Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 17 2012, 10:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 17 2012, 09:39 PM)
she was pinoy lady so cant really help at all...
was she caught *ahem ahem* with bangla?

recently lots of reported cases...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 18 2012, 12:30 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jul 17 2012, 10:38 PM)
today after work just had a short chat with my Northern Territory (NT) Australian PR colleague on the car pricing. he told me the car pricing in Sydney is a bit more cheaper than NT due to the larger population at there compared to NT. a few friends own car in Australia also mention happy due to the cheaper car price compared to Msia, what is more they can own more luxurious car.
RM3k may consider "high income" to own a car in Msia if the toll and car tax (go inside the fat wallet) abolish.
dun compare with aus.. aus is so big... and they are developed... compared with like taiwan... or similar country with similar standings...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 18 2012, 09:48 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM)
Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months.

Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company.

Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company?
something like witholding tax...

no problem if they are willing to compensate those $$$ witheld with interest... 5%p.a.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 21 2012, 10:58 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Jul 21 2012, 10:38 PM)
Shall I have a bet on this ? Haha
what you can do is... 2 days b4 u r confirm... talk to HR about it, give lame excuse your gf is moving there bla bla bla... see whether they can be a little more considerate or not...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 24 2012, 10:01 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 24 2012, 09:35 PM)
I am also working in sg, in jurong east near IMM there smile.gif
IBP? hmm.gif

QUOTE(elvenchou1987 @ Jul 24 2012, 09:46 PM)
Guys, wanna know what are the odds of getting PR approval without a sponsor?

Thinking of getting PR so that I can change job easier by next year. Is it a good idea?
no1 sponsors u for pr 1 la...

SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 1 2012, 08:11 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 30 2012, 06:54 PM)
I think that's only available for balance transfer and trader purchases, rather than cash advance.
scb's cash advance for 1st 1k is free... free of processing fees also.. rclxms.gif
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 31 2012, 03:45 PM)
Yes, but for car loans (unlike housing loans), the principal does not decrease over time as you pay instalments. If you borrow 100K for 10 years, you are still paying 1.88% p.a. interest on 100K principal even when you're paying your last/120th instalment.

So the effective interest rate is actually approximately double the nominal rate.
wow.. thanks for the tip rclxms.gif i think because house u can refinance and not car loan right?
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 31 2012, 04:48 PM)
singapore just had a career fair last week, lots of openings......i was there but not looking for a job but the lucky draw for the new Ipad... tongue.gif ....at the end wasted few hours there.... rclxub.gif
stjobs? at suntec? ... zzz, wasted... missed it
QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 31 2012, 05:02 PM)
NTUC keep pestering me to join them while i just entertain them.......the Great Eastern guy said can buy me a coffee if can intro friend to him and join him....... laugh.gif

i actually was thinking to join to work as waitress for macdonald or those fast food and want to find out their wages....but at last better dont kau kau chan and if they find out later as sure got fill up the form and my personal information will be with them..... biggrin.gif
join ntuc ^^ worth it if u shop at their fairprice stores... rclxms.gif the first few things i would recommend new comers is to sign up for passion and ntuc...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 1 2012, 10:15 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 1 2012, 08:46 AM)
passion i understand, why ntuc?
they charge u sgd9 every month.
u shop in fairprice, the rebate every month can cover that subscription fee?
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Aug 1 2012, 10:22 AM)
u will need to spend around SGD225 monthly for u to offset the SGD9 monthly fees..at a 4% rebate
yeaps.. and some items u have further 5-15% disc... harmless if u r gonna shop there anyway ^^ covered for life insurance.. also SGD 500 subsidy for course fees
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 1 2012, 09:36 AM)
can rebate for guardian, shop n save, cold storage
cheaper fees for courses/rental at community centre
free bag during sign up  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
NLB member
passion card can be used as ez-link and the 2% rebate for ez-reload can be applied onto that card instead of the credit card only.
extra discount for some stores at times...i saw for skechers before...i dun really shop for branded stuffs so i dun take note of the brands.
the fee is sgd12 for 5 years...which is equivalent to sgd2.4 per year
does the passion card have nets flashpay?

SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 15 2012, 11:01 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 15 2012, 09:59 AM)
how about the SIA pilot and stewardess news...
any updates?
what about it? i thought it was cathay? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 15 2012, 01:39 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 15 2012, 11:25 AM)
alamak....my bad ...
i jsut know it's pilot
XD..
http://asiansmack.com/husband-desperately-...ndant-wife.html

/k got a lot of pictas of the wife... why no case with SIA hmm.gif

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Aug 15 2012, 12:20 PM)
Any upcoming gathering, since monday is an additional holiday?
95% balik kampungz... i m taking wed till fri off... 9 days holis laugh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 19 2012, 03:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(steven1379 @ Aug 18 2012, 12:50 PM)
what ISP you guys using in singapore ?
any good suggestion ? i am planning to get one after i got my EP.
which part of sg...

