4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Monk Discussion, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

goldfries
post May 22 2012, 03:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ May 22 2012, 01:49 PM)
mobs got a fixed level one.

i repeat certain boss quests over and over to level up, then i breeze through the rest of the act.
oh izzit? ahhh ok.

Added on May 22, 2012, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(cyruz13 @ May 22 2012, 01:27 PM)
hmm.gif  hmm.gif
base on your experience.. whats the best lvl to start for nightmare?
just go ahead and start! don't care what level, i start at 31.

die many times at start, now reach Act III quite ok already.

goldfries
post May 22 2012, 05:07 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Level 53 6k HP very little leh, mine level 42 or something also 6k+ HP.

Added on May 22, 2012, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(LemoNT @ May 22 2012, 04:51 PM)
sell stuff on the AH smile.gif
don't put too high the prices even 100 extra (than NPC) is 100 gained.
Unless of coz it's seriously good item then can consider ^^
AH wan kind wan, i gooding stuff put 1k also no one want to take. sad.gif

I think the item drops are soooooooooooo common, we have more supply than demand.
goldfries
post May 22 2012, 05:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 22 2012, 05:29 PM)
show advanced tooltip and click details in your inventory. shows everything clear as day
er, basically there's no guide for Diablo newbie like myself on what stats for what purpose.

i had to try out. swap weapons, look at the details and changes that correspond to the stats.
goldfries
post May 22 2012, 06:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(izkon @ May 22 2012, 05:57 PM)
str-barb
dex-monk and dh
int- wiz and WD

str gives u armor
dex gives u dodge
int gives u resist

find equipment with primary stat first before going for armor and resist..vit also important
yeah took me a while to realize that, didn't know about the lower half you mentioned, other than INT part which make sense in usual RPG.

anyway my monk char focuses on DEX and VIT only. I don't care about INT and STR.

goldfries
post May 23 2012, 09:04 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

k. level 48 er. i think ......... LOL i can't remember my level wan la, with 1.2k DPS + 13k HP and I'm having problem defeating Tyreal's lieutenant. sad.gif

I had absolutely no problem solo-ing Belial (2 attempts) and Azmodal (1 attempt) but this Act IV mini-boss took more than 15 attempts already.
goldfries
post May 23 2012, 09:09 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

freeze is not a problem to begin with. I'm just getting whacked.

and I think some of my deaths were due to lag. suddenly the fella appear next to me and hit me, which I don't recall he can do that.

i can do 1/4 damage successfully, so gonna try it when there's lesser lag. 8:50am i think a lot of people checking e-mail and FB in office la.

i'm using serenity, so keep whacking him for few seconds and then run around. shouldn't be a problem IMO, i just suspect it's a lag issue.
goldfries
post May 23 2012, 10:29 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 23 2012, 09:09 AM)
freeze is not a problem to begin with. I'm just getting whacked.

and I think some of my deaths were due to lag. suddenly the fella appear next to me and hit me, which I don't recall he can do that.

i can do 1/4 damage successfully, so gonna try it when there's lesser lag. 8:50am i think a lot of people checking e-mail and FB in office la.

i'm using serenity, so keep whacking him for few seconds and then run around. shouldn't be a problem IMO, i just suspect it's a lag issue.
regarding the above post - I manage to pass it already. biggrin.gif hehe. looks like about 10:30am people finish checking mail / fesbuk / other stuff, then go out for appointment already. less lag, manage to survive!
goldfries
post May 23 2012, 02:50 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(icecolddamncold @ May 23 2012, 10:45 AM)
playing D3 at office????? blink.gif
QUOTE(kanethesun @ May 23 2012, 10:47 AM)
work @ home biggrin.gif laugh.gif
QUOTE(law1777 @ May 23 2012, 10:49 AM)
work FROM home bro.. haha
yeah. gaming machine at my disposal any time I feel bored with work. tongue.gif

need a break la. my character die soooooooooooooooooo many times.

just now 1 time die until no armor left, yet cannot teleport to town cos AI at spawn point.

so how? HP also drop liao, DPS also drop liao, but AI no drop!!! so no choice have to fight kau kau until coast is clear (donno how many deaths) then only can Teleport back to repair. sweat.gif

Added on May 23, 2012, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(law1777 @ May 23 2012, 02:36 PM)
use, find or buy EQ with dex,vit together.. best is with % of life added. slot in purple gem to your helmet if you helmet got slot!
at one point in Nightmare mode, I settle for less 100 - 200 dps to get about 150 health restore per hit, and you know monks got how many hits la.

so mob that time you see health go up up up only.

but now big big mobs it go up also no use. so might as well deal damage and hope for some crits, still gonna die anyway.

goldfries
post May 24 2012, 04:52 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

finished Nightmare mode at level 49. biggrin.gif not enough level to start Hell mode, so had to go kill Azmodan twice or so.

now in nightmare mode, 1.6k dps with 15k hp also die like no body business.
goldfries
post May 24 2012, 11:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ May 24 2012, 11:31 AM)
how you manage to kill the first boss in act 4?
serenity. cast. just before reaching him. hit, count 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 ..............run far far away until can cast again.

avoid frost blast at all cost.

skill is the hundred fist, rune set to recover sp when hitting.

then passive skill i make sure i have SP used = Heal.

