4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Peugeot 408......, Launching Soon ? Now with pics... :D

zweimmk
post Dec 30 2012, 09:54 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(matsukatsu @ Dec 29 2012, 09:13 AM)
Hi guys, just sent my Lion for 1st 10k service! I did at 10350 actually & was scared sh#t  wil exceed 10,500 !! Was impressed though, service advisor covers the steering & gear knob with plastic laminates & seat with new protective sheet. Not bad ah

Added on December 29, 2012, 9:53 amBtw, had also driven my 408 NA to Singapore ( Lion enters the Lion City !) last week b4 Xmas. On a stretch b4reaching skudai, had tried pitching against VW Passat CC & Scirocco !. Seriously NA can kept pace with Passat Cc with more room to go.  As for Scirocco, the 1st 100kmh its surely ahead but not for long as by 150-160kmh til 185kmh, just nicely 20-30metres behind. Looks like 2.0 has enough grunt to keep pace once exceed 110kmh. Btw, the road was clear & certainly safe plus with the solid handling & braking capabilities. Also, I noticed at 140kmh, rpm is at 3.6k.
I agree with cybermaster98 on this. Trying to match their speed isn't a big problem if they are staying at a constant pace. It's a matter of how fast they can pull away from you if they want to and whether if its safe to continue driving at such high speeds. Driver courage is also another factor, I think people would tend to tense up more once they hit 180km/hr and above. Trying to maintain such speeds on our highway is definitely not advisable, if I were any of those drivers, I would simply just let you pass rather than having you tailgate me at such speeds.

zweimmk
post Dec 31 2012, 10:28 AM

512 posts

Is there any engine mods for the 408T/308T?

Eg. Stage 1 ECU remap etc? Stage 2 etc... That sort of thing.

What kind of power can you expect after a remap is done?
zweimmk
post Dec 31 2012, 11:56 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Dec 31 2012, 11:44 AM)
How come I don't feel the aboves when I test drove the K5 many many times over?  whistling.gif
Drive feel is subjective. But Korean engines does indeed sound rather harsh when you push it hard. Engines from the Japanese still feel more... smooth? and the sound also isn't as rough when you push it hard.

They both get the job done in the end though, but really - what you pay is really what you get.
zweimmk
post Dec 31 2012, 02:10 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Pogostik @ Dec 31 2012, 12:38 PM)
Most of 308T owners are using tuning box. I'm not so sure about ECU remapping although I'd read before somewhere about someone who agrees to let his 308T to be a guinea pig.

Using the tuning box:

Nice numbers. Guess those who bought the NA pretty much can't do anything else from a piggyback unless they drop in an aftermarket turbo but that will mean having to modify other aspects of the car.

Added on December 31, 2012, 2:22 pm
QUOTE(lowpro @ Dec 31 2012, 01:28 PM)
wow, interesting articles. thanks for sharing. just fyi, my friend just shared with me that he had his dsg equipped fiesta change its gearbox under warranty and the bill came up to something like rm15k. lucky it was under warranty. the thing is, with any euro car that is not premium in nature, there will be a few instances here and there that cause worry. the good thing about oriental makes is that while they are slower to intro new tech, they always ensure that there is no issue at all when it is introduced. this is my personal observation only. imho, the europeans rush to intro new tech (since they are known to put on market new tech first) and sometimes, there are still hiccups which will only be cleared in subsequent evolutions of the tech. hope the m series engine is truly sorted out.
DSG issues aren't anything new. From what I understand, these issues have since reduced although there still cases out there. Oh well doh.gif

Good news: They extended the warranty on DSG gearboxes for both US/China to 10 years
Bad news: I don't think it applies here

End of the day, want to buy continental, be it VW/Peugeot or any other also you will need to be aware and contend with whatever shortcomings it may potentially have. The important thing is how quickly they attend to your problem and how well they take care of you during this downtime. But if reliability is major concern, then just go Japanese or Korean. According to JDpowers, they still have less problems compared to the Europeans (except Mercedes Benz) but the downside is having to live with a less safe, less featured and less powerful car (except if its a new Mazda CX5 then you only lose on the power part).

