Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

prody
post Aug 3 2012, 12:48 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

Black 408 2.0 here. smile.gif

Full tank about 52 liters = RM 98.80 (total capacity = 60 liters).

For mostly city drive, fuel consumption = 11.5 liter/ 100 km. Can run about 52/11.5 x 100 = 452 km.
For mostly highway drive, fuel consumption = 8.3 liter/ 100 km. Can run about 52/8.3 x 100 = 627 km.
prody
post Aug 8 2012, 04:27 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cnr89 @ Aug 7 2012, 03:00 PM)
opps ..sorry, wrong type.. i mean 2.0NA

Added on August 7, 2012, 3:20 pmHi kejusan, Poyoguy, Gill71, AHY20, prody

from the above, understand you all are driving 2.0NA now.
mind to share me the fuel consumption for 2.0 NA?
Results so far:

Calculated Car shows Average speed
l / 100 km l / 100 km km/hr
11.9 11.4 34
10.3 9.9 50
8.4 8.3 66

prody
post Aug 15 2012, 04:15 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Aug 9 2012, 09:13 PM)
Seriously, I do not trust the FC meter smile.gif

Try filling the car to full....lets say it will show 460km to go. Also, reset one of the trip meter to 0. Now drive...after a few days...check and see whether the km left + trip meter = 460..hehe..mine half tank oledi drop to 420 smile.gif
Some more fuel consumption data for 2.0.

Based on checking of petrol pumped:
Petrol calculated - Car shows
8.4 - 8.3
10.3 - 9.9
11.9 - 11.4
So using more petrol on average then car measures (0.8-4.5%)

Of course fuel consumption is higher when speed is slower.
Jam only for 8 km: Average speed 15 km/hr, car shows 17.5 l/ 100km
Highway only: Average speed 107 km/hr, car shows 7.5 l/ 100km

Comparison for S-mode vs normal mode (both at average speed of 34 km/hr):
S-mode 12.3 l/100 km vs normal mode 11.9 l/100 km.
Difference is quite low (3.4%), happy revving. smile.gif

prody
post Aug 16 2012, 04:55 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Aug 15 2012, 05:08 PM)
wow, if like that, can switch on the s mode always??
Yeah, but you can check for yourself. Just compare the fuel consumption that the car indicates.
Actual fuel consumption should be a bit higher only.
prody
post Aug 24 2012, 03:00 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Aug 24 2012, 02:18 PM)
10K km or 3 months which ever come first?? Is this confirm?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

By the way any estimated maintainence cost intervals for 408 turbo? I only show at Glenmarie showroom for 80K, it will cost 3.6K for turbo
doh.gif  doh.gif
No, should be 6 months.
prody
post Sep 11 2012, 08:30 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Sep 7 2012, 06:02 PM)
Really aah! I have been reading the manul upside down to auto connect Bluetooth,but no success. Finally asked my SA,he said no auto connect. This SA not the bullshit type,he's been honest and delivered on all his promise. After that I manual connect every time. A bit cumbersome,every start got to reconnect,especially when go out makan and then want to go elsewhere!
Still ok, my htc desire can't connect at all. Will wait for new phone and try again. smile.gif

Added on September 11, 2012, 8:35 pm
QUOTE(GenY@MY @ Sep 11 2012, 02:12 PM)
I have observed that the auto gear transmission of my 408 NA is not as smooth at low speed especially when the traffic is moving very slowly.(noted engine jerkiness and loudness)

From my observation, the auto gear switches (from gear 1 to gear 2) at 2600rpm, l prefer to manually switch to gear 2 at 2000 rpm(then switch back to auto) when moving at very slow speed as I find that this really helps in reducing the 'jerkiness' and loudness from the engine and I believed that it also contribute to slight improvement in FC. But then my wife drives in auto all the time and has no complain, so to each his (her) own.

Overall, I can say that I'm quite satisfied with the aesthethics and functionality of this car.
Same, transmission is not very smooth in the jam.

I usually use S-mode now.

This post has been edited by prody: Sep 11 2012, 08:35 PM
prody
post Sep 12 2012, 08:48 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Sep 11 2012, 09:42 PM)
Isn't s mode will make it rev higher and gear changes at 3k rpm above?
Gear changes not as smooth as forte 6 speed.
Yeah S-mode will make it rev higher.

