Monk Discussion, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

GameFr3ak
post Jun 25 2012, 09:42 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(eyerule @ Jun 25 2012, 09:37 AM)
i'm at lvl 60, All resist 600+, armor at 4.3k only. life on hit 1000+. dual wielding 800+ dmg weapons.

can do act 2 but not enough dmg to do alone i'm only at 14k dps
Surprisingly I'm dual wielding 2x 400-500 damage weapons with 800 LoH and I've got around the same figure as yours. But can't survive as I've got much lower resist than yours. rclxub.gif

I'm guessing 27% crit chance and 250+% crit dmg has bumped up my dmg quite a lot though survival is not very good cry.gif
GameFr3ak
post Jun 25 2012, 09:46 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jun 25 2012, 09:42 AM)
why your resist rojak wan. focus on one resist or resist all
Good point out there, I noticed I've neglected a lot of my resists for crits. Dammit.. I can't crit when I can't tank rclxub.gif I'm gonna go back and focus fire + all..
GameFr3ak
post Jun 25 2012, 09:49 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(eyerule @ Jun 25 2012, 09:47 AM)
crit chance only 10.5% and crit dmg only 50%. focusing more on AR, LoH and Armor then only dmg. HP is 38k only tho
Ya I have to follow the rule of thumb.

resist > armor > LoH> dex > crit > damage
GameFr3ak
post Jun 25 2012, 09:57 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jun 25 2012, 09:51 AM)
monk are not meant to play critics la. if DH worth la coz they got passive skill for critics
you focus attack speed also ok as you can Loh faster but not really important.
I guess I'll have 2 sets then. One for group (tank) one for solo (crits/speed/tanky)..
GameFr3ak
post Jun 25 2012, 02:00 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(apamise @ Jun 25 2012, 12:23 PM)
You realized you got higher armor than me? And our resist is not that much different.

Our biggest differences are skillset.
I think 200 resists are quite big apart, I noticed when I partied with my barb friend. With his buff, my resist shot up to 500+ and I'm more tankable than 300+ resists yawn.gif
GameFr3ak
post Jun 25 2012, 02:33 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(INter86 @ Jun 25 2012, 02:05 PM)
Im insufficient for high damage n high LOH weapon...maybe just try the cheap damage 1 to get thru Ghom.
Hey I saw a video guide of a monk downing Ghom... try googling

Added on June 25, 2012, 3:03 pm
QUOTE(INter86 @ Jun 25 2012, 12:03 PM)
Guys, reporting my monk here. Need some advise for my items & skills built. act 1 & 2 is easy even b4 the patch. Act 3 is very tough and die a lot at elites fighting, now should be 70% skip. Currently facing Ghom, my max solo record is damage 1/4hp to Ghom, then die to the poison fog. Should i go for high LOH? how much is enough ? i tried 600 LOH still can't survive. If dual-wield + flash + manta of conviction for 3sec, max can deal 80~100k cri damage but low resist % armor. And if 1h+shield able to deal 40~60k cri damage.

walao ur stats also cannot clear?

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Jun 25 2012, 03:03 PM
GameFr3ak
post Jul 4 2012, 02:30 PM

3,849 posts

Don't know how you guys did it. I'm stucked at act 3, white mobs in the beginning melts me away........

800 LoH
500 resists
5k armors
30k hp
15-17k DPS
25% crit chance
210% crit dmg

I think I need more dps.... Now only with 1.5m can't buy anything better than my current weaps.......

shet shet shet shet shet
GameFr3ak
post Jul 4 2012, 02:56 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 4 2012, 02:30 PM)
Don't know how you guys did it. I'm stucked at act 3, white mobs in the beginning melts me away........

800 LoH
500 resists
5k armors
30k hp
15-17k DPS
25% crit chance
210% crit dmg

I think I need more dps.... Now only with 1.5m can't buy anything better than my current weaps.......

shet shet shet shet shet
You guys think my dps is the problem?
GameFr3ak
post Jul 4 2012, 02:58 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(soulhunter87 @ Jul 4 2012, 02:56 PM)
all of this armor n res thing conclude to one thing...ehp...higher ehp is better...go for the cheapest possible way to get higher ehp...aiming for the best all rounder armor will cost u a lot

Added on July 4, 2012, 2:57 pm
nice dps..just increase armor n res
15-17k is sufficient for act 3?
GameFr3ak
post Jul 4 2012, 03:26 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(flix @ Jul 4 2012, 02:59 PM)
Up your resist to around 700. If you are using dual wield in act3 then you might want to consider getting a shield. Dual is only suitable for act1 and 2 farming unless you got uber gears.
Thanks. I'll improvise!

