Unifi Unifi Termination, How to avoid the penalty fees

TSTitanic
post May 15 2012, 12:13 AM, updated 14y ago

49 posts

Hi I have been using UNIFI for almost 8 months now. There are 16 more months to go before my contract ends. However, I would like to terminate it now as I will be moving to another place . The place has unifi connection. TM Centre said I have to RM500 as penalty fee. Is there any way to escape this ? PLease help
clarifier04
post May 15 2012, 12:20 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(Titanic @ May 15 2012, 12:13 AM)
Hi I have been using UNIFI for almost 8 months now. There are 16 more months to go before my contract ends. However, I would like to terminate it now as I will be moving to another place . The place has unifi connection. TM Centre said I have to RM500 as penalty fee. Is there any way to escape this ?  PLease help
how to avoid? transfer your unifi to the place that you want to move... it has unifi availability rite? if not there's not much hope
sick_baby
post May 15 2012, 12:23 AM

62 posts

cant do transfer ownership meh?
Lucifer96
post May 15 2012, 12:38 AM

257 posts

Transfer your ownership to someone else. Preferably family member to avoid money issues.
DrPitchard
post May 15 2012, 08:20 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Lucifer96 @ May 15 2012, 12:38 AM)
Transfer your ownership to someone else. Preferably family member to avoid money issues.
I doubt it if you can transfer ownership....its called a contract for certain reasons, and its tied to that particular person..
asellus
post May 15 2012, 08:43 AM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(DrPitchard @ May 15 2012, 08:20 AM)
I doubt it if you can transfer ownership....its called a contract for certain reasons, and its tied to that particular person..
You can transfer ownership, that's for sure. All that's changed is the name of the person that is contracted to TM, and the contract will be renewed IINM.
TSTitanic
post May 15 2012, 11:16 PM

49 posts

Thanks everyone for the comment. Yes, I can transfer ownership provided the unifi setting remains at the same place. I can't do that because the owner of the house is not interested with unifi connection. I can relocate the unifi to my place. But dont be surprised that the relocation fee is RM300. Termination fee is RM500!!! they are sucking out the money like hell!!
DrPitchard
post May 15 2012, 11:22 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Titanic @ May 15 2012, 11:16 PM)
Thanks everyone for the comment. Yes, I can transfer ownership provided the unifi setting remains at the same place. I can't do that because the owner of the house is not interested with unifi connection. I can relocate the unifi to my place. But dont be surprised that the relocation fee is RM300. Termination fee is RM500!!! they are sucking out the money like hell!!
Yeap, jz checked with TM, can transfer ownership now. Previously, tried to transfer my streamyx account with contract but they didn't allow.

However, for UniFi transfer of line, slight catch there which is the person who takes over the account needs to sign up another contract of 24 months...

Complicated, indeed....
TSTitanic
post May 15 2012, 11:30 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(DrPitchard @ May 15 2012, 11:22 PM)
Yeap, jz checked with TM, can transfer ownership now. Previously, tried to transfer my streamyx account with contract but they didn't allow.

However, for UniFi transfer of line, slight catch there which is the person who takes over the account needs to sign up another contract of 24 months...

Complicated, indeed....
But the other person must stay at same place rite ? my unifi account is in Serdang, and if I want to transfer it to someone in Damansara for example , is it possible ? and is it free ?
DrPitchard
post May 15 2012, 11:49 PM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(Titanic @ May 15 2012, 11:30 PM)
But the other person must stay at same place rite ? my unifi account is in Serdang, and if I want to transfer it to someone in Damansara for example , is it possible ? and is it free ?
Same location/same installation address. If you want to transfer it to someone in Damansara, you would need to apply to transfer location and pay the relocation fees. Then, after a month or so, transfer ownership to the new person and the contract will kick in again (24 months) under that person's name and you will be free from any contract... :-)
SnoWFisH
post May 16 2012, 02:47 PM

2,250 posts

Go and find our fellow member rattan, i think he can help u out...
TSTitanic
post May 16 2012, 09:22 PM

49 posts

thanks guyz, clear now
penman
post Sep 11 2012, 11:11 AM

142 posts

I just visited TM Point for UNIFI termination.

