MAS, under value?

turbopips
post Apr 12 2013, 10:25 AM

359 posts

Renounceable rights issue of up to 13,368.6 million new ordinary shares ofRM0.10 each in MAS (RIGHT SHARE(S)) on the basis of four (4) Rights Shares forevery one (1) existing ordinary share of RM0.10 each in MAS held by MAS'shareholders whose names appear on MAS Record of Depositors as at 5.00 p.m. on6 May 2013 at an issue price of RM0.23 per Rights Share.

Can any sifus help to explain this pls. Meaning if i have 4000 MAS shares, i will have the option to buy another 1000 MAS shares at RM0.23 or buy 1000 MAS-warrant at RM0.23?

turbopips
post Apr 12 2013, 10:57 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(eibach @ Apr 12 2013, 10:38 AM)
for those holding every 1000 share MAS will entitle to buy 4000 shares (MAS) with RM0.23 per share....
but then there is a capital reduction on par value from 1.00 to 0.10.... i am not sure whether will affected the quantity holding ... anyone can clarify on the this....
Are u sure? MAS shares is now 0.76. If they offer 0.23 for mother share worth 0.76, it will be a RM0.5 premium! Just want to clarify on this as my dealer says MAS is offering a new rights of RM0.23 which will eventually be warrant and not mother share but she will double check.

Seeking to ask Sifu advise on this as from yr statement this looks attractive

This post has been edited by turbopips: Apr 12 2013, 10:58 AM
turbopips
post Apr 12 2013, 12:10 PM

359 posts

[quote=eibach,Apr 12 2013, 11:43 AM]
[quote=turbopips,Apr 12 2013, 10:57 AM]
Are u sure? MAS shares is now 0.76. If they offer 0.23 for mother share worth 0.76, it will be a RM0.5 premium! Just want to clarify on this as my dealer says MAS is offering a new rights of RM0.23 which will eventually be warrant and not mother share but she will double check.

Seeking to ask Sifu advise on this as from yr statement this looks attractive

[/quote
sure for the right issue for mother with RM0.23 per share and not for warrant , but the only things i am not sure is the par value will reduce form existing RM1.00 to Rm0.10, definitely will affect the share price OR the quantity , anyone know ?

[/quote]

Thanks.. May i know the right issue is a separate trading stock? or it is treated as the same as mother share?

Sorry as i am new to rights issue.
turbopips
post Apr 14 2013, 08:50 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 13 2013, 07:48 PM)
As per example of cherroy:
Even if the price after the ex-right issues date is above 0.34, EPS is still going to be diluted.
So, not a good idea to subscribe?
EPS diluted but the share price also readjusted lower making the PE at a reasonable level ?
turbopips
post Apr 14 2013, 09:07 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 13 2013, 04:25 PM)
Share price in the market will be adjusted on the ex-date of the right issue accordingly to the portion of right issue.

For eg.
if closing price of prior before ex-right share date is 0.76, and it is 1: 4 right issue at 0.23, the next trading day, the share opening indicated price will be

[(0.76 x 1) + (0.23 x 4)] / 5
= 0.336.

So the opening price on the ex-right shares date will be 0.34.

If the share price doesn't go up beyond 0.34, one is not making any money from subcription of the right issue.

Basically, the share price won't stay at 0.76 on the ex-date on right issue, the share price will be adjusted for the right issue.

Since the right is renounceable, means one can actually sell the right/form of the right share (without need to fork out money or don't want to buy the right issue at 0.23 ),

The right (probably with the name/code MAS-OR) will be traded (for about 2 week), at the difference between 0.23 and share price on the particular day.
So if the adjusted share price is 0.34, the renounceable right may be traded at around 0.07~0.08 (as the renounceable right worth = share price after adjusted - 0.23)
Many Thanks Cherroy for the explanation. But why 0.07~0.08? coz 0.34-0.23=0.11. Is the right usually traded at a lower price , eg something like a warrant? Also, during the 2 weeks,

1. If a person sell the 4 unit of rights, the seller will be at disadvantage coz he is downgrading his share from 0.76 to 0.34 (assuming no change in everything) with additional price of 0.08*4 = 0.32. 0.32+0.34=0.68, a clear disadvantage. Am i right?

2. If a person buy the 4 unit of rights from the seller at 0.08, Is he acquiring future MAS mother share at a price of 0.23+0.08 = 0.31 each?

Hope u understand my question. Thanks.
turbopips
post Apr 15 2013, 04:33 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Apr 15 2013, 11:32 AM)
With 11 billion plus in Mas shares, how much profit must Mas make to have any impact on the EPS?

To contribute 1 sen, Mas needs at least RM100 million in profit.

Thanks Cherroy for the good explanations.. U seemed very well verse in shares indeed.

Last quarter MAS made 51mil. If they can make RM300mil/yr or 75mil per q, i think it will be a good buy?

turbopips
post May 8 2013, 09:04 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 7 2013, 10:30 PM)
Only after you subscribe the right.

MAS-OR allow you to buy MAS right share at 0.23.

But it takes sometime (weeks) for the right issue to be completed. So there is "time risk" in between.
As we do not know what the MAS price will be when the right issue completed time.
It may higher or lower than 0.37.
Hi Cherroy and all,

Current MAS-OR is 0.03. MAS share = 0.345
From yr statement, MAS-OR allow you to buy MAS right share at 0.23.

So, if i buy MAS-OR at 0.03, and i pay another 0.23, i will get MAS share at 0.26!
Wouldn't this a big discount for me now (if MAS price stays the same till 21 May at 0.345)?

Appreciate yr logic why the MAS-OR drop to 0.03? Does this means the public generally speculate that the MAS share will drop to 0.26?

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by turbopips: May 8 2013, 09:05 PM
turbopips
post May 11 2013, 05:57 PM

359 posts

Thanks again Cherroy and all for the explanation. I saw MAS announcement:

1) The Rights commence of trading : [ 7 May 2013 ]
2) The Date of Despatch of the Prospectus and Provisional Allotment Letter of
Offer :
[ 8 May 2013 ]
3) The last day and time for Acceptance, Renunciation and Payment :
[ 21 May 2013 @ 5:00pm ]
4) The Rights cease quotation : [ 14 May 2013 ]

Whats the cease quotation mean?
If I do not wish to take the rights or i only intend to take partial of the rights, I will have to selll the MAS-OR before 13 May 5pm or 14 May 5pm?

I had bought some MAS-OR looking at the discount, but not intend to exercise all hence will have to dispose some off.

Your help is much appreciated.

Thank you

0.0394sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:39 AM