CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V3, medical student chat+info center

zeng
post Apr 26 2017, 09:17 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 26 2017, 08:35 AM)
the training of a doctor in the old days was an apprenticeship...that is time tested, and it should still be...unfortunately, modern education, especially many "money making degree mills" have converted it into an academic exercise....

in good medical schools in well managed health care systems, it still is, and the process of transition from student to doctor blurs as they involve students early in the management of patients....

as an example, in australia, final year medical students are assigned to a firm/team, and in effect function like junior housemans...they clerk in the patients, and initiate investigations and treatment plans...all on the actual case notes...but of course, they are not registered practitioners, so all these will have to be vetted and countersigned by usually a registrar grade doctor.....the transition to an intern ( as they call houseman) is thus seamless...they just continue doing what they have been doing...

that is why, choosing a good medical school, in a good health care delivery system, is important...but then, the majority of msian med students will not qualify to enter these med schools in developed economies like uk/oz/spore anyway....even if money is not a problem...simply because they will not pass the stringent selection process these med schools practice....
Is it fair of me in saying that a lack of hands-on 'procedures' and incidences of initiating treatment plans during medical school 'training' days (i.e under competent supervision) is a strong indication of lack of 'general quality' of the said school ?

This post has been edited by zeng: Apr 26 2017, 09:18 PM
zeng
post Apr 27 2017, 12:59 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Apr 26 2017, 11:34 PM)
For clinical skills well, we have to do quite abit. It's just that the nurses do them as well and opportunity comes and go depending on patient. So we have to fight for them to be done.  sweat.gif

Care to elaborate further 'all' the 'hands on procedures' med students in your school 'could' have physically handled as opportunities/circumstances/discretions arise (probably under supervision), granted not all students get exact similar exposures ...........
that's officially/unofficially allowed/permitted by the stake holders (like attending nurses,fully registered medical officers,hospital admin,med schools etc) concerned ?

I'm speculating the extent of 'hands on' involvements (procedures included) during clinical years , single handedly has the greatest impact on the confidence levels, competency, delivery outcomes of a typical FY1/housemen in relation to his/her contemporaries , no ?

Edit:Granted legality and ethics are concerns.
zeng
post Apr 30 2017, 07:42 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Jckc @ Apr 27 2017, 08:13 PM)
The gmc has guidance on what we must be competent by graduation. (32 in general but my medical school has 8 extra so 40)
http://www.gmc-uk.org/Outcomes_for_graduat...df_61408029.pdf
(its at the last few pages which they have listed)

Its mandatory for students to be provisionally registered with gmc and graduate safely.
( and yes, we SHOULD be observed doing the procedure. However, due to certain simple procedures, such as bp or pulse rate OR time constraint of junior doctors, its always difficult to get someone to supervise you. We always try to do so if we're not comfortable or competent with the skill. For me, im comfortable doing bloods/cannulas/abgs and etc without supervision as long i know my limits as a student and not harming the patient whereas otherwise ill like to get the junior doc to supervise and comment on my technique and etc)

Yes and no imo. Practice makes perfect but as long youre willing to learn and improve throughout your career, you can be on par or be better in them than your peers. (a lot of europe-trained docs do not do much hands on skills so they have to learn from scratch when they work here)
Thanks heaps.
In relation to all other UK med schools, this 8 extra over GMC requirements is considered below or above average ?
Btw, how's MMC,SMC,AMC requirements , if any, compared against GMC's requirements of 32 items ?
zeng
post May 23 2017, 08:04 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ May 23 2017, 05:25 PM)
Is it necessary to go for premium service in the application for a Tier 4 visa?

It is pretty expensive at 1,000 pounds. Relative was informed that if not premium service, passport can get lost.
Not necessary.
Pure fear mongering by the 'agent'!

zeng
post May 30 2017, 02:43 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ May 30 2017, 11:49 AM)
A lot of things also acted on her own.