Can't have everything, not unless you pay for it.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Dec 31 2012, 02:22 PM
zweimmk
post Jan 1 2013, 12:48 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Dec 31 2012, 11:45 PM)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Wow bro,this an astonishing revelation of the K5. From my own evaluation,I know the engine is unrefined and harsh. That completely startled me for this day of modern technology. I am absolutely shocked by the poor throttle response,rubbish handling and body roll which you describe! I did test drive the K5,but I'll take your word on it since you are an owner.  I always believe owners know better than anyone else. Others can only test drive,read and comment! On top of that, we go to  great length to proof to everyone their car is not as good! How childish!No disrespect to you, I have never gone to K5 thread to trash them!  I salute you my fried for your unbiased feedback!

I found the tyre noise rather loud and extremely annoying,but i suppose owners have to spend more money to change better quality tyres.......goosh!

Bro it's admittedly by owners, an underpowered car,so ok la drive slow! I understand the NU engine will be reduced HP! How like this..........some more underpowered!

Better get the 408t la, the NA is good,but after your disappointment with the K5 i think  you want a more exciting car to drive. Believe me for the money,the 408t is fabulous & will not disappoint you. You will enjoy miles and miles superb driving!
Actually Kcng isn't an owner, but got to use the car over a weekend and that was his findings. But once you've driven a turbocharged car, most standard NA variants will feel underwhelming... unless it's a huge 3.0L NA V6 engine or at least those E90 325i inline 6.

At the moment, I think only the Ford Focus can give the P408 a run for its money in its class segment, unless they decide to miraculously bring down the price of the VW Jetta (like that's going to happen tongue.gif )
zweimmk
post Jan 2 2013, 11:29 AM

512 posts

408 thread or not, I'm surprised that people are still worried about turbo engine reliability. They've been in mainstream use and on sale since 2005? 2006? Perhaps even earlier?

It's not like these engines have been in production only for the past year or from the early 80s/90s... and modern engines have been designed and manufactured to account for the greater operating stresses when used in conjunction with a turbocharger and sometimes with a supercharger. Also when it comes to fuel efficiency, smaller turbocharged engines haven been proven to be just as fuel efficient if not already better than their NA counterparts. sweat.gif

The more problematic areas seem to be with the clutches rather than with the engine itself and doesn't matter if it's automatic or dual clutch, they seem to have their own sets of issues as well.

Those old perception of turbocharged engines still need more time to change rolleyes.gif

zweimmk
post Jan 2 2013, 02:50 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jan 2 2013, 12:23 PM)
...It also didn't help that Malaysian mentality of negativity towards conti and turbo cars.

malaysian thinking is like....buy car?
low budget = p1/p2 leaning more towards p2 myvi
decent budget = t/h to some extent nissan but always consider vios, altis, camry above anything else
got budget = merc/bmw first choice is always merc
turbo = evo only
Just like there are people who think modern turbocharged engines are problematic, there will also be people who think in the manner as you describe. Call them conservative, badge sensitive or someone who's been living under a rock, it takes time to change a person's mindset.

Btw, if I got more money I also would buy a Merc. The difference in quality and attention to detail is truly what you pay is what you get.
zweimmk
post Jan 2 2013, 03:11 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Jan 2 2013, 02:07 PM)
QUOTE(Paultan Website)
Automobiles Citroën has appointed Naza Euro Motors (NEM) as the official distributor for the Citroen brand in Malaysia, effective Jan 1, 2013.
I think that's both good and bad news. Good news, more selection to choose from. Bad news, Naza/Nasim would either have to hire more manpower or divert some experts from the current workforce to handle the Citroen end of things. Still, I'd very much like to see the new Citroen DS4, that's one sexy looking car.
zweimmk
post Jan 2 2013, 04:34 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 2 2013, 03:50 PM)
To be fair, there's quite a lot of citroen, mini cooper s, and peugeots out there suffering from death rattle and prematurely worn out timing chain tensioner.
Heh, when we bought our turbocharged cars, we already know that problems may potentially arise. And all the known issues highlighted also didn't that still didn't stop us from buying one. That's something they won't understand.

How's your 508 btw? There's one parked outside my office and our cars are almost alway parked side by side with one another. I got an opportunity to take a look at the 508 interior and I must say I'm came away really impressed with the quality of the interior. What's kind of FC are you doing?

