Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V5, Panasonic & Olympus Mirrorless System!

lamjunrong
post Sep 11 2012, 09:05 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Sep 10 2012, 05:32 PM)
Olympus and Panasonic announcement next Monday! Are you guys ready for new body and lenses! wink.gif
what camera they are releasing? can name me the model? btw you mean new body and lens? izit gonna be a new m43 mount? thanks!
lamjunrong
post Sep 12 2012, 03:50 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

i was wonder izit too late to get a Lumix GF3...but i looking for CSC...carrying dslr sometime makes less portability...
lamjunrong
post Sep 12 2012, 03:59 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

GF2 and GF1 is different from GF3..but i just like the small and round...GF1 & 2 got better control and dial...
EMP3 gonna out of my budget...guess GF3 having a good deal now?
lamjunrong
post Sep 12 2012, 11:04 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

me looking for replacement for d7000, carrying it 70-200 is like...duh...like the GF3 curvy body and GF5 pricing kinda exceed my budget...i shot a lot in uni..need a small one for easy carry and superb like the filter effect which entry dslr have to knee down to it...

borrow the GF3 from my friend...very like the noise performance and colour

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Sep 12 2012, 11:09 PM
lamjunrong
post Sep 14 2012, 09:55 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(NISMOgan @ Sep 13 2012, 09:30 AM)
U are looking to get another cam or like u said replace your D7000?
If replace D7000 is much more expensive what hehe....
Yeah these small guys can do big, it can do better than what u captured, maybe u havent used to the cam yet smile.gif
erm not replace lar..D7000 used when i can tarpau everything in the bag..since most of the time in uni i carry book etc..even d7000 with kit lens also eat up lots of space of bag...very un-portable..

guess GF3 can hang on the neck much easier than d7000...but imo...shooting show girls at pc fair would be less opportunity with GF3 as most of them will more likely to pose to those BIG BIG camera...which fire flash like 99...

one more thing...anyone tried fisheye lens on M43? planning to get the samyang 7.5mm ones...
lamjunrong
post Sep 14 2012, 11:36 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

i got my GF3 today, and would like to check shutter count...seems like myshuttercount.com does not work for my Lummy...any idea guys?

doodle-ing...with 14mm...

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Sep 14 2012, 11:41 PM
lamjunrong
post Sep 15 2012, 06:41 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

any idea on how to check shutter count on GF3?
heard you can press multiple button on GF3 when turned on and can view something like this...
is a olympy E620
lamjunrong
post Sep 23 2012, 12:20 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

tcm7782..the show girl from which event and from where you take these shot?
lamjunrong
post Sep 26 2012, 08:17 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(tcm7782 @ Sep 25 2012, 11:55 AM)
sunday afternoon
meet you there and teach me some tips and trick?
lamjunrong
post Oct 4 2012, 06:25 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(kl911 @ Oct 4 2012, 11:10 AM)
thank you very much...
then if i mount sigma 10-20mm onto m43, will it be any black corner appear?
if go to sigma...grab the 8-16mm lens..btw, have to MF lar...but if u grab that price for sigma...grab the panny 7-14mm one...lagi wide...summore no worries on AF and black corner...
if not enuf wide, just shoot panaroma

wire gone missing in the air..my first panaroma from GF3 with 14mm...

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Oct 4 2012, 06:26 PM
lamjunrong
post Oct 9 2012, 07:58 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(AIAF @ Oct 8 2012, 04:53 PM)
Hmm thanks a lot, will read more to understand. So you think getting a Nikon J1 or Olympus XZ-1 is better?

Hope I'm not interrupting the flow of this thread too much, the other one is pretty much dead.
olympus xz-1 has mode dial and more metallic build than J1 or J2...but J1 can interchange lens...
never the less, J1 has bigger sensor that xz-1, which show better performance in low light
lamjunrong
post Oct 11 2012, 08:36 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(cooling_ice269 @ Oct 10 2012, 11:08 PM)
guys.. thinking of a buying a voigtlander. but stuck between 17.5mm and 25mm of focal length. any users here? right now, im keen on investing for 17.5mm since pana leica 25mm is pretty decent
voigtlander 17.5mm wide open at f/0.95...

sharp...but the price lagi sharp...near 3k...

tried both 17.5 and 25mm...both perform like IMBA!
just different zoom range..and really heavy...when on lumix GF3
lamjunrong
post Oct 11 2012, 11:48 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

ohh u mean 25mm is the pana leica ones...since voigtlander got one 25mm f0.95 nokton...i guess 0.95 bokeh is awesome..but kinda hard to MF in my GF3..i ll go for that pana-leica 25mm
lamjunrong
post Oct 13 2012, 12:53 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(cooling_ice269 @ Oct 11 2012, 08:08 PM)
really? is it really hard? i read some reviews on this lens and they said the MF is excellent. probably i'll hire ths lens first...  hmm.gif
erm..for GF3 lar..since no viewfinder..but the trade is good picture...time for leather grip if aim for the voigtlander..damn heavy for GF3
or maybe is i new to MF lens on M4/3

