57 posts

hi~
need to ask about the Carpenter work.
I was quoted by a Carpenter.
He needs 45% as deposit
and 52% before commencement.
3% after job finish.

Is it Standard?

because as u all can see total 97% was collected before i can see anything inside my house and the amount is not small too...

Please help!

phoenix69
post May 30 2012, 09:00 AM

1,836 posts

Does not sound reasonable. shakehead.gif
Reasonably, the initial payment should only cover material.
Handiwork is his business thus in business, the businessman must bear the risk. nod.gif
But..... if his business too good and he do not need your business, tarik harga is also reasonable. tongue.gif
coconutzz
post May 30 2012, 09:17 AM

1,109 posts

My Carpenter only collected 10% as downpayment/deposit from me...anyway, my carpentry job is only RM4k...

Collecting 97% before work done..is really unreasonable...and advise is...dun give, cos they might run away...

But but but...is that what u see on the quotation or that is what he really requested?
Cos most of the time it's written in the quotation but they don't practice it...best is to ask him verbally..to confirm...if still insist 97% then better look for another.

He may not be interested in ur job, thats y he put such a condition smile.gif

This post has been edited by coconutzz: May 30 2012, 09:18 AM
phoenix69
post May 30 2012, 09:51 AM

1,836 posts

If he still insist, either
1. he is not interested
2. only he can do what you want
3. you got bad history with him. tongue.gif
Titan_Gunners
post May 30 2012, 10:34 AM

1,573 posts

My carpenter collect 20% down payment, 30% while installation, 50% after installation. Quite fair for both parties.

This post has been edited by Titan_Gunners: May 30 2012, 10:35 AM
weikee
post May 30 2012, 10:54 AM

12,019 posts

Mine 50% before start, after complete only collect oh well until I chase him to collect :-)
MugenK20A
post May 30 2012, 11:52 AM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ May 30 2012, 11:34 AM)
My carpenter collect 20% down payment, 30% while installation, 50% after installation. Quite fair for both parties.
This is the correct procedure
jforjean
post May 30 2012, 02:34 PM

424 posts

97% before work done is really unreasonable.
May be they not interested to take your job. hmm.gif hmm.gif

TSbaxokp
post May 30 2012, 02:53 PM

57 posts

hi, this is the first time i deal with. no any record yet. he just scare me back off.
i know deposit is a must and the amount is not small also -at least- for me. seems like he more scare on me.
fyi, he is my fren s fren.
mav_850
post May 30 2012, 10:47 PM

287 posts

usually me... collect 50% before work start.. (as custom work).. need to prepare things + as insurance if customer cancell tiba2 when barang sudah beli... doh.gif

for renovation works/build up works 10-30% when hantar barang... (not start yet) smile.gif thats standard procedure..
TSbaxokp
post May 31 2012, 01:11 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(mav_850 @ May 30 2012, 10:47 PM)
usually me... collect 50% before work start.. (as custom work).. need to prepare things + as insurance if customer cancell tiba2 when barang sudah beli... doh.gif

for renovation works/build up works 10-30% when hantar barang... (not start yet) smile.gif thats standard procedure..
agree bro deposit is needed as carpenter has to prepare the things
Meow.26
post May 31 2012, 01:22 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(baxokp @ May 31 2012, 01:11 AM)
agree bro deposit is needed as carpenter has to prepare the things
I believe payment terms can be negotiated. Both parties wanted thing to be in their best interest but as a consumer, we are skeptical with their credibility (workmanship & responsibilities) and i suggest you to negotiate with your carpenter for the payment terms. 52% before commencement is really unreasonable as 3% for your last retention for defection is really dangerous. (defection in terms of poor workmanship in joinery lines, quality, malfunction of accessories - hinges, drawers, sliding doors, etc)

So my advise is, negotiate with him regarding the payment terms and if he is sincere, he will discuss with you on this matter. FYI, last retention/last payment usually cap within 5 - 10% depends on the project amount.
Asianladybird
post May 31 2012, 05:23 AM

QUOTE(baxokp @ May 30 2012, 01:25 AM)
hi~
He needs 45% as deposit
3% after job finish.

Is it Standard?

because as u all can see total 97% was collected before i can see anything inside my house and the amount is not small too...

Please help!
Normally, the term of payment is 40% deposit, 30% upon installation, balance upon completion.

cavynz
post May 31 2012, 08:59 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(baxokp @ May 30 2012, 12:25 AM)
hi~
He needs 45% as deposit
3% after job finish.

Is it Standard?

Please help!
Is this contractor that you have in mind at the moment ? why don't get a few quatation first from other contractors, then you can make a comparison to suit your budget and also your design requirement.

Even though, he is your fren's fren. Sometimes, the close relationship doesnt guaranted you a better price or rather is easier to potong smile.gif

SInce the amount you gonna spend is huge ! why not, take some time to search around first. Unless, you really impressed with the workmanship of this contractor.
TSbaxokp
post May 31 2012, 06:04 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(Meow.26 @ May 31 2012, 01:22 AM)
I believe payment terms can be negotiated. Both parties wanted thing to be in their best interest but as a consumer, we are skeptical with their credibility (workmanship & responsibilities) and i suggest you to negotiate with your carpenter for the payment terms. 52% before commencement is really unreasonable as 3% for your last retention for defection is really dangerous. (defection in terms of poor workmanship in joinery lines, quality, malfunction of accessories - hinges, drawers, sliding doors, etc)

So my advise is, negotiate with him regarding the payment terms and if he is sincere, he will discuss with you on this matter. FYI, last retention/last payment usually cap within 5 - 10% depends on the project amount.
Agreed! 3% is too less. 10% is reasonable for both of us.
Already negotiated with him. So far so good...

Added on May 31, 2012, 6:05 pm
QUOTE(Asianladybird @ May 31 2012, 05:23 AM)
Normally, the term of payment is 40% deposit, 30% upon installation, balance upon completion.
No inspection period?

Added on May 31, 2012, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(cavynz @ May 31 2012, 08:59 AM)
Is this contractor that you have in mind at the moment ? why don't get a few quatation first from other contractors, then you can make a comparison to suit your budget and also your design requirement.

Even though, he is your fren's fren. Sometimes, the close relationship doesnt guaranted you a better price or rather is easier to potong smile.gif

SInce the amount you gonna spend is huge ! why not, take some time to search around first. Unless, you really impressed with the workmanship of this contractor.
Actually i got 2 quotation from 2 carpenters. The other one is quite LCLY and the price is sky high.

This post has been edited by baxokp: May 31 2012, 06:34 PM
kelvyn
post Jun 1 2012, 10:55 AM

3,173 posts

IMHO, paying up 90% before the carpenter even start work in your house is too much. What's the protection for the house owner?
Anyway, this will also depends on the extend of work. Maybe he gave you a very good price... biggrin.gif
In my case, I did not pay my carpenter (for built-in) before he start work. He only collect upon completion. Cos I know him.
As for my kitchen cabinets, I only paid 25% deposit and the balance upon completion.

0.0148sec    1.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:25 PM