Hmm .... It appears to be good of her .. for being independent. blush.gif
zeng
post Aug 18 2017, 07:52 PM

1,810 posts

Hmm..... could (approved) local IPTA/IPTS medicine programmes and MMC's huge overseas recognition list be a part of the grand scheme of social engineering here ?

This post has been edited by zeng: Aug 18 2017, 07:53 PM
zeng
post Aug 27 2017, 08:34 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Aug 25 2017, 07:20 PM)
NHS - sigh! Relative got first pay check today, elated apparently. Haha.
Congrats....
zeng
post Nov 15 2017, 02:46 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(foreignbornmd @ Nov 15 2017, 12:17 PM)
hi everyone, I was recently introduced to this forum and discussion. I am a practicing physician in United States and have worked here for the past 10 years. It is getting more difficult to get into US (due to mass migration of docs who were in UK previously). Having said that, once you get a residency position, and pass your board exams, the future is still good here. I recently started a blog at foreignbornmd.com It is a self-funded venture and focuses on the financial aspects of doing your USMLE/residency interviews in America. Please message me if you have questions on this.
Good endeavour, my friend.
I hope many locals do seek your valuable advice.
zeng
post Nov 19 2017, 11:04 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(foreignbornmd @ Nov 18 2017, 03:02 PM)
QUOTE(podrunner @ Nov 18 2017, 10:05 PM)
Thanks. The Irish scenario is not new.
Re BMA’s article, I read it differently...as it seems to have the effect of doctor shortage, with some EU doctors leaving and likely continue to leave.
Not forgetting some UK trained Canadians and Brits in queue .......

zeng
post Dec 4 2017, 10:05 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Dec 3 2017, 08:33 PM)
http://www.health.gov.au/internet/main/pub...cal-internships

Australia makes changes to CMI scheme allowing international medical graduates to apply.
Does statistics show this scheme is popular UK/US trained IMG's ?

zeng
post Dec 4 2017, 12:48 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 4 2017, 11:02 AM)
it was never fully subscribed....partly because the number of normal jobs have increased...

it was NEVER meant for imgs.....

the present relaxation to include imgs is to cater for 2 groups of foreign doctors who are eligible for provisional registration in oz....the monash msia med school and the uq ochsner clinical school in new orleans usa....as well as some who passed the amc exams....
That's real good news for local Monash Malaysia with this relaxations.
In the event CMI vacancies being still available after allocations to Monash Malaysia/UQ Ochsner med graduates, would all the balance be offered to all qualified IMG's ? Am I right to suppose so ?

zeng
post Dec 8 2017, 10:09 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(foreignbornmd @ Nov 16 2017, 05:16 PM)
Happy to help. Best way is to contact me via my website or send me an email - foreignbornmd@gmail.com
I check the forums every few days as well.
QUOTE(wargreymon12 @ Dec 7 2017, 04:44 AM)
Are you a consultant?
Can't speak for Foreignbornmd but I would speculate she was offering social voluntary advice/tips on US Residency Program as her contribution to lowyat/Malaysian community.
I'd extended her blogspot address to some of my friends who may need her help to find out more on US Residency.

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 8 2017, 10:09 AM
zeng
post Dec 11 2017, 03:18 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 11 2017, 07:26 AM)
Here is the official requirements by the Malaysian Medical Council (MMC) to enter medical degree programs:

http://mmc.gov.my/images/contents/registration/MER.pdf

...Your kid doesn't fulfill the requirement of Biology...

For MUFY, as stated in the MMC requirements:

- Aggregate or average of 80% or the equivalent of any B in any 3 subjects:
    * Biology AND
    * Chemistry AND
    * Physics OR Mathematics

If your kid not interested in Engineering... how about teaching? as in Bachelor of Education? (such as TESL, Physics, Mathematics, etc)
or... Banking? Commerce? Land surveying? Geology?
Without pre-U Bio, can one apply for IMU-PMS programme ?

zeng
post Dec 11 2017, 08:09 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Dec 11 2017, 07:01 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, I just browser IMU -PMS, I think it's education journey longer and much..much higher in term of school fee.
While it may sounds strange, direct entry to some UK medical schools incurs lower (total) fees than the IMU-PMS pathway to UK schools.

