watching unifi IPTV from iMac

TSciahcra
post May 21 2012, 01:08 PM, updated 14y ago

Always hungry
897 posts

I just bought an iMac yesterday, and was wondering if it's possible to watch the iptv that comes with unifi subscription from my iMac. all the hardwares (modem, router etc..) are next to my mac, so it will be connected by cables.

do i need to get the apple tv?

BRY7
post May 21 2012, 01:09 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(ciahcra @ May 21 2012, 01:08 PM)
I just bought an iMac yesterday, and was wondering if it's possible to watch the iptv that comes with unifi subscription from my iMac. all the hardwares (modem, router etc..) are next to my mac, so it will be connected by cables.

do i need to get the apple tv?

getting apple tv would be better.
HyppTV don't work with iMac
TSciahcra
post May 21 2012, 01:15 PM

Always hungry
897 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ May 21 2012, 01:09 PM)
so with apple tv also i won't be able to watch anything on hypptv? not that i really want to watch it, it just that i feel kinda wasted because the hypptv is now connected to my old crt tv, but nobody is watching it anyway.

will i be able to watch local channels (RTM, TV3 etc.....) with apple tv?
BRY7
post May 21 2012, 01:19 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(ciahcra @ May 21 2012, 01:15 PM)
so with apple tv also i won't be able to watch anything on hypptv? not that i really want to watch it, it just that i feel kinda wasted because the hypptv is now connected to my old crt tv, but nobody is watching it anyway.

will i be able to watch local channels (RTM, TV3 etc.....) with apple tv?
you can get more info on Apple TV at www.apple.com/appletv
hypp tv has to be connected to a TV, unless your iMac is a 27" it could be a display for the HyppTV
olivur
post May 21 2012, 06:39 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,283 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ May 21 2012, 01:09 PM)
shameless plug is shameful.

@ts -

http://www.cultofmac.com/20176/using-imac-...specific-cable/

RAMChYLD
post May 21 2012, 09:21 PM

1,715 posts

Well, I presume you're thinking of using your Mac as a Monitor for watching Unifi IPTV set top box.

Closest way I can think of is to add a USB or Thunderbolt HD video capture device and a HDMI-to-Component converter. Forget connecting IPTV box direct to a Blackmagic Intensity Thunderbolt- Blackmagic HDMI capture cards dun implement HDCP, meaning it will only play sound while showing a black screen saying "Copy Protection Failed". A good quality HDMI-to-Component converter should also support HDCP decryption, meaning at least output HD Analog. Once output is converted to analog, then you can connect the converter to Blackmagic Intensity Thunderbolt, Hauppage HD-PVR or Elgato EyeTV HD.

If picture quality not important to you, you can also try SD with a more normal USB video capture device, but not sure how far you can go with that, IPTV set top box SD analog output is also macrovision protected and success may vary depending whether the video capture device (does not) supports macrovision...

(does not support is the keyword here. Analog macrovision is the opposite of HDCP. If the video capture device supports, it will only display black screen with "Signal Copy Protected" message. If doesn't support, it will blindly capture the video).

Either way, it's not going to be cheap and may involve importing the converter from online store...

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 21 2012, 10:00 PM
TSciahcra
post May 22 2012, 01:00 PM

Always hungry
897 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 21 2012, 09:21 PM)
Well, I presume you're thinking of using your Mac as a Monitor for watching Unifi IPTV set top box.

Closest way I can think of is to add a USB or Thunderbolt HD video capture device and a HDMI-to-Component converter. Forget connecting IPTV box direct to a Blackmagic Intensity Thunderbolt- Blackmagic HDMI capture cards dun implement HDCP, meaning it will only play sound while showing a black screen saying "Copy Protection Failed". A good quality HDMI-to-Component converter should also support HDCP decryption, meaning at least output HD Analog. Once output is converted to analog, then you can connect the converter to Blackmagic Intensity Thunderbolt, Hauppage HD-PVR or Elgato EyeTV HD.