Added on January 2, 2013, 4:36 pm
QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 2 2013, 04:10 PM)
Just some info for new owners. The tires are usually inflated to 50psi when you collect the car. You can deflate it to around 30psi+ for better ride comfort. At least that was the case for 508's
50PSI!?!?!?!?! Must be hard as rocks man

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Jan 2 2013, 04:48 PM
zweimmk
post Jan 3 2013, 10:45 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 2 2013, 05:42 PM)
Yup, at this sort of price point its like best bet for money in terms of what you get. So a little bit of compromise is expected la, ie 50/50 reliability. FC quite ok la, lasts me around 600-700km a full tank travelling to and from work. 50% of the route is on MRR2, congested like hell as usual, 50% in MEX cruising 110kmh. I only did once full highway during CNY 2012, lasts about 900km, but still got fuel to go before low fuel warning. But I dont dare to drive till the warning really light up because up north near thai borders there isnt really alot of fuel station.

My rear left hand door developed some rattle inside also. Complained to the balakong SC and they say they added some padding inside but gotta leave it stationary for 2 days for the glue/adhesive to harden. Obviously something that I cant do because I drive to work everyday, so the rattle came back in less than a week's time. I give it benefit of doubt that the glue havent harden properly to hold things in place?

Yup 50psi. Most owners in the autoworld forum also report the same thing when they collect their car
We have very similar FC but I have to do a bit more city driving and less highway so 1 tank gives me about 580km ~ 650km. On highway, I've actually achieved 900km or so going to Singapore and back and then some biggrin.gif Our cars should be able to achieve 1000km if we were to push it and be more careful with our right foot.

I think this rattling issue, it must be a continental thing, even my car has it tongue.gif But a relative of mine who's working for VW FA Wagen tells me don't bother fixing because it's the plastics expanding and contracting. If you take it apart, sometimes u end up with more problems. They also use silicon glue to harden the problematic areas. It's probably the same issue with your 508 if it comes and goes away. Do you need to top up your engine oil btw?
zweimmk
post Jan 3 2013, 01:00 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jan 3 2013, 11:52 AM)
Yup quite similar figures. I suppose you're right about the silicone glue part because they ask me to leave the car stationary for 2 days, and yet they dont wanna provide me with courtesy car.

So far no need topup engine oil. Everyday check on the onboard computer it says engine oil level fine. Yours?
@balakong - took multiple attempt to fix the engine kencing thingy. I took day offs to get my car fixed, and since there's nothing around there to eat I just monitor them from the waiting room upstair throughout the entire process. By 12pm they already put my car aside and went prayers. So I go down there and ask whether my car is ready for collection and they say havent do test drive yet. So I just wait and then 5pm comes they call me and say car ready for collection. I ask them where's the test drive? They say already done. I'm monitoring them the entire time, if they did drive off with my car I would've noticed. So I just wasted 5 hours for the so call "test drive" doh.gif

@csl - doesnt make any difference if you make an appointment with them. I remember that time I went for a biz trip, so I booked a timeslot for servicing with them. Then come the time when I was away and my wife took my car for servicing, and surprise they say no mechanic that day and ask to reschedule. Nice? When scheduling that time, everything ok, come the actual day say no mechanic shakehead.gif
Topped up my engine oil once. According to other owners, I'm supposed to manually check the oil level every 5k just to make sure there's enough engine oil.

-----

Heh, looks like service standards are still more or less the same compared to 2 years back when it is operated under Nasim. Don't think I want to get into too much details lest some people think I'm bashing again, but it pissed him off enough to sell off his car after 18 months of ownership. Same case with my other friend who owns a 308T, also cannot tahan and sold of his car after about 15 months.

Both of them also had their cars serviced in Glenmarie and Puchong SC.

