ellimist
post May 5 2012, 09:33 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 5 2012, 09:31 PM)
note is not considered a 'smartphone' right? tongue.gif its a class of its own
so still have chance exynos 5 might debut in it
Possible, but personally doubt so. Note currently uses same proc as s2, just bumped up. Doubt they'll go introduce a new proc in Note and suddenly increase the differentiating factor to beyond form factor. Might not be good for S3 sales after that
ellimist
post May 6 2012, 08:46 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 6 2012, 08:43 PM)
for me class 4 is enough since I just store music, video and other
app store in phone
confirmed 29th launch in Malaysia ?
but I though 29th is launch in Europe ??
confuse rclxub.gif
class 4 sure cheaper biggrin.gif
The official launch, as in first availability in the world, which yeah would be Europe.

If it reaches here early June, that's pretty darn good
ellimist
post May 6 2012, 09:10 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ May 6 2012, 09:09 PM)
this is new release early this month
Nice. How much does it cost?
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 12:32 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ May 7 2012, 12:22 PM)
chill out la on design and material issues. design and material are all opinions ,so u will never get  consensus even after the cows come home for the 5th time.

for me plastic is good, coz it is lighter. i put in my pocket all day, i don't want it to be heavier then my balls right? anyway who cares when i'll be wrapping it up with some condom or leather casing. i never seen many people with  smartphones don't have some kind of protection.
Heavy balls huh wink.gif

But yeah, like hihihehe, I'm those rare few who prefers the phone naked. Doesn't jive in my head to protect something I'll never see, due to the protection tongue.gif

QUOTE(hihihehe @ May 7 2012, 12:27 PM)
i prefer my phone to be naked.screw those hard and soft casing.put on screen protector and ready to go.

will be getting white but not sure how easy it will get dirty
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 12:59 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 7 2012, 12:58 PM)
Yeah, too bad I can't use a case for my Oakley.  tongue.gif

To those that not gonna use any case, after 3 months of usage, try to put the device under bright light and look at it from sharp angle. Check out those tiny little hairline scratches. biggrin.gif
Yeah we know it's there. We live with it. Also coz I hardly put my device under bright light and look at it from sharp angle tongue.gif
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 03:19 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ May 7 2012, 01:48 PM)
LOL... Sammy didnt mention about wolfson... Jz XDA fellow dig it out!  rclxms.gif

LOL... no one will buy S3... laugh.gif
caz if note had all those features... the only points Note lose is processor (irrelevant in real life performance)  tongue.gif
Why is processor irrelevant in real life performance? If they could tweak UI to utilise it, you'll have a faster and (hopefully) smoother experience. Don't see how it's not relevant tongue.gif (apps launch faster, browsing/scrolling more fluid, etc). It could improve the overall experience, just waiting to see.

Irrelevant in real life performance is what ppl said about dual cores, look how essential dual core phones (for android at least) has become laugh.gif

QUOTE(WiLyi @ May 7 2012, 02:43 PM)
This i believe is more on software. As long as your device has a front facing camera, it could possibly be ported. But somehow I believe this feature will drain the battery as you need to activate the front cam for it to work
Yeah, doesn't sound too battery friendly. Heck I even turn off auto brightness coz having the sensor on to me is a drain as well lol.

But then again, it does have a 2.1k batt (not too far off from Note), and 32nm tech. Could be interesting hmm.gif
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 03:27 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 7 2012, 03:25 PM)
Err...duo core essential like??? In everyday usage, there is no performance difference...only difference is because of better GPU, not the CPU. Check out the One-V...single core...smooth like butter (thanks to ICS also). Even SGS2 and SGS1...not much difference either.
Depends on how you perceive it.

I'm talking about advantages seen in GB environment (which eliminates gains from ICS). Used SGS, SGS Plus, etc. Can't match the snappiness of S2. On GB. Stock. No root. Nothing to do with GPU rendering. App launching. Etc. Not gaming.

Speed btw, speeeddd. Played briefly with the One-V. It's smooth. No particularly fast/snappy though. To my style of usage at least. Even general "everyday" usage, I pretty much hammer away at my phone. Generally doesn't keep up with my commands as I would like it to laugh.gif

And One-V unit I played with was of course on display. Slap loadsa apps, who knows what would happen. Even benny complains that One-X is sluggish after his 200 apps loaded (I personally have around there as well). So yeah, didn't bother compairing to a different UI (sense)

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 7 2012, 03:31 PM
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 03:32 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ May 7 2012, 03:29 PM)
Ahem... not quite. I have had a taste of a "seasoned" unit. You'd wished you didn't have it.

