Advice Wanted Girls, would u date an otaku?, No, not talkin abt Hentai...

silverhawk
post Jun 2 2012, 12:31 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(kaizer3000 @ Jun 1 2012, 11:32 PM)
Whenever I met a girl that I like, we became really close buddies, till one day I decided to be honest and told her my hobbies: collecting robots/ vehicles/and very few anime girls (figma toys). The next day they pretended they dont even see me!

An otaku is a person who loves Japanese anime/manga and they tend to collect figures/ toys that relates to that particular manga they love.

The problem is likely cause you've identified yourself as an otaku, and even you yourself seem to have a negative perception of "otaku". You need to change your perception of it first, if you keep thinking that women will not like you cause of your hobbies, it will subconsciously transfer to your words/actions.

Personally I know a quite a few people who are into these hobbies (i am such a person myself) and they don't have problem with women. If you have other hobbies, you might want to start with that first. Its highly likely she's not interested in such things anyway, so don't bring it up unless she talks about it. I believe the problem is that she cannot relate with your hobby rather than being disgusted by it. I would be quite turned off myself if a woman I'm talking to decides to talk to me about her hobby that I can't relate to at all and she just keeps talking about it.

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 1 2012, 11:52 PM)
Girls in general are attracted to guys who can handle themselves in the real world. Being a so called otaku, you confine your interest in something made up or a sub-culture. Otaku, rabid gamers, star trekkies, etc ... they all fall into same category. They choose to 'live' in a made-up universe, disconnected to real life matters or worse not able to distinguish between realities. To some, this is unappealing or may be deemed as geeky.
There's some truth to what killdavid is saying here. Its okay to have your such hobbies, but don't lose track with the real world. If I recall your posts from around here you don't seem to be that sort of person, so its most likely you've revealed your hobbies too early or in a fashion that they deemed unappealing.

QUOTE(uest91)
I want a real man who watch porn rather than a boy who watch cartoon.
Also, spending money on stupid toys, this is the main reason I couldn't stand at all.

Don't be so close minded, porn in any form be it high budget, amateur, webcam, hentai, comics, erotic stories, etc all have their own merits. Its how you use such material that makes the difference whether the person is creepy or not.

As for spending money on toys, what's the problem with that? Any different from women spending money on shoes/handbags? Its what they want to spend on, as long as they can afford it why not let them do what makes them happy? Why judge them for it?

Men never really grow up, there's always a little boy in him still. That boy is necessary to keep a man happy and in a sound state of mind, and every boy in a man has their own thing that makes them happy. If a man losses that part of him, a huge part of him dies inside. Look at any man who is happy and successful, there's always some stupid boyish thing he's doing on his free time.
silverhawk
post Jun 2 2012, 11:24 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ Jun 2 2012, 12:36 AM)
Please read the title itself Girls, would u date an otaku?, No, not talkin abt Hentai

You brought it up laugh.gif

First of all this has nothing to do with men and women.

Considering it is about a man with hobbies that a woman cannot understand, no it has everything to do with men and women. Hobbies are only a part of a person, if you judge a person by that part simply cause you can't understand it; ignoring his other parts, then that's just being prejudiced and close minded.

It's about Otaku itself, the hobbies and interests.

Exactly, and my point is that such hobbies/interests are fine and there's nothing wrong with it. Just like any other hobby or interest, its fine as long as you don't take it to the extreme. Like some of the others have noted, people who rather buy toys instead of paying their insurance premiums, car loans, etc. that's bad, but that's not the fault of their hobby, its the character itself, they would be doing the same thing regardless of what the hobby is.

Second of all, TS is asking would girls date an otaku, I for as a girl giving TS my own opinion that I will not and the reason stated. Otaku is not the kind of man I want/desire as one of ex is actually an otaku, which is why he's an ex.

yes, that's you, but you don't speak for all girls and it would be bad for TS to take you as an example because frankly your view point is rather narrow on this, and seems badly marred/biased due to previous experience.

and honestly, I don't think TS is really an otaku, otakus are on the extreme side of things.
silverhawk
post Jun 3 2012, 07:15 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ Jun 2 2012, 02:06 PM)
I find Otaku unattractive esp their hobbies and interests, since when did I say every girls think the same way with me or did I say I represent every girls to answer TS ?

