- good FC & NVH
- good torque and comfortable

cons
- reliablility is questionable in the long run
- no resale value
- parts are expensive and need to wait to import
- maybe expensive to maintain after the 5 years warranty
- overprice?

please help to list down any other things?
Civic hybrid, CBU, not over price, FC very good..

Jetta- Overprice.. Yes.. almost every single VW car is over price here..

chenster
post Nov 21 2012, 12:19 PM

1,451 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 20 2012, 04:50 PM)
Civic hybrid, CBU, not over price, FC very good.. 

Jetta- Overprice.. Yes..  almost every single VW car is over price here..
jetta is having good discount now.. very tempting.. and the DSG and NVH.. hmm

about hybrid.. i do't think i wanna get hybrid at the moment.. and i don't particularly like the stop start system..
if getting civic, it'll be 2.0
BuFung
post Nov 21 2012, 12:32 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Nov 21 2012, 12:19 PM)
jetta is having good discount now.. very tempting.. and the DSG and NVH.. hmm

about hybrid.. i do't think i wanna get hybrid at the moment.. and i don't particularly like the stop start system..
if getting civic, it'll be 2.0
drool.gif drool.gif how much disc they give now?
chenster
post Nov 21 2012, 02:50 PM

1,451 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Nov 21 2012, 12:32 PM)
drool.gif drool.gif  how much disc they give now?
i think u can ask any SA here in lowyat.. they will pm u..
let's just say almost the price of a civic 2.0
Alvin330000421
post Nov 21 2012, 02:58 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Nov 20 2012, 05:03 PM)
Orang bodoh sombong tak payah diajar, tak payah ditegur. Buang masa. Dah ajar dah tunjuk, dia jugak yg betul.
Yalah org yang kata ni buang masa tapi cakap jugak adalah org yang tak berotak langsung. Buka mulut, tak ade yang baik keluar, hanya tayik.
kevintai
post Nov 26 2012, 04:28 PM

40 posts

http://mycarlifestyle.blogspot.com/2012/09...yota-altis.html

Check on this icon_idea.gif
skyz
post Nov 26 2012, 09:42 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(kevintai @ Nov 26 2012, 04:28 PM)
Well done.. Nice write up, good comparison between two Japanese carmaker giants...
Performance: on par
Fuel consumption: Altis
Interior look: civic
gp2stroker
post Nov 26 2012, 11:00 PM

120 posts

my choice would be Jetta....
Pros to me
1. superb handling compared to other C- segment sedans
2. great engine low end torque... for daily slow driving not only speeding
3. good FC
4. Rear Air-con

Cons for me;
1. no leather seat (leather should be standard)
2. no led drl headlights (can replace with aftermarket)
3. less accessories that don't really matter but nice to have ...push start, reverse camera, HID headlights, touchscreen radio etc...

if you want to enjoy your driving with a smile (as mentioned in youtube review), get a Jetta
if you want a super duper full spec car and 1 size bigger, get a K5
if you want resale value, get Altis or Civic (VW's RV is not that bad though)

This post has been edited by gp2stroker: Nov 26 2012, 11:07 PM
stinger82
post Nov 26 2012, 11:15 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(gp2stroker @ Nov 26 2012, 11:00 PM)
my choice would be Jetta....
Pros to me
1. superb handling compared to other C- segment sedans
2. great engine low end torque... for daily slow driving not only speeding
3. good FC
4. Rear Air-con
Cons for me;
1. no leather seat (leather should be standard)
2. no led drl headlights (can replace with aftermarket)
3. less accessories that don't really matter but nice to have ...push start, reverse camera, HID headlights, touchscreen radio etc...

if you want to enjoy your driving with a smile (as mentioned in youtube review), get a Jetta
if you want a super duper full spec car and 1 size bigger, get a K5
if you want resale value, get Altis or Civic (VW's RV is not that bad though)
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif u mean american also cheapskate wants resale value?

so if ppl telling you he wanna buy lexus or BRZ you will also laugh at him saying resale value?

this anti toyota sentiment is getting out of hand. doh.gif

btw, your jetta not same price with accord and camry? why compare to civic? hmm.gif no, dont compare merc A class with myvi pls.
kevintai
post Nov 27 2012, 09:11 AM

40 posts

Incomparable for civic and altis with jetta..totally different class and segment.
If price same range, im sure 100% go for Jetta.. No question ask.. tongue.gif
skyz
post Nov 27 2012, 09:23 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(kevintai @ Nov 27 2012, 09:11 AM)
Incomparable for civic and altis with jetta..totally different class and segment.
If price same range, im sure 100% go for Jetta.. No question ask.. tongue.gif
jetta is actually c-seg with d-seg price... tongue.gif
and i find jetta and polo sedan look soooo similar at the front.. laugh.gif
chenster
post Nov 27 2012, 11:17 AM

1,451 posts

actually with discount now..
the jetta is almost civic 2.0 price.. heck even cheaper than civic 2.0 Navi
skyz
post Nov 27 2012, 01:58 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Nov 27 2012, 11:17 AM)
actually with discount now..
the jetta is almost civic 2.0 price.. heck even cheaper than civic 2.0 Navi
but the jetta interior not that appealing.. still, its down to own preference la if you can accept the look then by all means go for VW
chenster
post Nov 27 2012, 02:10 PM

1,451 posts

does the jetta now comes with cruise control?
skyz
post Nov 27 2012, 04:19 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Nov 27 2012, 02:10 PM)
does the jetta now comes with cruise control?