If you accelerate really slowly it changes just above 3k rpm, but usually for me it will change above 5k.
prody
post Sep 13 2012, 09:25 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(Termibait @ Sep 12 2012, 03:51 PM)
Wow, i can foresee one full tank can last u about350km only....haha..
Now it's about 450 km. smile.gif

Added on September 13, 2012, 9:30 am
QUOTE(jfcheong @ Sep 12 2012, 09:52 PM)
Ya, been quite famous that pushing a brand new car that dead in the middle of the road to petrol station.
The FC of my 408 is considered high, around 9.7l/100km with complex of high way and city drive. Still unable to hit 8.6l/100km as per claimed by Peugeot.
Oh, Ya. Wanna ask, do u guys engage in N gear while waiting for traffic light? I heard that sliding the car with N gear will damage the gear box, is it true?
The slower you drive, the higher the fuel consumption (unless very fast I guess smile.gif ).
Pure highway I got 7.5 l/100 km (average speed 107 km/hr).
Worst reading is 12.3 l/100 km (average speed 34 km/hr).

This post has been edited by prody: Sep 13 2012, 09:30 AM
prody
post Sep 18 2012, 04:31 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(kejusan @ Sep 17 2012, 10:09 PM)
Been experimenting driving between manual and auto for the past few days. The FC is significantly better when driving in manual and shifting gears before the 2.5k RPM. For example, I've managed to get 7.6l/100km when driving in manual mode from Serdang to Glenmarie (50% hway, 50% city) with a distance of 30km and average speed of 55km/h. When driven in auto, best FC observe is only 8.2l/100km, and that is on a very light right foot.

I also observe that there seems to be an 'intermediate' gear in-between the 1st and 2nd gear; once shifting from 1st to 2nd gear, the RPM will drop TWICE, but it's still at the 2nd gear, which seems like there's an intermediate gear. None of this has been observe when shifting at higher gears.

Also, on manual mode, shifting from 3rd to 4th gear below 2.5k RPM isn't smooth. Shifting it slightly above 2.5 is silky smooth.  rclxms.gif
I've noticed this as well.

prody
post Nov 5 2012, 08:38 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Nov 3 2012, 10:26 PM)
After my S3 upgraded to Jelly Bean,  it won't auto connect to the 408 sound system already.
So far ok with my note2.

In the beginning it worked well.
Then I turned of the media streaming option on my phone and it stopped working completely.

After that I completely removed the phone from the 408 memory and added it again.
Since then working flawlessly again.

So in short, you can try to remove and add your phone.
prody
post Nov 16 2012, 01:49 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(zeelim @ Nov 15 2012, 03:09 PM)
Quick check with you guys.

I just got my 408 2.0 a few weeks back. Current mileage is around 1.5K. As the 2.0 version does not have a dedicated FC counter (seriously wtf Peugeot), my calculation is based on using manual calculation. Each fuel top up is exactly 52L using Shell Ron95 from the exact same station.

First tank:  52L
Total Distance : 385km
FC: 13.5L / 100km

Second Tank: 52L
Total Distance: 390km
FC: 13.33L / 100km

Third Tank: 52L
Total Distance: 400km
FC: 13L / 100km

This calculation is based on 100% City driving, with smooth driving (max out at 80-100kmh), totally no traffic jam (as my working hours is abit weird), and is for a round trip from my home to the office and back. Thats it.

I'm curious, isn't the FC abit HIGH for a C segment car? Or is there something wrong with my car? I'm from JB btw, so would totally appreciate it if any bros with the 408 2.0 can share their FC as a reference. One more question btw, anyone top up for the Insurance windscreen coverage ? My SA told me I would need to top up around RM 600+ as the windscreen cost RM 4K! I'm just curious as I only needed to top up like RM 300 for my 20010 Camry!
Mine does. Yours should have one. smile.gif You can click on mode, for details see your manual.

Once you found it let us know what is the fuel consumption there and your average speed.

Added on November 16, 2012, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 16 2012, 08:17 AM)
Even though your driving is 100% city but in actual fact it can be considered as highway too since your driving speed is fairly constant and you dont get stuck in traffic. If this is the case, then i would say that your consumption seems a bit high. But your FC will probably become better over time but im puzzled as to why your consumption is this high now.

Just for your info, i recently managed to test my Kia Optima K5's FC at a constant 110kmph for almost entire full tank. Based on the 'fill-drive-fill-measure' concept, i covered 1011km on 76L of fuel. 90% of the journey was at a constant 110kmph. This equates to about 7.52L/100km average over 1000+km.

My previous record was 780km on 80L of fuel driving at 160-170kmph on 80% highway. This equates to 10.2L/100km. I measured this when my car was about 2 months old.

Fyi, the K5 is considered slightly underpowered due to its higher body weight.
I got about 7.5l/100 km driving with average speed 107 km/hr with my 408 2.0.

This post has been edited by prody: Nov 16 2012, 01:52 PM
prody
post Nov 16 2012, 03:47 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 16 2012, 02:21 PM)
Use the 'fill-drive-fill-measure' method over a long distance to calculate. Readings from the meter are only indicative. I got 6.8-7.0L/100km during my 110kmph drive.
I did do the same for many other readings for my 408 and at high speed the fuel consumption as shown by the 408 is almost the same with the method. Maximum difference is only about 0.1l/100km.

