Jun 20 2012, 11:11 PM
451 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Imperial city of Puchong |
^ I want to try but sadly timing not ngam. Actually the Balestier stop is just across the street from where I work, except I snake out on Friday after lunch to take the bus back
Jun 21 2012, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 20 2012, 11:43 PM) what? you can just leave your work like that? Just joking la, since the time clash with working hours. Actually can ask for early release if I finish up my stuffyea... i also heard my benin colleague got his pr approved too.. he is planning to bring his pet parrot over after african new year because he says he's lonely.. |
Jun 25 2012, 12:45 AM
Jul 18 2012, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(sapapa @ Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM) Hi guys, for first-timers like me working in Singapore for the first time, this company retain 15% of my monthly salary for the first 6 months and the reason they give is to pay the income tax incase I left the company before 6 months. Not that I know of. Normally once you resign only they will retain the last month salary for income tax purpose but currently I am getting my full pay (without CPF, since I am not a PR)Now, 6 months has passed and I asked the HR, he explained to me that this money will return back to me next year which is a total of 1 1/2 years working OR if I quit the company. Anyone experience such cases before, like retaining some of your monthly income to pay for income tax incase you run away from the company? Anyway for SG, you submit your own income tax $$$, not like in MY where there is PCB deduction by company every month. |
Jul 27 2012, 12:08 PM
Aug 15 2012, 12:18 AM
For CPF, you cannot take out until 55 or 65 for west Malaysian ?
I read that you can apply to take the $$$ out before the age but if you come back to SG to work, you will need to return all the $$$ with interest. Anyway I pity Singaporeans with their CPF with the minimum sum, etc. and cannot get hold of their $$$ when they retire. IMHO, if you plan to stay long and buy property or for job security then applying for PR is a good move, but then again with 20% of your pay (max $1000 ~CPF ceiling of $5000*20%) locked up every month, it will be a strain on your cash flow. Lagi u kena $100 levy masuk casino |
Aug 15 2012, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Aug 15 2012, 08:48 AM) Not exactly familiar with CPF but... $5000 cap, lower rates to CPF/EPF (cash flow), minimum sum (only for Singaporeans) I am quite sure you can use CPF to contribute towards the purchase of property - downpayment and installment CPF also grant personal relief to the tax payer. so no difference there between EPF and CPF. Anyone care to add more. |
Aug 25 2012, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 25 2012, 12:52 PM) If everything you do is kacang putih, then the things that you learn faster is also kacang putih. MNCs won't pay you for the kacang putih that you've learnt. The term CBF (Cheaper, Better, Faster) comes in mind So even if you justify joining a small company to "learn faster", make sure whatever you learn is worth money to your future career. I've had interviewees coming to us with a good degree but a few years experience with a no name company where they are currently have a managerial position. When we offer them an exec's salary instead of a manager's, they will start talking about how they managed "Purchasing, HR and Admin" on top of accounting. But the fact is that I am not going to give you a MNC manager's role because you bought Milo from the pantry, banked in the payroll/CPF and supervised the secretaries and tea lady. Without fail, they were expecting a big jump in salary when they move from small firm to MNC. But that never happens because the pao kah liao they did previously is worthless to the MNC. |
| Change to: | 0.0421sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:57 AM |