Anyway, extra cores are good. 2 cores are sufficient, but 4 cores are just sweeeeet. smile.gif
Yup. Sense has a nasty reputation of being smooth on display, but gets sluggish once loaded up. Can ask benny, not too happy about the fact HOX got sluggish once he shoved all his apps in.
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 03:38 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 7 2012, 03:36 PM)
Hanging is a Samsung problem especially. No amount of cores or RAM will stop it hanging. Expect pletora of S3 users complaining their phones hanging 3 months later.  tongue.gif
Could be user problem too.

S2 non g at least, on stock, rarely hangs, if ever. I know it's a different story apparently for g users sweat.gif

ellimist
post May 7 2012, 03:48 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 7 2012, 03:41 PM)
You put in 200 apps, what phone also die. So again, nothing to do with cores. SGS1 is fast enough for everyday usage, that's the keyword. Laggin in Android occasionally is a given, no amount of cores will help unless Google rewrite their code from scratch. Live with it.
Put 200 apps, mana die. My s2 runs a-okay with the 200+ apps. Pretty darn smooth somemore

Note that benny complained on HOX. And his Note runs perfectly fine with those apps. And yes, I agree, nothing to do with cores. Was just an illustration of another matter (that cannot compare with HTC, pasal diff manufacturer diff tolerance etc) laugh.gif

And it's good enough for your everyday use, not mine. I use my gf's SGS PLUS (higher clock speed than SGS1?) with minimal apps in it, and for the lift of me I can't stand how it isn't snappy enough.
S2 for me is snappier, but still doesn't help much.

Or put it this way, when I change hotplug tweak to off second core, I feel like pulling my hair out. It's not like it doesn't move. It does. App launches decently. Scrolling through app tray is decent as well. But not fast enough for daily use. And only variable here was disabling second core. On my S2. So yeah.
And as it is, I already wish my S2 was faster on a daily use. (messaging etc, not talking about gaming, which I haven't had the time to do recently)

Speed btw, not too concerned bout the lag. Can be mostly eliminated via reducing governor sample times, using scripts from fellow forumer pikachu, implementing good old LMKs if your ROM doesn't already have it, etc rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 7 2012, 03:51 PM
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 03:50 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 7 2012, 03:44 PM)
doh.gif

How many times need to argue?

https://www.google.com.my/search?q=samsung+...UJ4XyrQeMzunnAQ

9.3 million results "Samsung i9100 hangs". You go read one by one...i've no time...tongue.gif

Added on May 7, 2012, 3:45 pm
Which eye you see i use crack apps? Left or right? I have 2 SGS2 btw, 1 G Tab 7.7 and a Samsung Bada. And i don't use crack apps FYI.
Oh is it? Sorrry masterrrrrrrrr. Erm yes SGS 2 non g therefore suffers from hang issue notworthy.gif

How I know dei, just recounting to you my personal experience, as well as some of my friends who use non g on stock non root ma. Don't la so serious, wasn't arguing with you oso. Recounting MY (and several friends') experience nia ma. Fine next time I say YMMV >______>
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 03:57 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Eh actually Matrix, when I open your search:

1st result is tutorial on how to hard-reset, where got mention always hang?
2nd result says "t just sometimes freezes without no means, and this reportedly happens very rare"
3rd result not even mentioned in article. And among all the comments, just one guy mention "hang"

sweat.gif
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 04:03 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ May 7 2012, 03:58 PM)
Try installing 200 apps to your PC. Your boot up lag like turtle no matter how fast yoru machine...tongue.gif

Yes, i agree S2 is a bit faster in general UI usage...but it's not really something to shout about....

And the reason the SGS Plus is inferior to the SGS2....Andreno 205 (inferior GPU) and 512MB RAM vs 1GB, rather than the number of cores.
We're talking about usage, not boot up time. If I slap 200 apps into my comp, once all is booted up, I'm sure I'll do just fine tongue.gif
But back to topic, my phone (after some recent small cleaning of apps I didn't want), has 181 user apps. Slap in system stuff and you have over 200 apps in the phone. Runs fine. Fortunately phone apps are alot simpler and light, so boots up pretty fast too laugh.gif

Well yea, nothing to shout about, in the sense you can live without it. Of course you can. Most single core 1ghz phones are good enough to use. Just saying it helps if you want the speed.

ellimist
post May 7 2012, 04:07 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ May 7 2012, 04:04 PM)
half agree, half not..  unsure.gif

I WANNA USE S BEAM WITH OTHER PPL!!!  whistling.gif

later only i use s3 then i beam with who worrr..  doh.gif  brows.gif
btw
SGS1 thread ----> this way
SGS2 thread ----> that way

unsure.gif  unsure.gif
1. Buy S3
2. Organize gathering with members in this thread
3. Use beaaaaaamm
4. ???
5. Profit!
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 04:47 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ May 7 2012, 04:44 PM)
The HOX shows obvious lag with HTC sense UI with 150 apps loaded but this was gone when I change ui to Nova. Just show HTC sense is still a memory hogger
My experience with Samsung phones worst is SGS and is the worst laggy android laying at the bottom of all androids I have used. The SGS2 is still I rate the best android phone surpassing even g nexus n HTC one x
Tablet series best is 7.7 follow by 7+, tab 10.1 n last tab 7
Yeah, was trying to illustrate shouldn't just compare across platforms, since Sense and TW are very different. Sense gets sluggish for me too with many apps on my previous Incredible S. But yeah, guess there's always NOVA. Still parts of Sense are running in the background right, but guess it's not too bad.

