buying from bodybuilding.com, any custom issues?, supplements import

TSLiela
post May 22 2012, 01:42 PM, updated 14y ago

46 posts

Hi

I wanted to buy some supplements for my workout from bodybuilding.com, i think many of you know about it.

any body have bought those materials (mulit-vitamins, fish oil, fat burners....etc) from the website in Malaysia?

I heard the custom don't mind the powder stuff, but any thing in bills format will be blocked, is it true?

things are damn expensive in Malaysia, even when add the shipping cost, still much cheper than Malaysia...WTF
kob3bryant
post May 22 2012, 10:47 PM

276 posts

perhaps you can try iherb.com with coupon code in my signature, you should have $10 off for the first time with $40 or products purchased. The price is good and attractive. as i bought mono creatine and super amino acid plus postage at rm100 only
TSLiela
post May 23 2012, 10:27 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ May 22 2012, 10:47 PM)
perhaps you can try iherb.com with coupon code in my signature, you should have $10 off for the first time with $40 or products purchased. The price is good and attractive. as i bought mono creatine and super amino acid plus postage at rm100 only
Thanks for your reply smile.gif

I have actually checked iherb.com website before, it is a US company right? Means the stuff you bought (mono creatine + super amino acid + postage) non wear stopped at Malaysia custom?

Just FYI, bodybuilding.com is cheaper than iherb.com, you can use the below 2 links to compare (just 1 brand example)

http://www.bodybuilding.com/store/opt/opt.htm

http://www.iherb.com/Optimum-Nutrition

This post has been edited by Liela: May 23 2012, 10:29 AM
shankar_dass93
post May 23 2012, 06:24 PM

2,955 posts

I have purchased my supplements from bodybuilding.com a few times and havent faced any problems yet.
kob3bryant
post May 23 2012, 09:32 PM

276 posts

i knew it is cheaper for some of the supps in bd.com especially those under promotion. But read a few feedback mentioning the custom clearance issue.

some even said iherb will be having less problem because of the way it ship. that way, custom may not be that strict
razorboy
post May 23 2012, 10:34 PM

#winning
2,634 posts

for as long as you DO NOT buy a huge amount of supps, say more than 4 for each of it, like 5 tubs of this and that, and NOW products. Most of the time they will let it pass with a 5% tax. Most of my parcels that got held was because I bought NOW products. No idea why but they just do. Anything else not much. Don't expect to go through with like 20 bottles of some shit, they're gonna think you're smuggling and they will take it away.

Apart from paying a 5% tax (bring your invoice) from time to time, not much to worry.
chastise
post May 24 2012, 01:24 AM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ May 23 2012, 09:32 PM)
i knew it is cheaper for some of the supps in bd.com especially those under promotion. But  read a few feedback mentioning the custom clearance issue.

some even said iherb will be having less problem because of the way it ship. that way, custom may not be that strict
it's the same, be it bb.com or iherb. No custom issues with bb.com before and just because you want to promote your code....
jphlau
post May 24 2012, 10:32 AM

1,202 posts

actually you can get bb.com discount code as well.. just ask your google friend..
TSLiela
post May 24 2012, 10:37 AM

46 posts

thanks guys for your feedback, really appreciate it. I think in the past, most of the supplements were not sold in Malaysia, so was hard to convince customs that those were safe or need to have import permit.
but now many Malaysia online stores just copy or even directly import from bb.com, so i think should be safe with customs.

Added on May 24, 2012, 10:48 am
QUOTE(razorboy @ May 23 2012, 10:34 PM)
for as long as you DO NOT buy a huge amount of supps, say more than 4 for each of it, like 5 tubs of this and that, and NOW products. Most of the time they will let it pass with a 5% tax. Most of my parcels that got held was because I bought NOW products. No idea why but they just do. Anything else not much. Don't expect to go through with like 20 bottles of some shit, they're gonna think you're smuggling and they will take it away.

Apart from paying a 5% tax (bring your invoice) from time to time, not much to worry.

I ordered like 8 items but only 1 of each type, i ordered the biggest severing, so that need to order less times & save on shipping.
I order shaker/blender of NOW brand, but i guess that should be safe right?
NOW products usually have good review, but i dont think worth the hussel with customs, thanks for the tips icon_rolleyes.gif
do you go the customs office near airport to pay the 5% tax ? i hope they will not held anything for me sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Liela: May 24 2012, 10:48 AM
razorboy
post May 24 2012, 11:22 AM

#winning
2,634 posts

QUOTE(Liela @ May 24 2012, 10:37 AM)
thanks guys for your feedback, really appreciate it. I think in the past, most of the supplements were not sold in Malaysia, so was hard to convince customs that those were safe or need to have import permit.
but now many Malaysia online stores just copy or even directly import from bb.com, so i think should be safe with customs.

