Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 20 2012, 11:07 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jun 20 2012, 10:45 PM)

Added on June 20, 2012, 10:49 pm
Yeah agree FirstCoach is the best, but kinda hard to buy ticket especially Friday SG->KL and Sunday KL->SG... tongue.gif

Added on June 20, 2012, 11:00 pm
Called, still being processed... latest will know by september...
get 1 month in advance online lor..

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jun 20 2012, 11:04 PM)
^ Odyssey time not ngam 1 - -4PM sad.gif and stops at mount Kiara. By the way, does Odyssey pass through Sungai Besi ? Normally I ask driver to stop at Petronas near Bukit Jalil Technology park.

Anyone taken before ?
cant rmb the route, but i know i had my best msia-->sg ride ever.. on Odyssey
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 20 2012, 11:43 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Jun 20 2012, 11:11 PM)
^ I want to try but sadly timing not ngam. Actually the Balestier stop is just across the street from where I work, except I snake out on Friday after lunch to take the bus back tongue.gif
what? you can just leave your work like that? shocking.gif hr dont care?

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 20 2012, 11:11 PM)
Heard today that a HK colleague of mine just got his PR approved.
yea... i also heard my benin colleague got his pr approved too.. he is planning to bring his pet parrot over after african new year because he says he's lonely..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 22 2012, 11:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(LalaBubbles @ Jun 22 2012, 10:46 PM)
Anybody know where can I find photo taking facility nearest to Work Pass Services Centre (WPSC) at Tanjong Pagar Complex on a Saturday?

Roughly what time I should be there(WPSC) to avoid the crowd on a Saturday?
i think they should have a shop in the complex itself.. hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 23 2012, 03:02 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jun 23 2012, 09:01 AM)
Only for Singaporean families lor ... aren't all of us here still holding Malaysian passport?
mackiddo holding sg passport... some1 else holding bangla passport...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 24 2012, 12:51 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(LalaBubbles @ Jun 23 2012, 07:28 PM)
The whole process was not longer than 30mins today for S pass smile.gif
welcome to d club laugh.gif rclxms.gif please join our next ghetering thumbup.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 24 2012, 11:28 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(cutejams2004 @ Jun 24 2012, 08:57 PM)
Hi All,

I might be moving to Sg very soon (like in 2 months time) if all goes well.
Have been surveying on the cost of living. Now still trying to check out if there are any room availability for Malaysian female (dont mind sharing), max $350...

Working location: Tai Seng area

My budget:
HP (with data service)  = <$50
Transport (MRT/Bus) = <$180
Food = <$350
Total monthly : max $1000
Please feel free to comment if my estimation falls below the actual threshold. Also need to ask what do I expect to fork out in the first month, as in do I pay like 1/2 months of deposit for rental and so on?

p.s:I'm still deciding to go or not depending on cost factor...Pay is gonna be approx SGD 2xxx only...
hmm... very low, i think $1200-1800 will be more appropriate..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 25 2012, 05:03 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jun 25 2012, 04:50 PM)
perhaps you have not seen contractors carry with cash in bag(s) especially during pay day. or progress claim from main turnkey con/developer to NSCs.
cisco, aetos, sats? in sg generally safe...

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 25 2012, 04:59 PM)
i rbought around 5K and my heart arleady beating
boom boom boom ....i want u in my room song ..
omg ..  cry.gif

get those briefcase with handcuffs lor... wear full suit with shared... yeng..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 26 2012, 09:39 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Jun 26 2012, 09:17 PM)
Huh? you mean i can just use the GXXXXX to register postpaid?

I'm holding EP currently, so may I know how to register?
walk to singtel, m1, starhub shop... choose pong.... choose plan... profits!
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 26 2012, 10:09 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Jun 26 2012, 10:00 PM)
LOL...I currently still under employment with my company.
I unable to take leave to SG anymore unless I resigned from my current company.

I saw SINGTEL allowed to register online. But I really no idea the FIN: G13XXXXX is refering to what.
Any idea? rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
it is ur ID no. .... most likely they would ask for your passport no. also... but without a copy of ur ep-card, i doubt they would let u fully register lor... maybe just book the 12gb contract first? then complete formalities later...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jun 29 2012, 10:53 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(vonnevonne @ Jun 29 2012, 05:53 PM)
Hello, Is glad to coming back to this page with new status. I'm currently working in Singapore.  smile.gif
asl pls brows.gif picta too thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cless^alvein @ Jun 29 2012, 06:31 PM)
Good to hear that, I'm going to start work at SG next week. Nervous.. xD
welcome to d club.. do join us at our nxt gheydering

