Wizard Discussion, Come, all ye arcanists

chitchat
post Jun 11 2012, 10:14 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jun 11 2012, 06:42 PM)
Wah. Lao. Weh. So much int. How much vit you got?

The difference is definitely due to attack speed. Mines an inflated number for spells like blizz. Benefit of aspd is mainly for signature spell (since ull spam it faster and no arcane cost) and faster cast animation. if we both spam arcane orb, you'll do more dmg than me for sure.

If you can't imagine what I'm talking about, I'll post the dmg formula later tonight. You'll see then u aspd affects so much
just came back from dinner, ya didnt know AS will increase so much number, i sweat.gif when i saw u all have 40k above dmg while i struggle to reach 40k btw my vit is low 763 only around 27k hp, only left bracer with 89 int with no vit to upgrade later.
chitchat
post Jul 16 2012, 04:48 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(JAYworm @ Jul 16 2012, 04:45 PM)
Erm actually how can we can more than 1k resistance?
The max we can get Is 930 all resistance accroding here http://www.d3rmt.com/guides/diablo-3-item-...maximum-values/
I know with prismatic armor is 40% increase.... But 1.8k resist... How??? rclxub.gif
still got barb buff xD
chitchat
post Jul 16 2012, 04:53 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(bamkai @ Jul 16 2012, 12:34 PM)
would like to ask if the bonus arcane damage of a weapon had been added to the damage range?

the left weapon have int and better range dmg
the right 1 has increase arcane dmg

i'm using hydra blizz and primary as main so which 1 is better?
the lance is better, all those element dmg is already added to the dps number and i think i read from somewhere they dont actually do anything, there used to have additional effect on beta but blizzard remove it already
chitchat
post Jul 18 2012, 01:32 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(paranoid @ Jul 18 2012, 11:33 AM)
illusionist passive = kill this. use evocation. i used to think this is godly, because i can keep teleporting whenever i get hit. it doesnt help, your aim is not to take any damage, but not to take dmg at all. wizard HP doesnt allow us to tank even a few hits in inferno. by using evocation, you reduced your cooldown not only for your teleport but for ALL your skills including diamond skin, this is when you cut your dmg intake by A LOT. not to mention diamond skin cooldowns pretty fast.

teleport = calamity??
use fracture and have 2decoys to distract and delay enemies while you wait to spam your diamond skin again.

rotate teleport with diamond skin, you will almost never get hit, trust me.. with evocation passive that is.
Teleport (Fracture) + evocation or with illusionist, i pick illusionist as the better option, no matter how godly u are, u going to get hit in inferno and a wiz with force armor can at least take 2 hit. The 2s reduce with evocation is not going to save u when u in tight space map or meet fast elite/waller. Diamond Skin can only take like 2 hit then u will be waiting to die if your teleport is still in CD, but with illusionist, when ur in diamond skin and get hit 1 time, u can teleport out without taking any dmg and 2 mirror to distract.

Illusionist can also help buy more time for DPS, when meet mob, cast teleport for the 2 mirror to distract/tank, stand still DPS, when mirror out, diamond skin tank and continue DPS, when diamond skin break, teleport (illusionist will cancel ur CD) again for 2 mirror then DPS. That can buy u like 3~7s of standing still DPS time. If u get hit again then u going to reduce 35% hp, cast teleport again then start running/regen and by the time ur diamond skin should be up anytime.

This post has been edited by chitchat: Jul 18 2012, 01:39 PM
chitchat
post Jul 19 2012, 11:57 AM

491 posts

QUOTE(Neofushion @ Jul 19 2012, 09:42 AM)
Question - how do you all deal with monsters with magic immunity on them?  I came across a mob of em, and all the spells I threw at em had the word "Immune!" on em.  tongue.gif .

Also, can anyone tell me how +1 of intelligence will contribute how much dmg?  Noob here....
Those are invulnerable minion, u have to find the 1 boss elite that is not invulnerable. Kill him and those invulnerable minion will die together, sometimes the boss elite also can cast invulnerable but is not permanent like the minion, so just wait invulnerable over and kill him.

QUOTE(Becabal @ Jul 19 2012, 10:56 AM)
ya i tried full life regen build before almost 1.9k regen per second still die like shet in act2.its useless
regen is always nice to have and is not useless, if u have high regen then u have to go low hp and high resist. Some wiz have like 15k hp but very high resist that work well with force armor.

QUOTE(Goblinsk8er @ Jul 19 2012, 11:36 AM)
By the way, Force armor is UTTER CRAP.
It will not save your ass, the tooltip is wrong.
Prismatic Armor>Everything else in survivability
Unless you have godly armor + resist, else prismatic will not be good enuff in act 4 inferno. The rule of thumb is if the mob hit u more than 35% hp then use force armor, else use prismatic. But prismatic offer more when dealing with arcane or poison pool and those DoT cast by elite.

This post has been edited by chitchat: Jul 19 2012, 11:58 AM
chitchat
post Jul 19 2012, 04:56 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(paranoid @ Jul 19 2012, 12:13 PM)
are u talking about Act1??
nobody runs on force armor anymore.. the tooltip is wrong.
Act3 and act4, i solo farm act 3 siegebreaker with force armor, 4k+ armor, 500+ resists, blizzard + hydra kiting, 240% GF and 40k "pure" dmg (2 handed mace + int) no attk spd nor cri modifier. Yeah my gear is not good coz no money to go cri build.

Btw can tell how much resist and armor u have ? and how much % hp lost on average a mob hit u at act4 ? using prismatic my resist up 700+ but act4 mob can hit above 50% hp per strike, but with force armor, i only take 35% and u said nobody use it shocking.gif
chitchat
post Jul 19 2012, 05:04 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Jul 19 2012, 04:56 PM)
Otherwise, I tend to agree that you shouldn't take hits as a wizard. Melee wizards, meh. Roll a barb, guys.
My thought is similar, regarding the wiz melee build, for the fun of it is ok but i think is not worth it, coz it hardly work at act3 or 4 unless you have godly gear. If similar amount of gold spend on gear between melee and kiting, kiting build will take you further biggrin.gif
chitchat
post Jul 30 2012, 05:33 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(geno @ Jul 30 2012, 04:45 PM)
Because the mob in act 2 is lvl 62 and act 3 is lvl 63.

Added on July 30, 2012, 5:04 pmAct 3/4 you have to dodge fireballs like this:

thumbup.gif
chitchat
post Sep 5 2012, 03:13 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(xiaosin @ Sep 5 2012, 12:42 PM)
wizard dont require any resist one to be honest force armor is op
QUOTE(xiaosin @ Sep 5 2012, 01:50 PM)
depends how you wanna play... there are no skills in game that make you cannot get one shotted as far as i know its only force armor can do that
Still need decent number or AR else even with Force Armor those Arcane/Fire Trail/Venom Pool from elite will drop you in 1s. laugh.gif
chitchat
post Sep 26 2012, 03:18 PM

491 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Sep 26 2012, 02:53 PM)

btw the jordan ring i mention I put at AH they now betting like crazy !!

live bet still got 1day left already up so high  rclxm9.gif  (personally I think this ring is uber stat for elite hunter but I not really into that stage yet but definably could use the gold for my dream item )

a lot $$$$$ coming in drool.gif but i wonder 30% cri dmg+main stats more dmg or 30% against elite more ?

0.0523sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:10 PM