5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Honey - the cheapest way to healthier life.

TSgurpreetsingh
post May 13 2012, 07:06 AM, updated 12y ago

652 posts

I didnt find any specific thread for Honey, so thought lets share our views. I don't want to copy paste the stuff here from the google so lets share what we know.

I started taking honey+water in the morning and have seen tremendous improvement in the digestion. No more constipation problem.

Lets discuss your views, what brands to take and other misc discussion such as normal honey vs raw honey etc etc

Added on May 13, 2012, 7:08 amI would like to request some info about the best honey we could buy here. I have bought one called of RM 13 per KG from one of the cheapest stores in malaysia of dry fruits BAKE WITH YEN. They got tremendous competitive prices on dry fruits.

But I still think this is not 100% pure and I was thinking of buying some wild honey that would be best for our health. Kindly give some pointers.

This post has been edited by gurpreetsingh: May 13 2012, 07:08 AM
thenoobone
post May 13 2012, 07:26 AM

1,509 posts

im not really sure whats the good bout honey and where to get pure 1
got people sugest me to get it since its good for asma
hanifw
post May 13 2012, 07:33 AM

389 posts

Honey ?

And [consider how] thy Sustainer has inspired the bee: "Prepare for thyself dwellings in mountains and in trees, and in what [men] may build [for thee by way of hives];

(16:68)

and then eat of all manner of fruit, and follow humbly the paths ordained for thee by thy Sustainer." [And lo!] there issues from within these [bees] a fluid of many hues, wherein there is health for man. In all this, behold, there is a message indeed for people who think!

(16:69)

http://web.quran360.com/index/422

leggedy
post May 13 2012, 10:31 AM

93 posts

it is almost impossible to get raw unprocess honey in the market nowadays..

Raw unprocess honey, needless to say, 100% pure honey..but they havent been process so they havent been sterelize..meaning that there is some bacteria in it..if u've come across a raw unprocess honey, u will know they they simple produce gases and cannot be kept under the sun is due to the bacteria in it..the bacteria release gases..those gases good or bad i am not sure..and, wild unprocess honey, do not feed em to a newborn..they might not have the tolerance level to counter these bacteria..

While, process honey..am pretty sure they added other ingredient when they sterelize em..coz i've never taste any process honey in the market that never had the taste of sugar in em..the sweetness of wild unprocess honey is different than process honey that are added with other ingredient..

Honey is the only food in the whole world that doesnt have an expiry date..bear in mind..

Added on May 13, 2012, 10:33 amoh yea, wild unprocess honey do have a mild liquor taste with it..while process one do not have this taste..

And the long u kept a wild honey the darker they will become...

Even their sourness is totally different than process honey..

My parents use to kept one wild honey for like 20years, the colour was so so so dark..they didnt wanted to consume it..end up, i did finish it..hahaha

This post has been edited by leggedy: May 13 2012, 10:33 AM
TSgurpreetsingh
post May 13 2012, 02:46 PM

652 posts

Thanks for the info. Some of the info I read on various articles on google and it does co-relate with you guys. My main purpose of starting this thread is to get the real life experience of you guys and encourage all my fellow friends to consume the honey on daily basis.

As per Ayurved, Honey is neither heaty not cold. It enhance the effect of the food it is taken with. Eg if you take with ginger it will make it more hot and if you take with water, it does have cooling effect.
Many people still believe honey is heaty. It is not.

Lets see may be we have other people who can give pointers to buy best honey for health. Raw/Wild/processed !!

Added on May 13, 2012, 2:48 pm
QUOTE(thenoobone @ May 13 2012, 07:26 AM)
im not really sure whats the good bout honey and where to get pure 1
got people sugest me to get it since its good for asma
You mean Ashthma? it is one of the most potent and natural cure for asthama !!

Honey as per Indian ayurved and Chinese traditional medicine is one of the most important thing to be consumed daily.

Just make sure never add honey to hot fluids or heat it because it makes it toxic. Only those liquid which you can put on your skin and still bear the heat could be used with honey.

This post has been edited by gurpreetsingh: May 13 2012, 02:48 PM
hspace
post May 13 2012, 05:48 PM

377 posts

Good topic to start.

I see a lot of different types of honey out there : manuka, etc. Some labelled organic as well. Some cheap, some very expensive.

Wonder if it's worth the money, or just only slightly better but costs much more?
TSgurpreetsingh
post May 13 2012, 06:22 PM

652 posts

exactly thats what i want to know which one to buy ~~
you90
post May 13 2012, 06:23 PM

801 posts

yeah, honey is my favourite remedy for ailments like fever and flu. it never fail to work to cure my fever and flu immediately upon 1 glass consumption.

I am currently taking Eu Yan Shan pure honey, costs RM32 per 500ml bottle.