I have *another* friend who just bought the 3008 last November. I'll tell him to avoid those 2 SC and add Balakong/CSL to the blacklist as well when he finally sends in his car for its first service. Will definitely be interested to hear his feedback on the other service centers.
zweimmk
post Jan 11 2013, 11:50 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(Kanasai79 @ Jan 11 2013, 11:36 AM)
Guys,

Any webmaster here? May be we could have Peugeot 408 club or something like http://www.myaltis.com/forum/ to share information and problems faced by owners? And I find it useful whenever I had any issue with my car, those that faced it will advice/recommend what could be the issue and how to go about it.

drool.gif  drool.gif
Isn't it easier to start a thread in Autoworld Peugeot section instead? The community there seems to be always active all the time and you can probably more input as well from other Peugeot owners.
zweimmk
post Jan 11 2013, 04:42 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 11 2013, 04:29 PM)
I've done 10k service. Labour is free for this service ,you pay for parts. My bill came to$381. I insisted on Total quartz INEO. If you use Petronas it will be $50 cheaper.

Items changed:
5liters Total Q INEO
Oil filter
Washer
Wow, that's a good price! My old Altis 10k service also hover around RM270 to RM350 depending on work done. It's almost equal or only slightly more expensive.

I think with prices like that, the gap between continental and Japanese marque regular servicing cost is gradually closing. Although spare part replacement remains to be a mystery.
zweimmk
post Jan 11 2013, 04:59 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Jan 11 2013, 04:48 PM)
My price does not include labour charge,as it free for 1st service. For the next one onwards,I think it will be extra $50.
Still cheap! Toyota charges me about rm90 to rm130 depending on work done! The labour charges are even more expensive than some of the parts, lol!
zweimmk
post Jan 16 2013, 08:45 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 16 2013, 08:36 AM)
3M and Vkool could be better on heat rejection, but the different will not be noticeable. The reason I choose Huper Optic is due to
It's  light transmission of 40% which warranty to JPJ summon.
Erm, 40% light transmission? Means your darkness is 60%? Under 70% sure will kena summon from JPJ or Traffic Polis.

zweimmk
post Jan 16 2013, 10:02 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 16 2013, 09:03 AM)
Yes, 60% darkness. For what I understand is four windows limited to 50% and 70% light transmission for wind screen allowed by JPJ.  Also wonder how Huper Optic dare to give such warranty. They even cover my wind screen warranty for 40% light transmission.
So far my car and my friend's car have no issue on passing trough all road block (touch wood).
Hmmm, like that I understand already. It also confirm something that I suspected for major window tint brands. I was actually stopped twice (50% for all my windows), they looked at my windows then saw the tint sticker then just let me go.

So it's probably safe to go with brands like 3M, Vkool and now Huper Optik for slightly darker tints. Other brands are at your own risk if you want to tint dark.
zweimmk
post Jan 16 2013, 11:21 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Jan 16 2013, 10:45 AM)
Can I know which brand of tinting u using?
3M
zweimmk
post Jan 16 2013, 11:33 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(onlokkia @ Jan 16 2013, 11:32 AM)
May i know which shop you install your 3M Tint, is it crystalline? and how much?
Go Ampang there. Fortitude Auto. Price I dunno how much your car will cost you really.

I did mine in a group buy so the price is surely lower
zweimmk
post Jan 16 2013, 11:48 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(onlokkia @ Jan 16 2013, 11:37 AM)
ya, i know this shop, near to my office, they just move to new location not far away from their old shop.
how about coating? did you install at there also? so far how is their service? coz most properly i will choose them since within walking distance to my office.

if possible, can PM me the price?

The service is top notch. The showroom is clean and spacious also. I did 3 cars there already. Going to do one more (new FoFo) for my relative.
Price is under 2k for sure, but really, you need to be in group buy to get an even better price.

I suggest you go setup together with other P408 members and you can surely get a very good price. CNY near now also, maybe might have discount.
zweimmk
post Jan 16 2013, 02:39 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(onlokkia @ Jan 16 2013, 02:35 PM)
Called Amelia from Fortitude Auto Sdn Bhd just now,

3M crystalline = RM1800
3M Crystalline + security film = RM1900
Nano Coating 3H = RM1200
Nano Coating 9H = RM1600

if 3M crystalline + security film + Nano Coating 9H = RM3200

if group purchase, price can be discuss (at least 4unit)
The price is quite reasonable if you ask me. All my cars were done cheaper complete with security tint but I did it under group purchase. I can say it's not very far off from the prices that I got.

If want to save time, I think you can go for it. Considered very good price already.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0674sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:36 PM