It's not my fault for finding Otaku unattractive, if you feel offended because you happens to be one of them, it's not my fault either.
It's just personal preferences, there are guys I know who actually prefer materialistic girls, even though I strongly disagree them to find one but still I wish them the best.
I responded to your response because its your kind of bias that TS is having a problem with. Like you said, there are people who still have their own preferences like wanting a virgin gf (although they don't mind sexing them up). Its their preference, its their choice, yes, but it also doesn't change the fact that its close minded and stupid.

And that is what irks me, the close mindedness. It doesn't matter whether its about otakus, handbags, dolls, hello kitties, cars etc. to judge a person by their hobbies is incredibly close minded. You don't have to like what they do, but to think of them negatively for it, that's screwed up; just be neutral about it. You never know what the future holds, one day your BF (maybe husband at that time) might get into anime and start collecting stuff like that, what you gonna do then? Break/divorce? Just cause he started a hobby you find unattractive? I think we both agree that would be rather silly.

Like others have said here, you can't expect people to change nor can you force them to change. I agree to that too. So do I expect you to change after I said all this? No, I don't. Although you can't change people, you can explain things to them so they get a better perspective. Whether they decide to assimilate that new information or not, is their prerogative.

silverhawk
post Jun 3 2012, 09:10 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ Jun 3 2012, 07:52 PM)
Also, do tell me how could you possible to dislike something for no reason. It's like saying I dislike seafood because I dislike seafood ? doh.gif
There must be a reason. If you see it negative that's what you see, some people like my friends even Otaku friends themself find it neutral

I'm very skinny and some of friends actually prefer chubby girls and my size turn them off, do I need make him sit down and explain how attractive I could be ? They find me unattractive, should I cry and start call them close minded and stupid too ? *Sigh*

I had a feeling this was going to come up.

You are right, there are reasons you don't like something, do you ever question what does reasons are? Is it because of bias? prejudice? stereotype? misunderstanding? There are things you can't change because its simply personal preference or built over years of social influence (your looks fall under this category). There are however things that you dislike out of bias and prejudice, the current otaku subject falls under this category.

So why do "otakus" turn you off? I bet, If we were to continue this line of inquiry, we will find that whatever you dislike about "otakus" has nothing to do with the hobby itself, but the person's character. The hobby is just how the bad traits manifested itself. Though most likely due to bad experience you've falsely associated both together.

And, No, it's not going to happen, my bf thinks the same as I do, it waste money, we rather save it up to buy more diapers for our future babies.

For now, who knows what it is in the future. It might not be otaku stuff, but he could be spending his disposable income on other hobbies (men tend to do this), and you're going to think its a waste of money too and arguments begin. The hobby is "useless", no "practical value", "childish", "money can be used for better things", etc. etc. etc. Do you see? the real problem has not been addressed yet. Its simply been shrouded/delayed.

Its stupid to focus on the hobby as though its the problem. I stress again, its the person's character that determines whether the outcome of the hobby will be bad/good. So focus on that, and learn that with the right character, any hobby he has will only make him happy and a better man.

For the last time I will repeat this, I find them unattractive, their hobby turn me off, I had already try to understand it because of my ex and it still doesn't work. It's like asking my grandma enjoy Ax7's music, she will never understand nor she gonna likes it, should I call my grandma stupid as well ? doh.gif

Yes, but she doesn't judge you for it. THAT'S THE DIFFERENCE

Edited : This is forum and TS open a thread to ask everyone, you expect everyone's gonna give positive answer to make him happy ?

Nope, I do not expect that, what I do expect or at least want to see, is less bias and prejudice in people.

There is a reason why so many CCians left CC because when they state out their own opinion, people tend to start the name calling. Which is also why I had been inactive for quite a while.

Its because they take everything personally. There's a difference between saying or doing something stupid vs actually being stupid.

Everyone has their stupid moments, and everyone has their own prejudices, most of the time we may not even realise it. I have not personally called you stupid, but you seem to have taken it that way. What I've said is that the prejudice and close-mindedness you're showing is stupid. Does that mean you're stupid? No, the context remains where it is. It does not translate to the person you are as a whole. Did you miss the part where I was saying its not right to judge a person from just one aspect of their character?

silverhawk
post Jun 5 2012, 09:29 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 4 2012, 05:45 PM)
There are always two ways of looking at things here. uest91 says she find an anime freak a turn off. It is her preference and free will to choose. Yet she is being judged by many as judmental. If it is a girl rejecting a guy who has monstrous bad breath and vegetable stuck between his teath, you probably won't see people coming out to defend the guy who probably has a heart of gold. But when it comes to the popular hobby like anime ....lots of champions rise up to its defence.

