Working in Singapore V11, Serious Talk, No Chatting

TzeThon
post Jul 13 2012, 05:34 PM

213 posts

noticed that some of you took a long time (or even one year) to get an interview.
just wondering. after an interview. usually how long do the companies take to contact you regarding offer (if you get the job)?
do they even contact you if you are rejected?
thanks.
TzeThon
post Jul 15 2012, 02:04 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 13 2012, 09:06 PM)
Normally after the interview, you need to ask or they will tell you when they will get back to you.
I didn't ask them, and they didn't tell me when they will get back to me. So now I'm waiting. Sigh. Don't know how long should I wait.
Thanks anyway smile.gif
TzeThon
post Jul 18 2012, 01:38 PM

213 posts

hi everyone.
i've attended some interviews in Singapore last few days.
one of them has offered me. but have yet to give me a formal offer letter. just asked me to fill in the EP form to submit.
is this standard procedure? when will i receive the offer letter? after approval of the EP pass and medical check up or will they give me the offer letter before approval?
thanks in advance for your advice.
TzeThon
post Jul 19 2012, 12:14 PM

213 posts

do i need to fill in the Employment Pass Application Form or will the company do that for me? i noted there are certain sections which are totally not within my knowledge.
anyone knows how to fill in the forms?
thanks.
TzeThon
post Jul 19 2012, 03:51 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 19 2012, 03:50 PM)
your personal details and particulars will be filled up by  yourself. The rest should be completed by your company/HR normally
ok. thanks smile.gif
how long does it take to get the work pass?
TzeThon
post Jul 19 2012, 04:22 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Jul 19 2012, 04:04 PM)
depends?you might get a REPLY from 7 days to a few weeks...on whether your work pass/permit is APPROVED or NOT
thanks!
signed the offer letter already.
guess the only hurdle is the work pass and medical check up.
also. accommodation sad.gif
TzeThon
post Jul 20 2012, 04:27 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Jul 20 2012, 03:37 PM)
y pay so much for accomodation? I think its just a luxury if u spend half for accomodation. Lessay earn 2k. I can easily get a room for 500 or less. Not like malaysia get a stupid small shit room for 1k.

Everything in Malaysia is expensive!!! and the quality sux!! Quality of life in sigapore is soooo much better than malaysia.
with the increase of property prices in singapore. i don't think it is easy to get a room which is less than $500.
in malaysia. one "stupid small shit room" is only RM100 or RM200. RM1000 you can leave near KLCC already.
not everything in Malaysia is expensive.
although i like singapore more than malaysia. i won't say that malaysia is THAT bad.
TzeThon
post Jul 23 2012, 02:26 PM

213 posts

i have submitted relevant documents to the company, signed the employment contract etc. and they said will apply the EP for me. do they usually inform us when they have submitted the EP forms? or do we need to ask the company ourselves regarding the application?
thanks.
TzeThon
post Jul 23 2012, 03:08 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 23 2012, 02:32 PM)
That mean havent apply? they will apply for you, when it is approve, they will inform you to go for medical checkup.
i see. thanks.
so it's safe to say i need to wait for another week or so before i get to know the results right?
can't wait!
hopefully everything turns out ok. because i need time to look for rooms as well. commencement date first week of september.
TzeThon
post Jul 23 2012, 03:21 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 23 2012, 03:14 PM)
I not sure how long it need to know the result, i just based on my friend recently application, from the day HR apply EP for her,around 4 days i think, then she know the result already, but this thing can be varies, as you can see that some wait abit longer, some very fast, i dunno why it's like that. hmm.gif
4 days! that was fast!
and yes i was reading this thread and i realised that some applications took a while to get approvals. and i am a bit concerned now. plus i don't know how long would the medical check-up take. hope to settle everything by early august so i can concentrate on looking for accommodation.
didn't dare to prepare too much now.
TzeThon
post Jul 23 2012, 05:19 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 23 2012, 03:27 PM)
Haha...you say fast, but she told me is very slow,same like how you feeling now. tongue.gif
Medical checkup should be very fast, 3 working days is enough. but the accommodation thing will take up abit time, where is your future company? looking for room is not easy, you need to have budget, location(near mrt ??), single or double, aircond, WIFI, PUB. My friend told me that beds is not likely to be included in the room rent, some can found with bed, some is not.
ya i'm looking for rooms from easyroommate.
company is near tanjong pagar mrt station. budget maximum $1000. hopefully can find places near tanjong pagar. but i also don't mind travelling a bit as long as the place is along the east west line should be fine.
single room. aircond. WIFI optional. sorry what is "PUB"? bed also optional.
TzeThon
post Jul 23 2012, 05:44 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 23 2012, 05:42 PM)
Should try all the given link at the 1st page of thread, can widen your choice of room.
propertyguru not bad, will stated out the room got include what
thanks.
i'm looking into them. a very difficult task indeed.
accommodation in singapore is seriously expensive sad.gif but it's worth it smile.gif