It doesn't seem to have frm the spec sheet..
kcng
post Nov 27 2012, 09:15 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

yes... jetta comes with cruise control...

if there is no cruise control, u can further ask for more discount
gp2stroker
post Nov 28 2012, 10:49 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(stinger82 @ Nov 26 2012, 11:15 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif u mean american also cheapskate wants resale value?

so if ppl telling you he wanna buy lexus or BRZ you will also laugh at him saying resale value?

this anti toyota sentiment is getting out of hand.

btw, your jetta not same price with accord and camry? why compare to civic?  hmm.gif no, dont compare merc A class with myvi pls.
i thought we are talking buying in malaysia tongue.gif

american market not same like us lah ... jetta there, is cheaper spec to compete with altis, civic... if I'm in america resale value will not concern me at all... just get the best car you can buy

did i ever mention Lexus or BRZ in my comment?? I thought were talking jetta, Altis, Civic....... plzzzzz...... don't think your Asean CKD/Thai assembled Toyota is same quality as fully imported Lexus & BRZ.... brows.gif

again you're missing the point Toyota Fanboy.... the topic IS COMPARING JETTA, CIVIC & ALTIS. can't you read?? rclxub.gif
Jetta is the same size category with Altis & Civic, even though more expensive. But with year end discounts it is such a deal compared to the other two
Can also compare with Camry if you want, since price closer... Jetta has better handling and power than Camry tongue.gif

it is just a fact that, most M'sian buyers don't want to take RV "risk" with other brands... so they stick with T & H
I'm not blaming them for that, but they lose on the driving experience

if you are able to change your mentality of "resale value is most important" when buying a car.....there are a lot of better cars out there. eg VW, Ford, Peugeot.. so enjoy the drive rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by gp2stroker: Nov 28 2012, 11:55 AM
skyz
post Nov 28 2012, 01:40 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(gp2stroker @ Nov 28 2012, 10:49 AM)

american market not same like us lah ... jetta there, is cheaper spec to compete with altis, civic... if I'm in america resale value will not concern me at all... just get the best car you can buy

did i ever mention Lexus or BRZ in my comment?? I thought were talking jetta, Altis, Civic....... plzzzzz...... don't think your Asean CKD/Thai assembled Toyota is same quality as fully imported Lexus & BRZ....  brows.gif

again you're missing the point Toyota Fanboy.... the topic IS COMPARING JETTA, CIVIC & ALTIS. can't you read??  rclxub.gif
Jetta is the same size category with Altis & Civic, even though more expensive. But with year end discounts it is such a deal compared to the other two
Can also compare with Camry if you want, since price closer... Jetta has better handling and power than Camry  tongue.gif

it is just a fact that, most M'sian buyers don't want to take RV "risk" with other brands... so they stick with T & H

if you are able to change your mentality of "resale value is most important" when buying a car.....there are a lot of better cars out there. eg VW, Ford, Peugeot.. so enjoy the drive  rclxm9.gif
Msian drivers hv to take servicing experience into consideration as well, the parts availability, reliability of engine/gearbox, cost of maintenance etc tongue.gif

gp2stroker
post Nov 28 2012, 01:48 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(skyz @ Nov 28 2012, 01:40 PM)
Msian drivers hv to take servicing experience into consideration as well, the parts availability, reliability of engine/gearbox, cost of maintenance etc  tongue.gif
agree with that Bro... I missed those out in my earlier comments
stinger82
post Nov 28 2012, 08:49 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(gp2stroker @ Nov 28 2012, 10:49 AM)

did i ever mention Lexus or BRZ in my comment?? I thought were talking jetta, Altis, Civic....... plzzzzz...... don't think your Asean CKD/Thai assembled Toyota is same quality as fully imported Lexus & BRZ....  brows.gif

again you're missing the point Toyota Fanboy.... the topic IS COMPARING JETTA, CIVIC & ALTIS. can't you read??  rclxub.gif
Can also compare with Camry if you want, since price closer... Jetta has better handling and power than Camry  tongue.gif

if you are able to change your mentality of "resale value is most important" when buying a car.....there are a lot of better cars out there. eg VW, Ford, Peugeot.. so enjoy the drive  rclxm9.gif
you missed my point. americans has all the cheap cars available to them, yet toyota is one of the best selling, no, vw is not selling very well there, yes, of cos you will say they are stupid ppl and should not be made a benchmark.

and to prove that you are not making a point, calling ppl fanboy makes your argument not valid.
i do not have any toyota, before this and currently, so you can keep quiet.

driving experience. lol. well, to be frank, not many ppl know what is that. driving dangerously or driving fast?

you bought a new car, and you come here to trash the other brand. wow, either you regretted or you are some.... kind of guy that bought a new shirt and didnt remove the price tag?

yes, the lexus and ae86 argument is valid.
you bought a bmw, and you think ppl buying lexus are looking at resale value.
you bought a megane RS, and you think ppl buying toyota 86 are looking at resale value.
you bought a vw, and you think ppl buying toyota are looking at resale value.

cannot brain?

no worries, enjoy your vw. and remember to remove the plastic seat cover.

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0289sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:34 PM