Hi there, do you guys recommend handy camcorder, those ranging from 500 - 5000?
Videography All About Videography, HDSLR
Mar 17 2013, 06:00 PM
1,311 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Hi there, do you guys recommend handy camcorder, those ranging from 500 - 5000?
Sep 11 2015, 05:44 PM
Hey guys,
I am currently being offered by a company to record and edit a 2-3min video. They asked me to do a cost breakdown and i have completely no idea how i should charge them haha! Any idea? PS. the company has watched some work of mine and they are pleased with my style. I am using a 60D. Planning to get a videomic. Would appreciate if you guys can share the necessary equipment for doing casual corporate video as well. |
Sep 11 2015, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Sep 11 2015, 07:22 PM) Willing buyer and willing seller concept! Alright, thanks for that. Lets say if i were to allow unlimited editing version until satisfaction is achieved, but how much should i charge? For my production and post production fee, i am planning to charge like RM500, is it too low/high?At most the only breakdown I will give is Production and Post production breakdown...... Production means the process of recording evrything and documenting everything Post-production, is your rough breakdown of Offline edits and Online edits, how many versions of offline edits you give them before you start charging them for any additional changes and tweeks... and same goes to online.... |
Sep 12 2015, 12:45 AM
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Sep 11 2015, 11:30 PM) That my friend, is a question that you should be asking yourself. If thats the case, you must be professional! Even some wedding videographer i saw, charge rm1000+ for recording and post production xDTake these few questions into considerations. -What am I doing? -Is this just a hobby/pocket money? -Is this worth my time and effort? -How do I position myself? Take on on "is it worth the time and effort". It all really depends on what exactly you're doing? IMHO, I'd consider it to be too low, but other may have a totally different opinion. For example, I charged RM1000 to edit a short corporate video/advert for internal circulation, just because I was bored, and a friend asked for a favour. And this was just post-production alone. I can't suggest any benchmark because I don't know what your client requires you to do. lol. |
Sep 12 2015, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(kayFX @ Sep 12 2015, 11:26 AM) For a breakdown this is what i got from a proper small productions company: My Goodness, this is way too informative!!!!! A. Production (creative) 1. Cameraman 1 (operator & director) 2. Cameraman 2 (operator & audio) Cost around RM 800.00 (if 1 man operator can charge half more or less) per day B. Equipment 1. Sony NXCAM NEX-FS700R 2. Canon 5D Mark III 3. Canon 5D Mark II 4. Full set of tripods 5. Glidecam HD2000 & Slider 6. GoPro Hero 3+ Black (Timelapse) 7. Cordless Mic 8. Phantom 3 Professional w/ Pilot (Aerial footage) Cost around RM 1,200.00 (can be break down per equipment depends on the need) per day C. Post-Production & Mastering Off-line, On-line & Audio 1. Off-line & On-line editing w/ 3x amendments 2. Final sound dubbing, mixing & mastering (final material will be in soft copy) Cost around RM 500.00 (this is for behind the scene footage use only, charges may vary) Total cost per day should be RM 2,500.00 (excluding editing) You can use this as a guideline RM 500.00 is way too cheap for production and post in my opinion +1 and to me your price quite reasonable if em0kia want to let his client make amendments edit until satisfaction achieved (which i think should be limited due to time and effort base factor).. Thank you so much sifu! This should give me an insight on how i should charge my client! |
Sep 12 2015, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Sep 12 2015, 02:13 AM) Really? damn! confirm market spoiled! lol, but then it revolves back to "willing buyer-willing seller" phrase. Alright bro, i get it I won't call my self a professional, but more of an enthusiast or an hobbyist I guess if you call yourself hobbyist, then i must be less than beginner XD cuz i dont even know market xD |
Sep 12 2015, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(kayFX @ Sep 12 2015, 01:24 PM) glad you find this informative.. am still learning as well.. i follow a few friends doing productions work just to gain experience only.. not a sifu or anything.. i too use this as a guidelines.. Hehe, if thats the case, thank you so much for sharing your guideline with me One question tho, whats the difference between offline and onliune editing? I read a few articles in Google that explains about the difference but i guess the terms used by these writers are too deep. But i know offline is editing a lesser revolution video, right? |
| Change to: | 0.0350sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:13 PM |