TzeThon
post Jul 23 2012, 06:25 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 23 2012, 05:53 PM)
If you want save more, should look for share room, but i guess most people will encourage you to go for single room as you dont know who you going to stay with unless get a friend to join u. smile.gif
yup!
no one to share with me. plus i don't feel like sharing the room with strangers tongue.gif

Added on July 23, 2012, 6:26 pm
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jul 23 2012, 06:01 PM)
PUB - public utilities bills - water/electricity etc.

try roomsdb.net
thanks.
i will check it out biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TzeThon: Jul 23 2012, 06:26 PM
TzeThon
post Jul 24 2012, 09:13 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(cless^alvein @ Jul 23 2012, 09:10 PM)
The days needed to know the result of the EP application are quite random, in my case, I got the news d day after my company's HR submitted the application. Lolx..

Added on July 23, 2012, 9:11 pm

Try this link too http://singapore.gumtree.sg/f-Apartment-Ho...nt-W0QQCatIdZ10
you got it so fast!!! sigh i'm still waiting. and i don't even know whether the company has submitted the forms.
so how long did you take to get the medical results?

thanks for the link. i will check it out.
TzeThon
post Jul 25 2012, 09:36 AM

213 posts

hi.
issues about accommodation again sad.gif
i was trying to look for rooms which don't require me dealing with agents (trying to save agent fees). then i have this friend who just came back from singapore last year. telling me that it is safer to go with agents.
she told me that sometimes the "owner" that i deal with may not be the real owner and they may be tenants sub-letting the rooms (she said it's against singapore law or something).
then she mentioned something like "you won't know who's living there. usually when you drop by to view the rooms the tenants are not home and there may be 8 to 10 fellas staying there which is against the law and you may get into trouble in the future". something like that.
anyone encountered problems like these before? or have heard from friends that this occurred before?
thanks.

Added on July 25, 2012, 9:38 am
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 25 2012, 09:18 AM)
Hmm...if you get PR, you got more chance to find a better job with better pay, but you need to pay EPF, but it's still good as PR pay is better than WP/SP/EP
hi.
so if i get EP now. i don't have to pay EPF like in Malaysia? i can get the full salary every month?
i heard from some of my friends that they don't get the full salary every month.
please advise.
thanks.

This post has been edited by TzeThon: Jul 25 2012, 09:38 AM
TzeThon
post Jul 25 2012, 02:35 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 25 2012, 09:48 AM)
No, you don't pay EPF. You should get your full salary every month. SG doesn't even have PCB (income tax deductions).

Although some ppl in this thread have said in the past that they kena 15% deduction from their company for first 6 months of work or something like that.
ya. i thought i would be able to get the full salary every month.
then i saw some people in this thread said that they didn't get it.
guess i'll find out when i start working.
thanks.

Added on July 25, 2012, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 25 2012, 10:08 AM)
sub-let isn't against the law
depends on the contract between the person sub-letting and the owner.
if it allows, then it is allowed...if not, then it is against the law.

goin through agent does not necessary mean u won't meet into sub-let cases in my opinion.
the person sub-letting may be friends wif agents.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
this is just me speculating, not sure if such a thing can be done or not.
true also. thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by TzeThon: Jul 25 2012, 02:36 PM
TzeThon
post Jul 25 2012, 02:38 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 25 2012, 10:50 AM)
Erm, about the room, deal with house owner is also not a big problem, but just u need to make everything clear with the owner, if can, black and white is the best, hence you save the half month rental agent fee.

