u like it or not . And there are things u can't do with s3 screen without damaging it
silencer
post Jun 8 2012, 12:16 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Buy both and stick them together. Use the 3M double sided for long lasting stick smile.gif
garytey
post Jun 8 2012, 12:20 PM

948 posts

it's a joke to discuss the fact, close thread thks
MPIK
post Jun 8 2012, 02:26 PM

1,838 posts

QUOTE(garytey @ Jun 8 2012, 12:20 PM)
it's a joke to discuss the fact, close thread thks
i mean comparing is good. Only by comparing, you will able to achieve further.

Just like I compare my frens exam score.

Forte vs Inspira
Singapore vs Malaysia
Acer vs Asus laptop
Najib vs Anwar

So, what's wrong when we compare S3 vs HOX? So, keep the thread opened please.
TSzarma83
post Jun 8 2012, 04:43 PM

14 posts

As i said...Rite now i'm like HOX very much since i didn't explore S3 yet....will give the answer after i'm explore it...
alvin ong
post Jun 8 2012, 06:28 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(zarma83 @ Jun 8 2012, 04:43 PM)
As i said...Rite now i'm like HOX very much since i didn't explore S3 yet....will give the answer after i'm explore it...
go for the HOX. you won't regret it. thumbup.gif
Ch3n_low
post Jun 8 2012, 07:01 PM

vires in numeris
2,230 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 8 2012, 07:28 PM)
go for the HOX. you won't regret it.  thumbup.gif
Samsung S3 better lo~
sherdil
post Jun 8 2012, 07:16 PM

Knowledge the key to Heaven
1,571 posts

Buy what u think is good , small differences .
Both are latest models.
ZeneticX
post Jun 8 2012, 07:18 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

since TS u already got both phones and is exploring both of them to make ur choice

y not close this thread?
alvin ong
post Jun 8 2012, 07:42 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jun 8 2012, 07:01 PM)
Samsung S3 better lo~
s3 is only better in terms of performance ,removable battery and removable sd card.
nothing else.

This post has been edited by alvin ong: Jun 8 2012, 07:44 PM
waveweaver
post Jun 8 2012, 07:52 PM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

Both are good coz both use Android :-P
ZeneticX
post Jun 8 2012, 08:00 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 8 2012, 07:42 PM)
s3 is only better in terms of performance ,removable battery and removable sd card.
nothing else.

eh.....since you so support HOX, y don't buy 1 ? y still use the shitty low end One V ? whistling.gif

BTW that picture you posted, lets have some of my own countering objections yeah

GS3 is slimmer - seriously i duno why that fanboy even include this point. its only 0.3 mm slimmer. himself oso mentioned that

GS3 has removable battery - i) NO it doesn't last a full day under heavy usage

ii) yeah easy to say that. since they claim the battery can easily last a full day why still recommend a battery bank. i can have a battery bank on my S3 as well and the battery life will be > HOX

iii) its the same for battery bank no ?

iv) dust and water resistant my ass, the mini usb port and 3.5mm jack is still vulnerable

GS3 has SD card slot - i) S3 also have 32gb + 50gb of dropbox. how about 64gb + 50gb of dropbox? or even 64 + 64 + 50?

GS3 have inferior display - i) i agree with this point somehow but again this fanboy duno what he is talking about. lower density ? 312 vs 306 ppi..... he can spot the 6 ppi with his naked eye easily?

ii) Pentile is inferior to HD LCD ? correct term should be Pentile is inferior to RGB matrix doh.gif

Better Speed / Faster - those who use both phones before know how bullshit is this. exynos 4 quad > tegra 3

Better Camera - many reviews already mentioned the S3 camera quality is on par or even better in some circumstance than HOX. the only part where HOX is better is during low light condition but just a bit

Better Sound - Beats Audio ? bullshit. you don't have to be a smartphone guy to know this. unless you're a hipster

Better Screen - indeed the HOX have better screen but this guy still mentioning about the lower density which is just 6 PPI difference

Better Durability - again this guy needs more research. S3 is using polycarbonate as well but with different coating

Better Design - up to preference. but majority will agree HOX is better here.

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Jun 8 2012, 08:03 PM
mynewuser
post Jun 8 2012, 08:05 PM

2,549 posts

HOX will be lower second hand value due to battery cannot remove.
ZRong223
post Jun 8 2012, 08:36 PM

864 posts

These comparisons are too complicated.
Don't think too much, go towards your desire.
You got your choice already. You want a flagship smartphone.
Now what do you like the most? Touchwiz or HTC Sense?
Then go for it. That's it.

These comparison just put yourself in pain and future regret.

For me, the best phone is those bug-free, smooth and acceptable battery life.
I like Touchwiz more than Sense, so I support Samsung.
Try to think like this and see if this works.

EVERYONE HAS A BRAIN, BUT THE CONTENTS OF THE BRAIN IS DIFFERENT. REMEMBER IT.

Can't think? Nokia 3310. 10 over 5 stars. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ZRong223: Jun 8 2012, 08:36 PM
alvin ong
post Jun 8 2012, 08:36 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 8 2012, 08:00 PM)
eh.....since you so support HOX, y don't buy 1 ? y still use the shitty low end One V ?  whistling.gif
i'm waiting for the one s. thats why i bought a one v in the meantime. i know you're going to say malaysia unit comes with qualcomm s3 whatsoever. but there's something called a ap unit.  tongue.gif
and fyi qualcomm s4>exynos

BTW that picture you posted, lets have some of my own countering objections yeah

GS3 is slimmer  - seriously i duno why that fanboy even include this point. its only 0.3 mm slimmer. himself oso mentioned that
read carefully. it says there lighter. which is true.

ii) yeah easy to say that. since they claim the battery can easily last a full day why still recommend a battery bank. i can have a battery bank on my S3 as well and the battery life will be > HOX

iv) dust and water resistant my ass, the mini usb port and 3.5mm jack is still vulnerable
saw the video i posted yesterday? the one x is still running fine despite water was poured on it.
GS3 has SD card slot - i) S3 also have 32gb + 50gb of dropbox. how about 64gb + 50gb of dropbox? or even 64 + 64 + 50?
a 32gb one x is only rm2099 rrp while a 16gb s3 costs rm2199. looks like samsung is overcharging.i rather have a internal memory that reads faster then a class 10 memory card.

