For my car = underpower and doesn't save much because I will need to press more on the accelerator
Some people complained knocking for their cars also....which I find it weird too
RON 95 CAUSED DAMAGES, Rumours has been spreading around.
May 22 2012, 01:04 PM
19,320 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
For my car = underpower and doesn't save much because I will need to press more on the accelerator
Some people complained knocking for their cars also....which I find it weird too |
May 22 2012, 02:28 PM
407 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kay El |
QUOTE(bumfart @ May 22 2012, 11:58 AM) depends on each engine. the manual will state what fuel you can use. My old e46 also states that it can use "Unleaded RON91-98" while SGTI "says" min RON95 e.g. 130Y states RON95. this is carb car, so use RON97 will give no difference since it cannot change the timing automatically new C200k says RON91-98. this modern car has knock sensors and complete control over valve and ignition timing so it can adjust accordingly. i heard JDM cars must take RON98 This post has been edited by hitsugayat10: May 22 2012, 02:29 PM |
May 22 2012, 02:47 PM
2,531 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Land below the wind |
bhp pawn every other interms of millage ....go try it out yourself no tipu....
May 22 2012, 02:50 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gQghB4asSnI
For those of you that say RON95 is JUNK and worship RON97!!! hahahaha in UK SHELL OPTIMAX is RON98 Ultimate is RON97 supermarket is RON 95 Unless you driving performance car like GOLF and SUBARU then yeah it make sense Normal car... better give me your money... Added on May 22, 2012, 2:57 pmnow you know why CIVIC TYPE-R recommend RON97 and other normal car is RON95 or RON91 This post has been edited by calvin_ng: May 22 2012, 02:57 PM |
May 22 2012, 04:54 PM
421 posts Joined: May 2010 From: Seri Gombak |
May 22 2012, 05:12 PM
43 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
RON95 i would prefer bhp or caltex
they are more reliable in my opinion 97 will go for shell or bhp |
May 22 2012, 05:20 PM
1,048 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
no such thing cause damage if use RON95. good car with good engine can support up to RON92. in thailand their normal grade of fuel is RON92. premium 1 is RON 95. so msian shd not complaning much. only blame the car engine if you car cannot support RON95/92.
May 22 2012, 05:23 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
IMHO, from $$$ pov, it makes no sense to pump 95 cuz its much more expensive. look at the small piece of paper when you pump petrol, RM3.5x per litre without subsidy. so my question is why would you subsidize a more expensive fuel? why not just give the same subsidy to 97 and this problem wont arise? (RM2.90 gov set market price -RM1.05 subsidy= RM1.85/litre of RON 97)
I am just stating from official figures. I am ignoring performance in this senario. |
May 22 2012, 05:26 PM
19,042 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Soleanna |
QUOTE(bumfart @ May 22 2012, 11:58 AM) depends on each engine. the manual will state what fuel you can use. not true ... can taruk 95 if needede.g. 130Y states RON95. this is carb car, so use RON97 will give no difference since it cannot change the timing automatically new C200k says RON91-98. this modern car has knock sensors and complete control over valve and ignition timing so it can adjust accordingly. i heard JDM cars must take RON98 |
May 23 2012, 11:11 PM
412 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Isle of Legend |
Dear TS.. your car going to KONG soon. not becos of the fuel RON u used all these while.
who is the hell of your mechanic cerita grandmother story to u? all wrong/false claimed. my advice to TS, pls get another workshop to get your car repaired. |
May 24 2012, 12:05 AM
1,048 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
merc E class n bmw recommended fuel is RON95, Min is RON91.
but i heard proton wira having problem using ron95, so many ppl in the market says RON95 cannot use and will spoilt engine after sometime, maybe they are those ppl driving wira and maybe is rumours. what say u |
May 24 2012, 12:08 AM
19,320 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
Anyway enough talking...damages caused to the car is NOT due to the fuel. Case close
May 24 2012, 11:27 PM
348 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Te Aotearoa |
TRUE..!!