wat kind of internet service? mobile? land broadband? fibre? cable? dial up? hmm.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Aug 18 2012, 05:58 PM)
About $100 a month for combined Cable TV + 12mbps Internet.
can get cheaper if hub with mobile rclxms.gif

QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 18 2012, 06:03 PM)
Watching the NDP parade repeat on Channel 5. Tony Tan's inspection of the honor guard was super careful and calculated. He stopped to talk to 4 soldiers... one Chinese, one Malay, one Indian and one female.
so preplanned er/ doh.gif

QUOTE(megadisc @ Aug 19 2012, 01:09 AM)
suppose to only hold one ...
but not sure how u get to hold both ..
XD
can ma... cannot meh? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 22 2012, 04:42 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Aug 21 2012, 10:06 AM)
I think you can hold two driving license inofficially. hmm.gif
dunno leh.. i didnt do anything illegal.. was just following procedures what.. end up with 3.. soon to be 4... doh.gif i wonder after getting sg license can still go apply international msian license or not... or have to apply sg international license notworthy.gif anyone can help?

QUOTE(LuisaLui @ Aug 21 2012, 10:43 PM)
I see. Maybe the one my sis friend stay is share room. You work in sg ah?
u cannot share room with him ler doh.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 22 2012, 05:59 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Aug 22 2012, 05:35 PM)
Haha, you ?? him ??  rclxub.gif
i thought is her and her sister?? biggrin.gif
sry... what's the diff between him and her? my english is not too good notworthy.gif

the point is, i think he only rents out to certain ppl... have to show picture 1st.. i showed my picture and got rejected straight away sweat.gif

anyway, on a serious note.. regarding gardens by the bay, will the green plants grow all d way above the artificial tree structure or just like it is now with the lights on? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 23 2012, 12:03 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Aug 22 2012, 11:20 PM)
our dear Washabushi spend around 4-5 months and around $1k SGD just to get his 2B bike license. not advisable to take the test in SG.
Its DIFFICULT and EXPENSIVE.
no choice if one didnt have prior bike license in msia right? sweat.gif

ada lubang? brows.gif

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Aug 23 2012, 08:55 AM)
show picture? i thought just letting the owner know you are male or female already decide your fate? tongue.gif
some ppl wanna see skin colour sweat.gif

QUOTE(shoograd @ Aug 23 2012, 11:11 AM)
Hi guys, I'm in the process of applying for PR right now.

However, the accompanying notes state that I should include a testimonial of my PREVIOUS employer stating the nature and duration of my work, and the last drawn basic salary.

I'm wondering if a record of my employment contract with them would suffice, or do I actually have to ring them up and ask for them to actually write me a testimonial? please advise.
got meh? i dont remember... employment doesnt state duration and last drawn right? hmm.gif

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 23 2012, 11:46 AM)
your previous employer in malaysia or SG ?
anyway i din put in with my application at that time  sweat.gif
di you get ur pr? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 23 2012, 02:59 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(keii-kun @ Aug 23 2012, 12:23 PM)
Can't agree more, just pay $11 to sit exam n convert license much easier. Just booked my BTT , waiting period for exam is 2 mth. Need to convert quick cos later if got another Ferrari accident maybe they change policy on conversion LOL.

In other hand, just applied for part time restaurant crew job 4hr x 6 days paying $850, hopefully can get no problem.  Took the flexi cos hourly would be $6, same as pizzahut,mcd etc.The supervisor asking me to do full time $1600 instead cos they shorthanded.

No thanks, still patient searching for jobs
ya.. fast fast convert... if kiasu get ur extract b4 hand.. so d day u pass u can apply tongue.gif

huh? r u a pr? how come can work part time 1?
QUOTE(ivanswk @ Aug 23 2012, 01:27 PM)
yes i got my PR  rolleyes.gif
ohh.. so that means workable
QUOTE(shoograd @ Aug 23 2012, 01:44 PM)
Yep, it's stated in point 7(g).

Explanatory notes to Form 4A & Annex A
Thanks for the info guys. I asked a colleague who is also a Malaysian PR and she informed me that a testimonial from my current employer will be just fine. Not sure why they deliberately stated "previous employer" though, it's kind of misleading  hmm.gif
yea.. just current should be enough
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 25 2012, 04:13 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jerrykhor @ Aug 25 2012, 03:49 PM)
i just found out today we need to return the expired reentry permit (REP) if you not going to renew the REP.. i was plan to work in sg "again" but found problem when EP application. need to surrender the expired REP next week.. blush.gif
REP is just a piece of printed paper right?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 25 2012, 08:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jerrykhor @ Aug 25 2012, 08:11 PM)
yes, physically a piece of yellow? paper..
need to go ICA to settle it b4 i can apply EP again... blush.gif
yellow paper? i thought just an a4 paper the ica print the details on

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0292sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:49 PM