Trading Card Games Magic the Gathering, a TCG by WOTC

CHa0sTheory
post Feb 22 2007, 10:35 AM

75 posts

Hi to all amateur/pro/lone wolf MTG players,

To those who're bored on weekends and looking for a gathering of magic players to hangout, look no further. Drop by Restoran Al-Esfan @ Plaza Berjaya (Mamak stall opposite Berjaya Times Square) on Saturdays 2.00 P.M - 9.00 P.M. Our activities includes drafts (currently Time Spiral, Time Spiral, Planar Chaos), constructed (T2 or TSP Block) and "side events" upon player requests. We have a steady turnout of 8 - 16 players every week therefore you'll be able to find casual as well as competitive players.

To those who might be regular there and was wondering who I am. People call me Apek. Any additional info you want to know kindly PM me. Thanks.

FYI - This coming Saturday format is TSP Block Constructed + Draft

This post has been edited by CHa0sTheory: Feb 22 2007, 10:59 AM
CHa0sTheory
post Feb 22 2007, 06:01 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Shopboy @ Feb 22 2007, 05:08 PM)
Zomg Ah Pek??? I tot you quit magic and went to singapore liao?

Btw how much is the Draft and how you split the card? (winner take all?)

Me is scrub, if I come sure kena tapau by you guys one.
Errr... i don't think I have intentions to go Singapore in the 1st place, pls dun confuse me with another Pek C.W. I'm David the Apek.

Draft is RM 25 4-2-2, means winner takes 4 picks and skip the next pick, 2nd & 3rd placing 2 & 2 picks and the rest like normal.

Come and belanja me yumcha when u free laugh.gif

Added on February 22, 2007, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 22 2007, 05:17 PM)
may i ask apocalypse generation card is valuable now?
Only some. On top of my head is only Pernicious Deed.

Planeshift seems to hold more value card as it has FTK, Destructive Flow and Meddling Mages.

This post has been edited by CHa0sTheory: Feb 22 2007, 06:06 PM
CHa0sTheory
post Feb 22 2007, 11:34 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(7chai @ Feb 23 2007, 12:04 AM)
u are the specy apek ? im shaun's fren ? lol  laugh.gif
hello anikin..... biggrin.gif
CHa0sTheory
post Feb 23 2007, 09:11 AM

75 posts

legacy weapon and desolation angel holds no value now as nobody plays it in extended or legacy at all....

and also I like my avatar very much, spankfully
CHa0sTheory
post Feb 26 2007, 09:43 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Feb 25 2007, 04:51 AM)
Waaa we tried drafting using 2 PC and 1 TS and it turned out too wicked... its like playing constructed wth!!! but still unlucky for us there are no damnation in the packs...
I once drafted a B/R deck with 10 Blightspeaker and 4 Prodigal Pyromancer in a triple PC draft. cool2.gif

Hi, can anyone recommend a cheap deck to make for t2 and a place where there are people constantly testing and practising?

Cheap or budget deck means you're stuck playing aggro. In the current T2 i'd recommend playing R/W (Boros) replacing expensive burns with cheaper ones and reduce double color requirements to single color as we can't use shocklands. A decklist on top of my head.

4 Rift Bolt
4 Volcanic Hammer/Sudden Shock
4 Seal of Fire
4 Lightning Helix
1 Disintegrate/Demonfire

3 Scorched Rusalka
4 Simian Spirit Guide
4 Ronom Unicorn
4 Boros Recruit
4 Griffin Guide
2 Calciderm

3 Boros Garrison
1 Sunhome
10 Plains
8 Mountain

Play around with this and tweak it as u like ....have fun. thumbup.gif

CHa0sTheory
post Feb 26 2007, 04:21 PM

75 posts

i would but in 4 momentary blinks for the following reasons:-

1) safely chumps attackers
2) reuses your creature's CIP abilities e.g dryad/oracle
3) instantly flips a face-down Akroma

CHa0sTheory
post Feb 27 2007, 09:13 AM

75 posts

Great, although i still dont know what most cards do they seem to be a solid aggro deck. my other problem is since im stuck with a budget i cant afford mass boosters or starters and im stuck with singles AND i dont know a good place that sell them. anyone can recommend a good store with good community thats active?

Come drop by at Plaza Berjaya, Restoran Al-Esfan (opposite Berjaya Times Square) every Saturday 2.30 PM. We'll help you out on your budget decks. We just need you to pay for the uncommons or rares, commons are just giveaways or worth 50 cents the most. Normally we just gather with our constructed decks and exchange ideas on how to improve it. Look forward to seeing ya. smile.gif
CHa0sTheory
post Feb 27 2007, 01:05 PM

75 posts

well 5-6 from our group will be going, i'm not interested in extended though, go there also play side events only, no point.

