Demon Hunter Discussion, For bow lovers!! Share your build!

legiwei
post May 31 2012, 08:19 AM

606 posts

Any of you have problem with vaults? Whenever I vault and immediately use secondary attack/primary attack, what happens instead was I just vault back into the mobs (vault out and vault back in =.=) and I die.
legiwei
post May 31 2012, 08:54 AM

606 posts

Nope, it's me vaulting out and vaulting back in. Can see from the animation and sound. Also happens on regular mobs. Always happen when I am under time pressure. Eg, need to vault, secondary attack and vault again to avoid fast mortar mobs. But I vault out and then vault back in. Perhaps it's due to lantency. I'm having like 300++ which is probably not good enough.
legiwei
post May 31 2012, 09:19 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(FireSnake @ May 31 2012, 09:00 AM)
then u check yr mouse cursor where u pointed. usually DH vault where u point.
r u pointed back to the mobs group cos wanna shoot them??  tongue.gif
I only vault once. smile.gif Hits secondary attack, instead of attacking, I vault back in!!! laugh.gif Either I die or if I'm lucky, I can SS with close to 0 health. xD.
legiwei
post Jun 12 2012, 08:26 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 11 2012, 10:10 PM)
my skill is
[1] Caltrops - Immobolize
[2] SmokeScreen - Lesser Discipline
[3] Shadow Power - LIfe Gained
[4] Marked for Death - Death Toll(Life Gained also)

Mouse [1] Evasion Fire - Covering Fire(That split 3 arrow)
Mouse [2] Elemental Arrow - Nether Tentacles ( LIfe Gained Also)

Passive is Steady Aim , Archery , Sharpshooter
With your equips (which is quite similar to mine) and if you're playing inferno, I will suggest you to use Tactical Advantage as your passive. Combine that with smokescreen - lingering rune and Vault - tumble. SS with increased time is crucial to allow you to reposition yourself on time, get out of jail, and mobs to drop aggro on you. You should also have preparation - focused mind to regenarate your discpline if the fights get prelonged. Also, get a quiver and a chest that adds at least +8 each discpline (ideally +10 for both). With 48/50 discpline and preparation, you will be able to SS and tumble alot to get yourself out of serious trouble. You will need to kite alot. Will require skills to compensate for the lack of equips. 4th active skill I will choose to go for spike trap - scatter rune, this allows you to plan 3 bombs. If planted correctly, you will be able to get mobs to hit 3 of it, fights will be shorten alot.

Suggested build

1. Smokescreen - lingering rune (prolonged duration)
2. Preparation - focused mind (regenerates over time)
3. Vault - tumble (reduced discpline cost if use again)
4. Spike trap - scatter (3 bombs)

Primary [1] Evasion Fire - Covering Fire (AOE dmg, Best hatred generator, tumbles backward if mobs are near, with tactical advantage you get to run away)
Primary [2] Elemental Arrow - NT (great AOE dmg but slow, works best with bosses or mobs that are huge)

Passive
Steady Aim, Archery, Sharpshooter (choose 2 of the 3)
Tactical Advantage

This post has been edited by legiwei: Jun 12 2012, 08:31 AM
legiwei
post Jun 12 2012, 02:43 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Jun 12 2012, 09:03 AM)
Er... what's ur counter against reflect dmg then?

Coz the last time I've checked, Element Arrow + NT itself doesn't steal enough HP to compensate for the losses.
Reflect dmg is tricky. Milky has about 20k hp when I checked with about ~50k dps (assuming it's with sharpshooter). Use pots + smoke screen to take it down. The dmg output shouldn't be too great that it will 1hko you. This is only a big problem if you are a pure glass cannon with like 9k hp with insane damage output. If that's the case, you're probably left with SS. But when you're a glass cannon with insane dmg, you shouldn't need to kite too much. Just keep SS + preparation. With 48/50 discpline, you should be able to SS quite a while. If still insufficient, kite by vaulting + running with tactical advantage speed bonus. Repeat till you have your discpline charged. Be prepared to die though. Sometimes, even if you did everything right, you will still die due to lantency issue especially with vaulting. But I find this build best suited for a budget DH. You could get by inferno without spending even 1 million. That is not to say you wouldn't die alot. But once you've acquired enough practise and keep caution, you should be able to survive a good amount of time without dying much killing good amount of elites/champion. Of course it's a different story if you encounter mobs with affix like invulnerable + fast + reflect = gg.
legiwei
post Jun 12 2012, 10:52 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 12 2012, 09:45 PM)
sorry dont quite sure KITE means