Added on May 24, 2012, 11:46 am
QUOTE(ghoss @ May 24 2012, 11:41 AM)
When Dual wielding , you get 15% extra attack speed but you're actually alternating with your main hand and off hand weapon .

If you got 1 high dmg weapon and the other one is low , your dps is lower than using 1h with a shield .

The benefit of using dual wield is the 15% atk speed / Passive to increase dodge  / extra stats 
the atk speed increase is auto or with the passive skill using dual-wield?

anyway now i use 2-hand weapon, cos more DPS. at higher level, higher DPS helps a lot.

i use to have dual-wield and each weapon replenish health but at higher levels, it's really case by case already.

goldfries
post May 24 2012, 12:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 24 2012, 11:53 AM)
atk speed is auto .

I tried with a heavy 2hand before , it's very good with skill that depends on weapon dmg like Sweeping Wind / Wave of Light (Explosive Light) .
But sure have problem when meeting mobs with lot of minions like the skeleton/monster that kill raising the dead.

Now have to look for a shield already sad.gif
ehh sweeping wind and wave of light depending on weapon?

anyway mobs ah? whether using dual-wield or 2 handed - still get into heaps of trouble. I doubt using 1 hand + shield can help that much (depending on stats).

now in Hell Mode and I still get pwned easily by those lesser creatures with insane HP and even more insane ability - eg mortar, fire chain, laser, wall, those that bring you back into the mob. sheesh, 1 group of them really need to die a few times just to settle. worse if combat zone far from checkpoint.

goldfries
post May 24 2012, 12:18 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh you referring to that la, to what I remember - it's not about the weapon dmg either. It's about the ATTACK you see in the stats. no?

dual-wield a 133 + 133 doesn't mean it's better attack / dps than a 2-handed 200.

tested various combos before, I donno how to calculate the attack. even both can look like knuckle weapons of similar dmg + stats, the total attack variation can be huge.

Added on May 24, 2012, 12:18 pm
QUOTE(ghoss @ May 24 2012, 12:13 PM)
worst is the molten / plagued + vampiric, very hard to kill
yeah molten kacau. a lot of them really tough for monk to kill cos have to run close.

serenity also last a few seconds only. sad.gif
goldfries
post May 24 2012, 12:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 24 2012, 12:25 PM)
No le , the skill scale with  weapon dmg  like the 70-100 dmg stat not the  dps .

basically ,

Dual wield = attack faster / extra dodge (with passive only) / more stats
2h = scale with skills better / extra spirit regen (with passive only) / Easy to get item (instead of finding 2 good 1h)

The dmg  calculation  increase with +atk%
oh ok.

as for now, I sold off my stuff. using high DPS 2-hand. biggrin.gif hopefully can find some nice weapons for dual-wield.

goldfries
post May 24 2012, 12:38 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ May 24 2012, 12:35 PM)
the penalty is that both weapon dmg need to be close to each other .

Example,

Main hand 200dps / Off hand 100dps

You hit 1 time per second.

For 3 sec , Deal 200 + 100 +200  (cos you switch between hands)

So total DPS for 3 sec = 500/3 = 166.66

So you see that the off hand actually dragged down the dps
hrm. now i see better. I keep thinking combining them but I forgot that it's taking turn to hit. LOL. logic sensor missing.
goldfries
post May 24 2012, 01:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I've been forging goods, and I find that I've waste a huge amount of coin just to level up the blacksmith. sad.gif Forged items are sub-average at this point.

Added on May 24, 2012, 1:25 pmwell, probably useful if i start a new character and want some decent gears.
goldfries
post May 24 2012, 01:39 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 24 2012, 01:28 PM)
this.
rofl.

im rolling another wiz too cuz f*** melees in inferno w
haha. same can be said for nightmare and hell mode. sad.gif

Act I alone can die countless times. And more deaths along the way, usually when high speed mortar, arcane, molten, extra health, jailer, waller, whatever combo monsters come in trio.

i don't mind the deaths, I mind the walking back to the crime scene! vmad.gif

goldfries
post May 24 2012, 07:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh if you want to quote the long post, at least la edit it.

and try not to emoticon spam / reply please. smile.gif
goldfries
post May 24 2012, 08:05 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh what's this "Pony Gear" thing?
goldfries
post May 25 2012, 01:32 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(flix @ May 24 2012, 06:18 PM)

My skill tree http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/monk...;ZXU!Zcabca

I've tried many different builds suggested and finally came up with this build for Inferno.

Resistance, block and dodge is sufficient for me to stand tank whole groups of elite packs without kiting in Act 1 Inferno. Act 2 and 3 is harder but still able to kill 70% of the elites with this build. Even killed Butcher standing in fire with my Earth Ally because he couldn't hit me at all and the heals were enough to keep both of us alive fighting in fire.
just curious - why red gem on the claw?

cos red gem on claw = + Strength, right? Strength not affecting Monk DPS isn't it?
goldfries
post May 25 2012, 01:55 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh yeah hor, you're right! got them mixed up. biggrin.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0498sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled