Well, I presume you're thinking of using your Mac as a Monitor for watching Unifi IPTV set top box.
Closest way I can think of is to add a USB or Thunderbolt HD video capture device and a HDMI-to-Component converter. Forget connecting IPTV box direct to a Blackmagic Intensity Thunderbolt- Blackmagic HDMI capture cards dun implement HDCP, meaning it will only play sound while showing a black screen saying "Copy Protection Failed". A good quality HDMI-to-Component converter should also support HDCP decryption, meaning at least output HD Analog. Once output is converted to analog, then you can connect the converter to Blackmagic Intensity Thunderbolt, Hauppage HD-PVR or Elgato EyeTV HD.
If picture quality not important to you, you can also try SD with a more normal USB video capture device, but not sure how far you can go with that, IPTV set top box SD analog output is also macrovision protected and success may vary depending whether the video capture device (does not) supports macrovision...
(does not support is the keyword here. Analog macrovision is the opposite of HDCP. If the video capture device supports, it will only display black screen with "Signal Copy Protected" message. If doesn't support, it will blindly capture the video).
Either way, it's not going to be cheap and may involve importing the converter from online store...
This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 21 2012, 10:00 PM
watching unifi IPTV from iMac
May 21 2012, 09:21 PM
0.0168sec