Yes, it's pricy.... with RM 1M including living.

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 11 2017, 08:11 PM
zeng
post Dec 12 2017, 09:44 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Dec 12 2017, 07:28 AM)
Business and Entrepreneurship - that is where the $$$ actually is... Not medicine... not Law...
If your son is ambitious enough, he might be the next 'Jack Ma'...

I'm afraid for one Jack Ma in China, there are tens of millions of Chinese gets into financial distress in business,
out of which, another tens of thousands declared bankrupts...

Medicine, and by extension dental , in most countries gets you a steady job with a steady 'above average' income.
zeng
post Dec 12 2017, 11:13 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Dec 12 2017, 10:09 AM)
Steady and above average if you're able to withstand unemployment before being called for housemanship and compete with fellow doctors for gov posts & training positions after 4y of contract  hmm.gif
Well, MBBS graduates may be 'unemployed' as gomen houseman (a stipulation in Medical Acts) today for say, a year.
But ALL of the them (who qualifies) gets to do medicine which they are specifically trained for ...after say, a year.
Meanwhile in terms of generating income upon graduation, nobody can stop them from doing so, though with restriction by the Act.

Graduates in other professional disciplines (such as law, engineering) may never get a job they are trained for in public sector .... and by extension private sector for some.
If ever they gets to do a job they are trained for, it could be anything after 1,5 or 10 years upon graduation.
Retire at 60 yo from a profession they were trained for ? .............. fat hope you have.

Doctors have the choice of a structured system in 'training positions' for career advancement and in a way, the same cannot be said for other professions like engineers.

Btw, I'm not in health care.

zeng
post Dec 12 2017, 07:23 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 12 2017, 04:39 PM)
my own experience as an engineer in oil&gas industry, the first 8 years salary increased linearly. After that, the sky was the limit, until the crude oil price crashed a few years back.  biggrin.gif
... and that was and still is, the dream job of a wannabe engineer. blush.gif

zeng
post Dec 13 2017, 12:58 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 12 2017, 10:18 AM)
RM1M is not sufficient even for fees in UK now for most Universities. Maybe can do it at Queens.

Glasgow is about 42k pounds now per year for fees only. And Brexit seems to give the pound a lift. tongue.gif
Other than Queen's Belfast, Leicester ,Liverpool, New Castle etc are RM850-930k for 2017-18 intakes ...... and rising annually . Living another RM200k ..... my bad as RM 1M is just off the mark.

Glasgow, Oxford, Cambridge ... you're right though.

You may be also right with 'all' Australian med schools, IIRC.

As a bonus, IINM all the above med schools are recognised by Singapore.

Note:At the point of Brexit in June 2016 , GBP drops from RM6.30ish to RM5.30ish ... today it's RM5.60ish.

This post has been edited by zeng: Dec 13 2017, 01:18 PM
zeng
post Dec 15 2017, 01:56 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 15 2017, 01:08 PM)
There is actually reasonable methods of reducing the attrition of doctors away from the profession....

Setting high academic requirements reduce coping failures....

Isat/umat/bmat/ukcat etc are aptitude tests to try determine people suitability....

Finally, as is noted by several here, graduate entry medical students are more motivated, as they are more matured when they decided....

Msia generally failed in all three....
That's a tall order on our beloved country called Malaysia, where ruling elites had been politicising education from primary to tertiary levels, including post-graduate studies.

Credit to traditional professional institutions .... for trying to hold on,
despite emergence of 'racist professional institutions' at the behest of ruling elites ....
zeng
post Dec 17 2017, 10:49 AM

1,810 posts

Non-UK graduates completing all parts in MRCOG/MRCP/MRCS qualifies one for entry into subspecialist training in say, UK/Spore.
However it was said before that UK granted visa that forbids 'training', is the 'unfavourable' rule still current now ?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0495sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:16 PM