I was told by the CS, if you terminate unifi within the 24-month contract... you are required to bring:
01) photocopy NRIC
02) the entire box of unifi gadgets
• modem
• set-top-box (don't forget the remote)
• DECT phone
• wireless router
• and all the cables (just in case they try to be funny).

and the penalty for terminating before contract expires is RM500. It will charge to your last bill.

I didn't manage to terminate today, as I didn't have the unifi box with me. doh.gif

krayz_underground
post Sep 11 2012, 11:55 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Sep 11 2012, 11:11 AM)
I just visited TM Point for UNIFI termination.

I was told by the CS, if you terminate unifi within the 24-month contract... you are required to bring:
01) photocopy NRIC
02) the entire box of unifi gadgets
• modem
• set-top-box (don't forget the remote)
• DECT phone
• wireless router
• and all the cables (just in case they try to be funny).

and the penalty for terminating before contract expires is RM500. It will charge to your last bill.
I didn't manage to terminate today, as I didn't have the unifi box with me.  doh.gif
I tot lie to tm say want move to Sabah can escape these penalty.

LoL how come moving rumah oso want charge.

All want money rclxub.gif
penman
post Sep 11 2012, 12:04 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(krayz_underground @ Sep 11 2012, 11:55 AM)
I tot lie to tm say want move to Sabah can escape these penalty.

LoL how come moving rumah oso want charge.

All want money  rclxub.gif
because it's not TM's issue, that customers want early termination due to personal reasons.

Unless your area got problem with connections and you managed to build your case over time, then perhaps you have a chance to ask them waive the penalty. hmm.gif

I did that on my P1 subscription last time.
• lodge report/complain downtime every single time with emails follow by phone calls
• give them a deadline to fix, if not terminate
• if they refuse, I'll bring this to MCMC/Consumer Association/Media

and I got full refund (for all the months I can't use) but they deducted some bloody admin fee (can't remember the exact.)
krayz_underground
post Sep 11 2012, 12:30 PM

373 posts

Ya not TM Issue but not user fault as well.

LoL.

And TM really do not need the money =p
mister_giam
post Nov 12 2012, 12:41 PM

217 posts

what if I willing to pay the RM300 for the relocation fee, and i move to another place where unifi do not have service there.

can i argue that, "hey... not because I do not want to use your service, is you do not have service is that area... "

anyone try that before to get out of the contract ?

This post has been edited by mister_giam: Nov 12 2012, 12:42 PM
console
post Nov 12 2012, 01:47 PM

123 posts

I wasn't charged single cent from unifi relocation...weird becoz TM satff told me i will be charge rm300...

billing still show old addres, juz service address change to new address...

andrew9292
post Nov 12 2012, 05:31 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

By right RM300 should be charged... Lucky u =D

To those who want to relocate, read:
http://www.tm.com.my/unifi/home/Pages/contract-terms.aspx

If my interpretation is correct,
Relocation unifi - unifi = RM300 relocation fee.
Relocation unifi - streamyx = Follow streamyx package terms, if RM80 installaion, then RM80 etc...

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Nov 12 2012, 05:36 PM
izzat80
post Nov 12 2012, 06:14 PM

261 posts

btw just want to mention...
for ppl saying tm "taking their money" etc etc

its fair.... those fiber cable is not cheap.. tm must pay contractors etc
if many ppl get unifi then jumping around and dont want to pay any penalty then tm go bankrupt

its stealing if u using wireless.. like p1 or Yes or whatever... then want to change bill address and they say penalty .... THAT ONE STEALING confirm

but if the company come to ur house do installation with fixed wire etc etc... that fee for temination is normal.. better plan ahead next time before apply 2 year contract
sfim
post Nov 23 2012, 08:26 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Nov 12 2012, 05:31 PM)
By right RM300 should be charged... Lucky u =D

To those who want to relocate, read:
http://www.tm.com.my/unifi/home/Pages/contract-terms.aspx

If my interpretation is correct,
Relocation unifi - unifi = RM300 relocation fee.
Relocation unifi - streamyx = Follow streamyx package terms, if RM80 installaion, then RM80 etc...

notworthy.gif
WRT the relocation fee for unifi (RM 300), is it inclusive of standard installation at the new house?
or is it just a penalty that you have to pay TM?

post Nov 23 2012, 08:57 PM

1,602 posts

haha....the best way to avoid the termination fees is just don pay it !