Added on May 24, 2012, 10:48 am

I ordered like 8 items but only 1 of each type, i ordered the biggest severing, so that need to order less times & save on shipping.
I order shaker/blender of NOW brand, but i guess that should be safe right?
NOW products usually have good review, but i dont think worth the hussel with customs, thanks for the tips  icon_rolleyes.gif
do you go the customs office near airport to pay the 5% tax ? i hope they will not held anything for me  sweat.gif
I've been buying from BB.com since the day they dont ship to msia, where i needed to do western union transfers and when SHIPPING WAS A HELL LOT CHEAPER. And i was always satisfied until they started to hike up the pricing for the shipping. If you're buying light stuff, it's worth the money, but if you're buying shit that's 5 lbs and all, it's better buying here. Some stuff I still buy at bb.com but most of the time I buy locally.
kob3bryant
post May 26 2012, 12:01 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(chastise @ May 24 2012, 01:24 AM)
it's the same, be it bb.com or iherb. No custom issues with bb.com before and just because you want to promote your code....
hi bro, that was just my suggestion. i do personally find it cheap to buy in bb.com. as for the promo code, it is good for first time buyer. of coz u can choose not to apply it if the USD10 means nothing to you

i dont buy things from far if the margin of saving is not huge. hence, my order with iherb is like one and the final one.

cheers
chastise
post May 26 2012, 04:59 PM

Over the rainbow
1,555 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ May 26 2012, 12:01 PM)
hi bro, that was just my suggestion. i do personally find it  cheap to buy in bb.com. as for the promo code, it is good for first time buyer. of coz u can choose not to apply it if the USD10 means nothing to you

i dont buy things from far if the margin of saving is not huge. hence, my order with iherb is like one and the final one.

cheers
i buy from iherb myself but the way you gave wrong info on custom issues when it comes to bb.com is unfair. Both bb.com and iherb, it's the same. Both use dhl global so ultimately when it comes to the customs clearance, it should be the same. It depends on whether you are lucky enough to have it detained. There's no reason why bb.com's package will have a higher % of having custom clearance issues.

I have no issue of you promoting your code and earning a few bucks from there.
kob3bryant
post May 26 2012, 06:53 PM

276 posts

erm.... maybe that's just someone who mentioned it by his own opinion and made me believe in it. Now only i realized, i am actually so wrong on this point.
TSLiela
post Jun 11 2012, 12:40 PM

46 posts

I have received my supplements & I just thought I would update this thread.It took 20 days (using cheapest shipment rate) but no customs issues.

just like someone mentioned before, we will need to consider the shipping cost, although sometimes there could be a money save on some items as compared to MY online sites.
alien9
post Jun 11 2012, 01:20 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Liela @ Jun 11 2012, 12:40 PM)
I have received my supplements & I just thought I would update this thread.It took 20 days (using cheapest shipment rate) but no customs issues.

just like someone mentioned before, we will need to consider the shipping cost, although sometimes there could be a money save on some items as compared to MY online sites.
What supplement do you buy? And no tax?
aaronpang
post Jun 11 2012, 02:05 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

Royal Malaysian Customs maintains a list of shipper addresses to keep a look for. IE known for shipping taxable items, etc..

BB.com is on that list, chances are higher parcels from that originating address will taxed nod.gif
TSLiela
post Jun 13 2012, 04:42 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(alien9 @ Jun 11 2012, 01:20 PM)
What supplement do you buy? And no tax?
I didn't have to pay any tax,

supplements were whey, hydrobuilder, multi-vatamin, BCAA, CLA & L-Carnitine.

Added on June 13, 2012, 4:47 pm
QUOTE(aaronpang @ Jun 11 2012, 02:05 PM)
Royal Malaysian Customs maintains a list of shipper addresses to keep a look for. IE known for shipping taxable items, etc..

BB.com is on that list, chances are higher parcels from that originating address will taxed nod.gif
is the list of shippers available to public?
for me I didn't have to pay any tax. just delivered directly to me by DHL Global Mail service (not express)

However, on BB package, they stick a "customs declaration" on items lists with the price & quantity.
Maybe the tax depends on total cost? I know some countries do like that.

This post has been edited by Liela: Jun 13 2012, 04:47 PM
alien9
post Jun 13 2012, 05:26 PM

These stars mean nothing
3,030 posts

QUOTE(Liela @ Jun 13 2012, 04:42 PM)
I didn't have to pay any tax,

supplements were whey, hydrobuilder, multi-vatamin, BCAA, CLA & L-Carnitine.

Added on June 13, 2012, 4:47 pm

is the list of shippers available to public?
for me I didn't have to pay any tax. just delivered directly to me by DHL Global Mail service (not express)

However, on BB package, they stick a "customs declaration" on items lists with the price & quantity.
Maybe the tax depends on total cost?  I know some countries do like that.
means that you only pay for supplement+shipping and that is it? how much is the total cost?

I called the custom but they say the supps need to be taxed. But the jay cutler shaker have a tax for 25% so that is too much IMO. Anyway, if there is to custom issue then it is a good news for me.
ChinHong86
post Jun 14 2012, 12:03 AM

1,116 posts

purchased twice b4 frm bb.com
both oso above 100usd
never got taxed b4
and never got any custom issues
str8 to nthe house within 3 weeks
swks26
post Jun 14 2012, 05:48 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

If you guys know, bb.com has a 10% discount code like every month or so. Takes some work to find it though.

0.0208sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:50 PM