So you think its not judgmental to qualify a person based on their hobbies? Don't you think that's rather shallow? That's like saying people who like to go clubbing are sluts, or girls who wear branded clothing are materialistic, or guys who drive sport cars are douchebags, etc. etc.

QUOTE(uest91 @ Jun 5 2012, 05:41 PM)
I no like this hobbies, waste money not bcuz ppl who have this hobbies dislike me so I dislike it. READ PROPERLY PLS.

He no like me because I'm not his cup of tea, he thought I was gonna be a sweet type of girl bcuz of my look. We both took months to found out we don't suit each other and we both agree to end that rlsp.

What is it so hard to understand ? Bcuz of my poor england ? Or what ? From page 1 to 6, I've been repeating and repeating, explaining and explaining.
Maybe its because your english is poor that you've not understood what we're saying. I was going to respond to your response to mine, but I think this one highlights what you're not understanding.

Based on your story of your ex so far, it seems like you broke up because your character/personality/expectation was not compatible. The hobby wasn't really the key point of the break up correct? That means his "otakuness" wasn't the deal breaker in the relationship, but simply because you both were not compatible. There's a big difference there.

This is why I brought up scenarios with your current bf. Your answers to the scenarios will highlight what really is important in your evaluation of a relationship.
If you would break up with him just because he got into a hobby you dislike, that would mean you're just close minded/prejudiced,

In the end i think there's a miscommunication here. You said you wouldn't date "otakus", and most of us here took it as you judging the person based on his hobby, but it seems like you just meant you wouldn't cause of incompatibility in interests; there would be less things to talk about. So here's another question, if you have alot of other interests in common, but he has an additional interests which is anime/figurines, would he still be dateable in your eyes?
silverhawk
post Jun 6 2012, 01:36 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ Jun 5 2012, 10:40 PM)
We both broke up, he's no longer attracted by my personality, I'm no longer attract to him bcuz the stuff he likes, when he shares the things he likes, I'm like 'Oh', I'm not even excited or be happy for him.

I still don't see how its the hobby that caused the break up and how you associate the break up is due to him being interested in otaku culture. It probably was part of the reason, though doesn't seem to be the core reason? Things can be positive, neutral or negative. Seems like his hobby was just a neutral thing for you. If you broke up with him cause he would rather hug an anime pillow than you, or spend his time and money on figurines rather than taking you out on dates. Then I would understand why you say you wouldn't date an otaku.

As it stands, your association of otaku with your break up doesn't make sense.

As for the guy, so far I have yet to meet one so I can't give u an exact answer. I dun wan later I think of what I will do and u guys start to call me stupid or biased or whatever it is. Simply they can't attract me and I'm not interested.

Answer doesn't have to be exact, you don't have to be held up to your answer, its just to see how you're thinking about the issue, so its clearer what you really think. I believe if you answered, the misunderstanding would be cleared up.

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 5 2012, 11:04 PM)
Who says she is qualifying a person based on hobbies ? It is saying this guy or girl is not my type. That's all. I know basically everyone here loves anime but why so touchy ? You people are getting protective because it touches something you like.

Which is what I'm trying to understand here. If she is simply saying that the otakus doesn't interest her, so they're unlikely candidates for her to date, that's fine. Nothing wrong there. However to say that a person is not dateable simply because they're into something she doesn't like/understand is close minded.

If you look at it objectively and take the hobby example out of the context, it is no different than someone saying he doesn't like quiet girls cause he  gets bored of them. It is his preference. He is not attracted to quiet girls. Are you going to bash him for his preference ? People can't be politically right for having own preferences ?

The funny thing is i'm not saying she must like otakus or their hobbies. I'm just saying don't judge a person on them. Doing so is close-minded. The impression she gave me was that if she didn't like the hobby (the otaku just happens to be the subject here), that person isn't partner material. That's just wrong on so many levels.