I think I'll be only active in ext once IPA block rotates out from ext.
CHa0sTheory
post Feb 28 2007, 11:40 AM

75 posts

We're having a 2 TS + 1 PC Draft session at Restoran Al-Esfan, Plaza Berjaya today 7.30 PM. RM 25. Picks are 4-2-2. Drop by if free.
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 1 2007, 12:49 PM

75 posts

Last nite, drafted a combo deck roughly few winning cards
1 Draining Whelk
1 Riftwing Cloudskate
2 Momentary Blink
2 Sporesower Thalid
1 Thelon of Havenwood (Foil)
Some other Thalids, removals and bounces.
Pure pwnage
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 1 2007, 02:51 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Mar 1 2007, 03:31 PM)
lol godly enough...
blink + thalid is awesome...
sitll remember a guy came back and win me using doubling season + thalids + blink
not like that, what I meant is blink Draining Whelk, can counter spell again, blink riftwing , can bounce another permanent

CHa0sTheory
post Mar 4 2007, 05:18 AM

75 posts

shy or not, just come, nothing to be afraid of or lose.
usually we have at least a pool of 8 players, sometimes up to 16 if got big event e.g release party. draft or constructed play are opened upon player's request till you drop, or the organizer drop. see ya there
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 8 2007, 09:22 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(taeru @ Mar 8 2007, 08:46 AM)
i have some old worthless card and i was wondering if i can trade in a playable t2 deck lol...hopefuly something good that i can use for quite some time
we'll work something out.....
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 9 2007, 09:41 AM

75 posts

the deck is called Scryb & Force. Playable as UG or mono-G. Have same problem as any Aggro deck except Boros. Dies to mass-removal.
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 9 2007, 10:42 AM

75 posts

U/G shockland should hover ard 50-60. The most exp now is U/W and U/B as both are extensively used in T2 and Ext.
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 9 2007, 10:56 AM

75 posts

I may not do it in split second but just to let you know, I'm doing monitoring job so most of my time are spent on looking at the console or LYN forums. Glad to help. thumbup.gif

Yes, the shocklands are outrageously priced, but if you're just a casual player, bouncelands and signets will do. However I don't see it going down anytime soon as you can see Raphael Levy is hiking the price like mad winning 2 Grand Prix back 2 back piloting Domain Zoo which utilize heavily on shocklands. And what's worst most of the core components uses cards from post Invasion Blk, so the deck is good for next 3 years at least.

Overall, my hope on the shocklands actually dropping in price is pretty slim. cry.gif cry.gif
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 9 2007, 11:18 AM

75 posts

I share the card pool among my team members. I'm just saying that the shockland price will not go down anytime soon.
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 9 2007, 12:02 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(magic2k @ Mar 9 2007, 12:58 PM)
actually, extended is rotating next october (2008). the three blocks rotating out are Invasion, Odyssey and Onslaught.
that's why I say even with the rotation, it won't affect domain zoo that much. Fetchlands from Oddysey, Shocklands from Rav.
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 9 2007, 12:29 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Holi^oNe @ Mar 9 2007, 01:25 PM)
Actually the next extended rotation will take out the fetchlands. Losing fetchlands will effect Domain Zoo VERY much. A 5 colour mana base without the ability to mana fix itself will be a pain in the ass. Also without the fetchlands you can't possibly thin your deck fast enough. The 2 main reasons why almost everyone uses fetchlands is extended / vintage / legacy is :

1) The ability to mana fix
2) The ability to thin the deck , thus giving you the chance to top deck game impacting cards as opposed to drawing land.

Oh ya , rumour has it that in Future Sight , WoTC might be planning something crazy like offering us Enemy Fetchlands ~! Let's hope this rumour turns out to be true , I have a feeling it's going to be something like Apocalypse thumbup.gif
oooooooooh, enemy fetchlands drool.gif drool.gif what are they gonna do next, 6th color? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
CHa0sTheory
post Mar 12 2007, 11:26 AM

75 posts

Dralnu in block is missing the soft counters e.g remand, mana leak. Your only access to hard counters like cancel, dismal failure, draining whelk in block is not enough. Dralnu is already a slow deck and will be even slower in Block.

Damnation is absolutely necessary in Block. That's the ONLY mass removal for black, the cheaper ones are in red e.g. sulfurous blast, rough // tumble. If you don't have/can't afford Damnations, don't play Dralnu.

If you're really into cheap U/B for block I'd suggest Pickles instead of Dralnu. Pickles is slightly cheaper, yet offer the same if not inferior control advantage of Dralnu deck.

Here's what Dralnu look like in Block:-

Main Deck
10 Island
6 Swamp
4 Desert
4 Dreadship Reef
1 Academy Ruins

4 Mystical Teachings
4 Dismal Failure
4 Cancel
4 Think Twice
4 Sudden Death