GS3 have inferior display - i) i agree with this point somehow but again this fanboy duno what he is talking about. lower density ? 312 vs 306 ppi..... he can spot the 6 ppi with his naked eye easily?
he meant s3 is using pentile display. thats why he calls it inferior

ii) Pentile is inferior to HD LCD ? correct term should be Pentile is inferior to RGB matrix doh.gif
still one x's rgb is better.
Better Speed / Faster -  those who use both phones before know how bullshit is this. exynos 4 quad > tegra 3
hox tegra 3 has a battery saver core.

Better Camera - many reviews already mentioned the S3 camera quality is on par or even better in some circumstance than HOX. the only part where HOX is better is during low light condition but just a bit
still its better. and it can burst shot a maximum of 99 images.

Better Sound - Beats Audio ? bullshit. you don't have to be a smartphone guy to know this. unless you're a hipster
i always connect my phone to my 7.1ch amplifier and beats audio does improves the sound quality a bit.

Better Screen - indeed the HOX have better screen but this guy still mentioning about the lower density which is just 6 PPI difference
extra 6 ppi also is an advantage.

Better Durability - again this guy needs more research. S3 is using polycarbonate as well but with different coating
as you can see from the drop test s3 is more fragile then one x. heck, the phone wont even turn on after the 3rd drop.
This post has been edited by alvin ong: Jun 8 2012, 08:48 PM
DarkSilver
post Jun 8 2012, 08:46 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 8 2012, 08:00 PM)
eh.....since you so support HOX, y don't buy 1 ? y still use the shitty low end One V ?  whistling.gif

GS3 is slimmer  - seriously i duno why that fanboy even include this point. its only 0.3 mm slimmer. himself oso mentioned that

Better Speed / Faster -  those who use both phones before know how bullshit is this. exynos 4 quad > tegra 3

Better Design - up to preference. but majority will agree HOX is better here.
I agree with all these. These are really TRUE. thumbup.gif
Those rubbish facts are like CONs and simply One-sided only.

HOX have lower 2nd-hand value like said above due to it's non-removable battery.
It can be a disadvantage if you're considering to sell your phone next time.

benny888
post Jun 8 2012, 08:49 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I don't see the point of debating which is better
As long as the phone meet your needs better that is your best phone
Don't impose your desires on others who think otherwise
Both has its pro n cons
Never deride another brand just because you think yours is a better choice
Remember one man meat is another man poison
Some of you guys is getting too overwork over this
TS should close this thread.
Do not see any purpose except creating friction
Just like comparing accord n Camry, city n vios, bm n mers all these are great cars. There is no conclusively a best one

andrekua2
post Jun 8 2012, 08:55 PM

13,484 posts

Im still waiting for someone to point out S3 has S Voice, Smart Stay, while HOX has navigation for those who cant find their places and TWO YEARS WARRANTY (HELL YEAH, BRAG ABOUT IT!!!)...

Yawn... First of all, need to get rid of those so call pros and cons like heavier, lighter, slimmer or fatter cos its so minimal.

ERM... Finally, I have a S3 and not the HOX because I can sell it above RRP and people still buy it, for the LOL...
alvin ong
post Jun 8 2012, 09:01 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Jun 8 2012, 08:55 PM)
Im still waiting for someone to point out S3 has S Voice, Smart Stay, while HOX has navigation for those who cant find their places and TWO YEARS WARRANTY (HELL YEAH, BRAG ABOUT IT!!!)...

Yawn... First of all, need to get rid of those so call pros and cons like heavier, lighter, slimmer or fatter cos its so minimal.

ERM... Finally, I have a S3 and not the HOX because I can sell it above RRP and people still buy it, for the LOL...
oh? u meant apple's siri that was ripped off by the so called mighty s voice?
so now you're saying navigation is not important? don't lie to me you've never used a GPS device before. unless you're still stucked in the 90's using a map to navigate around.
sell a 2nd hand unit higher than rrp? good luck. once you sold yours above retail price, do tell me. I'll be waiting. I'll treat you a cup of coffee.

This post has been edited by alvin ong: Jun 8 2012, 09:04 PM
andrekua2
post Jun 8 2012, 09:09 PM

13,484 posts

QUOTE(alvin ong @ Jun 8 2012, 09:01 PM)
oh? u meant apple's siri that was ripped off by the so called mighty s voice?
so now you're saying navigation is not important? don't lie to me you've never used a GPS device before.
sell a 2nd hand unit higher than rrp? good luck. once you sold yours above retail price, do tell me. I'll be waiting.
Im saying what Im thinking the topic is referring to... the pros and cons...

If you think Im laughing at people who cant find their way, so be it... no comment...

I just hate HTC... for not updating my ex-Legend with GB. Thats all... Hating HTC does not mean I hate HOX... just simply boycotting HTC products FOREVER.

And there's really more to compare other than all these points... like some features in certain apps which you might have like, such as the fit page on the browser which works with pinch zoom on HTC but not on Samsung. So much more... smartphone is about functionality more than anything to me. Thats why I yawn...

0.0770sec    1.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:30 PM