Enquiries/Recommendations ASUS BAD WARRANTY SERVICE, DO NOT BUY ASUS!!

chungdavi
post Nov 2 2014, 01:56 AM

Keep Calm and Keep Cubing
620 posts

Ah crap, my newly bought laptop (around 2 months old) started to develop display problem. Screen blackout when the monitor is set at certain angles.
Any recommended service centres around KL/Selangor area? Those which at least have better services out of all?
chungdavi
post Nov 6 2014, 10:43 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(houjiji @ Nov 6 2014, 12:57 AM)
Do a Google bro. Authorized service centre will be the one in PLY for KL / Sel I think. Or if u want better service, then send it to the one in JB. I heard most KL-ians send it there as their reputation quite good.  notworthy.gif
Actually, I already did. And I found 5 service centres around KL area using Asus's link below:
http://www.asus.com/my/support/Service-Center/Malaysia

There's 2 in KL, 3 around PJ area. Personally, I'd prefer KL area, but this 5 centres are all fine for me, it's just that I prefer to choose 1 among all which provides better service out of all 5.

By the way, I also noticed out of 5 of them, there's only 2 which named as "ASUS Authorised Service Centre". The other 3 are the shop's own name, including the 1 in Low Yat.
Should I avoid those? Or is it that I can just go for any 5 of it (means no difference in quality of service)?

JB one is too far away for me, but thanks anyway for the recommendation. smile.gif
chungdavi
post Nov 25 2014, 05:15 PM

620 posts

Just sent my laptop to Low Yat's service centre.
The counter gave me a copy of service form with reference number and a h/p no. According to them, it'll take around 2 weeks IF the parts are available. So I should SMS the reference number to the h/p number for updates if I don't hear anything from them after 2 weeks.

I can only hope they do have the parts, wouldn't want to wait for months just for the display problem.
chungdavi
post Dec 1 2014, 12:02 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Nov 25 2014, 05:15 PM)
Just sent my laptop to Low Yat's service centre.
The counter gave me a copy of service form with reference number and a h/p no. According to them, it'll take around 2 weeks IF the parts are available. So I should SMS the reference number to the h/p number for updates if I don't hear anything from them after 2 weeks.

I can only hope they do have the parts, wouldn't want to wait for months just for the display problem.
Just collected my laptop from the service centre today, they changed the display component, so far no problem.

I sent my laptop there on last Tuesday around 3pm, received an SMS from them on Friday noon, informing me that the laptop is ready for collection.

By the way, using the reference number they provided, you can actually use it to check the repair status on the ASUS Malaysia webpage.

So, whole thing done within 1 week, pretty efficient I'd say. Probably I'm just lucky that they have the parts.
chungdavi
post Sep 8 2015, 12:38 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Dec 1 2014, 12:02 PM)
Just collected my laptop from the service centre today, they changed the display component, so far no problem.

I sent my laptop there on last Tuesday around 3pm, received an SMS from them on Friday noon, informing me that the laptop is ready for collection.

By the way, using the reference number they provided, you can actually use it to check the repair status on the ASUS Malaysia webpage.

So, whole thing done within 1 week, pretty efficient I'd say. Probably I'm just lucky that they have the parts.
Laptop display had problem again yesterday. sad.gif
Yesterday morning was working fine, put it to sleep, noon that time boot up screen total blackout already, hard reset few times also same.
Connecting to external monitor using HDMI output works fine though. I tried uninstalling and reinstall the driver for integrated Intel graphics card, doesn't work. So decided to backup everything and send it to SC at Plaza Low Yat.

Sent it this morning, let's hope it can be repaired as soon as possible. Pretty bad timing to have problem, as I'm departing for UK to study next week. sad.gif
chungdavi
post Sep 15 2015, 01:07 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(chungdavi @ Sep 8 2015, 12:38 PM)
Laptop display had problem again yesterday. sad.gif
Yesterday morning was working fine, put it to sleep, noon that time boot up screen total blackout already, hard reset few times also same.
Connecting to external monitor using HDMI output works fine though. I tried uninstalling and reinstall the driver for integrated Intel graphics card, doesn't work. So decided to backup everything and send it to SC at Plaza Low Yat.

Sent it this morning, let's hope it can be repaired as soon as possible. Pretty bad timing to have problem, as I'm departing for UK to study next week. sad.gif
Update:
Just collected my fixed laptop from SC at Plaza Low Yat today. Another efficient service from them.

I was told that my laptop's motherboard is replaced shocking.gif , and my laptop is also reformatted and now running fresh install of Windows 8.1 (I previously upgraded and fresh installed Windows 10).

Another thing that caught my attention was, as I was signing on the service form the receptionist gave me, I saw a remark written on the form: "Win10 not stable, ask customer better dun upgrade". The receptionist didn't mention this to me, but I saw it anyway when I was signing on the form.

Now I'm wondering, could Windows 10 has really screwed up my laptop's motherboard?

0.0210sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:19 PM