I am wondering how does one differentiate whether it is pure or no?
TSgurpreetsingh
post May 13 2012, 06:25 PM

652 posts

rm32 for half a kg is very expensive. I m sure we must be having cheaper brands with pure honey. We need good pointers.
sfwong1
post May 13 2012, 11:09 PM

456 posts

i got some bottle of manuka honey. but seldom touch it cos too lazy to mix with water and drink. also i've tried to drink some when i got flu or fever but the effect doesnt seem to work.
dkk
post May 14 2012, 03:09 AM

11,400 posts

QUOTE(leggedy @ May 13 2012, 10:31 AM)
Honey is the only food in the whole world that doesnt have an expiry date..bear in mind..
False. There are many other foods ...

http://urbansurvivalsite.com/foods-that-last-forever/
sendoh_7
post May 14 2012, 09:04 AM

520 posts

•Honey does not dissolve in water. Drop a teaspoon of honey in a cup of water and mix it gently, wait for a few minutes. Pure honey should remain as a solid lump at the bottom of the cup.
•Honey should not get absorbed when dropped on blotting paper.
•Pour honey on a piece of white cloth and wash it off. Pure honey does not leave any stains behind
•Ants don't get attracted to honey. Due to its viscocity, ants must be able to walk over honey without any trouble
•Dip a cotton ear bud in honey and light it with a match stick. Pure honey will burn while honey adulterated with water will not

try it tongue.gif
http://www.healthfundas.org/How-To-Test-If...ey-Is-Pure.html

SUSWintersuN
post May 14 2012, 09:28 AM

3,173 posts

Manuka honey is really expensive. Cheap honey i heard are fake where they are only sugar not from the bees..
sfwong1
post May 14 2012, 04:25 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 14 2012, 09:04 AM)
•Honey does not dissolve in water. Drop a teaspoon of honey in a cup of water and mix it gently, wait for a few minutes. Pure honey should remain as a solid lump at the bottom of the cup.
•Honey should not get absorbed when dropped on blotting paper.
•Pour honey on a piece of white cloth and wash it off. Pure honey does not leave any stains behind
•Ants don't get attracted to honey. Due to its viscocity, ants must be able to walk over honey without any trouble
•Dip a cotton ear bud in honey and light it with a match stick. Pure honey will burn while honey adulterated with water will not

try it tongue.gif
http://www.healthfundas.org/How-To-Test-If...ey-Is-Pure.html
hard to find pure honey without processed. the one that can be found in market majority are those already processed already.
sendoh_7
post May 14 2012, 05:01 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 14 2012, 04:25 PM)
hard to find pure honey without processed. the one that can be found in market majority are those already processed already.
a bit of processing is ok i guess, as long as their did not add additives, sugar or watever in the honey? unsure.gif
sfwong1
post May 14 2012, 05:06 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(sendoh_7 @ May 14 2012, 05:01 PM)
a bit of processing is ok i guess, as long as their did not add additives, sugar or watever in the honey? unsure.gif
honey confirm they add a little bit of sugar inside if not why so sweet.
TSgurpreetsingh
post May 14 2012, 05:08 PM

652 posts

I saw few wild raw n forest honey at tampai chinese herb store in pavilion kl.. now my question is it safe to consume such honey? Price was around 35 per 500g for one...others were cheap.. m not so sure though.

Added on May 14, 2012, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 13 2012, 11:09 PM)
i got some bottle of manuka honey. but seldom touch it cos too lazy to mix with water and drink. also  i've tried to drink some when i got flu or fever but the effect doesnt seem to work.
Don't be lazy bro.... do it everyday. And take more number of times to see the effects. I bet you if you consume it daily ur body will fight flu on its own and msy be you dont get flu at all.

This post has been edited by gurpreetsingh: May 14 2012, 05:11 PM
sendoh_7
post May 14 2012, 05:49 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ May 14 2012, 05:06 PM)
honey confirm they add a little bit of  sugar inside if not why so sweet.
at least the percentage quite good lor..compare the cheap 'honey' in plastic bottle to the ones in glass jar..
if u cook with the cheap honey, sure ur food will turn to charcoal..
good honey will came out nicely crisp tongue.gif
Skylinestar
post May 14 2012, 08:12 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ May 14 2012, 09:28 AM)
Manuka honey is really expensive. Cheap honey i heard are fake where they are only sugar not from the bees..
Cheap honey are fakes? How true is this?
Is it still consider healthy if we consume it everyday? Use as jam spread on bread?
SUSWintersuN
post May 14 2012, 08:42 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 14 2012, 08:12 PM)
Cheap honey are fakes? How true is this?
Is it still consider healthy if we consume it everyday? Use as jam spread on bread?
not to say all cheap honey are fakes but there are fake honey being sold cheaply.. And they are just sugar caramel maybe add abit honey im not sure. Can read it more online.

If fake honey which is sugar spread on bread and eat everyday will kena diabetes. SUgar content too high its like eatting spoonful of sugar everyday

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:09 PM