Maybe KIA needs to work to improve it? wink.gif

This post has been edited by prody: Nov 16 2012, 03:49 PM
prody
post Nov 16 2012, 04:41 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 16 2012, 04:18 PM)
Nope. The readings you are getting are average readings taken over the course of the drive. Your difference based on the fill-drive-fill method wont be 0.1L/100km as you claimed as your filling method will have its variables depending on how much you fill. For instance, the first click of the fuel pump will vary depending on the pressure in the tank and from station to station.
I don't know how your K5 works, but my 408 works like this: there are no multiple readings, there is just 1 reading. I compare this 1 reading to the fill-drive-fill reading.

I agree with you on the variables, but noticed the difference is always something like this:
- difference for readings at lower average speed is about 0.4l/100 km
- difference for readings at higher average speed it is about 0.1l/100km

Good luck with your K5. smile.gif
prody
post Nov 16 2012, 08:24 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 16 2012, 05:31 PM)
Even your fill-drive-compare method will not have the accuracy of 0.1L/100km so how then can you have this accuracy for your comparison?  rclxub.gif
Just reporting my results. Maybe it's by accident? smile.gif

Added on November 16, 2012, 8:25 pm
QUOTE(zeelim @ Nov 16 2012, 06:29 PM)
Prody, my manuals stuck at home until I get off work at 3am today, if you don't mind me asking where's the MODE button? I only got 2 buttons on the trip meter, a MILEAGE/SERVICE BUTTON, and another button that doesn't seem to do anything (the logo looks like a meter with a sun on top of it). If I'm not mistaken for the 408T, you can display the FC/AVG SPEED by pressing the button on the edge of the wiper controls, but it doesn't seem to work at all on my Pug.
It's on the radio section, somewhere on the left.

That button on the edge of your wiper control should work as well yeah.

This post has been edited by prody: Nov 16 2012, 08:25 PM
prody
post Nov 17 2012, 08:31 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(zeelim @ Nov 16 2012, 10:47 PM)
Prody.. I'm pretty sure you're driving a 408T.
I got my wife to send me a photo from the manual:

[attachmentid=3159674]

Kindly take note of the little "*" at the top of the page right beside TRIP COMPUTER.
Then look at the bottom right hand corner of the page where its written " AVAILABLE FOR 408 TURBO ONLY"
Source: Page 36 from the official Peugeot 408 manual.

So, yes, I'm PRETTY sure the 408 2.0 doesn't have a trip computer.
My manual looks the same. Car is pretty fast, but quite sure it's a 2.0 looking at the engine. smile.gif

What happens when you press the mode button? What do you see?
I see the following, not sure in what order: radio, mobile connected, trip computer
prody
post Nov 19 2012, 04:55 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(zeelim @ Nov 18 2012, 02:26 PM)
Hi Prody, Nice jibe on the speedy car thingy, haha. For all its fault, the 408 is a nice car to drive. In regards to the MODE button, previously when I press the button nothing changes in the central screen.  It just shows the time or the track playing on the radio. Pretty fed up and finally took some time to send the car down for an inspection.

Apparently its a software problem, hmmm.  I sent my car down on Saturday, and they did something to the software so I can FINALLY see the trip computer. I was overjoyed, and left the service center with a happy heart. But back at home, after pressing the MENU button, I can only see 3 options instead of 4. The bluetooth option is gone! Its partly my fault I guess that I didn't check everything when I collected the car, but bloody hell, stuff like this shouldn't happen lar. I would have to go down to Nassim AGAIN on Monday. Good grief.
408 no fault smile.gif (well except for not including GPS)

Your example shows that it's good to complain about our cars sometimes.
prody
post Nov 25 2012, 03:03 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(Gill71 @ Nov 25 2012, 11:02 AM)
anyone experience the spanner sign coming out while starting the car, its there like 1-2sec then go off. this sign indicates the car is due for service, but mine only 7k and yet to reach the 6mth mark. tks
Can't remember if it came out and then off again. I'm at 9k now and it's always there.
prody
post Nov 26 2012, 08:40 AM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Nov 25 2012, 11:05 PM)
within 2 weeks or 500km. please don't forget. this is crucial and automobiles peugeot france is very sticky with the servicing schedules as it involves your warranty. if you can't get your regular service centre, go for another even slightly further away. as they are usually busy, try to make an appointment when you are even about 1,000km away from your scheduled service.
Yeah, I also would try not to take any risk and stick to the service schedule.
My 2,500 km inspection was around 2,300 km. So for the next inspection they wrote in the book: 2,300 + 7,500 + 500 = 10,300.