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 29 2012, 10:25 PM)
Today i finally tried to use passport to scan through in sg custom...it actually works. smile.gif
wow... thumbup.gif

SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 1 2012, 09:35 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Jul 1 2012, 09:31 AM)
Please I'm expat in sg with housing allowance and company car and per diem and use my dutch driving licence . That one they cannot get coz EU only for higher class , even if got money the gwailo say so what
dutch license can convert? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 6 2012, 01:07 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Jul 5 2012, 11:11 PM)
Try to look for a car with 3-4 years left on the COE , hopefully by then many cars will deregister and COE will go down to an acceptable level. Also try to look for a car with higher paper value (etc. OMV) so that you get more back when u deregister at the end of 10 years.
are you selling your 5-series? brows.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 6 2012, 08:03 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 6 2012, 07:58 AM)
Hi all, need some advice here...

I got a call from recruiter of an opening and thinking to try it out. For an interview I know it is required to bring along all required documents such as certs and testimonials, however if I'm required to attend an interview with short notice, is it okay for me to attend interview without supporting documents? I left all my original documents in hometown...

Thanks in advance.
you have no choice right? so just go...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 9 2012, 11:28 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 9 2012, 11:17 PM)
Just curious, anyone here bought / planning to buy property in JB for investment?
howard lor.. he buy to stay n invest also.. both, awaiting his house warming...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 12 2012, 09:16 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 12 2012, 08:54 AM)

Unless combine CPf. As for myself, I hv CPf but not my bf, he just turn PR last month. Bought the condo under his name as I am reserving mine for another. We utilized all cash we have, refinance some property for the Downpayment.

One advice, if you plan to invest in Sg, don't use joint name in your first private condo cause both of you would only hv one chance of getting 80% loan. Reserve the other name for another cOndo. I heard the government is trying to clamp down on speculation by disallowing use of CPf for second property.
izzit possible to put d name under 1 person but apply for financing with a couple of names?

but there's a risk he might lari with d asset while u r joinly financing it right?

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 12 2012, 03:58 PM)
em 3K also tak sampai
habish lah camni...
beli kat jb.. rumah kos rendah rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2012, 12:08 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2425842

for those that wanna work in sg, hanief is hiring...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 13 2012, 09:52 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Jul 13 2012, 09:21 AM)
I saw dishwasher job advertised in ST , the salary posted is $1500. this one too low.
dat 1 includes housing? hmm.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 14 2012, 11:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 14 2012, 09:14 PM)
In SG, Is it normal that we have to pay to alter formal pants, and also need to wait at least few days to collect it?
yeaps... i think $5-10... and yes, have to wait... usually have to pay only during sales... regular times it is free

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 14 2012, 10:56 PM)
Yes, I am lost in the complex calculation.  rclxub.gif

but I till have a long wait until I have the money for condo, so nothing much to confuse at the moment  blush.gif
errr... dunno whether will help or not.. i enclosed loan calc.. mod urself

http://www.sendspace.com/file/yql54h
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 15 2012, 12:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 14 2012, 11:25 PM)

Added on July 14, 2012, 11:29 pm
err things like unexpected family matter is hard to predict.. always need to keep a backup, can't leverage too much.  The calculator only provide half of the answer, you need to 'guess' your future cash flow and reserve level.
depends lor, whether to live, invest or speculate... more risk of course more return...
QUOTE(cless^alvein @ Jul 14 2012, 11:52 PM)
when will be the next gathering? kinda bored at SG..
hi. welcum to d club.. siapa lu?
QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 15 2012, 12:16 AM)
My colleague gave me a freelancer that he used. He'll compiles and present the features of all the loans from major banks and any specific banks you ask. Yes, he'll be biased towards the bank with the highest commission but simply to get a single report listing all the loans with common denominators is damn useful already. Much easier to shop around. Then for courtesy, listen to the guy's pitch for 15 minutes lor.
freelancer? hmm.gif those independent financial planners?
QUOTE(FuQuO @ Jul 15 2012, 10:12 AM)
Thanks all sifu for your valuable advice. I will make a thorough survey before any decision to be made.

I'm currently working in the west, any recommendation which area should I look into to get a decent unit should I decided to get one in SG? Be it new/used. I would prefer 2-3 bedrooms unit, around or below $800psf. Any informative websites will be appreciated.
800psf? private? or hdb ec bdss?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 15 2012, 11:29 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 15 2012, 01:11 PM)
No, this guy only does property loans. More like a loan broker.
i see, how independent are they? or they just wanna push u to the package they can make the most $$$?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0538sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:21 AM