People don't choose who they get attracted to. It just happens. You can be an otaku with a heart of gold, but if a girl doesn't have the hots for you, then you can't make her, reason with her or lecture her into submission. Feelings come naturally.
Yes, I'm often one to tell people here that attraction is not a choice. However, the issue here is not about attraction, its about repulsion. The repulsion is coming from stereotypes, and trust me I understand why people can get repulsed by otaku culture, but its not the problem with the hobby itself, its about the person's character.

QUOTE(killdavid @ Jun 6 2012, 12:32 AM)
I think it is laughable that so many are looking at this topic with such a skewered view. It has nothing to do with personality. Someone just quoted the original question by TS which I will simulate in the same big picture, changing the minor details (yes, the anime part is not the main issue). For this case we give everyone the benefit of the doubt that they are all decent people with no personality problem.

TS is close to a girl and tells her his love for Java Programming. He tells her about this program he is working on with awesome classes using object oriented programming and with inheritance. Next day girl act like she is not interested in him. TS says programming is a respectable hobby and asks if he is fated to date fellow programmers.

Then everyone says the girl is the problem and is not worth being TS's friend.

The way I see it, TS is the cause of this predicament because he is creating the wrong impression. You bore others and make them lose interest when they cannot relate to your passion, which you are trying so hard to hype it up to her. Maybe you are not an anime extremist but they way you present yourself might seem so to a non-enthusiast and that is where you lose them. You failed in making a good impression or to create a spark. And if you keep insisting the problem is with others, then chances are high that you are fated to date another otaku. Not only do you refuse to accept your short coming and work on it, you become bitter that others don't give you the attention you desire.

I wonder if you noticed that the very points you just said, I and many others who are responding to uest91 have already pointed it out.

What I always try to say is, if you want to get close to someone, try to understand them. Only then you can act accordingly to get their attention. Don't just blindly follow rule of thumbs.

Likewise, don't judge people by stereotypes/misunderstandings. If someone does something to bore you, or offend you and you move away, that's fine and totally understandable. However, if you assume a person's character based on your assumptions from stereotypes, that's just being close-minded.

Try to understand, that there are 2 problems here
1. TS's approach with women needs work (if his hobbies doesn't attract women, then attract them some other way)
2. Society could do with less stereotyping

You people talk as though you must take sides, you don't. I can agree to both and still hold a discussion no?
silverhawk
post Jun 15 2012, 01:29 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ Jun 6 2012, 02:33 AM)
From what I remember ( it was 6 years ago, getting older cant rmb clearly ) he was mumbling bout no space him to put his comics and figures bcuz his room was full with it and what came into my head was ' No space to put then sell it off or dont buy lor, waste money, sendiri lou hei 1 ' I once told him what I thought and he was kinda upset cuz I wasn't being supportive, after that I just give him a 'Oh', he also look sad.

You know rlsp take lots of effort to maintain it, not only you have to be caring and loving to your partner, you have to also understand them, share our interests, communications, interests, do some stuff together and all. This is the stage where we failed to get thru together but somehow me and my current bf could, he plays basketball I play it too, I play games he plays too. My bf plays dota while I prefer dancing game but I took the effort to try and now we play together sometimes when he's free, we have fun together by doing that, sharing same interests and hobbies
Yes, relationships are hard to maintain, and I agree with you on understanding them.

The key point here is that you have to understand your partner, not necessarily the things he does or is interested in. Part of being an understanding partner is to accept that there are things your partner does that you'll never understand or fathom but is important to them. So you have to support it. It just seems that you and your current BF have a lot of compatibility so you've not faced such an issue?

Also the reason why I brought up my ex isn't what you guys thought, bad experience. I brought it up bcuz I did try my best to understand and try to fit in but I just couldn't. Their interests and hobbies somehow just don't click with me. I realize I'm not attract to it so I would not date one.

The reason why I choose not to answer, I really haven't met once, I really don't know how would it be like ?

I'm not taking sides, as i did told TS just do what you like and what makes you happy even when I wouldn't wanna date you because of the attractions and we don't share the same interests.

I'm not asking you to take sides, I'm just trying to understand your train of thought. I'll change my approach, and see if this is more understandable.

Lets start with a scale of -10.....0....10, where -10 is totally disgusting, 0 is neutral, 4 is enough to be BF material and 10 is your dream guy. Lets say you BF now is at 8 (you seem compatible in many ways). Now if he gains a hobby you cannot understand and have no interest in, would that deduct from the score of would that new hobby be something neutral to you? If points are deducted, the question is why? and how much would it deduct? enough to break the relationship?

