4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

(WTA) Chamber screw

TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:35 AM, updated 14y ago

34 posts

Hi all the sifus here.
I recently got my new car and changed the rim to sport rims near Rawang there.
During allignment time, they claimed that my wheels not in nice position or "lari".
So what they said is to change the chamber screw that provided by them and it cost RM80 for a pair of that screw.
Do I really have to change the chamber screw after changing to new sport rims? The workers there said that the tyre will wear out on one side if I don't use the chamber screw provided by them.
I left the shop without changing the chamber screw at last btw.
Quazacolt
post May 17 2012, 01:38 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

rm80 = rip off lol
TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:43 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2012, 01:38 AM)
rm80 = rip off lol
Definitely a rip off for just a pair of screw. LOL
But it doesn't affect much right?
Quazacolt
post May 17 2012, 01:46 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ May 17 2012, 01:43 AM)
Definitely a rip off for just a pair of screw. LOL
But it doesn't affect much right?
if you indeed do not have camber adjustment screws then you will require one (or 2) per side (which makes a pair) to allow camber adjustments.

common prices are rm10-20 give/take per piece, so anything more are basically rip off.
TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:47 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2012, 01:46 AM)
if you indeed do not have camber adjustment screws then you will require one (or 2) per side (which makes a pair) to allow camber adjustments.

common prices are rm10-20 give/take per piece, so anything more are basically rip off.
It's a new car. Of course there are camber adjustment screws right? yawn.gif
The shop people said that their chamber screw are special type and even showed me the different of their screw and the original screw in my car.
Quazacolt
post May 17 2012, 01:48 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ May 17 2012, 01:47 AM)
It's a new car. Of course there are camber adjustment screws right? yawn.gif
The shop people said that their chamber screw are special type and even showed me the different of their screw and the original screw in my car.
some cars by default dont have camber adjusting screws.
TSkennywee92
post May 17 2012, 01:49 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 17 2012, 01:48 AM)
some cars by default dont have camber adjusting screws.
Ahhhh. Now I know. Thanks for the info smile.gif
WhitE LighteR
post May 17 2012, 01:51 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Just leave it as it is... If it comes out of factory non adjustable then there is ntg wrong with it being non adjustable. Since its a new car just bring back to the car manufacturer to do alignment there. They should have a more accurate setting specific for your car model...
h4dRi
post May 17 2012, 12:38 PM

97 posts

usually when we refuse to use their alignment service after we bought tires or rims from their shop,

they will purposely adjust tie rod screw to make our car's steering become not straight so we will go there again to do alignment.

so make sure after they install the tires back to our car, pay them & go try other shop to check alignmnet
ckseng
post May 17 2012, 02:22 PM

328 posts

Some shop are sux. I encounter two workshop mention my car camber run off. Need to change the screw in order to adjust the camber. I say no need. It okay. After i left the shop i feel the steering not straight. I drive back and told him. He say my camber already lari so the steering not straight. After i get this answer from him i know this workshop is sux. As i know this issue is not related to camber.

I drive to another workshop nearby my house. I told him steering not straight. He do the alignment. The screen on the alignment machine flashing red on the camber. He never mention anything about camber. The steering was straight after this workshop. So from that day onward i always sent my car there to change tires and alignment. I even pretend to be noob asking him why this red color de. He say camber alignment not tat good but my car cannot adjust so nothing he can do.
chemistry
post May 17 2012, 02:51 PM

3,066 posts

QUOTE(ckseng @ May 17 2012, 02:22 PM)
Some shop are sux. I encounter two workshop mention my car camber run off. Need to change the screw in order to adjust the camber. I say no need. It okay. After i left the shop i feel the steering not straight. I drive back and told him. He say my camber already lari so the steering not straight. After i get this answer from him i know this workshop is sux. As i know this issue is not related to camber.

I drive to another workshop nearby my house. I told him steering not straight. He do the alignment. The screen on the alignment machine flashing red on the camber. He never mention anything about camber. The steering was straight after this workshop. So from that day onward i always sent my car there to change tires and alignment. I even pretend to be noob asking him why this red color de. He say camber alignment not tat good but my car cannot adjust so nothing he can do.
Would you be kind enough to share with us the name of the workshop you visited ?
TSkennywee92
post May 22 2012, 12:28 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ May 17 2012, 12:38 PM)
usually when we refuse to use their alignment service after we bought tires or rims from their shop,

they will purposely adjust tie rod screw to make our car's steering become not straight so we will go there again to do alignment.

so make sure after they install the tires back to our car, pay them & go try other shop to check alignmnet
True this. Especially Rawang and Klang tyres shop. I went over to Rawang to change my sport rims btw. I knew they gonna ask me to change to their chamber screw when they are doing allignment for my wheels. But I insist not to change it.
Will be going for 1000km service soon and ask the service center to do allignment biggrin.gif
shinjite
post May 22 2012, 04:09 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Camber and Chamber are two totally different meanings man =.=
bladekiller
post May 22 2012, 07:53 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(kennywee92 @ May 22 2012, 12:28 AM)
True this. Especially Rawang and Klang tyres shop. I went over to Rawang to change my sport rims btw. I knew they gonna ask me to change to their chamber screw when they are doing allignment for my wheels. But I insist not to change it.
Will be going for 1000km service soon and ask the service center to do allignment  biggrin.gif
i didn't experience this when i went over to the Klang rim shop to change my rims.
but I did read online about tyre shops charging ppl (alot of $) on the camber screws
TSkennywee92
post May 22 2012, 11:11 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 22 2012, 04:09 PM)
Camber and Chamber are two totally different meanings man =.=
I'm sorry but what's the different? I'm talking about chamber I guess?

Added on May 22, 2012, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(bladekiller @ May 22 2012, 07:53 PM)
i didn't experience this when i went over to the Klang rim shop to change my rims.
but I did read online about tyre shops charging ppl (alot of $) on the camber screws
Mine was rm80 for left and right screws.

This post has been edited by kennywee92: May 22 2012, 11:12 PM
mADmAN
post May 23 2012, 12:14 AM

10,530 posts

no...ur talking about camber...

chamber usually refers to a room/enclosure of sorts... or long ago...people used to call b00bs "chamber" (street slang kinda thing)

This post has been edited by mADmAN: May 23 2012, 12:15 AM
TSkennywee92
post May 23 2012, 01:20 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 23 2012, 12:14 AM)
no...ur talking about camber...

chamber usually refers to a room/enclosure of sorts... or long ago...people used to call b00bs "chamber" (street slang kinda thing)
Sorry for the spelling mistake. But I was referring to the camber screw in the wheel. So yeah.
taitianhin
post Sep 18 2014, 02:16 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

Yo btw...
Anyone know where to make complain, if we feel we got con my this type of Tyre shop?
Any body and consumer to lodge a report too?
-RIC-
post Sep 18 2014, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Sep 18 2014, 02:16 PM)
Yo btw...
Anyone know where to make complain, if we feel we got con my this type of Tyre shop?
Any body and consumer to lodge a report too?
Bro,

Wad was ur case ?
Mind to share ?
taitianhin
post Sep 18 2014, 05:10 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(-RIC- @ Sep 18 2014, 05:05 PM)
Bro,

Wad was ur case ?
Mind to share ?
NOt sure if I have been charge for the right service. I have just got both of my rear Tyre changes recently.
Did alignment, balancing
at end the mechanic say the device (Red laser thingy) show the chamber or something is off....need adjust,
he charge me RM75 * 2 wheel. i could barely remember, is was way out of abt 2-3 in degree,,,

now think back is a bit WTF... and that day i was a bit sleepy

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:44 AM