And yeah, like how you feel S2 is the best experience you had thus far, looking forward to S3 topping that up smile.gif
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 04:54 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ May 7 2012, 04:47 PM)
what the differences between battery charger stand and desktop dock ???

and what their function ???
for example, i want charge the phone and connecting using hdmi with tv at the same time
then which 1 should i buy ??
Well based on description from the website:

1st one allows you to charge spare battery, but doesn't mention charging phone with batt inside. Proly just as a stand
2nd one will charge your phone, and also has audio line out. So you can connect it to speakers and what nots to play your music from the s2?

QUOTE(KuLi @ May 7 2012, 04:49 PM)

True it needs to be tested, but certain things are pretty straight forward. Wolfson one for instance. Processor based on 32nm should be virtually certain of gains (at least in battery life).
GPU seems pretty certain to me as well. Can't reproduce GPU scores even if I crank GPU up to 400mhz. Overclocking doesn't seem to make a difference in these tests. (but I only tried to 1.4ghz, didn't go to 1.6ghz. Got the same results as 1.2ghz)
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 05:06 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ May 7 2012, 04:59 PM)
afaik, htc had improved responsiveness of sense with the new h1x. what is amazing abt sense is its functionality.
touchwiz simply cannot compare.

anyway, s3 has its own advantages which may appeal to some ppl here.
Well yes, h1x has improved sense. But most of the reviews you see are sense without many apps loaded onto the phone.

As benny mentioned, his h1x shows obvious lags with 150 apps + sense ui. Changing to nova seems to have solved it for him. But yeah, sense has good functionality.

Then again, tw has some simple under the cover functions as well. Like the whole swipe left/right to call/msg from contact is cool. Among others. Functional, but goes unheard of coz it's rather hidden lol
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 06:44 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(firstknight @ May 7 2012, 06:38 PM)
thank goodnees... cos i was wondering when I will get details about sgs3 rather than hox... if I wanna know bout HOX I know where to go.... now I wanna know sgs3....

i still cant find the answer.... the G and nonG version wats the diff... will it affect sgs3 like sgs2???
For s2, initial version came out was I9100, without the G, now referred to as "non-g" version. This had Samsung's chip(cpu + gpu + other stuff) inside it. Had real good performance, and was the version at launch, hence many ppl picked it up, and developed for it.

Then samsung released a I9100G, a variant if you like. Came with a different chip (not produced by samsung) Some speculate it was due to shortage of the Samsumg chip mentioned above. Others say ot was to address "overheating issues" etc.

Implications:
1. Since most developers bought during the G version release (and since internationally this is sort of the primary version), more developement was going on for it. Hence more custom ROMs etc.
2. The G version has a different chip, which has been seen to have lower performance, especially in the GPU department.
3. Many ppl reported hangs and camera issues/sd card issues initially when g version was launched. Sort of like more problems. Most of our forumers will tell you it's better these days, or can be solved with custom stuff.

Will it affect s3? Who knows. Time will tell. Unless they have shortage of chips, or unless the new chip proves to be unstable (which seems like bollocks, would have gone through alot of testing before being put into production phone), this shouldn't be the case. Then again, no one expected the variant for s2
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 06:56 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

Comparisons are unavoidable. People intending to buy the s3 would obviously want to know how this phone stacks up against other flagships.

And comparisons lead to other comparisons etc. But yeah, while healthy comparison is fine, bashing and all needs to stop sweat.gif

Added on May 7, 2012, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(ciwek90 @ May 7 2012, 06:55 PM)
Will it launch here with both 2 color? or one by one? black first, then white? Bcoz I'm aiming for white version. hihi  brows.gif
No one has specific local launch details yet, so kinda unknown. But since they announced and showed both together, hopefully launch here has both as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by ellimist: May 7 2012, 06:57 PM
ellimist
post May 7 2012, 09:56 PM

Still a Yui-tard
6,106 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ May 7 2012, 09:45 PM)
S3 North American variant will use dual-core Qualcomm chip. From what I read, this is mainly because the Qualcomm chip supports LTE in North America, which works at 700MHz. Elsewhere, LTE works at other frequencies.
Well yeah, but that's more of an LTE issue then the g vs non g thingie. That was just pretty mengada by Samsung. Not to say g version is bad, it's still a good S2 and all smile.gif

0.0544sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:05 PM