But even if you deal with agent, sometime after agent settle everything already, basically they will just ignore everything and if you seek for their help, they will just look for you another room and charge you again. i not sure about this.

for Pass holder, you get full salary unless your company have anything stated that you need to deduct how much and bla bla, if not, full month salary you will get
thanks for the information.
i'm trying to look for rooms without agents to save money tongue.gif
most of the rooms are around $1000 so agent fee would be $500. for a malaysian i think that's too expensive tongue.gif but can't help it if i want to work in singapore smile.gif

levy will be paid by the company right? so i should be getting full salary then. hopefully tongue.gif

Added on July 25, 2012, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 25 2012, 02:38 PM)
This kind of crap normally only happens if you start work in the 2nd half of the year. If you work less than 182 (or 183? forgot) days in the year, you supposed to pay non-resident tax rates i.e. 15%, and some companies will automatically withhold that from your salary just in case you after few months cabut back to Malaysia. I guess they are then liable for the tax? I dunno.

Before you ask, even if you kena non resident 15% tax rate in your first (partial) year, the following year you can claim it back after you get tax resident status.
aiks. i'm supposed to start work this september (2nd half of the year). hopefully my company doesn't withhold salary tongue.gif
anyway. thank you so much for the info biggrin.gif i have a better idea of the whole "working in singapore" thingy now biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TzeThon: Jul 25 2012, 02:42 PM
TzeThon
post Jul 25 2012, 03:09 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 25 2012, 02:52 PM)
yes if you cabut before 183 days, by law the company is liable to pay the 15% amount. That is the reason they use to justify why holding the 15% salary. IRAS allow them to do so.
if the company is liable to pay. they shouldn't have kept our money sad.gif
of course i don't intend to leave the company after a few months (that is if everything is fine). but i also don't feel like letting them hold the money.

Added on July 25, 2012, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 25 2012, 02:53 PM)
Wow..what kind of room you are looking for ?? even without agent, you also need to pay one month deposit, first month rental, that will cost you $2K.
i'm looking for rooms around tanjong pagar. according to all the websites the rental for a single/common room is priced at $1000 average.
of course i don't intend to spend so much. but that's what i found from the websites sad.gif
i'm aware that i will need a lot of money for the deposit etc. that's why i don't feel like spending another half for agent fees sad.gif

This post has been edited by TzeThon: Jul 25 2012, 03:11 PM
TzeThon
post Jul 25 2012, 03:18 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 25 2012, 03:14 PM)
My suggestion, if you work around tanjung pagar, try to find place where you need around 30mins to travel to work, it should save you some money, tanjung pagar so expensive? consider prime area?  hmm.gif
yup i'm looking around now. tanjong pagar is very expensive sad.gif a lot of people told me that.
i think if i stay along green line should be fine. so i don't have to change lines.

edited: but i don't feel like sharing with people. because i won't know who they are sad.gif

This post has been edited by TzeThon: Jul 25 2012, 03:19 PM
TzeThon
post Jul 25 2012, 04:23 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 25 2012, 03:31 PM)
Oh, well... if then you should extend your search toward even further from the city area, e.g. geylang, paya lebar and so on. should can get cheaper single room, noneed to waste so many money on room rental.
ya. can get around $500 a month. save half. need to travel a bit every morning but should be fine i think.
will look around and decide when i drop by singapore to view potential rooms. can't decide much now without seeing the rooms sad.gif
am still waiting for company to update me on the EP status. they didn't even tell me whether they have submitted the forms. sigh sad.gif

Added on July 25, 2012, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(totti 10 @ Jul 25 2012, 04:04 PM)

*tzethon
I am staying in queenstown, a utility room, $600 a month, got AC and PUB included. quite convenient place to live. have 3 hawker centers within walking range. buses going to orchard, vivocity etc. quite convenient to live. smile.gif
utility room costs $600 a month! is it really small? but yeah with air-conditioning and PUB i think it should be quite ok.

This post has been edited by TzeThon: Jul 25 2012, 04:32 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0478sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:34 PM