prody
post Nov 27 2012, 01:53 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 25 2012, 10:27 PM)
Happened to have some free time today so did a test drive on the 408 Turbo at TTDI. Ive tested the 508 many times before i chose the Optima. And there's a clear difference between the 508 and the 408T. The more premium feel of the 508 is quite evident. But the 408 does not disappoint. Quite powerful thanks to the 240Nm torque. But i did sense a slight turbo lag when i floored the pedal. Cabin was well insulated but the lack of tyre noise could be due to the Michelin tyres and smaller rim. Took a few corners hard and road grip was good. The expansive windscreen gives you the feeling that you're driving a big car. But step into the rear seat and you know immediately that ure not in a D segment. Although rear legroom is more than satisfactory but putting 3 normal size adults side by side makes it quite cramped width wise. But the seats are comfortable and firm typical of conti's.

Overall i think the 408 is a more than average car with more than adequate power on the tap. If only Peugeot had improved the rear design, im sure we would be seeing more 408's on the road. The location of the cruise control is also weird and nt easily accessible. Peugeot should have placed it on the steering wheel as it did for the 508. For 125K, i think Nasim could have thrown in power seats and HID headlights which is considered quite 'standard' these days. HID lights are quite essential especially during night drives on the highway. But im refering to the factory fitted ones here not the overly bright ones you get from accessory shops which should be banned for the safety risk to other road users. In terms of handling, i rate the new Ford Focus a few notches higher. Steering response is also better.

So if your budget is max 125K, then the 408 would be a good and logical choice. But 125K also puts many car buyers within range of some D segment makes out there.
Once you drive this car for more then a day you will have no problem accessing any of the controls.
Now go and ditch that KIA. wink.gif

Added on November 27, 2012, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Nov 27 2012, 10:39 AM)
nod.gif

nod.gif

Just wondering if 'My family had 3 previous generation Peugeots, all of which were CBU France and all had numerous problems. Same with the Korean makes.', why do u still buy Peugeot and another Korean ???
sweat.gif not from me ....yet

Added on November 27, 2012, 11:31 am

Sorry for the late reply but was so damn busy. First and foremost, I am a 5'10'' dude and was looking for a segment D and found them too expansive and P408 though segment C was having all the quality that I needed at an affordable price.

What do I mean? Mazda 3 , jetta and focus all is too smallish and uncomfortable to me (and I believe would too for any one the size of my built) when mostly you will get 45++mm length +17xx mm width + 14XX mm height with wheelbase of 2,6++mm

Just to zoom in on the 3 (Mazda 3, Jetta and Focus ) compared  to P408, below is the score card.
     length width Height W/base
mazda 3     4580 1755 1470 2640
VW Jetta     4644 1778 1482 2651
Ford Focus     4534 1824 1466 2648
P 408     4682 1815 1525 2710

I sat in A P408, and I wanted nothing else after....Just go and compare to say the cheapest segement D, Nissan Teana
at RM138k, to top range VW passat, and even Mazda 6

length width Height W/base
Nissan Teana 4850 1795 1480 2775
Passat     4769 1820 1470 2712
Mazda 6        4735     1795         1440         2725

You will find P408 is the longest segment C but shorter to all sement Ds but P408 still comes in wider than a segment D's Teana and Mazda 6  narrower to a Passat by just a mere 5 mm but lo and behold at a height of 1525, it is heigher than all segment D available i.e. including camry, mondeo, accord, k5, sonata. The wheelbase of 2710 topple all segment C rival and is very close to again segment D'sPassat and Mazda 6

I was looking for room, and boy I have found plenty of room

Then looking at the widgets...althought having no start stop button/keyless entry compare to the lowest prized segmnet D Nissan Teana, at 109,888 2.0 NA compare to 138,000 same 2.0 NA , I still get Autolight, Aoto Wiper, Auto Cruze, electric Side mirror which Teana cannot give at 138k.

Need I say more?
Better not, don't need to sell so many unless they open more service centers.

Most cars will look to be overpriced compared to the 408. smile.gif

This post has been edited by prody: Nov 27 2012, 01:56 PM
prody
post Nov 27 2012, 02:15 PM

1,548 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 27 2012, 02:10 PM)
Haha! Why? Spec wise, design and internal space still ranks above. Only limitation is the smaller power output but still very much acceptable for a 2.0 NA engine i guess. So far the only car that might make me 'regret' buying the K5 would be the upcoming Mazda 6 launching next year but considering the time frame in between, it wont really be a regret.  biggrin.gif
wink.gif <--- Joking smile.gif For that budget it looks to be a good car specification wise.

0.0322sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:23 AM