TS, I've experienced in 2 of my cars: kembara & kancil (L5 efrl turbo). In my kembara's case: using RON 95 (any brand), when driving @ constant speed of 90kmh and above for more then 5 minutes, engine suddenly choke and flooring the pedal make it worse that the engine will die while moving..even turning the key to start also wont help and i have to free the gear and slowly move to the side of the road and wait for around few minutes before i can start the car again.. at first i tot this is surely engine problem but once during a long journey, i tried filling in ron97 fuel full tank and the problem nvr occur. i tried again filling ron95 when tank almost empty and as expected, the car choke again..so now, i only use ron97 fuel and that surely trims my pocket even more.. only occasionaly i fill in ron95 (when pocket almost empty).. My kancil's case: using ron95 (any brand), when accelarating, the engine shudder/jerks causing a non smooth acceleration.. but no engine die problem as my kembara does. using ron97, no problem occurs. My hyundai (getz): no problem using ron95.. just abit sluggish that's all.. as expected. so, for those having similar problems as i am (engine jerks n die), try using ron97 for a change.. that might solve the problem.. |
May 26 2012, 04:55 AM
931 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
May 26 2012, 08:27 AM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
QUOTE(alxdc @ May 21 2012, 05:24 PM) Hi, I'm not sure whether has this topic been posted here before. I have been hearing stories about how bad RON 95 is. People been telling me that this petrol will easily caused car catch fire. This is why now days we have been seeing and hearing allot of car caught fire. I realized that allot of car caught fire victims ever since RON95 been introduced. Use RON95 for my Inspira 2.0 for 1 year. No problem.I even hear stories like our Ron 95 is not a real 95. It was from the ron92 that added addictive to produce like Ron 95 which can harm the car engines and parts. I was using RON95 for my Honda city for about 6 months and my car slowly develops problems. Problems like throttle body and throttle sensor making my car chocking. Car behaving weird and when sent to HONDA, the machenIC told me not to use ron95 as it will wear out car parts and damage easily. I experienced difficulties of gear shift. Feels like it dO not want to shift to the next gear, lagging or something. The engine raw. It's louder than before and felt lack of power. So when mechanic advice to use rOn97. Everything works find now. Gear shifting is smooth and no more weird behavior like car chockIng engine dying. Engine is quieter like before. I would like to hear what are your opinions Savvy RON 95 maybe 2 years...no problem. Old Myvi 1.3 also 2 years..no problem. Mostly Petronas (80%), BP(10%), Yang Lain-Lain (10%). Confirmed it's your car problem. This post has been edited by Matrix: May 26 2012, 08:29 AM |
May 26 2012, 12:25 PM
412 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Isle of Legend |
QUOTE(Travies @ May 24 2012, 12:05 AM) merc E class n bmw recommended fuel is RON95, Min is RON91. proton wira. ok bro here the explanation. but i heard proton wira having problem using ron95, so many ppl in the market says RON95 cannot use and will spoilt engine after sometime, maybe they are those ppl driving wira and maybe is rumours. what say u most wira on the road now are still run carb. car with carb need to adjust the air/fuel mixture(smooth idle rpm) n' distributor for ignition timing for spark plugs. b4 RON 95 around our market. most car were tuned with RON 97 spec/running state. tuning not just dyno the car like u read hypertune mag.. every carb engine need to do tuning in order to get running at optimum state(less FC for most normal driver want) when RON 95 came out. again most of the proton wira(except fuel injection model) car driver/owner don't aware of their car need to go for re-tune. some of carb wira owner run on RON 95 with no problem b'cos either the engine knocking is so small even driver can't feel it. only feel the car was lazy to get going. when used it for years with no problem.suddenly the car act weird. then only seek for mechanic to check. most mechanic claimed is the fuel that cause the problem. actually is not true. why? mechanical parts ie. carburetor will face wear-and-tear for period of time. even u don't race the engine, it will still worn off the fuel metering parts inside it. depends on condition, either some adjustment or repair can be fixed or parts replace is needed to fix it. whereas, EFI or MPFI and direction injection engine are run with the help of ECU(Engine Control Unit). a computer box to control the engine during running. most modern car use it with build-in anti knocking sensor to ensure the engine run in smooth and optimum state set by the each car manufacturer. ie. maybe the ECU will retard the engine timing(ignition timing) to suite RON 95. when engine timing been retard of cos the car will feel less power. maybe engine equip with double vanos, vtec,i-vtec, cvtc, vvti,vvel, etc etc..... these system will slightly compensate the power loss from lower RON fuel but will not as responsive/same state like using RON 97 for sure. |
May 27 2012, 08:12 PM
659 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Russia with Love |
JDM car needed RON98 to run on its optimum performance but can run RON95 if needed. I'm driving a swift sport but once awhile I feed it with RON95 no problem also, there's decreased in performance yes but engine kong I said its bullshit.
May 27 2012, 09:11 PM
7,951 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
got money, buy RON97
no money, buy ROn95 not enough money, WALK. |
Jun 11 2012, 09:50 AM
71 posts Joined: May 2011 |
After using Ron 95 for the third tank. I realized that my car engine bay is hotter. I never felt so hot before when I was using Ron 97. Anyone Can confirm this?
Jun 11 2012, 10:02 AM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
RON95 have no issue laaa Proton Saga (Old)/Iswara and Wira (Carb) is tune for RON91 (Due to thailand requirement) if not how on hell you drive your car to Thailand cross border over there there is no such thing as RON97 and they pump RON91!!!
all car authorized manufacturer seller (ASEAN country) is compatible with RON91 (minumum requirement) All recond car (From other country AP car) -Europe country (RON92 minimum) - supermarket grade, except sport car - Japan orgin (JDM cars) - (RON95/97 minimum) as Japan lowest RON is RON97 and their premium fuel is RON99 (If car has knock sensor RON95) expect horse power reduction - US orgin car (RON 95) minimum RON97 only car Modified car like Kancil Turbo (Transplant from L2000/L5 etc etc) RON97 min as Car in Japan is RON97 Honda Civic Type-R : RON97 minimum *Recomend by japan RON98/99 so Shell V-power works here Performance/sport car better RON97 since you guys can afford it Those who transplant engine (half cut from Japan) prefer RON97 |
| Change to: | 0.0242sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:57 AM |