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 4 2012, 02:59 PM)
i seriously think it's the DPS since you are aiming cri build. DPS is more important than anything else.

other stat looks ok.
Yeah.. Imma have to get better weapons/armors to bump up my dex

QUOTE(soulhunter87 @ Jul 4 2012, 02:59 PM)
inferno act 3? wonder how u pass inferno act 2 with such armor n res
QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Jul 4 2012, 03:08 PM)
corpse hopping ftw?
Nah I kite a few, pounding elites when my defensive buff done cooling down.. I run a 3 defensive skills build + offensive buffs

This So I managed to get through act 2 with minimal deaths..
GameFr3ak
post Jul 6 2012, 10:43 AM

3,849 posts

guys what are the cheapest element to stack ar? I find fire quite pricy......
GameFr3ak
post Jul 6 2012, 11:06 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jul 6 2012, 10:48 AM)
research bro. depends which build you prefer. Vit? Dex?
Just put search Dex type in 170 and see what resist most pop out.

i choose lightning because when i look for glove with crits. a lot lightning resist came out.
I thought this through yesterday night before went to bed. Since I'm stacking fire, and I partied with my buddies. A DH & WD.

Most of the time they died due to mortars. And melee classes like myself are always killed off by fire chains, molten and desecrator(fire?) ...

So in a sense, everyone should be stacking fire isn't it ? Since the pricing would be higher? cry.gif hmm.gif

In my opinion lightning is always ignored (I do) hmm maybe I should start stacking lightning instead..
GameFr3ak
post Jul 6 2012, 11:39 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jul 6 2012, 11:28 AM)
actually monk stack whatever resist is the same since they got the passive skill one with everything.

i think it's your playing method got prob. yesterday night i try to beat every elite in act 2. die countless time repair cost around 200k.

but i still manage. need to change the skill according to their effixs.

Elite is freaking imba compare to boss.
No, I'm not talking about which element is better. I'm asking which one is cheaper haha.....If I need to change skill everytime I see a different elite with different affix... I'll go back act 1 liow haha no NV buff = shet
GameFr3ak
post Jul 6 2012, 12:04 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 6 2012, 11:58 AM)
the last i check, Cold Resist + All resist are slightly cheaper. avoid physical resist, it's most expensive due to barbarian also wants it.

i m using Poison+All Resist. In fact, many people I know use this too.

The way I do it, I have been monitoring the AH for a loooong time while farming for gold. Get 1 piece at a time when the price is right.

i think the cheapest way to complete Inferno with monk is to stock up Resistances with OWE. then, compliments your lack of armor using Keen Eye and/or Evasion+20% more armor. You can pump up to close to 900 resist and 1k armor with these kind of setup. With that amount of DR, even Act 4 is do-able. White mob wont be able to kill you anymore (dont get surrounded). You will still have to kite with some elites to narrow entrance, etc, and you will still dies, but it's definitely able to complete Inferno.

Hopefully you get 20k DPS without buff if not killing takes a lot of time... biggrin.gif
Ya I'm slowly gearing towards that direction. Up to this moment, I can faceroll act 1 with high crits, 700 LoH. But Act 2, I die like a dog. Looks like I need to ditch my high crits... cry.gif
GameFr3ak
post Jul 6 2012, 12:22 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 6 2012, 12:15 PM)
5k armor 500AR 25k hp dual wield 15k dps with 1.4k LoH how far can I go?
I have better stats, lower LoH, I got facerolled in act 2 cry.gif I can switch to defensive, which render my LoH build useless sad.gif
GameFr3ak
post Jul 6 2012, 01:52 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 6 2012, 01:13 PM)
i can tell you that you're overgeared to take down diablo and azmodan, ghom just need kiting work but very very possible too
was about to post a jelly reply... definitely overgeared -.- rclxub.gif
GameFr3ak
post Jul 6 2012, 02:28 PM

3,849 posts

I'm gonna post my gears today... Need guidance from u guys on which to replace or which to upgrade sad.gif

0.0204sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:32 AM