KITE = shoot run shoot run?
KITE = SHoot from out of screen?
Depending on the mob. For mobs that are fast, most of the time it's kind of offscreen. You shoot, vault, shoot, vault. SS if you have too. Discpline planning is crucial. If you're low on discpline, make room, running away and keeping safe distance from mob is more important as you might not have enough discpline to vault. As mobs are so fast, by the time you shoot from offscreen, they will have probably catch up and you should already be vaulting away, bear in mind vault has a skill time lag and you are not invulnerable when you use it. So, it's crucial to use it upfront. By the time mobs are near, hitting it will likely result in death. In this scenario, you probably need to SS. Also, shoot run shoot run is also important. Mobs tend to stop at your last spot you go, do something before chasing after you again. So, shoot run shoot run tend to be more space efficient. Further you have evasive fire, so if anything bad goes, you will backflip, immediately run after that, do not spam and hope to kill that mob. Your most important goal is not to allow anything to touch you. You have attack speed bonus, so, it should be easier to do all of this method as you can shoot faster/more while moving. I also use scatter bomb alot as it generally deals more damage than NT. But as you have good attack speed, NTing all the way could do as well. If you do not like scatter bomb, feel free to switch it with something else like impale - chemical burn for great single target dmg? Just my suggestions.

Added on June 12, 2012, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Jun 12 2012, 09:03 PM)
Have you considered using Shadow Power with Gloom?

Coz my build is almost identical to urs except for the spike trap thingy. lol.
Haven tried that before. Personally, my equips sucks so spike trap helps alot in dealing massive damage to champions/elite fights. I normally place it in such a way that all 3 bombs will be hit. I also do not have great attack speed back then, so NT really do take quite a while. And there is the enrage timer you have to take care. Sometimes I kite too long and my dmg sucks so much that I don't have enough time to kill them.

Added on June 12, 2012, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jun 12 2012, 10:24 PM)
This is my build here: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/demo...;TeY!YcZYcZ

Currently stuck in terms of equipment upgrades.. don't know what to upgrade now doh.gif

Around 30k~40k clean without SS (but with other skills).. and 109k with SS.

Wanna ask is it better to focus on +x~y Damage on Rings / Amulet with Attack Speed; or better with + Dexterity and Attack Speed?
I think it's highly unlikely that you can achieve such a huge difference with and without SS. I have about 30k clean without SS and with SS max also about 50k. Unless you have insane amount of crit damage with low crit chance? Haha. biggrin.gif At high levels, dex gives you better damage output rather than damage rings. Use a damage calculator to compare your existing stats and your future probable stats is the best way. Personally I will go for dex + attack speed over dex + crit dmg + crit chance unless you are able to have a really high crit rate and dmg. Then again, the differential in cost is probably alot.

This post has been edited by legiwei: Jun 12 2012, 11:09 PM
legiwei
post Jun 13 2012, 08:03 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(Lawolfe @ Jun 13 2012, 12:05 AM)
Maybe you can consider 'Tactical Advantage' passive skill. That way after you backflip, immediately run far far with the movement speed boost. That way you dun need vault and SS together as escape options.

This is my skill sets: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/demo...;eaT!bcbZcY
Yes I am using Tactical advantage as my passive. smile.gif I was referring to really fast mobs where even you vault and run, they can still chase you. Lolx. So, you might still need SS, drop aggro, run even further. xD
legiwei
post Jun 13 2012, 08:26 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jun 13 2012, 01:25 PM)
Not sure the total critical damage I have, can't get into the game now doh.gif. But 70% on my bow (Star Emerald), 30% on my glove, 30%+ on my amulet. Base critical chance is only 10% if I recalled correctly.

Do you have any good damage calculators to recommend? Most of the calculators I tried do not reflect the actual DPS I had / slightly inaccurate.. cry.gif

Added on June 13, 2012, 2:04 pmJust went into the game and checked again.

Sharpshooter + Archery + Steady Aim: ~109k
Archery + Steady Aim: ~46k
Archery: ~39k
None: ~34k

Total Crit Damage: 187%
Base Crit Rate: 12.5%
I use this. http://www.diablodamagecalculator.com/ Pretty accurate. It allows you to save your stats in a link, so you could just tweak around to see if you might achieve higher dmg next time you consider an upgrade.

This post has been edited by legiwei: Jun 13 2012, 08:27 PM
legiwei
post Jul 1 2012, 01:33 AM

606 posts

WTB gold pm thx.
legiwei
post Jul 13 2012, 06:44 PM

606 posts

^Dual wield 1h xbow gives a bonus 15% IAS. Dmg does not stack but the main attributes do.
legiwei
post Jul 19 2012, 04:18 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Jul 18 2012, 07:06 PM)
50k DPS w/o SS with ~30k hp, ~350 AllRes should be more than enough to farm comfortably in Act 3; at least for me (Tower of cursed level 1, level 2, spider, core arreat, azmodan). Keeps 1/2/3 works as well but much more.. pain in the ass.

I did Tower to azmodan run ever since 35k DPS w/o SS and improved over time (started with 46k HP ~300 AllRes).

Added on July 19, 2012, 12:19 amAnyway, here's my friend's Tank Hunter build for those who are interested.

Stats and items below:

Shield:

Dual-Wield:

Disclaimer: This is my friend's item/stats/build, not mine. tongue.gif
With 35k DPS w/o SS, are you able to take down those hard hitting mobs (the ones that can blink) especially with Invul/Reflect/Mortar affix to it? So far, that is 1 mob that I fear to encounter (and will probably hv to skip or incur substantial sum on repair cost) to go through. Also, when you say comfortable, don't you find with those stats farming to be slow?
legiwei
post Jul 19 2012, 05:19 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(Miurra @ Jul 19 2012, 02:46 PM)
i'm having about 52k dps without SS, 2.8K armor with ~280AR (380 physical) and 33k hp.
not too sure if i should up my dps or get armor to 3k  to farm act 3 hmm.gif what do you think?
i can farm act 2 quite comfortably now.. act 3 wise, need to pay quite some repair bill  shakehead.gif
Your dps is definitely sufficient (assuming you've got good balance of dex, crit chance and crit dmg, IAS). I will suggest you to raise your armor to around high 3k or low 4k and hp around 40k and maintain your resist level.

I actually completed Inferno with low 30k dps, 4k armor, 0 all resist and ~30k hp. Note that I managed to complete and werent able to farm them till I raise my dps, all resist and hp further.

Right now, I can withstand 2-3hits from mobs hit which is good enough for me. The only real problematic mobs that I encounter so far are as mentioned earlier is Hulking Phasebeast. I have 43k dps w/o SS, 41k hp, 4.1k armor and ~230 all resist. Planning to raise my all resist further but equips are generally really expensive with high all resist on.
legiwei
post Jul 20 2012, 10:20 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(Miurra @ Jul 20 2012, 09:15 AM)
ya thanks for the advise, ya will try to raise to raise it further, as my dps mainly contributed by the 38% crit chance & 250% crit dmg with fairly low dex ~1600 only.

a quick survery to: with a limited budget, would you compromise the 12% movement speed for high AR and Dex for boots?
My preference will be to have 12% movement speed with dex and vit. Those boots are kinda cheap and it's extremely useful for survivability.

QUOTE(nightshade_nova @ Jul 20 2012, 10:04 AM)
Luck.  tongue.gif
I guess Im a pretty lucky guy.Just farm act 2 but always got something to sell for 20-30mil every once in a while.

For the argument that skill>gear, you could also say that gearing up is also a skill, as the game is very gear dependent.

Im not against glass cannon, its just that its not optimal for pvp.
If you just want to clear inferno, glass cannon is probably the cheapest route to take.
If you build a balanced dh, you benefit more from others defensive skills.
Glass cannon (stacking all dex only?) is probably the cheapest route prior to repair cost patch. Try it now and I think you will burn millions in no time. I have encountered extremely high dps DH (~150k to 200k dps) and dies like no tmr in Act 3 because they cant take a hit. But yeah, they kill a hell lot faster than me but a dead DH is as good as no dps.

Having a balance between survivability and dps is probably the cheapest route now. Able to take 1-2hits from normal mobs and have some decent dmg (at least can clear elite b4 enrage timer).
legiwei
post Jul 20 2012, 10:49 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(gladfly @ Jul 20 2012, 10:24 AM)
But I wont buy it now since Blizzard is going to buff the legendaries, i.e may have chance of lagendaries that will give same benefit 2x regen Discp  brows.gif  brows.gif ..but no need set.

Added on July 20, 2012, 10:28 am

I used to think that way. But it takes 1 affixes from the boot and makes a decent bootwith speed damn exp. I rather Max dex (since boot can go up to 250), High AR and some vit.
By the way speed wont do nuts if you meet fast minions. I have gone back to clatrops, with tourtous ground rune with Cull of the weak. Fits my build perfectly as I use Frost Arrow so I get the extra benefit from CoTW.
Haha wouldn't a boots with high dex, high AR and vit be more expensive compared to a boots with MR 12%, high dex and vit? Unless you managed to stack a good amount of AR with that boots, personally budget wise, MR + dex + vit is probably cheaper. With skills like smoke screen + vault with tactical advantage passive coupled with good amount of disc. You can probably out run most elites even with fast affix on it. The key thing that I like on MR is positioning, especially when I stack up with skills that also boast movement speed. My personal preference anyway. laugh.gif
legiwei
post Jul 23 2012, 11:41 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 23 2012, 11:33 AM)
desperate ma.

Summerfist needs a Glass Cannon DH to help me act 3.
Summerfist also need a barb, if any.
Been solo-ing act 3 and struggled.
If you like it, I can try to help you with Act 3. Have been soloing for a while with no problem except for a few difficult elites. Been partying with a monk friend of mine too and we're both doing fine all with pretty ordinary equips.
legiwei
post Jul 23 2012, 03:03 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Jul 23 2012, 02:30 PM)
I wonder if 100k dps is enough to finish act3 inferno?
More than enough. You can finish all act 3/4 with half the dps. But that also depends how does dps figures are derived. Best is to have high dex, reasonably weapons base dmg, balanced of crit chance and crit dmg and IAS. But more importantly is survivability. You could probably still go glass cannon but at certain mini boss, it's probably gonna be difficult post 1.0.3 (i.e. Ghom and Cydaea). But with such high dps, you could probably kill them fast enough that they couldn't even touch you. The more advisable route will be to at least be able to survive 2-4hits from normal mobs.
legiwei
post Jul 25 2012, 10:01 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(icemessenger @ Jul 24 2012, 04:56 PM)
I am! That's why I am in Nightmare mode now, farming for money. Sigh.

Seriously, I think this money farming thing will take me months ar. Things are so damn expensive at AH now. That's why I offer the other alternative (LOL).

Btw, what's wrong with my gears? Sume xbleh pakai?
You can ditch most of your gears xD. Anyway, you really do not need alot of gold to gear up decently to farm at least Act 1 Inferno in current scenario. There are really alot of gears out there with decent stats selling at very good prices. Anyway, in general, choose gears that have reasonable defence, high dex (somewhere between 120-150), reasonable vit (70-100). Get blue IAS ring with like 70 dex x2, get blue amulet IAS with some dex. Your quiver and chest should have at least +8 discpline each stats on it. Get a 1k+ xbow with like 100dex with IAS (if possible). Get a boots with movement speed.

Skip AR first if it's really expensive. Skip on crit hit chance and crit dmg as this thigns are relaly expensive.

QUOTE(AntheMz @ Jul 24 2012, 05:07 PM)
im currently in act 2, some time still die, espcially meet reflect dmg/ fast/ invulnerable minions. what is the recommended stat to go act 3 for solo DH? im bored in act 2 zz.. thanks.
I did mine quite comforably with
4k+ armor
200+ resistance
40k hp
59 discpline
80k+ dps with sharpshooter.

Farming mostly on towers onwards.
legiwei
post Jul 25 2012, 02:14 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(rockroll5022 @ Jul 25 2012, 01:36 PM)
MY BUILD

3.8k armour
700 AR
60khp (not full set yet)
1.3k LoH
8k DPS - no SS
39.5% crit-chance

tank all bosses including ghom (super easy) and tank elite (stand on fire, plague, arcane sentry).. basically beat inferno with 1.5m gear...

N/T - Joined public game, barbarian and monk can't even tank better than me..
Kinda surprise as monk with similar/better stats are still finding it difficult to tank Act 3/4. With 8k dps, how long do you clear elites/champion? I am in party with a monk with better stats than this and even they cant stand on molten, arcane sentry on certain elites, especially in Act 4.
legiwei
post Jul 26 2012, 12:16 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(rockroll5022 @ Jul 25 2012, 04:42 PM)
yo bee whats up.. however a dodge stat based class of my build can kill butcher AFK overnight (my follower doing all the damage).. ^^
I'm now in perfect doubt of what you've said. Are you sure you did Act 3/4 with your stats? I absolutely doubt so. In act 3 there will be plenty of times where elites will appear with tons of packs. With your dps and stats, I highly doubt you can do as what you say. Now you're saying kill butcher afk overnight? Lolx. What a joke.
legiwei
post Jul 26 2012, 07:31 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(rockroll5022 @ Jul 26 2012, 10:20 AM)
don't believe then add me as i can show u what i can do.. ^^

Added on July 26, 2012, 10:22 am
8 k br0 because this is a tank demon hunter.. and i haven upgrade my weapon yet because this set is less than 1.5m total so i can't do much but with this build, i can tank act 3 easily..

Added on July 26, 2012, 10:23 am
i'm in your friend list right so if u are free,stop hardcore for 10 minutes and switch to softcore and i will show u what can i do bro..
Added you already lolx. Let's see your so call tanky build man, whether it's as good as you made it not. I think even the best tanker in d3 also cant leave his char afk in butcher and let follower kill. I mean, when enrage comes, you also no rasa? Lolx.

0.0446sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:47 PM