From what I feel from your responses so far, I think it might be a deduction, but not enough to break the relationship as you've a lot of other points to connect on, so having a few things you can't connect with shouldn't be that much of a problem. Am I right?

silverhawk
post Jun 26 2012, 04:30 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(uest91 @ Jun 16 2012, 10:34 PM)
I had tried to understand him, if not I wouldn't even be with him in the first place, isn't it ? How could I force myself to accept when I'm not attracted to it ? People always tell me Harry Potter movie is gooding, well I'm not into this kind of movie so I force myself to watch it, not even 10mins, I changed the channel.

Yes, it will be a deduction but sooner and later the deduction gonna cause you a break up.

That's a problem. You see it as a deduction when at best it should just be neutral, no deductions, no additions. Even worse, even with a strong foundation, you believe it will end up breaking your relationship. No one is telling you to like it or to be attracted by it. At the same time, you shouldn't dislike it either. Staying in such a mindset is priming yourself for huge problems in the future.

The problem with your ex is that you guys were just incompatible, there was nothing to connect on unlike your current BF. That's why things that didn't interest either of you broke the relationship; there was nothing else holding it as a foundation. Your current relationship has this, so any extra developments shouldn't destroy the core foundation, yet your mind believes it will.

To be clear, I'm not judging your relationship, but I'm pointing out a danger point in your mindset. I don't know how long you've been with your current BF, but if you consider that you'll be with him till your death then consider that you easily have another 50-60 years together. Do you really think during that time neither of you will develop different and new interests? That you will remain exactly as you are now?

In the end its your life and your choice. You can reflect on what I've said and see whether it really applies to your relationship in the present and its future, or you can just ignore it and see how you'll fare if he develops an interest you can't share/understand.
silverhawk
post Jun 26 2012, 01:55 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

I did mention it's a F*CKING PERSONAL PREFERENCES. You see it's ok, be it like or neutral but to me, it's a nono as I said one last f*cking time, it's a waste of money to buy those toys because I poorfag and I don't get the fun of watching japenese cartoon. It does not attract me at all, it's a turn off to me, thus I dislike it. How is it a huge problem to me just because I have one type of guy who couldn't attract me, it's not like the whole sea only have one type of fishes.

Don't focus on the anime/toys part. Those are just a variable in the equation. You can swap it out with anything else and the problem will still be the same as long as you don't like it or don't understand it; it will be a problem. You are creating a weakness in your relationship, which for now is ok, but the moment that spot gets hit, it will be break.

There must be a reason why me and my ex weren't compatible, as I explained, interests, hobbies and personality. If my bf were to suddenly change his whole person for example he becomes an otaku. Yesn we will not break up right away but sooner and later we will. First, we are no longer sharing our 'fun' together, we have less topic to talk about, him buying toys. Like I said, the deduction will sooner become a break up.

Why must be so extreme? Just because he gets a new hobby that you're not interested in or don't understand (once again, not necessarily anime related), doesn't mean you can't still share your fun together right? If you can still share interests, would it still be a problem? Do you need to share 100% of your interests? He share 80% of his interest with you tak cukup? Eventually will break up? I don't think so right.

I will not say both of us will not change but surely we won't change to someone/something that our partner dislike because we already knew it from the start. Like I did mention, my bf hates his girl going to the club, I did not go to any club for years unless he brought me to. I trust him and he trust me as well, if we were to think about so many bullsh*ts, what happen if he become otaku, what happen if she goes clubbing again, might as well we all be single ? We won't even know if any of us gonna cheat in the future again since we both did before.

Is it truly trust if you have to force each other to only do things you both like? Are either of you truly being understanding if you don't allow your partner to do things cause you don't like it or simply can't understand it? You make your relationship sound very unsupportive and restrictive, and from most couples I know that often ends up badly sooner or later.

You don't have to think of the actual possibilities. You just need to come up with a framework on how to evaluate your relationship. If it brings no harm to the core of your relationship, then whatever either of you do shouldn't be a problem right? Can't you be supportive and understanding if your partner is going to grow in an area you do not have interest/understanding in?

My last reply, don't bother to reply to me anymore. It's so f*cking annoying.

Why so defensive?

0.0234sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:51 AM