not funny , but is serious....TM will never take action to those ppl who din't pay , and it doesn't affect to your CCRIS and TELCO record....
SUSnewly wed duck
post Nov 24 2012, 03:02 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(3536837 @ Nov 23 2012, 08:57 PM)

not funny , but is serious....TM will never take action to those ppl who din't pay , and it doesn't affect to your CCRIS and TELCO record....
next time wan sign unifi cannot lol
post Nov 24 2012, 09:45 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(newly wed duck @ Nov 24 2012, 03:02 AM)
next time wan sign unifi cannot lol
why not ?.....3 years ago , i'm blacklisted bcos i due to streamyx rm1k++
but now i still able to sign up for unifi with my own name...and i ask them to double check my account hv any overdue or not , thr said no....
WiLeKiyO
post Nov 26 2012, 09:27 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(3536837 @ Nov 23 2012, 08:57 PM)

You serious bro ? RM500 is a lot can be save. I am afraid I will receive a lawyer letter.
post Nov 26 2012, 10:16 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Nov 26 2012, 09:27 PM)
You serious bro ? RM500 is a lot can be save. I am afraid I will receive a lawyer letter.
pay or not is up to your matter of opinions.....
a lawyer letter bcos of rm500 =.=?.... yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif
guarantee will receive a red letter , but that is not lawyer letter....just a threaten letter without legal effect
izzani
post Dec 26 2012, 03:38 AM

178 posts

3536837 is absolutely correct

I have lots of outstanding and my name blacklisted at TM. The weird thing is when i tried to register unifi, it's available

Same goes to P1

This post has been edited by izzani: Dec 26 2012, 03:38 AM
pisanq
post Dec 26 2012, 08:46 AM

612 posts

People nowadays proud of their wrong doing, very weird
dannychen
post Dec 26 2012, 10:42 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Dec 26 2012, 08:46 AM)
People nowadays proud of their wrong doing, very weird
same goes for aes offenders, they are too proud of it.
wiraone
post Jun 4 2013, 01:20 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

Anybody know what I need to bring to TMPoint if I want to terminate an out-of-contract account? Just recently subscribed to Maxis HSBB and now want to terminate the Unifi.
WiLeKiyO
post Jun 5 2013, 01:35 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jun 4 2013, 01:20 PM)
Anybody know what I need to bring to TMPoint if I want to terminate an out-of-contract account? Just recently subscribed to Maxis HSBB and now want to terminate the Unifi.
Bring back all the equipments, make sure it complete with a box.
wiraone
post Jun 5 2013, 11:18 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jun 5 2013, 01:35 AM)
Bring back all the equipments, make sure it complete with a box.
Are you sure? My Huwaei fiber modem is used for my Maxis now, so I couldn't send it back. BTW, this is for out-of-contract .. Unifi is having a problem now and calling their call centre will be like ages to be picked up.
wiraone
post Jun 6 2013, 06:19 PM

3,892 posts

Sent them email, the answer, I need to return the BTU, so shoot them another email asking how am I going to use my internet since my Maxis Fibre is using the same BTU. No answer yet .. Called up 1-300 and they agent said that I may not need to bring it with me, but they may asked for it. So, still not solved .. and I guess just need to go to TMPoint tomorrow w/o the BTU and see.
Mister Chiew
post Jan 24 2017, 07:41 PM

QUOTE(izzani @ Dec 26 2012, 04:38 AM)
3536837 is absolutely correct

I have lots of outstanding and my name blacklisted at TM. The weird thing is when i tried to register unifi, it's available

Same goes to P1
Izzani, watching your post dated Dec 26, 2012, which is 5 years ago…

I wonder if this is still OK to be practised as I wanted to escape the penalty fees RM 500 myself too.
liquidvamp
post Jan 25 2017, 08:41 AM

★★★★
774 posts

QUOTE(Mister Chiew @ Jan 24 2017, 07:41 PM)
Izzani, watching your post dated Dec 26, 2012, which is 5 years ago…

I wonder if this is still OK to be practised as I wanted to escape the penalty fees RM 500 myself too.
Did you just necro'd a post from 5 years ago? blink.gif blink.gif doh.gif

As far as I can remember, if you're out of the 2 years contract, you can terminate Unifi without the RM500 penalty fees. Just need to bring the modem & stuffs they gave you on your installation. I just terminated my old unifi before I married without any penalty fees. But I had to pay for the lost modems & stuffs. haha

0.0241sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:26 AM