If picture quality not important to you, you can also try SD with a more normal USB video capture device, but not sure how far you can go with that, IPTV set top box SD analog output is also macrovision protected and success may vary depending whether the video capture device (does not) supports macrovision...

(does not support is the keyword here. Analog macrovision is the opposite of HDCP. If the video capture device supports, it will only display black screen with "Signal Copy Protected" message. If doesn't support, it will blindly capture the video).

Either way, it's not going to be cheap and may involve importing the converter from online store...
sounds complicated enough sweat.gif sweat.gif

maybe I'll be better off buying HDTV, much easier... haha

thanks btw thumbup.gif
RAMChYLD
post May 22 2012, 02:05 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ciahcra @ May 22 2012, 01:00 PM)
sounds complicated enough  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

maybe I'll be better off buying HDTV, much easier... haha

thanks btw  thumbup.gif
tongue.gif Dun need too expensive HDTV. A small HD-Ready LCD TV is good enough for your need if you want to place it next to the Mac.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 22 2012, 02:07 PM
TSciahcra
post May 23 2012, 05:58 PM

Always hungry
897 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 22 2012, 02:05 PM)
tongue.gif Dun need too expensive HDTV. A small HD-Ready LCD TV is good enough for your need if you want to place it next to the Mac.
haha yeah. so any good one you wanna recommend? smile.gif
RAMChYLD
post May 24 2012, 12:29 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ciahcra @ May 23 2012, 05:58 PM)
haha yeah. so any good one you wanna recommend? smile.gif
None tongue.gif Just shop around in Carrefour, Tesco, etc. I won't recommend any models as this is all up to budget and personal taste.

Actually it's not that complicated to connect the Mac to IPTV if you ask me. Only problem is that it costs a lot more than a cheap HD-Ready LCD TV and not worth the investment unless your intention is to record shows for archive purposes (the HDMI-to-Component device is expensive to discourage use in piracy. The HD Capture device is expensive because low supply).

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: May 24 2012, 12:47 PM
SUSblinkxox
post Jul 8 2013, 06:38 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ May 24 2012, 12:29 AM)
None tongue.gif Just shop around in Carrefour, Tesco, etc. I won't recommend any models as this is all up to budget and personal taste.

Actually it's not that complicated to connect the Mac to IPTV if you ask me. Only problem is that it costs a lot more than a cheap HD-Ready LCD TV and not worth the investment unless your intention is to record shows for archive purposes (the HDMI-to-Component device is expensive to discourage use in piracy. The HD Capture device is expensive because low supply).
bro, any idea if the apple cinema display can work with hypptv box? or is d results like the cultofmac link above? hmm.gif
RAMChYLD
post Jul 8 2013, 11:03 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(blinkxox @ Jul 8 2013, 06:38 AM)
bro, any idea if the apple cinema display can work with hypptv box? or is d results like the cultofmac link above? hmm.gif
Well, I don't have said display, but I'll play safe and say the result will be like the cultofmac link.
lieck
post Sep 1 2016, 06:52 AM

108 posts

dont have apps hypptv everywhere for apple tv.. if u want to play hypptv everywhere.. just download it to your ipad.. then play it on ipad then mirror to apple tv.. hihihi
firdausbhari
post Sep 13 2016, 11:41 AM

2,282 posts

well, u have a mac. just use ur safari browser to watch hypptv everywhere......

save all the technical hassle.

hypptv.tm.com.my

free registration.

watch local TV channels for free. excluding VOD.

rclxms.gif
shinystargirl
post Sep 28 2016, 01:31 PM

27 posts

I have apple tv and after a month of trying nobody uses it.
SUSchokia
post Oct 6 2016, 08:31 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

Anyone knows how to watch hypptv using chrome instead of safari?

This post has been edited by chokia: Oct 6 2016, 08:31 AM

0.0174sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 08:06 AM