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Oct 13 2012, 12:54 AM
lamjunrong
post Oct 13 2012, 01:55 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(sadaniel @ Oct 12 2012, 11:51 PM)
wide lens sifu, i need ur help. Im planning to trade my 25mm 1.4 with olympus 9-18mm. what do u guys think? i know pana 7-14mm is damn expensive la.

i figured that i rarely used my 25mm 1.4 as i mostly take event photos, parties, wedding and rarely do portraits or street.

Is it stupid to let go a 25mm for a 9-18mm? the fella topup a bit la.
since you rarely use 25mm there is no point let it sleep in cabinet...9-18 for group pic is very good lar..but you need good control on DOF...
me using kit lens 14-42..if 28mm on Full Frame is not enuf..i shot panaroma..then merge it..

shot at 31mm (62mm on FF) with GF3...
me not a UWA guy lar..but very interested on fisheye...i was once urge to get UWA, since i also take group shot also..then thinking of have to watch the picture corner every time composing shot..as it take all in with UWA lens...then end up 14mm f2.5 cukup wide dah...

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Oct 13 2012, 01:59 PM
lamjunrong
post Oct 19 2012, 12:31 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Oct 19 2012, 05:34 AM)
Guys, appreciate your advise...
I have a GF3 with 14-42mm kitlens and the 14mm pancake.
I normally do food photog (easy maaa everyday go eat), some portraits and bits of streets/landscapes during travelling.

Does the 25mm enough for an upgrade? Specially for my needs.
Or the 14mm is already enough?

I guess the main drawback for GF3 is the built-in flash. Any GF3 users here got the solution for this?

Thanks all in advance!
the flash right..i shoot it while tilting the flash upwards a little bit...so make it a bounce flash lar...but i rarely use flash lar...grab that 25mm pancake you rarely use flash...
the 14-42 kit i also rarely use...bit bulky...
food photography? grab this!
Samyang 7.5mm Fisheye for MFT
superb sharp...now i use this more than the pancake...

lamjunrong
post Oct 20 2012, 09:41 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

NISMOgan
samyang 7.5mm? how bout some photo from KLPF...recent photo hasnt sort out yet...

focus with lens hood touching the paper...

guess is sharp enuf? using f5.6...seem like bit under exposed...

that fotogears' boss sell me at rm1000...nego from rm1080...is a beefy and solid manual lens..matching with OM-D would be nice as both having metallic build...
me using GF3...kinda bit problem when focusing...having to tap screen and check the sharpness on corner but the gain is sharp from edge to edge...
lamjunrong
post Oct 21 2012, 08:17 AM

Richelle
1,169 posts

wanted to get more highend stuff like GF3, but err is so tiny...compared to d7000...
25mm is the pana-leica ones? i guess i grab the 45mm leica..poison by tcm kaw kaw...
lamjunrong
post Oct 21 2012, 05:59 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Oct 21 2012, 10:11 AM)
Thot u already own GF3 or did i missed sumthing?
Since u have fisheye, confirm u like the 45mm. Can guess ur style ady.
Go for it! Hehe.

Added on October 21, 2012, 10:15 am
Later thinking of getting zoom lens to replace the 14-42mm kitlens maa.
So can get more variety pix.
typo error...high end stuff like GX1...i own a white GF3...with 14-42, 14mm pancake and samyang 7.5mm...that 14-42 sit inside the box...rarely use it...dunno now why just like fixed focal...one day get the 45mm leica...poison u all kaw kaw...hope so...

i just very fascinating that GF3 having 2-3 times smaller body than my D7000, and that tiny lummy can do stuff much on par with my D7000 (given there is enough light lar...hate GF3 when at night, contrast AF mode fail...) well, that the trade off for smaller body... sad.gif

This post has been edited by lamjunrong: Oct 21 2012, 06:04 PM
lamjunrong
post Oct 21 2012, 09:18 PM

Richelle
1,169 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 21 2012, 07:23 PM)
i much prefer the oly 60mm macro...from reviews almost all say its sharper than the PL45...and street price also is around rm1.7k.
hmm olymppy...i choose this over pana ones as olmpy size is kinda big for my GF3, guess will suit better on bigger body such as GX1 or OM-D...
1.7k... hmm.gif will get hands on to try it...panny's lens lack of metallic feel...

testing GF3 sepia performance...

0.0554sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:54 AM